Reviews and Ratings for Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm) - DC4

Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)rated 4.607 stars out of 5 (28 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4 inch x 1-1/4 inch (100 x 32 mm)

 

Price: $21.95

Save $11.00 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack S
Midlothian, Va
Feb 02, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

best pocket stone

hands down the best pocket stone I own. minimal maitenance
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerry
WV
May 03, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great stones

I have both the 4" and the 3" stones. (one each). I'm going to buy a couple more to keep in go bags. I have used for many years Arkansas hard stones, black stones, ceramic rods, and other kinds of sharpeners, but found only after a few months of using these little beauties that they are really the best yet for me. A few strokes on the ceramic side keeps my 3.5" EDC knife razor sharp. The diamond side is good for really dull blades, setting them up for using the ceramic side. Both stones (4", 3") are easy to carry, but I carry the 3" in my pocket all the time. Nice that they have a handy leather slip-sheath. They don't require honing oil. As I say, I'm getting a couple more because, for me at least, they fit exactly my needs My thanks to the reviewer who mentioned using the diamond side of one stone to rub the ceramic side of another stone. That was necessary and quick, making the ceramic side perfectly smooth. As yet I can't address the durability question.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bernardo
Chile
Nov 11, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

awesome

This is a perfect pocket diamond stone. Don´t need water or oil, diamond surface work nice, easy and quick, and ceramic side gives a pretty nice mirror finish. If you can sharpen freehand, and you want something little, to keep it on your pocket or in your fishing gear, this is your choice.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack Shen
Richmond VA
Apr 08, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Ease of Use
Cons: None

best pocket stone I own

I've been through several pocket stones and rods. From the spyderco double stuff to all the differing DMT stones. The reason I say this is the best pocket stone is, there is ZERO maintenance. My favorite stone was the double stuff until I got a DC-4, the DC-4 doesn;t clog and need to be cleaned as often as the double stuff, and when you do clean it, all that is needed is water and a tooth brush. It is a bit on the coarse side when you first get it, but don't worry that works itself out in a few uses. This stone produces a nice edge with a lot of "bite", if you want a extremely polished edge like a straight razor, you'll have to strop it after using the DC-4
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ridgerunner
mountains of tennessee
Jul 09, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great stone, and Knifecenter has a great price.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob Marchand
Toronto Canada
May 08, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None
got my camp knive crazy sharp very fast. Then used it on my kitchen knives, fantastic.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles
Houston
Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Just right

Perfect for maintaining the edge on my pocket knife.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marc R
Dublin
Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)

I use the whetstone to sharpen my ESEE-6 works great This product is robust with its dual layer design, metal + ceramic
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sk
USA
Jun 01, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent Quality Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone

I use this product to sharpen my knives and axe. The whetstone quickly and efficiently sharpens the edges on these tools and I highly recommend this product to other consumers.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joaquin
Laredo, TX
Oct 09, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Awesome

I used this product mainly for honing my knives using only the whetstone side. The stone does the job and leaves the blade razor sharp. It would be better is they made a larger size stone.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom B
Oceanside, CA
May 13, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Very handy

The primary use for this sharpener is for use in the field, and for that it is quite useful. The size is perfect and it is supplied with a nice leather slip/case. The diamond side is quite coarse and I can envision using it only if the edge is very dull or damaged, but is nice to have available. You will be using the ceramic side for routine touch-ups. Extra care must be used (by lifting the blade to a higher than normal angle to the stone) when sharpening convex edges to ensure that the stone is contacting only the edge and not the radius . This is a great product.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Murray
New England
Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Love this sharpener

Very nice size, great build quality, an excellent mobile field sharpener. Came with a nice leather pouch.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cool Hand
alaska
Jan 10, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Excellent product...excellent service

Product is well made and works well. The service was great. Thanks so much.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Madurin
Afghanistan
Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

The perfect field sharpener

Got this for my deployment and am ordering another and the DC3; they're the perfect size and the extremely low maintenence make it perfect for keeping your blades at peak shape. Highly recommended. Protip: If you forgot your DC4 and need to touch up your blade, use the unglazed ring on the bottom of a ceramic coffee cup for a quick touch up.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Noel
Fairlie, NZ
Mar 31, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Handy size does the job

Handy size that fits in hunting pouch...sharpens vg3 steel blade great..just follow the instructions.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve W.
The Midwest
May 21, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)

The quality of this stone is very good and easy to maintain. The leather case is an added bonus.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Quietmike
Jul 06, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Greta travel size sharpener

Will quickly re-profile and bring an edge back to shaving sharp. Well made and a handy pocket size.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bubba
Covington, LA
Nov 27, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

An Elegant Little Companion

Elegance, simplicity, functionality-the three components of Scandinavian design. They're all here in an up-to-the-minute tool for keeping your knives sharp, and it's easy to pocket. It's small, so it is easier to use with smaller blades. Use on larger blades requires the "circular" technique for sharpening.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
J Williams
South Carolina
Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Perfect

Fits in my knife sheath, works perfectly.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Msf
NYC
Oct 12, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Big Little Stone

I own all sorts of sharpening systems from preset rods to expensive pro sharpeners. If I need to choose one to take on the road it is the DC-4. With the diamond abrasive I can build up a burr with little or no trouble and the ceramic lets me get a hair whittling edge every time. I really like this product.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Washington
Apr 01, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Works very well.

Works very well to adjust and sharpen every blade I have used it with so far. The leather sleeve it comes with is nice and makes it very convenient to carry for use out and about.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kevin L.
Ridgefield, WA
Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Use, None

Good

While not the most diverse or useful sharpening device I have used, it will certainly do the job on a dull knife. Could use a little bigger size for large knives.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Vincent
Paris
Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

nice tool

i have a DC3 when i go hunting DC4 is nice too be used at home or for camping
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jake
Germany
Feb 25, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Overall Quality

FK DC-4

Very nice little sharpening stone. Thought, it would be a bit bigger. Definitely does the job. Got a kitchen knife sharp within minutes. Need practice to maintain angle. My DC-4 was not glued perfectly, there was some glue coming out between the diamond and the ceramic side but at least the surfaces are plain.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jerry
Australia
Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Durability

One side is bad, the other is terrific.

This is a good product and the ceramic side has been great. Using it to sharpen knives when outdoors for 2 years now with a handy leather sheath. The diamond side is complete sh*t that goes smooth in less than a month. I would but the CC4 because 1 side of this stone is unusable if you want to use the stone for years to come. Stone is also a little narrow that makes it troublesome some to sharpen a long edge.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jhhatfield
Denver, CO
Dec 31, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None

Good Medium Stone

Not quite as good of a surface out of the box as its little brother, but still a very useful and packable stone.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 3 stars out of 5
John Martin
Brisbane, Australia
Jun 02, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

A good value pocket sharpener!

This is a mixed bag, I love it's portable size and choice of ceramic or diamond sharpening side. The ceramic side is too rough so I used the DC3 stone diamond to smooth it out. There is an epoxy glue used to hold the ceramic to the metal coated diamond side which has since given way. It's not without it's hiccups but I still love it.
Fallkniven Diamond/Ceramic Whetstone 4" x 1-1/4" (100 x 32 mm)
rated 1 stars out of 5
Yeti
above artic circle
Oct 17, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Durability, Overall Quality

Be aware(!) not same quality as the knifes.

Listen lads, this is china quality at its worst. I am from Sweden and know Fällkniven products. First, the gold coloured diamond part is a thin layer on metall. It is so thin it will not last long. It will start to flake after some use. And after that the to parts fall apart. It is a string of glue holding them together. Sure, I use my things a lot but have other similar sharpeners that lasted decades. And when I am at it.... Fällknivens biggest selling product S1 is a complete design rip off from the Cold Steel SRK. Yes better steel, higher price for the S1. But total design rip off. I am going to piss off a lot of Swedish dudes with saying that Fällkniven is highly over prices and yes, if you get it for free as a soldier, take it. But if you want a knife (or sharpener) that is worth its money and that you want to use within the tasks of a soldier, there are many options before you choose F1. It is something of a hype. Just an ordinary knife, with high price.