Reviews and Ratings for Smith & Wesson Homeland Security Combat Knife 6" Black Sawback Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles, Cordura Sheath - CKSUR4

Smith & Wesson Homeland Security Combat Knife 6" Black Sawback Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles, Cordura Sheathrated 4.571 stars out of 5 (7 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Smith & Wesson Homeland Security Combat Knife 6 inch Black Sawback Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles, Cordura Sheath

 

Price: $29.95

Save $36.39 (55%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Smith & Wesson Homeland Security Combat Knife 6" Black Sawback Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Ottawa, Ontario
May 16, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
All around nice knife. The saw is quite powerful. Versatile.
Smith & Wesson Homeland Security Combat Knife 6" Black Sawback Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Infidel
milwaukee
Nov 19, 2012
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
build like a tank.....
love it...got it as a present for a friend and wanted to keep it when it got here....
Smith & Wesson Homeland Security Combat Knife 6" Black Sawback Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin H.
in geosynchronous orbit
Dec 06, 2012
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Sheath/Scabbard
What a deal
I like 440C. Good steel. this knife has excellent geometry, with a high saber hollow grind it cuts wood and pretty much anything else, and with the heft of a .25" thick blade it will even chop a little. I dropped mine point-down on concrete and i fixed it with a coarse stone. I like the guard with lanyard holes, the G10 scales are nice and grippy, the handle is comfortable, this is a well-designed knife of a reasonably good steel for a ridiculously good price. I got one of the first production run and have been abusing it for several years. The heat treatment must be spot-on. You will want to take the money you save on this knife and get it a good sheath though.
Smith & Wesson Homeland Security Combat Knife 6" Black Sawback Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles, Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean
California
Apr 09, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
this is a pretty wicked knife
This knife is pretty hefty. It is about a quarter of an inch thick. It would seem to me like a knife designed for S.W.A.T. I was able to pry a locked office door open with it at a demolition site. The edge is razor sharp out of the box and it comes with a diamond sharpener to touch it up with in the field. It is like a bar of steel in your fist. This would make an effective fighting knife. It has great penetration capabilities and its heft makes for a powerful slash. The length is perfect for close quarter combat and blade retention. The serrations on the back are sharp but small. The lanyard hole/pommel would also make for a great skull cracker. The grip is comfortable and the knife feels solid in my hand. ( I have medium size hands) The scabbard is also hefty and durable with many different ways to lash it on your belt A.L.I.C.E. pack or leg horizontally or vertically. The only complaint is that the blade sits in the scabbard really tight and it took a while for me to break this in (might not necessarily be a bad thing. You wont easily lose the knife while its in the sheath).
Smith & Wesson Homeland Security Combat Knife 6" Black Sawback Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles, Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Trent Dow
Arkansas
Jan 05, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Great knife, questionable sheath
Bought this knife a few months ago and have used it on several day hikes and practice runs. I've used it on everything from opening the packing on a new piece of gear, to chopping and baton firewood. The blade is thick and has good weight with just enough weight forward to make it feel like it can get the job done. I considered the sheath and diamond sharpener in the poor overall quality and materials rating since they were included in the package. If you're only concerned with the knife itself, it seems to be a good piece of kit.
Smith & Wesson Homeland Security Combat Knife 6" Black Sawback Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles, Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
A.Rahman Mohamed
Qatar
Nov 01, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great Knife but not the Sheath
Beautiful and sturdy. Arrived in perfect condition. Not razor sharp but still sharp enough to cut paper. The tanto edge isn't as sharp as the main beval edge. The G10 handle feels great. Might be a little on the heavy side but being a sword guy myself I didn't mind it. The sheath however isn't great at all. While you can still mount it in different positions on your bag, belt or harness, it is mostly secured with velcro. The knife sets in the sheath well and there is 0 rattle. But the overall quality of the sheath is below average I'd give the sheath a 2.5/5. Overall a great buy and highly recommended for the outdoorsman and the collector.
Smith & Wesson Homeland Security Combat Knife 6" Black Sawback Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles, Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Leighton
Bangor, ME
Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
Durable knife with qualities outside it's price
This is a really good knife for the money, especially if you don't mind a little tinkering. The edge holds up nice, it's strong as can be, has good grinding angles, a comfortable handle, a nice feel in the hand and awesome features like the protruding pommel, lashing holes, textured G10 handles and functional saw on the back of the blade. I have a similar knife but received it as a gift probably 9 or 10 years ago, it is by Smith and Wesson, tanto, and has the sawback but the model us CKSUR4C so the only difference is the "C" on the end. It has a black and gray camo on the blade and came with a different sheath that included a small diamond sharpener. I left this knife in an attic in Florida for about 5 years and the blade edge had no rust, even with all the heat and humidity. There was no fading on the handle material or anything. The fit and finish aren't perfect, parts of the metal jut out of the handle and make hard small hard edges to hold onto on my model. After all these years I sharpened it up with a few strokes from that diamond sharpener and took it out to chop logs, baton, saw and pry wood in the cold and ice and it held up wonderfully. The edge is still nice after all that, no bends and the saw works great! I noticed my hand slipping some so a lanyard would be handy, or maybe some modifications to the handle with a file. The edges of the guard hurt when chopping. It's pretty good for batoning, too, there's just enough edge for it but you have to remember that there's that little cutout at the base of the blade before the guard. The pommel is solid and rugged, feel like I could break glass with it if necessary. I've thrown this knife at some plywood as well, it works okay and the screws in the handle have not loosened.