Reviews and Ratings for Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum - SWPENBL

Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminumrated 4.655 stars out of 5 (29 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
8
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum

 

Price: $25.95

Save $18.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rass
Rock Springs WY
Jun 28, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
S&W Blue Tact Pen What a Deal
I use this pen at work and it good to know that while using it to write down information from suspects I have a tactical defense tool in my hand all of the time. the styling is catchy and it just feels good to use and for this price you can't go wrong.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Fresno, CA
Dec 09, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Refill Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Excellent tool and writing instrument
The S&W tactical pen is an excellent writing instrument and tool. I have had the occasion to use a similar S&W pen to shatter a car window during an emergency. Knife Center's handling and delivery of my order to efficient and prompt. The blue is a nice touch
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Machodude
Tucson, AZ
Nov 02, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
The Ultimate in Macho Writing Instruments
I like a pen with heft, no wimpy Cross pens for me and this fits the bill perfectly. It feels good to write with it, the pointed end works great as a stylus on my pda, it will take any Parker refill and it looks way cool. The only downside that I see is the super sturdy clip is very tight which makes it difficult to clip in a shirt pocket.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Astronomer 1
Chesterfield, VA
Aug 18, 2012
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
An excellent value--well-made
I tried out the Benchmade tactical pen in stainless steel and titanium. For me, both were very heavy and uncomfortable, particularly while writing. I did not compare the Benchmade aluminum version to the Smith and Wesson for weight and comfort. However, the S&W model is much more comfortable while writing because of its rounded barrel. If you compare it to the Benchmade's fluted grip area, you'll see what I mean. The Benchmade cap snaps securely both open and closed with an internal o-ring fitting, and the S&W cap simply unscrews. Unlike other reviewers, I had no difficulty with turning the cap friction-tight to close the pen and it did not unscrew. Similarly, I had no problem with the cap falling off while writing--friction worked perfectly. The S&W pen lacks the attractive knurling found on the Benchmade, but the machined grooves on the S&W serve equally well. More importantly, the fluting and points on the business ends of both pens are similar, and appear to be equally strong and effective. The pocket clip on the S&W gripped shirt pocket material very tightly. This made the pen difficult to place in my pocket, and over time, would prematurely wear out the shirt material. I have been bending the clip back and this has reduced the pressure to more appropriate levels. I would prefer a "sanitized" version of the clip. The Smith and Wesson logo attracts more attention than necessary. The Benchmade pen also carries a logo, with the same detrimental effect. The S&W factory refill left blobs of ink all over the page and on my hands. I replaced it with a Fisher Space Pen refill (along with the plastic adapter that accompanies the refill). The fit was perfect and the Fisher refill is outstanding. At approximately one-quarter the cost of the Benchmade, the S&W is a great value and provides some unobtrusive extra security. I plan to buy more of them as gifts.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Down Under
Apr 03, 2013
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent
S&W Tatcical pen is a brilliantly ribust little pen. Closed it would function ideally as a PDA stylus, as well as writing very well due to high quality fisher ink refils. The biggest improvement on S&Ws first model i sthe fact taht the pen screws into the cap solidly. Th e original S&W tac pen was just held in place by a plastic clip that felt flimsy in the hand.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Davidjohn211
kent,wa
Oct 23, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great pen
it is very comfortable to write with and great for carrying around for defense
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
College Student
Southern Ohio
Sep 16, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Pen, Great Price
I live in the country, work in the city, and carry this pen everyday everywhere. It's tough enough to withstand being a work pen, nice enough to not look out of place for a dressed up atmosphere, and writes great! The standard ink refill worked well, but I replaced it with a blue Fisher refill and couldn't be happier. It writes quick, clean, and dependable. Is comfortable in the hand even for extended note taking (College Classes), and gets comments from everyone. I showed the pen to a cop friend, who tested it out by slamming the stylus end as hard as he could into a soft cover text book, it left impressions through three chapters, and penetrated about 1/8" into the book. It didn't damage the pen at all, didn't even mark the finish on the tip. He started looking for one to carry on duty after that. I've been bashed against a steel door frame and concrete wall while moving large furniture out of a building with this pen clipped into my pocket at the point where my body hit the wall/door frame, it scratched the clip, but that was it. Didn't mangle or bend the clip or body of the pen. Buy it, you won't regret it.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sigtyr
Santiago, Chile
Nov 04, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excelente
para defensa personal, excelente, ademas puedes escribir.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Raúl Castro Jara
Chile
Nov 16, 2011
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Appropriate size. It can be stored in any pocket and does not call attention. Solid construction and lasting color. Furthermore, this pen writes well.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mannyc
Tacoma, WA
Dec 04, 2009
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
Excellent value for a tactical pen
This is a great looking and sturdy pen. The only complaint that I would have is the Hauser ink refill that it comes with. I replaced it with a Fisher Space Pen Refill.I also put an O ring where the barrels meet. No unintentional decapping now.I also put an O ring on the "Stylus" side. I find that the cap now stays on when I'm writing. Over all excellent quality. Same materials as more expensive pens. I own different a few tactical pens from different manufacturers. You can't go wrong with this pen. Just try not to lose it.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Harwood
Toronto
Mar 15, 2010
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
Very happy with this pen
The only complaint I have with this pen is the fact that I had to immediately swap in a refill. I live in a cold climate, and the factory ink was freezing. Swap in a Fischer Space Pen refill and everything is perfect. Fit and finish on this pen are excellent!
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tnreb
Palmyra, TN
Jan 03, 2010
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
S&W tac pen
I used a lollypop handle as a spacer to be able to use other pen refills. I bought refills at Wal-Mart.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billy Bones
Glen Burnie,Md
Mar 03, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nice!
Bought the Shrade also. This one is great,but I leave it on the desk, as it is a little more onerous/obvious as to it's true purpose.Heaven forbid you use some item to defend yourself here in the People's Republic of Maryland.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fishboy
Riverside, CA
Jun 16, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Writes well; good buy.
I have this in my outdoor reporter pad cover. I keep regular pens too, but like to keep a backup. Is longer and writes better without the smudges that the space pen-type pens create. Also, a bit wider around the cap end than I thought it would be.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hawaii808
Hilo, Hawaii
Oct 20, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Covert
Great looking pen writes well. Always at the ready defensively! Powerful covert self defense tool.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
Charleston, SC
Jul 21, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very Pleased
I'm very happy with this product. It works well as a pen and I feel sure it will work well as a last-ditch defense weapon if needed as well. I do wish the cap would fit tighter when I'm writing with it but that's a minor thing. Overall I'm very happy with it.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phil
Alexandria, VA
Sep 15, 2009
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
Great Pen
Not only is it a fine "last resort" defensive tool, but it's perhaps the best pen I've ever used. Make sure you purchase the gel ink refill.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tessa
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 15, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best bargain tactial pen
There is no longer a need to spend $80 or $100+ dollars on a tactical pen. Get this one. I've got some of the others and this is the one I use, because if I lose it, or it gets taken away, I'm not that bummed. No it's not made in the USA and of course the expensive pens are going to be of slightly better quality but it's a pen. I'd rather have 4 of these than one $100+ pen any day of the week. This one is pretty innocent-looking too. Scratch off the S&W name and it's even less tactical looking, which is good because I once barely escaped having my Benchmade pen taken away at the airport.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kentucky Gentleman
Louisville, KY
Aug 21, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great for when you can't carry concealed.
Gave this as a gift to a friend at work who helped me out. She sometimes works late and lives in the country, but can't carry a concealed weapon to work. The S&W tactical pen fills the bill exactly...and it writes well, too!
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fmj Ar15.Com
SW FL
Apr 30, 2010
Pros: Durability
Cons: None
Blue S&W A.T.P.
I give this pen a 5 Price is GREAT and Quality is Good So what if you LOOSE IT! It writes wich isnt the reason I bought it Can be used for Protection wich its main use. Now just take off the Trademark name. Also bought the PINK HEART and rate it a 5 I think it would make it pass the line over the S&W BLUE
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry 302
webster ny
May 21, 2010
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very well made.Screw on cap is a plus. Over all a very well made affordable tac. pen. I have given them to my 2 college student daughters. A go anywhere low profile "pen".
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Swatmedic12
Stockton, CA
Jan 04, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
good value
This is not quite as nice as the Benchmade, but for the money, it is great. The quality is still great and I think this makes a great tool/pen. Not to mention the legalities of using a pen for defense first, before a knife as you escalate force as needed.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Razum
Wyoming
Jun 12, 2010
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None
Great Pen For the Price
The Smith & Wesson pen is a great tactical pen for the price and if you are concerned about losing the pen this pen is for you because you don’t lose a bus load of money in the process. The stylus end of the pen works great and the only complainant is having to unscrew the cap to get to the pen to write but the tactical end of the pen is great. It would be nice if the ink cartridge was higher quality but for the price you can’t beat this pen. Just remember this is not a 115.00 SureFire III retractable and you can buy four of the Smith Pens for the price of the SureFire.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gyffes
New England
Jan 05, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent for the price
Obviously, the Benchmade is better: pull-off cap beats unscrew anyday for sheer utility as a pen. And it IS useful as a pen: it's always with you and its subtle heft makes writing with it easy and comfortable. The pressure tip is very pointy, much more so than on the Schrade. However, this also makes it more obviously a "potential weapon" and therefore much LESS likely to escape the notice of the TSA gestapo, should you be trying to fly with this as anti-pant-setter-on-firer insurance. Also bought the Schrade (in hot pink, no less!) and prefer that; the rounder end (and hot pinkness!) gives me hope it'll get through checkpoints more easily. Con: The damned thing has unscrewed itself a few times when worn clipped into the cargo pocket of my pants. Not sure what about my stride is making it do this, but about 5 times, now, I've heard it clanking against my ipod (in same pocket) and realized it'd come unscrewed in half.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Johnny
Elburn IL
Feb 18, 2010
Pros: Refill Quality, None
Cons: Durability
Cool tactical Pen for the price
I have a pen on me at all times all the time anyway. Its nice to have a defensive weapon on me at all times. The paint comes off really easy, but you get what you pay for. The benchmades are much more expensive. This item is imported that is probally why it so much cheaper.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Frogslayer44
middlesboro, ky
Mar 09, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, None
Cons: Refill Quality, Materials
Sneaky little wea-PEN
I like the feel, but it could be a little heavier, then again that is just my preference. I think this pen should be standard issue for all ups (or other delivery people) they usually travel alone and deliver to some outrageous locations. Plus the tip works great as a stylus. The pocket clip is strong! which helps it to not fall out of a shirt pocket. The supplied refill kinda sucks though, I suggest buying a gel refill (it uses all parker refills).
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave
Washington, Pa.
Apr 14, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
lightweight pen
I have several Smith&Wesson pens, this being the older, lighter model. It is good looking, gives me a weapon if required. Inexpensive but well made, writes well.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brady
Canada
Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Pretty solid pen.
I've been using this pen everyday since I bought it. It writes well and feels very solid. The only downside is that the blue coating is already beginning to chip off after just a couple of weeks of use.
Smith & Wesson Tactical Pen, Blue Aluminum
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dan
West Bend, WI
Dec 27, 2013
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
S&W Tactical pen
Purchased on sale without really knowing what to expect. Pen end needs to be unscrewed to access writing point inside. Has a little weight to it. Fit and finish are quite good. Writes fine.