Reviews and Ratings for Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay

Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlayrated 4.069 stars out of 5 (29 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
6
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
3
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6 inch Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay

 

Price: $43.95

Save $31.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
George F
Cosby, TN.
Oct 05, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Excellent Value

Use as a companion tool with my ccw weapon I carry. One hand operation to open and close. Smooth operation, no loose blade movement or sloppy thumb deployment button when opening blade. This blade excepts an excellent edge;honed correctly, will hold edge well. The uninformed, who write reviews I have read about this product as under performing, are wrong.They would do better to purchase a crowbar and ax instead;.or spend more money.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Richmond, VA
Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great knife, reasonable price

After looking at several different knives in the search for my ideal EDC knife I finally decided on the M&P and so far I am very satisfied with that choice. The knife met all the check marks on my EDC needs list: reliable/ fast assisted opening, belt clip, glass breaker, and a good blade. The MAGIC assisted opening is pretty stiff at first and it takes considerable pressure to operate it during initial use. After several openings however it begins to work easier without so much force required. The blade is very sharp right out of the box; not quite razor sharp but still a lot sharper than most of the other knives I've owned were straight out of the box. Price was very reasonable (cheaper than buying it off of S&W's site). I definitely would recommend the knife to anyone looking for a good EDC.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kyle
westminster MD
Aug 28, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

effing awesome

i have always had good luck with Smith and Wesson blades, they seem to be very high quality for the price. They are usually made in Taiwan, but i have never had one fail. I loved my 3" M&P, and the new 3.5" M&P4 is even better. It is bulky and heavy, but has a beautiful huge blade that deploys in a flash. Would make a great large utility knife, or an amazing defensive knife.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cpsd Rudy
Riverside, CA
Oct 27, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

SHARP AND POINTY

This knife was a great example of engineering and utility. Very responsive to three methods of opening consistency. A couple of swipes on a quality stone sharpener added a keen edge. Self defense orientated features that I enjoy are the weight and glass breaking point to be used as palm stick/kubaton in CQ aspect and blade deployment once engaged in actual attack. The price is great as well and SW is a brand worth considering for quality materials. Pay more if you must but consider SW before you do.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Oskar
San Antonio Tx
Sep 28, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Weight, None

Great

Great knife, the assisted opening is fast as an auto, and the customer service from Knife Center can't be beat.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Sarasota, FL
Mar 06, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use

Love this knife

I bought this knife after handling my son's. He is in law enforcement and has one as his duty knife. Knowing the abuse it goes through and seeing that it still works great I decided on the purchase. I couldn't be happier. It's a tiny bit stiff out of the box but loosens up quickly. I added it to my tactical vest replacing my previous one. Blazingly fast and incredibly solid just what I expected.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greer
Minnesota
Apr 06, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
Great for the price, well built.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nabashalam
Madison, WI
Oct 30, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Too much knife for me...

It was heavy and well built. Worked great but I was wanting to carry it in my pocket... It had the feel and weight to break car windows with no problem. Way to much knife for that... I went with the smaller SWAT knife (SWSWATM)
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eddie A
Kansas
Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great Knife

This is the second one of these that I have liked the first so much that I bought a second.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mom
Dec 28, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Gift

This was gift for my son-in-law. He had said he wanted it "really bad." He loves the way the knife fits in his hand, the ease of opening it, and the safety lock. He has shown it to so many of his friends.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Alpharetta, GA
Apr 02, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great knife @ a great price!

Really like the knife; very cool, user friendly functionality. Great price, and fast delivery!
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Will
Florida
Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great knife

Own a smaller version of this and bought this one and both are great. Extremely sharp and safety is nice and firm. Daily carry.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Allen-San
Crownsville, MD
Jan 27, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

A Handful

The heft and good size of this product makes for a nice, secure feel in your hand. I also really like the two opening options.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Navarre, FL
Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Didn't buy from here, but have had it for four years now.

My everyday knife. It's spent more time in the saltwater at the beach than any knife should. Still works perfectly today. The only part that is showing it's age is the blade itself, due to sharpening....duh. Yes, the safety is "less tight" than it was, but when you use it three to four times per day, you should expect wear on it. That type of wear only became obvious in the past few months. Would buy it again or would buy it as a gift.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yvette M
Virginia
Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type

Survey

Tool for working.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dirtyhandsrob
Nebraska
Mar 12, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness

Nice!

yes, this is a heavy, thick folding blade pocket knife, but i like it. it fits my hand well. i do not like the locking feature because the small lip sometimes gets in the way while opening or closing. but the window break is a good addition (if i would ever need it). i wish it came sharp, i had to sharpen mine.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 4 stars out of 5
Unit 23
USA
Mar 03, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Very Nice

I carried this for EDC at work on and off duty. I love how fast it is with the MAGIC assist opening. It feels great when it opens up. Things that could be improved: A. Make it in the U.S.A., not in overseas. B. Reduce the blade play. There isn't enough to cause a problem but it could definitely be tighter. C. The biggest issue and problem with this knife is that the safety switch is not tight enough. Whenever the blade is open, the safety switch will fall down to the lock position, making it unable to close without first moving it back off of safety. D. Lastly, when the pocket clip is used, you can see the knife sticking up. It is very obvious that it is a knife. This may or may not matter to a lot of people but it could be made possible to just see a clip, not the butt end of a knife.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dev S
highlands ranch, Co.
Nov 23, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight

bang for your buck

I dealt thought s&w did a good job on this sierse of knifes. Its a little on the heavier side. The assisted opener is very sting. When u close it it doesn't feel like its going to stay closed but it does. The safty on the knit works good. Over all I would give this an 8 out of 10.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rick
San Luis Obispo Calif...
Dec 15, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

I bought this knife as a gift for my dad

I tried the knife and really liked it!
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt
Rhode Island
Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use

Great Knife

Very good knife, I've owned two of these now, I beat my knives hard and these have been the most durable I've found out there, word of caution DO NOT chop anything with a tremendous amount of force, you will break the blade stop, it's not meant to be a heavy duty chopper, it will hold up for light to medium duty use and will stay sharp for a long time, down side is resharpening can be tough but it will hold it's edge and is factory razor sharp. Good balance over all, sturdy handle, over all good quality and I will be purchasing a third one.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bubba Ed
Chattanooga, TN
Sep 17, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip

S&W M&P Magic

General cutting use, especially when only one hand is available. A solid, well made knife for the money. About 1/3 of the way closed it hangs up occasionally. It is catching on something I cannot see in the handle - Sight trigger? Safety pin?
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 4 stars out of 5
Robert Werden
Liberty Hill, Tx
Apr 07, 2011
Pros: Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

Good enough for me

Works like an auto. Has 4034 steel, which is a couple steps above cheap steel, but still good enough for daily use. Made in Taiwan, so it is really not something I expect to last forever. In all it is nice, and the price is right.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 3 stars out of 5
Alan G
Gaithersburg, MD
Feb 08, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness

Ok for price, but not durable

I used this knife as an EDC duty knife. The window breaker did work on car glass. The action was ok. Since the clip was tip up, a good safety is needed. The small blade didn't have a lot of mass so it didn't open in the pocket like its larger sibling. It required frequent sharpening.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mel
Lima, Peru
Aug 06, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening
Cons: None
First i like to thank knifecenter.com, exelent service, product arrived in perfect condition, fast delivery and no problem whith my south american credit card. This knife looks great, it seems S&W primary concern is aesthetics and they succeed in that matter in all of their products, so that is why i bought it, this is a $40 made in china knife so thats what you get, fair enough. one thing i really like about this knife is the lever that springs the assisted mechanism, it operates like an automatic but legal in the U.S. I recommend this product
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 3 stars out of 5
Grozny
Canada
Nov 27, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

M&P4

I ordered this knife at the same time as the Smith and Wesson Military and Police 3rd generation knife (SWMP3BS). In comparison, this knife is much bulkier. For the extra half-inch blade, it weighs considerably more. I found that the safety on this knife was too easily engaged. Sometimes this made it difficult to close the knife, as the safety is often accidentally triggered. The thumb stud has its pros and cons. On the positive side, you can open the blade automatically by snagging the thumb stud on the side of your pocket. However, using your thumb on the thumb stud is more difficult than on other knives. The finger trigger is quite smooth, and does not work as well as other S&W knives. The assisted opening action on this knife is really fast! Quite impressive.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 2 stars out of 5
Greg
Fruitland Park Fl
Jun 22, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, None

Blade lock will not close

This knife is awesome looking and very comfortable in your hand, but the blade lock will not release, it appears to be something in the Safety on the side but I am unable to get it to close.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 1 stars out of 5
Disappointed
California
Aug 23, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality

Terrible

DO NOT BUY THIS KNIFE. There is nothing worth saving in this knife. It's way to heavy for anyone's liking,and the handle's nearly 3/4 of a inch thick. Using the thumb disk to open the blade is very difficult, and tears up the thumb as well. The opening lever on the back is just a little easier, but not by much. The safety lock is acceptable, but could be done better. The handle, besides being heavy, does not "grip" the hand well; it's slippery and I do not trust it. The clip is goofy looking, and bent on me the first time I carried it. The window breaker is quite small, but could do the job if needed. Spend $10 more, and get one of the other S&W MP knives. The blade may be 1/2 an inch shorter, but everything else is much better.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jkn
Arizona
Jun 25, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Weight

Nice looking & sharp, not durable enough for 2 wks of med duty.

Let me preface this by saying I've been using a Boker Kalashnikov 101 for about 3 years of med/heavy duty and never had a problem with it. the plastic had started to crack, but is still very usable. I decided to get the S&W M+P assisted blade because it looked nice, and I thought the S&W name would bring a durability to it. *It didn't*. I used the S+W as a medium duty carry/work pocket knife for about 2 weeks before the action stopped working. To be used, I now have to pull the blade out by hand, and it's very hard to pull out. Something got fscked up internally, and with very little wear. I definitely won't be recommending S&W knives to anyone I know.
Smith & Wesson SWMP4L M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.6" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlay
rated 1 stars out of 5
Ben E
Shelbyville , Il
Jun 16, 2015
Pros:
Cons:

Bad Saftey

I attempted to use this knife for everyday carry. After two weeks the safety was loose enough that the knife deployed in my pocket as my 7 year old son jumped on my lap. The pocket clip is on the wrong end of the knife and my son has several stitches in his leg. I would love to see a better safety on this knife. I liked it.