Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07" VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handle - C177GP

Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07" VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handlerated 4.364 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07 inch VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handle

 

Price: $192.50

Save $82.50 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07" VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan W
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
SpyderCo ROC
Looks and feels great. Prob wont use daily but I opens cleanly and the grip is fantiastic. The blade color is cool looking as well. Really like this knife. Price was ok too.
Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07" VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roi
Denver
Sep 25, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
EDC Clever
I've had this kn life for a year and a half now. I love it. Very sturdy yet not too big for a pocket, in my opinion. I have to admit I really like the flat handle, as any other shape for the style would seem mismatched. The blade is hard...so hard I have a hard time get the edge I want even on a ceramic sharpener. None the less, it still gets sharp and is great for so many tasks.
Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07" VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimmie R
California
Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Handles well
I pre-ordered this month's ago, so I was happy to get it early. I've only carried it four times, so far. I didn't have a problem with the clip being too tight, however my pants might be a thinner construction, since this is more of a formal dress up for a night on the town kind of knife. This is a nice knife for display and conversation. I mostly purchased it for the design. The handle grip took me a little getting used to because it's so flat. I'm used to a notch or a design groove to rest the hand in place. I love the handle material and texture, but the flatness didn't help guide my hand to the safest location. I can easily move my thumb to the back of the blade's cutting edge. Just have to be careful and not use it for anything heavy duty.
Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07" VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phillip
Redding ca
Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Finally!
This is a great EDC. By far my favorite spyderco. Excellent weight balance and structure. I love it.
Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07" VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles F
Douglasville, Ga
Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Immediate favorite
Immediately became one of my favorites. The look of a straight razor is very cool, feels good in my hand, I'm just very pleased with this knife. I should hope to be, I had it on back-order for over a year.
Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07" VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kamslm
Walnut Creek, CA
Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Nice product
Spyderco knives have always been reliable for my use and having a cleaver blade from them is really useful for multiple tasks with a nice purchase on anything you want to cut. Like all their blades, sharp as heck out of the box and VG10 is a nice material with a decent hardness for most tasks.
Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07" VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott R
Eau Claire, Wi
Sep 18, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Roc On!
I was worried about how this would carry in my pocket. Thankfully it carries very well, the extra blade girth is hardly noticeable. Great looking knife. Solid lock up, and maybe a little tight at first. Pocket clip is also a bit tight.
Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07" VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jack P
San Jose, CA
Sep 19, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Love everything about it except for the grind
This knife carries well, looks great, and has a solid feel in the hand. It's a bit blade heavy which I feel was intentional given the cleaver shape. My only criticism would be that the blade is too thick. It makes sense to have a thick blade for an actual cleaver, but for a folding knife of this size and its intended uses (edc tasks), the thick blade makes it difficult to cut most things (especially cardboard). Still cuts, just not well. Don't regret the purchase though!
Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07" VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Skipvalentine
Michigan
Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Could be more sharp
Knife is pretty nice but i think because the thick blade it is not really sharp and doesn't cut good on paper or cardboard
Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07" VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Lexrox
Baldwin Park, Ca.
Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Lock Type
Purpose built, not my choice for EDC...
Trying to make a long story short, I'm a Benchmade Axis fan and own many variations. When I saw the Spyderco Roc, I immediately loved the blade shape. The blade is heavy and durable. Opening is a two step process, use the thumb hole, then a flick of the wrist. Not a fan of the locking liner at all. Wanted to test its multi-functionality on my recent vacation to Hawaii. It works great as a cleaver and used it whenever a sharp knife was needed. However, a trip to the beach caused discoloration and I was highly disappointed. Its weight is a little bit heavier than my EDC Benchmade knives. The Roc fits a little big in the pocket and its handle, while textured, could be improved with some finger grooves or better grip.
Spyderco Roc Folding 3.07" VG10 Bead Blast Cleaver Style Blade, Black G10 Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Tony
San Francisco
Oct 06, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Weight, Ease of Opening
Syderco roc folder
The knife is pretty light for a blade of this style. It is kind of awkward to open.