Reviews and Ratings for Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum - SWPENBK

Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminumrated 4.667 stars out of 5 (69 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
52
4 star
13
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
0
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum

 

Price: $24.95

Save $17.05 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
HAWAII
Aug 10, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
HIGH QUALITY BUILD, LOW PRICE
I've been looking for a tactical pen for sometime and was put off by the high prices. When I saw the S&W and it's price, I thought to myself, "it must be low end with bad build quality." But I ordered a couple and was blown away by the high quality and finish of the pen. I played w/ a Benchmade pen, and to me they were the same, yet the S&W is 1/5 the price! It even writes really smooth! Nothing against Benchmade (one of my favorite knife companies), but I'll buy the S&W pen over any other brand out there time and again. I need to order more for Christmas, anyone would love these pens.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
American Hunter
Pacific Northwest
Jun 04, 2010
Pros: Durability, Materials, Refill Quality
Cons: Overall Quality, None
A great a buy!
Great pen, well made. Only deterrent (which obviously didn't deter me form buying) is the screw cap. A snap cap would have been a better design. I travel quite often (3-4X/mo). Passes TSA all the time, never questioned. Definitely a great buy.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chance
Reno, NV
Dec 29, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Refill Quality
Cons: None
Great product.
This pen is better than the more expensive products. The best feature is the threaded cap. The threads insure that the cap stays on. The easily obtained refills are nice too. The other pens I have I have to order the refills on line. I would definately buy this pen again.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric
Hyattsville, MD
Feb 09, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I own two
Nice balance and feel. Can use Parker refills. Can also be used as a stylus for PDA's and phones.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Morfiuss
Calgary,ab
Dec 11, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Super cool
Awesome pen, great quality and looks wicked.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam Oliverio Jr.
Putnam Valley, NY
Jul 31, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
What a deal!
Forget Benchmade, SOG and all the rest. Smith and Wesson has a certified winner with their tactical pens and it's about a fifth of the price. Perfectly balanced, writes like crazy and with a sleek pointed barrel it is magnificent. I can't rave about this pen enough. I own just about all of the tactical pens on the market, and for the price, this is the absolute best! Buy it, buy 2 or 3 (at under $25.00 it's a steal). It's my every day carry and should be yours as well. Can be refilled cheaply and easily with a Parker refill.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ishatz
Brooklyn, New York
Apr 28, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Expertly designed
The pen was a gift to my daughter. She works nights and I hope she never uses it.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Meanstreak534
Houston, Texas
Aug 10, 2009
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
High Quality Low Price
This pen is a very nice Tactical Pen that is as good if not better than other Tactical Pens at a much higher price. I carry mine every day. The ink refill did not last very long so I have replaced it with a Parker brand refill.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lg
Hungary
Aug 24, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good
The pen works great, but the most important part is how excellent a self defense tool it is. And no one suspects a thing when it is not in use.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kyle Huff
Seattle, WA
Jan 06, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Really nice. Good price.
I was worried that, given the price compared to Benchmade, etc. that the finish quality would reek of cheapness. However, it is a really well built piece, and it looks awesome and is about the size of a normal pen. An o-ring near the threads would have been nice to help keep the lid from unscrewing itself though. You'll have to remember to screw the lid down real tight. I got two, and the spring clips were not the same tension (not adjustable), so YMMV.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Texan Scott
Texas Hill Country
Apr 10, 2013
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good as advertised
Received today; materials, fit and finish are excellent. A quality tool as well as a fine writing instrument. Quick, trouble-free service and delivery of product. Thanks, KnifeCenter... I will be back.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan
Northport new york
Jan 21, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Smith and wesson pen
Excellant product, extremely durable and strong
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim Mccain
Shreveport, LA
Dec 16, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Value
This S&W tactical pen is a great buy its as good as pens costing $125 which is way way too much. It writes well too.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ralph
Charleston, SC
Dec 25, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Extra insurance rides unobtrusively and writes well.
This one works just as well as the brands costing much, much more. I give them to people I care about.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tmw
Orlando, FL
Jan 13, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Pen, Excellent Value
This is a great high quality pen that writes well. At this price, it’s the only pen I would consider buying.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Scottsdale, AZ
Apr 02, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Awesome pen
Great quality. Not cheap feeling at all. Amazing price compared to other retailers. Surprising, but the pen is very nice as well; writes great. The only thing I don't like is the pen top tends to unscrew in your pocket. Anyone know if this is legal to carry on an airplane??
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Russ
Huntsville, AL
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Probably the Best Value at The Knife Centger
Solid design and construction, writes wonderfully, refills readily available, and at a quarter of the cost of the competition. There's no reason to pay over $100 for a $25 pen, so don't.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chunky Lardasse
Little Rock, AR
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
A Real Self-defense Weapon to Carry in Plain Sight
This is a very well-made attractive ball point pen that would not be out of place in a board room. It also provides a very nasty surprise if used for self-defense. It could be used to break a car window if trapped during an accident.. I had looked at several
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kentucky Gentleman
Louisville, KY
Aug 21, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great alternative when you can't carry concealed.
Gave it as a gift to my paralegal who's got a concealed carry permit, but can't bring her S&W .38 snubby to the office if she works late. The S&W tactical pen matches her black snubby and writes well, too! She was pleased with it.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luca
out USA
Aug 10, 2009
Pros: Materials
Cons: None
Strong enough as a weapon
Strong enough as a weapon
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Poppy T
Morrison, Co.
Jan 04, 2010
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
Great gifts
I gave each of my two sons, a black S&W tactical pen, as Christmas gifts. I bought one for myself, too. Their friends asked where to get them [gave them your website.] I've been looking for reasonably priced tactical pens, and these are excellent!
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
David R
Clovis, New Mexico
Oct 07, 2010
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
S & W tactical pen
I am judge and decided a tactical pen might someday help. This pen writes very well. This pen is sturdy and without doubt capable of inflicting considerable damage if necessary. I recommend this product.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Docbenb
Ponchatoula, LA
Feb 05, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Cool Pen
I love this pen. To me it is a fast option if you need it.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Huargos
Spain
Jan 25, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good pen, excellent price
Strong, good finish. The ink did not lasted long in my pen.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Macgyver
New Britain, CT
Nov 16, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Paint it BLACK
Thought should be put into the use of this product. Restraint of tongue and pen should be second nature in todays world and for writing or defensive use, so should this pen. It is an excellent product in a tactical sense but its use for that purpose should not endanger the right to carry it. Too many bureaucrats out there are trying to outlaw anything that would not be politically correct. Lets not let this happen to products like this because it was used haphazardly.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vargar
Norway
Nov 12, 2012
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good tactical pen
I have less expensive pens that write better, but the main purpose for this pen is to be a defense weapon. And as a defense weapon I don't think the more expensive pens of this kind is any better. For the price you get a good tactical pen.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rainer
Estonia
May 17, 2011
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great pen
It's one beatiful pen. Built quality is very good and the price comparing to other tactical pens is just great. Pleasant to write with aswell.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lamont The Cop
Hyattsville, MD
Feb 07, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Pen
I'close tm a police office and I use this pen for work. It writes great. I have large hands so it is difficult for me to use regular plastic pens, i usually buy my pens at a professional pen shop and pay at least $100. This pen is affordable and writes better than some of my more expensive pens. The only issue is the the cap ddoes not stay on the back of the pen when writing.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike K
Burbank, Il
Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great pen
I try to cover all eventuality's,and it's nice to have things do double duty,this is one,and as my mom used to say you can put out an eye with that thing.All in all nice pen,used a fisher space pen refill and very happy with it.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zack The Cat
Dallas
Jan 03, 2011
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good Product
Nice light pen. I like the screw cap. The friction fit on the pen cap is good, once pen is in use. I've used it to punch holes in cardboard boxes and plywood. I purchased the shrade pen as well. I like the shrade version 1 design a little better, basically the same pen except for the machined design at the tip. The S&W tip has a machined "collar" feature that tends to get stuck when puncturing things. Overall good price, and the pen met my expectations.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leon Crowley
East Orange, New Jersey
Sep 25, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
One of the best devices ever!
Since it's a real pen, the cops can't hassle you and it's has easy access. I carry one all of the time. It even looks good enough the wear with suits. I use it as a pen and I also practice with it as a yawara stick.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eddeg
San Francisco, CA
Feb 09, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nice...
Product has great construction and has a very comfortable feel as a writing instrument. Affordable.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike M
Chicago, IL
Feb 13, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Buy !!!!
Pen is really solid. It actually writes really well. And if worse came to worse and I had to use this in a defensive or offensive manner, I feel really bad for the other person because it would not be pretty.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
PA
Feb 03, 2012
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent Weapon, err I mean pen
This is a high quality tactical pen that will not break the bank. I bought 3 of them for gifts and one for myself. The pen has a solid feel to it and easily punches through a window so skin should not be an issue if ever used in that capacity. For those that are complaining about the ink cartridge moving around inside the pen shaft all it takes is one small piece of electrical tape wrapped around the cartridge. Speaking of the ink it is easily replaced with a good gel cartridge available from any office store. I bought 2 high quality gel cartridges for under $7. As the pens coating will wear from running against the pocket after time I used a flat name brand firearm spray paint to refinish the pen. Looks brand new. I like the screw on cap. It stays on and does not fall off like my S & W Military model. If only that had a screw on cap it would be IMO the superior pen.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tdd1416
Akron, Ohio
Apr 02, 2010
Pros: Materials, None
Cons: Refill Quality
Tactical Pen
This is a perfect pen for self defense. It's not too big or too long. Plus it's very light and concealable.I like the fact that it looks like a normal pen when placed into a shirt pocket.The only question is the pen approved to be taken on an airplane?
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kolschey
Warwick, RI
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Exactly as hoped and expected
I am very pleased with the quality of construction, the weight, and the balance of this item. It fits very comfortably in my hand. The clip is robust and effective.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shockwave
miami
Apr 02, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great pen- great service at Knifecenter
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hawaii808
Hilo,Hawaii
Oct 20, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Works great as a pen. Always at the ready as a defensive tool. Very solid product.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jungle Jodo
Mission, B.C. Canada
May 20, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Pen and Emergency Defence Device
Nicely built. Good feel. Excellent value.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hawaii808
Hilo,Hawaii
Oct 20, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Covert
Works great as a pen. Always at the ready as a defensive tool. Very solid product.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Firefighter/Emt Charlie
P-Town, VA.
Jun 01, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
A way to protect yourself
I use it as a way to protect myself where I am not allowed to have other types of protection. The nice thing about it is it is a quality pen and is very durable for use as a protective device. (High Quality) I can't find any negative points yet.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Fresno, CA
Dec 09, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent tool and writing instrument
The S&W tactical pen is an excellent writing instrument and tool. I have had the occasion to use a similar S&W pen to shatter a car window during an emergency. Knife Center's handling and delivery of my order to efficient and prompt.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Viteye
Worcester, Massachusetts
Dec 29, 2009
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
Nice Pen
I use it everyday. It's better built than my Benchmade Pen and I paid 4 times the price.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Bamako at the moment
Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best Travel Carry Option, Great Price
I've had my S&W Tactical Pen for a few years now. As a pilot who flies outside the US, I am often in situations which are questionable. Due to security procedures, this pen is the best choice I have for an always available self-defense aide. I keep waiting for TSA or their African counterparts to take it away, but I've never had a problem. The price is right and it is a pretty nice pen as well!
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dick B.
Greensboro,NC
Aug 09, 2010
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
Best value of any tactical pen on the market!
The pen is used all day long in place of a cheap pilot, bic, or papermate. It has a great design, and is very durable. The only thing I would change is the refill. Hauser makes a poor refill, as it smears and leaks easily. I replaced the refill with one by Fisher.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randy
Riverton, Utah
Jan 21, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
small comfort
This tactical pen is pretty cool. It seems stout enough to provide some last-ditch protection if needed. It is an attractive, inconspicuous design and a decent pen. The price was right.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blackhawk
Seattle, WA
Jan 05, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nicer than expected
I was expecting more of a "cheaper" item because of the price. Very well made and is exactly or better than avertised. Very impressed.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gt
Sun City CA
Jul 29, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
NEVER GO UNARMED AGAIN
Makes a great pointer for maps and diagrams and can also be used as a stylus on store credit card readers so you don't have to use the sometimes filthy one attached. The machining is very well done and the striking point is sharp enough to serve as an effective last ditch defense weapon but still blunt enough not to snag or poke holes in your clothes. The pocket clip is very robust and holds the pen securely even on the thinnest shirt material. The cap is a screw on so it's a little slow to get it ready to use as a pen. The price is low enough that you won't be too sad if you have to surrender it at an airport check point to catch a plane. Think how you would feel if you had to abandon one of those $100+ tactical pens. R/GT
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clark
Colorado Springs, CO
Feb 17, 2011
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great back up device for when you are in a jam.
The pen can be concealed in plain sight and does not draw attention to itself.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Renzy
Alabama
Aug 11, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
GREAT VALUE
This pen is a great value. Just as useful as the higher priced tactical pens. Same form and fashion.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Laurent P
Chambery, Other
Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Refill Quality
it works !
Excellent tool ! well finished,great materials and well delivered as usual.... 1 week from the US to France !
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
L.T.
Boston Ma
Dec 02, 2009
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nice
nice build quality,writes very nice.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jb
Tulsa
Dec 03, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Everyone Needs a Tactical Pen!
I purchased several of these for gifts, but decided to keep one for myself. It is made of nice/high quality extruded aluminum. Impressive design. This is good for the guy who has everything (except a tact pen of course).
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wombat
NM
Feb 10, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great value
This S&W Tactical Pen is my EDC pen that sits in its own slot in my day planner. When I go to places that don't allow knives, I have my Pen. Made out of aluminum, it has a threaded cap and the ink is high quality. It does the same thing that other tactical pens do but costs much less. I got the pink one with hearts for my wife. The only complaint I have -- and it's a minor one -- is that I wish it would have a better way of securing the cap on the tip while you're writing with it, as it tends to fall off. But as a tactical tool, the threaded cap is very secure and solid. I would buy it again and recommend it to friends/teammates.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tk
Alabama
Feb 17, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great value
A great value compared to others at $99
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rob
Sacto, CA
May 26, 2010
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
Tactical Pen
Can't afford to blow over $100 on a knurled aluminum writing instrument? This one gives you all the features of a Benchmade (or similar) so-called "tactical" pen without the high cost. Granted, most of us in the military used some version of a space pen because the pressurized ink cartridge allowed you to write on anything in any condition (I wasn't so concerned with conquering attackers with a mighty pen). However, for a pen that doubles as a kubaton, this one does a pretty nice job of it.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Paynterbrother
Woodstock New York
Oct 30, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Refill Quality
Cons: None
Great Pen
Great price first and foremost. Writes really well, you can replace the ink cartridge from any stationary store. Feels really great and sturdy. I love the torsion screws on the clip. Buy it you'll like it!
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sue
St. Louis
Aug 03, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability
Cons: None
Not what I expected.
I purchased 3 of these pens to give to my friends that had commented on mine. When I got them they were similar, but not the same pen. They were the older models without the new upgrades.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bo
Lubbock, TX
Nov 02, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Refill Quality
Great deal
This pen compares favorably with the Benchmade pen that sells for up to five times as much.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Retired Game Warden
New Mexico
Oct 07, 2010
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
Great Tactical Pen for the money!
Great tactical pen for the price. I did find the pocket clip being too tight, I had to bend it out a bit to fit my shirt pocket. Also, while flying, I went to use the pen and found that it had leaked inside the cap. That is a fault of the ink cartridge though, not the pen.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Paco
Spain
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great value for price
Nice tactical pen, much cheaper than other similar options.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
A Roi
Lipetsk, Russia
Mar 11, 2011
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
4+++ is my rating for it. Unbelievable price\quality ratio. Plus 5...10 mm in length - it could be 5++. Excellent souvenir for my wife (with her skills in martial arts). KnifeCenters are best!
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
T R Writer
Angels Camp, Ca.
Aug 10, 2009
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
Good pen, excellent value.
I am always looking for a well designed and manufactured product. The workmanship is good, some details such as the finish work on the clip, and the refill are what kept this pen out of the excellent category. The refill has on more than one occasion taken some scribbling on a page before the ink would flow, that I find frustrating. All in all it is a 'good' product, and an excellent 'value', especially considering the difference in price with some other brands of 'tactical pens' and the fact that the flaws are easily remedied.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dac
nyc
Feb 03, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
very cool
honestly, i got this because i thought it looked like the pen darth vader would have. it's very cool looking. it feels extremely solid and i think it's a good value for the cost.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Paul D
The Internet
Sep 29, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None
Smith & Wesson (Black) Aluminum Tactical Pen
Smith & Wesson (Black) Aluminum Tactical Pen cap needs to be screw on to prevent loss or cap from popping off.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mark W.
San Francisco, CA
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very Disappointing
This is very disappointing. It is not discreet at all. It has "Smith & Wesson" on the pocket clip, and as soon as you pull it out of your pocket, the gnarly pointed end makes it look offensively like a weapon. If you want to write with it, you have to unscrew the cap. Comes with an excellent Parker-style refill though. I would much rather have a tactical pen that has a pull off cap that deploys on the non-writing end of the pen body. The pen point has enough penetration by itself in terms of a last ditch, improvised self-defense tool. There is no need to leave the "business" end outside the pen like this and make the whole affair look so obvious.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 3 stars out of 5
John
Weston,MO
Jun 07, 2010
Pros: Materials, None
Cons: Overall Quality
tactical Pen
Well, it is a good price but I thought the ink cartridge was the tip of the dagger, instead the ink pen is under the cap and the dagger is blunted. This setup will make it difficult to hide or mask such as when boarding an aircraft.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 2 stars out of 5
Tm
utah
Feb 10, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Durability
Good not Great
the powder coating is flaking and the stylus end has deformed through regular use.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Black Aluminum
rated 2 stars out of 5
Darrel G.
Nashville
May 18, 2011
Pros: Materials, None
Cons: Refill Quality
mixed emotions
As a frequently used writing instument, buy something else. The cap frequently falls to the floor, and the ink cartridge is of low quality, and unsteady. As a novelty, or defensive weapon, it excels.