Reviews and Ratings for 5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles - 51092

5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handlesrated 3.200 stars out of 5 (20 reviews)
3.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
6
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75 inch S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles

 

Price: $34.95

Save $95.04 (73%) Off Retail

View Product Details
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Allen
Deal, MD
Sep 09, 2020
Pros:
Cons:

Great Value

Use it for EDC - love the size and blade steel
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
Des Moines, Ia
Aug 20, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None

Newest EDC beast

For the newest member to my EDC rotation, this thing is simply a welcome beast. The opening was a bit stiff at first, but after repeat use and learning the optimum thumb motion, it whips open wickedly fast and hard, Just lovely feel in my hand, the grips are firm yet fitted, jimping on top is pronounced and in just the right place. Blade itself is not centered, or at least it appears so. That really seems to be offset due to serious force from the liner lock. Perhaps that makes the action seem stiff, but that locking action is rock steady! Good purchase.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Juntao36
Virginia
Oct 29, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Awesome

To be honest I was a little hesitant to order it after reading some of the reviews, but now after receiving the knife I don’t know what they were talking about. Maybe they fixed the problem or mine is a special case but mine opens great smooth action and locks open hard. The blade steel is great quality and comes with a good edge on it. But especially at this reduced price I might buy a couple and I highly recommend it to anyone considering this knife pull the trigger it’s totally worth it.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ronin
Texas
Sep 09, 2020
Pros: Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None

I like this.

Yes, it is hard to open until you get used to it. It has been a consistent lock up every time. I use my index finger and my thumb to open the blade. I think that was the intent because when I do that the blade sinks into my hand for a excellent grip. I feel very confident after a little practice drawing and opening and a welcome addition to my EDC rotation.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Edgecrusher
Grand Rapids, MI
Aug 28, 2020
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Awesome deal:)

First and foremost, the 2 people 1-staring this because its 'impossible' to open, obviously don't know how to open a stiff knife. Sounds like the one reviewer probably shouldn't bet his life on *any* knife, not just this one, lol, while the other reviewer literally gave up and ' threw his in the trash' after what seems like such a short period of time, which leads me to believe possibly they just don't know about knives or breaking them in;) Are they stiff to open initially...Yes. Are they impossible to open initially...hardly! I can deploy them just fine with the tip of my thumb with a bit of pressure, but here's a hint for people that 'can't'...USE THE MIDDLE OF YOUR THUMB, RIGHT WHERE THE JOINT IS! It'll make it MUCH easier. Also remember, like many models of folders, to push the thumbstud somewhat perpendicular to the pivot, meaning push it down/away/out from the handle, roughly @ ~7 o'clock, NOT UP. Quite a few makes of knives are initially stiff. I've used much higher priced knives that are initially stiff openers or stiff detents (a chris reeves included), so its not a huge factor to me honestly, cause it'll smooth out over time. Now, because the apparent elephant in the room is out of the way, onto the knives themselves. I bought 2 @ the $34.95 a knife price. The first knife: Blade sits dead center, deploys fast for its size via assisted opening, out of the box had a roughly 800 grit edge on the s30v blade, a lil bit toothy. Decently stiff to open w tip of thumb, though far from impossible. Using previously stated tips above if your having trouble, opening will become MUCH easier to do. The second knife: Blade sits a bit to the right(non pocketclip face of knife), just shy of rubbing, deploys roughly the same speed as the first knife (pretty fast, especially for its size) via the assisted opening, out of the box had a roughly 1000 grit edge on the s30v blade (sharper/ smoother than the first by a bit). Again like the first, decently stiff to open w tip of thumb initially, though not any more so. Currently just sitting here opening and closing it, seems to be loosening up a tiny bit too, probably after roughly 50 times thus far. Both handles are very beefy, easy to hold, the jimping behind the thumbstud on ricasso leading up to handle pivot, as well as on lower liner lock is good, nicely chamfered so it doesn't bite too much, and provides a surer grip, as the FRN handle scales, while not being slick, are not the most grippy ever, either. Each knifes liner lock engages very tightly and securely as well. Both seem to be of nice quality in these regards. Love the recurve style blade shape, fullers(blood grooves), and how the blade height drops down just forward of the thumbstud on spine. Nice stiff pocketclip, very nice placement. Impressive because I see more and more knives as of late where the pocketclip looks like a complete afterthought, however this one does not, which is refreshing. Handle is 1/2in thick, btw, while the blade weight is ~5.1oz. Just took a few min break from currently writing this, went and got my sintered ruby sharpening rod (boker/sieger) and hit one of em against it, 10 times each blade side, and it sexed up the edge nicely, nicely sharp now. Point being, they come decently sharp, although not 'Spyderco Sharp' lol. So case in point, the factory edge could use a tiny bit of sharpening/ honing, at least regarding the two I received. Importantly, when sharpening a recurve blade style like these, you want to use cylindrical rod style stick sharpeners (or a slack belt style) as those work quickly/efficiently. You can also use one of the triangle shaped rods or the edge of a benchstone if you profile it down a tiny bit, but those methods will probably take longer due to less sharpening surface area. You can also use a large dowel w sandpaper attached to match the recurve belly as well Long story short, IF THESE WERE FULL PRICE, due to the decently stiff initial opening, and because the handle scales could be a bit rougher, I would probably rate it a 3.5-4 for the price. This is far from the first folder I've owned that's been stiff initially though, they all loosen up, so I can't dock it much due to that either way, imho. HOWEVER since these are $35, an obvious 5, because that is the absolute cheapest I've ever seen a knife for with s30v blade steel. The overall quality seems nice as well, far from poor. Thanks:)
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Devildog#1
Richmond, Va
Oct 23, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

O

Once you have adjusted the pivot assist, and you learn to push up, not out, on the stud, this becomes a reliable and light EDC. Can’t beat the price point for a SV30 blade. Don’t purchase it if you want a “out of box”, immediately easy to use knife. That’s why it only merits a 4.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Beast Mode
LBC
Sep 09, 2020
Pros:
Cons:

Awesome Deal Bruh!!!

Not sure I get all the hate - this thing is a beast! s30v for $35 - thats whats up!!
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Alek
Rockford, MI
Sep 01, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use

Decent Beefy knife

I received it a few days ago after purchasing it on sale. Had I paid full price for it I would have been more disappointed but on sale it's worth it. The S30V steel is great, the handle is good and grippy, the pocket clip is already a deep carry which I like and not overly stiff like it's going to shred your pocket seam. The action is definitely stiff fresh out of the box but useable and is softening as I use it. The centering is quite bad to the point that the side of the blade is rubbing against the liner slightly scratching the painted finish, and the edge of the blade had a coarse ~800ish grit toothy dull edge with a small chip almost at the tip of the knife. I don't regret buying an S30V steel 3.75" knife for less than $50 and the few shortcomings are either short term or modifiable.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Oleg K
Brooklyn, Ny
Oct 24, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Lock Type, Weight, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use

Great knife for its price!

This isn't the best knife in the world, obviously, but I read these reviews where people complain about its quality and about how difficult it is to open... It costs less than $40, for S30v steel! And it has assisted opening. What more can you wish for without paying hundreds of dollars for it?! It's not easy to open single-handed but it is possible, I found that loosening the screws and adding a bit of oil makes it easy to open. Other than that I'm very happy with its robust build and a large blade. The blade is very sharp out of the box and the knife itself is of fairly high quality! I have ZERO complaints, if you factor in the amazing price of this knife.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt_C
Upstate NY
Sep 08, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Worth twice the price

Yeah, it's a little stiff at first but it loosens up. The compound grind on the blade and the hollow recurve section are killer. You get a shaving sharp area for making feathersticks, cutting cord etc., and still have a very stiff point for piercing. A bit heavy for EDC if you're used to small knives, but it is an absolute workhorse and I doubt you'll be disappointed. Lockup is bulletproof, almost feels like a small fixed blade. Do yourself a favor and get one!
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark W
Nebraska
Aug 12, 2020
Pros: Blade Material
Cons: None

Seems great ... if only it was 3.5 inches

This would be an outstanding buy ... unless you're in a state where any knife over 3.5 inches is considered a concealed weapon if in your pocket.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Charles
USA
Oct 23, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None

Interesting Experience

I gave this one a three but you have to read the review. I saw this knife and felt that I couldn't lose at the price based on the blade and materials. I did not read reviews but bought spur of the moment. As many have mentioned this knife was such a challenge to open that in a fit of temper I threw it. Yes, I am aware that many knives need breaking in. I began two handed opening and closing over and over several different days. About the third time I saw something drop on the floor with a ping. It turned out that the spring had broken and fallen. Now the knife is excellent. It is not spring assisted and doesn't need to be. It opens with the thumb studs, no problem and doesn't open by itself. It is now just a good solid knife, made with quality steel. I couldn't give it a perfect rating under the circumstances, but it works well without the spring assist.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Josh
Lawton, OK
Nov 02, 2020
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip

I wanted to like it

The knife is extremely hard to open, the way you have to push on the thumbstud to open it can make your thumb almost get caught by the blade as it swings out when the "assist" kicks in. The pocket clip is loose even with the screws tightened all the way, the screw heads on the scales strip out extremely easily, I have paid $30 for better quality knives than this one. The quality of this knife is on par with the smith and wesson border patrol knife that I bought at least 7 years ago that I stuffed in a drawer somewhere because of how much it annoyed me. I can't believe retail for this knife is over $40... And tbh, anyone that paid the $129 msrp on this knife got royally screwed. The only thing I liked about it was the shape of the cutting portion of the blade. I do believe the blade could be useful, but there are some serious issues with this knife.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Brian
Jeannette , Pa
Aug 29, 2020
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness

Rough to open

The knife is definitely hard to open but not impossible. Then again I have pretty strong hands and I do have to put some serious force to open it so I can see how some people would have a difficult time. The blade had a chip in the blade so I sharpened it and I thought it was going to be harder to sharpen as I have sharpened s30v blades before and this was a little easier. Definitely a unique blade style going to sit in my collection and I’m not going to use this for EDC. If this knife was any more money it wouldn’t be worth it maybe in time it will be easier to open. Knife center did a great job with the shipping and everything I have never had a problem with knife center ever.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Blade
Paradise
Aug 27, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Don't buy this knife

I purchased 2 of these knives because of the killer price! I kept one and gave one to a friend as a gift. The milling quality was very good but I now know why the price was killer; both knives were impossible to open using the assist spring. These are only "two handed openers" not one handed assisted openers. Even after vigorously "working" the blade mechanism, the assist was useless. I ended up throwing mine away - it wasn't even worth the price to return it. My friend relegated his to his garage for menial tasks that didn't require a decent knife. Re: knife Center: Shipping was great, super quick & reliable.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Steve N.
G.J. Co.
Aug 31, 2020
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

No good

Even though I read the negative reviews, I decided to chance it because of the blade steel and price. Those bad reviews were right, it's very hard to open, even two handed. I tried dousing it in lube and loosening the pivot screws to the point of falling out, but no go. I think this was a design problem or manufacturing mistake and they lowered the price to unload them. Not worth sending back, will keep as a utility knife in toolbox.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
****
Westland, Mi
Sep 02, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening

Hard to one hand operation

It is hard to open by one hand. A lot of skill and force are needed. Also small flaws on the coating of blade. The price is really attractive, but consider the cons before place order.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Mikel
Arizona
Aug 28, 2020
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality

Terrible knife. Don't be fooled by the price.

I was so excited to get this knife. Especially at the Knife Center sale price. I opened it and tried to get it to fire and... nothing. I admit I am not the best with a thumb stud, but I have never had so much difficulty. It is supposedly assisted opening, but 5.11 just didn't get this one right. It actually hurts to try and press this with your thumb. I am so bummed. Do yourself a favor and stay away.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Rick
North Carolina
Sep 06, 2020
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Waste of money

The blade is bound so firm in the closed position within the handle, I have to use a second hand to get it to begin moving and it must move a bit before the spring gains enough leverage to snap the blade open. For me this is a worthless knife.
5.11 Tactical RFA Assisted Liner Lock Folding Knife 3.75" S30V Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
John
USA
Aug 27, 2020
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Nope

I will never use this knife for EDC. Sure, it opens fast--when you can get it to open. But my thumb feels like it's been through a meat grinder after a week of trying to get open it reliably. I've tried cycling it, lubricating it, and even loosening the pivot, all to no avail. Unless you contact/lever the thumb stud just right, and "just right" is a VERY narrow window, the blade will not open regardless of how much force you use. Are you willing to bet your life on hitting that just-right window when your life is on the line and your adrenaline is pumping? I'm not. So I basically just bought a $35 paperweight.