Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles - C230GP

Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 4.846 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47 inch CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $126.00

Save $54.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Swedishwoodart
Sweden
Jan 27, 2018
Pros:
Cons:
Lil´ Native...what a wonderful little knife! Small in sight, but big in hand. Comparing to the Sage 5 (my previous knife), the Lil´ Native is better in every way. As there are no thumb ramp, the finger can lean pointing forward on the blade ridge, which will help when doing carving tasks. This, combined with a thicker blad, you can put a lot more force behind the cutting or carving task. Another thing that makes the Lil´ Native lie perfect in hand, is the shape of the handle. Like a tsuka, the handle is narrow at the back and wider closer to the blade. My hand is M/L, size 9 in glove. John at Swedishwoodart
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Hawaii
Apr 30, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
Phenomenal EDC
This knife comprises of virtually all the best traits that the Spyderco series has to offer and compresses it into one small package of a knife. Compression lock from the Paramilitary 2. Elimination of the lanyard hole as in the Yojimbo 2 in order to optimize blade/handle ratio. The most sought after pocket clip as in the Sage 5 (wire pocket clip). Overall size is comparable to the Dragon Fly 2 but with G10 handles (I often have these random moments of panic that I somehow lost the knife because it's so light that I don't physically feel its presence). I had the opportunity to test the knife in field dressing a couple of wild hogs. The s30v held up great but what really made the knife sustain its edge during the procedure was utilizing the tip for a majority of the cuts. This knife is an epidermal zipper. I didn't get a lot of biological material in the handle area either since the overall size is small enough to where your hands will consume the entire 3/5 of the knife; shielding the openings within the handle from any materials that would enter otherwise. ...and it Spydie flicks like a boss once broken in.
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lmt
MACAU
Dec 27, 2017
Pros: Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Materials, handle material
Cons: None
Great EDC
I have been collecting spyderco knives for more than 25 years and in recent years, the spyderco knives made in USA are far bettern than those made in Seki Japn in terms of fit and finish. This one is a perfect example, a great little knife with good steel for everyday use. The only complain I have, is the extra rough G10 surface which makes the knife difficult to draw from my jean.
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Twag
Ky
Jan 26, 2018
Pros: Design, Durability, Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Overall Quality, Materials, handle material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Lil native
EDC
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott B.
Highland Village, Tx
Jan 01, 2018
Pros: Design, Weight, Ease of Use, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
My Go-To Secondary
I have historically been a one-knife carry kind of guy and am admittedly a Spyderco fan. Of late, I had taken to adding my Spyderco Roadie as my secondary, yet I realized I wanted a bit more of an edge (pun intended) in a second knife. I am left-handed, so I carry my primary in my left front pocket. I carry my wallet in my right front, so I was looking for something that I could fit in the 5th pocket of my jeans (the "watch" pocket.) The Lil' Native is perfect! It is about the largest Spyderco to fully fit in that 5th pocket AND includes some of my favorite features: G10 scales, a great steel, the easy in/out of pocket wire clip and the amazing compression lock! By now, I have found what works for me in a knife. For the money, I am hard-pressed to find a better combination of features for my application than the Lil' Native compression lock. Buy with confidence...from both a product and customer service perspective!
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mad Ginger
VA
Jan 01, 2018
Pros: Ease of Use, handle material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Lil Native
Use for EDC backup knife. Excellent knife as always from spyderco!
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr Coltello
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 14, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
I'm hooked.
Pros: The Lil Native is a great size for an easy EDC. It's a snappy little flipper too, and I fidget with it a lot. The blade snaps out tight using the underside middle finger Spydie hole method. I am a fan of the compression lock for many reasons, but it really works nicely with the ergonomics of this knife, and keeps your fingers safely outside of the blades path when closing. The one I got from KC came perfectly centered, no blade play, and dialed in nicely (unlike so many Spyderco's I've gotten that need weeks and some oil to break in). The G-10 is grippy and lends some confidence that this knife can take on some larger tasks than it's size would suggest. I also really like the weight. It's got some heft for it's size, and is not so lightweight that it feels cheap. Cons: The G-10 can be a little rough on the pants pocket. It's more something I notice than an actual "con". The Spydie clip is not my favorite, and it works ok here. I guess I just wish it looked a little less like I had a big paperclip in my pocket. In conclusion, I really like this knife a lot. It has become a favorite of mine in just a few days, and is definitely going to be a keeper in my EDC collection.
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Albert
Indianapolis, In
Dec 17, 2017
Pros: Functionality, Lock Type, Durability, Weight, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Size, Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Materials, handle material, Design
Cons: None
95/100 for in city EDC
I have several Spyderco Natives, so I was really intrigued by their new little brothers, the lock back and compression lock Lil’ Natives. While I like the lock back in the Native, I’ve been wishing they had a compression lock version, so I opted for that in the Lil’ Native and boy am I glad I did!! It changes the character of the knife to be able to close it easily with one hand, fingers out of the way. Really like the compression lock here, though I am sure the lock back would be good as well (as it is in the Native). Steel is s30v, not the same as the s35vn in the Native, but still excellent, and perhaps a little cheaper, allowing for the G10 scales. The G10 scales have a skeletonized steel insert that works well, and the scales feel nice in the hand. The blade is slightly longer than the Dragonfly 2 blade, also has full flat grind and was razor sharp, but when closed the knife has less of a hump/drop on the blade side, so is slimmer feeling. Fit and finish were excellent and the blade was nicely centered. The choil in front of the blade is well placed, but there is no jumping there. There is jumping on the back of the knife, but it does not go beyond the G10 scales, which in my opinion is the one flaw in this knife. I found that my thumb had to be held back uncomfortably because of that jimping on the back of the knife, it just was too far back to be useful with my medium hands, so I think anyone with a large hand would find it useless. But over all, this is a relatively minor flaw in the over all excellent EDC knife.
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carlito
Ridgefield, Ct
Jun 02, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
The Perfect EDC!
The perfect knife for suburban office work. The deciding factor in this purchase was the compression lock, which is my favorite! The size makes for a very subtle, yet sharp knife. I’ve had no problems touching up the blade on a Sharpmaker. I am considering the serrated version of this also. Just a wonderful knife!
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gregory
Thousand Oaks, Ca
Dec 30, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Design, Ease of Use, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
My New EDC Knife
After years of favoring Syderco's Cali series as my EDC I have switched to this Lil' Native. Good size for me. I like the compression lock. And this is the same style pocket clip I'm used to on my Calis - lets the knife sit deeper in my pocket than other style clips. Typical Spyderco quality. I might get another.
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Selden, Ny
Jan 06, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Sharpness, Ease of Use, Materials, handle material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Lil Native
Amazing little big knife this knifes built like tank it’s never left my pocket since I bought it razor sharp blade great blade centering not a single con to be found with this knife
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg K
Northampton Pa
Jun 10, 2019
Pros: Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
High school gift for graduation
This is for my son jacob high school graduation present.Its his first EDC and I wanted it to be light weight and compact so he would get used to carrying a EDC.I always buy there made in USA modals and like always perfection!!! Thanks Spyderco for made in the USA modals.
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Glockburgh
The 412
Jan 01, 2018
Pros: Durability, Sharpness, Ease of Use, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Lil’ Native lotta pocket time
Great little deep carry knife, perfect for casual wear, small very capable blade, love the compression lock
Spyderco Lil' Native Compression Lock Folding Knife 2.47" CPM-S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Anonymous
USA
Aug 18, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
A nice alternative
The only thing I'm going to ding this for is that there's no jimping along the spine or the finger choil like the other models.