Reviews and Ratings for Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts

Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Insertsrated 4.563 stars out of 5 (32.0 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
6
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5 inch Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts

 

Price: $43.95

Save $31.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mdt
Burtonsville, MD
Feb 10, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great for the cost

Can't beat this knife for the cost. Opens very smoothly and keeps its edge nicely doing lighter work. I replaced my 7 year old S&W knife with this new one as my daily carry, it's that good. Glass breaker works nicely too. One con, the safety switch is a little loose, but I haven't had it accidentally switch off yet.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spec Warrior
butler pa
Aug 08, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material

too large

I am navy special forces...I bought this as my edc for civies. the knife itself is decent. sharp blade llightning fast opening... even if it is more of an auto more than assisted in my opinion. it is way heavier than I thought it would be and the handle is huge. the bade is exceptional and holds a good edge, but far to large and bulky to be an everyday edc. I am replacing it with the kershaw leek. and this will be going in my tool kit.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sinner
Southampton. Mass
May 28, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Badass!!

Use everyday in the elecrical field. Rugged, it can take a beat'n. Even the clip is stout- I would recommend this knife to anyone looking for an outstanding everyday versatile blade.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
M. Dias
Sao Paulo,
Aug 26, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, Weight, None

GREAT KNIFE

A good quality knife, the opening and closing are easy and quick. The blade works well in any material cutting. The handle is comfortable and fits well for use. A little heavy but appropriate to the size and general use.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick A
Danville Illinois
Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

An outstanding knife

This is one.outstanding knife the most outstanding feature is the one one handed operation the spring assisted opening is so smooth.It has a great feel in your hand and a sharp cutting edge.I would highly recommend this knife to anyone.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cory
Indiana
May 12, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Awesome Knife! Best Price Anywhere!

Great knife! Very practical for law enforcement use. KnifeCenter has the best prices that I could find on the net!
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pt
Columbus, Oh
Jul 16, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

exactly what I expected

Very sharp blade that is ready to go when I call on it
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Miguel
McAllen, TX
Jun 09, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

amazing knife

Every day use around the house. Cutting cardboard, rope, etc.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pancho
Palmdale
Aug 15, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

The best

I use it for opening boxes,cut wires Easy to open If you are using only one hand you can still open the blade, not problem
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Br0lly86
Des Moines, IA
Feb 21, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Nice and sharp. Also it looks really nice :)
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chazz
Kennewick wa
Sep 30, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great knife

Excellent knife. Good construction. I took this knife camping and used it all weekend from everything to making some kindling, hotdog sticks to cleaning some fish. Kept the edge well, and was sturdy. Action is smooth and I love the profile.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ted
Southern California
Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Great pocket knife

This is an everyday carry for me..the action is quick and easy. The blade is sharp and I like the length and shape. The glass breaker end could be handy. For the price, I haven't found a better knife. The action is as fast and convenient as an automatic.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jose
Brooklyn
Aug 09, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
very good knife
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cameron
Iliff
Dec 28, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Love this knife!!

I use this knife for everything opening boxes cutting tags off stuff anytime i need it its used. Cuts anything with little effort. Looks great. love the opening mechanism. All around great knife and no complaints.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donovan
Kingsland, GA
Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great knife

Excellent quality. Great knife. Too thick and bulky for carrying in a pocket or on a belt. The blade release shaped like gun sights is cool.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frediez
High Mountains, Colorado
Jan 20, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, Blade Sharpness, Weight, None

Just Sweet

A little heavy but thats because it's built like the proverbial brick {EDIT} house, WOW what a great opening mechanism.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dillon
North Carolina
Jul 08, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Better than expected.

This is a really good knife. It's got some weight to it, and it's a very well made knife. I'm extremely happy with you purchase. I order my knife on a Friday and got it the following Monday so the shipping was great as well.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fd82
El Paso, Tx
Sep 30, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Awesome!

I'm a firefighter, the knife was perfect. Easy to use and quality was great.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sharper Is Better
Seattle
Jun 12, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Sweet knife

This is a really great knife, first the blade geometry is perfect a good deep backcut so the cutting edge angle is shallow and consistent the blade is very sharp, the assisted openng is fast and solid it takes a good amount of pressure to open, wich is a good thing, the safety could be a little better its kinda sticky going on but will sometimes just slide off so that could be better, but you can apply the safety when the blade is open so if the linerlock fails that is a backup. Another great feature is the blade release moves independantly of the blade so when the blade is open you can lift/push on the release and it doubles as a thumb rest/hilt and is very effective, the other con is the blade release is in the shape of a pistol sight so its kinda rough on the finger but its minor compared to all the great things about this knife. Oh its kinda heavy, it is handle heavy so that makes the window breaker more effective and the blade more agile, its a large knife but fits the my medium sized hand well and wouldbe great for larger hands, All in all a great knife low cost high value like every other smith and wesson knife ive ever had Great buy
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jray
seattle, wa
Oct 15, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use

Good knife!

I use it primarily as a utility knife at work for odd jobs. Belt clip could be positioned better, but keeps the style intact completely while still being functional . no complaints, best knife ive ever owned. and yes, the assisted opening is sweet!
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sonny Sr.
sacramento, Ca
Jun 09, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Weight, None

best folding knife ever

I dont have anything bad to say about my S&W knifes. I own 4 of them and carry each one for differnt uses.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Milwaukee WI
Feb 13, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Fantastic Knife

The whole knife is fantastic. it is very easy to hold and is very sharp. I really like the knife very much.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don
Ohio
Apr 11, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Awesome knife!

I work for a city and there have been times I've needed a knife to help someone get out of a car accident and break the window and cut the seat belt. I need a knife that has weight and stays sharp. I love the safety lock because the spring assist is strong and needs to be locked if carried in your pocket. I'm looking to purchase many more knives because I collect them as well. Great Product!
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 4 stars out of 5
Det. M
Ut.
Aug 11, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, Lock Type, None

Love it

I love the look and the feel of this knife, and the spring assist is every bit as fast as my Kersha auto. It is pretty heavy and bulky but I got used to it in a short time, and the safety lock seems a little weak but for the price you can't beat the value. Great knife!!
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jimbo
whiteman afb
Mar 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Smith & Wesson M&P MAGIC MP5 Assisted 3.5" Combo Blade, Black Handle,

this knife is one of the best ones iv ever bought, very sturdy and an awesome opening system. knife came sharp, and is just about all metal. only down side is its kinda heavy, but thats for the glass breaker so it cancels that out
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 4 stars out of 5
Recreational Knife User
MI USA
Sep 06, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None

S&W does it again with another great model

Fantastic construction mine has not yet seen much use but I can tell it will last for years. It has my favorite opening mechanism with an extra safety lock. Only down side is it is a little small for my huge hands, but most people will not have a problem.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 4 stars out of 5
John B
Texas
Jul 02, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material, Lock Type, Sheath, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use

Good Knife

for an assisted knife I was hoping for more of a (flick) when it opens but its great quality for a super low price. BUY ONE
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 4 stars out of 5
John J. W
Dania Beach FL
Oct 16, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Sheath, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Nice product, nice consumer relations, USPS delivery bad

Nice product. Use it daily. Knife center needs to use UPS or Fedex instead of USPS.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 4 stars out of 5
David Thompson
KY
Apr 20, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Good knife

The easy of opening the knife great. But like everything it needs to be maintained. I have had this type of knife before smaller version from smith and wesson. Learned about bults loosen. What I do after buying a knife like this is remove all bolts that are just to hold clip on and the handle on put lock tight on them and screw them back in. This will stop you from having all the headaches of the loosing of screws. Keep well oiled and it will not let you down.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 3 stars out of 5
Spec Warrior
butler pa
Aug 08, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material

too large

I am navy special forces...I bought this as my edc for civies. the knife itself is decent. sharp blade llightning fast opening... even if it is more of an auto more than assisted in my opinion. it is way heavier than I thought it would be and the handle is huge. the bade is exceptional and holds a good edge, but far to large and bulky to be an everyday edc. I am replacing it with the kershaw leek. and this will be going in my tool kit.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 3 stars out of 5
John Doe
Anytown, USA
Apr 28, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

It depends....

This product is primarily for work, and thus stays on my belt or waist for the majority of the day. Within the first few days, one of the two small bolts joining the belt clip to the handle had already loosened and disappeared, and now I'm down to one, which leaves the clip very loose and wobbly. However, the blade is very conveniently shaped, very sharp out of the box, and the unit itself is very durable. Apart from the belt clip, it would be a good product.
Smith & Wesson SWMP5LS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Blade, Black Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inserts
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jason B
Valparaiso, IN
Aug 05, 2010
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Weight, Pocket Clip, Blade Material

Buy American Made

This knife has the easiest opening system of any knife I've owned, all one hand even the slide safety. The size is great, maybe a little heavy but worth it because of the window breaker. The handle finish will not scratch even when abused. All of that said, this knife was a terrible buy. Out of the box, I noticed a scratch on the grind of the blade, I found out this was from the uncentered blade contacting the handle during deployment. blade play was terrible; side-to-side and vertical movement. The pocket clip loosened and became wobbly after 4 days. The edge of the blade contacted the liner in the handle, constantly dulling the blade, and cutting through the liner. The safety failed numerous times and caused a deep wound in my hand on one occasion. I would have sent the knife in for warranty, however my brother payed me for it anyway, so I put the money towards a Kershaw Shallot (incredible). The money is not worth the risk of a poor knife.