Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary) - C152RNP

Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)rated 4.083 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
1
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8 inch CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)

 

Price: $142.80

Save $61.20 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Agent Clark
CA
Jun 08, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Beautiful and different
I've been looking at the Chaparral for years as an EDC/office knife, but never picked one up. When I saw the prototype pictures of the Noble, and the pricepoint, I pre-ordered. I haven't really used it yet to comment on the steel, everybody who's seen it loves the handles. Its in my pocket right now.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jesse
IL
Dec 07, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Sharpest knife ive ever bought out of box.
This knife is very well built with perfect fit and finish. It came hair popping sharp out of the box and is by far the sharpest knife I've ever bought amongst tons of benchmades and a few spydercos. The best feature of this knife is the super thin blade stock coming in at .08 while most knives are in the .14 area. This makes the knife slice through things like no other and is the reason I bought the knife. Action is smooth, the lockback is snappy and rock solid. It doesn't have the easiest lock to disengage but I knew this going in and its not so bad that it ruins the knife. Flicking open is possible with a little practice. What I do is put forward pressure on the hole, build tension, then break the tension kind of like you're snapping your fingers. The knife fits perfectly in the watch pocket of your jeans. I knew it was a small knife which is another reason I bought it but a lot of people don't realize how small. The knife closed is a few mm shorter than just the blade on the pm2. The handle is about 5mm thinner than the pm2 as well which makes it disappear in the pocket and a joy to carry. Knife center was kind enough to inspect the scales for me to make sure they were visually pleasing. Excellent customer service. Overall I'm very pleased with this knife and will buy from KC again.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Francois
Switzerland
Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Beautiful and different
This is the first Chapparal I own, first the Raffir noble handle is beautiful ! Second, it is a very lightweight knife with a thin blade, so it is small, light, easy to open, a little bit less to close, a gentleman knife !
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Pittsburgh, Pa
Sep 01, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Type
Stunning Handles!
I'm a collector, approaching 1k knives and each knife is interesting or unique in it's own way. This is one of those few knives that made me really stop and appreciate it's overall beauty. I have the CF Chaparral, I have the stepped titanium version as well, and in my opinion this is the most beautiful of the Chaparral line. These have always been great gentlemen folders; small, light, lockback, with a top notch steel. Now, with these exquisite Raffir Noble scales, we can add interesting and beautiful to the list of adjectives. This one is going right in the pocket, I'm here to buy a second for the collection.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billy
Warrenton, Va
Dec 12, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Stunning Raffir Noble Handles
I gave it 5 stars based on the handles alone. Pictures do not really do the handles justice. This is a beautiful light duty Gentleman's knife. It also has superb steel in the choice of CTS XHP. On my knife the lockback is very solid. It does take a fair amount of effort to deploy and close the blade. I am sure this will become easier with use. If you are looking for a handsome stunning light duty Gentleman's carry pocket knife, this knife will not disappoint. Buy one. As usual, courteous and prompt service is the norm when dealing with the wonderful staff at Knifecenter.com .
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Erok
alameda
May 21, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
The handles!!
The illusion of depth created by the artists who made these knives is truly delightful. I love everything about this knife.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
So Cal
Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good value at the price
Works great for EDC, especially for food slicing. Also, the appearance of the knife with these handles gets positive comments from others when the see it. I am happy with this purchase.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mjcollier73
Ohio
Jun 01, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Beautiful Knife
The Raffir Noble scales drew me to this knife. It's my first Chaparral but I've owned many Spydies. Excellent knife. Fit and finish is very nice like most Taiwan made Spyderco's. The blade is thinner than the Delica which makes this an amazing slicer. My first XHP steel also and it takes a nice edge that takes a mirror shine after finishing with my 3 micron stones. Love this knife!
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mestron
Spain
May 24, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Beautiful but under average Chaparral
I own two other Chaparral. They work flawlessly. This one, well, the handles are gorgeous, at least one of them, because the other has less mesh and it's not so visually appealing. The issue comes with the fit and finish, clearly below Spyderco standards. It's very (VERY) stiff to open. So much so that the choil scuffs the inner face of the liner. Also, you much press really hard to disengage the lock. A safety feature? Maybe it's ok for a Cold Steel Espada, but not for a gents knife like this one. Maybe I got the lemon, but it's not what I expected, having owned other Chaparrals. I will try to transplant the handles to one of them, just in case it works.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)
rated 3 stars out of 5
Norman D
Wimberley, Tx
Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Meh
Other than the scale material, I don't see much point in this knife, and I rarely carry it. I seem to have gotten an acceptable example of the raffir noble, but you don't use that for cutting. I find the hole placement and scale shape of the Delica 4 to be much more congenial in the hand. Yeah, the blade steel tends to rate higher among those in the know, but if it is a knife that doesn't see a ton of use, it seems like money spent for little return. I will keep mine, largely because I don't feel like punishing KC for my incomplete reasoning process before the purchase. Many more useful tools out there than this one.l
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)
rated 2 stars out of 5
Bob O.
St. Louis
Aug 16, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
Sent it back
This knife just didn't do it for me. As others have said in different reviews, the Raffir Noble handles show off their so-called 3-D metallic effect only on one side; for the most part the other side is just clear acrylic. Not particularly appealing and from what I read elsewhere, this stuff isn't that scratch resistant either. Having said that, I didn't use the knife at all so I can't comment on that aspect of it, although you generally can't go wrong with a Spyderco. And KnifeCenter handled the return and refund back to my credit card with no fuss and very promptly (just beware there'll be a $5 charge taken out of your refund- read the fine print). In any case, I will certainly continue to use KnifeCenter, based on my other transactions with them.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2.8" CTS XHP Satin Plain Blade, Raffir Noble Handles (Coloration and Pattern May Vary)
rated 1 stars out of 5
Art
Orlando , Fl
Sep 15, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material
Sending it Back
Coloration very bad. If you are a serious collector. They didn't include disclaimer until I pushed the issue. Nichole was very nice and had to push the issue for me to get a return label.