Reviews and Ratings for Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handles - 11-32579BB

Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handlesrated 4.000 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
1
Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8 inch Jigged Bone Handles

 

Price: $47.95

Save $45.30 (49%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handlesrated 4.000 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
1
Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Henry S
Vermont Sheep farm
Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
A solid pleasing knife with High carbon steel
I have been carrying various makes of a stockman knife for 40 years. This one is very good. I have had it for 10+ days and it arrived sharp albeit with blade taper that stays a bit thick until the last 1/32 of an inch where it bevels to a sharp edge. I was eliminating thistles from my pasture and did some cutting underground. The blade did well although it did not slide through the 3/4" thistle stem. I put a honed edge back on that blade and the steel was hard, took a good edge and did not form a wire edge.Reading complaints from a few reviewers about lose blades I requested Knife Center to inspect mine before shipping for sharpness and blade tightness. They did and shipped a good knife. The blade steel takes and holds a better than my stainless Schrade Uncle Henry. I do have one complaint. The knife was over buffed so as to make the thumb nail slots too rounded to easily open any of them. I made the slots a little crisper with a small beveled grinding bit in my drill. Not visable and they work great now.
Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Neil C
Overland Park,KS
Nov 09, 2012
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Unfortunate
The knife blades all had side to side movement and the edge of the blade was sharpened very poorly. It was all rough and jagged. Would have had to be resharpened immediately. I called customer service and they were very helpful in getting me a replacement knife secured, but it also had the side to side looseness. David in Customer Service alertmed me to the fact before shipment and we switched and ordered a Boker Stockman Knife for a little more money.I appreciate the fact he took the time to look at the knife and call me about it. I will wait and see how the new knife is. Thank You David!
Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Reg
Little Rock,AR
Jul 02, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Got a lemon today!
Bought to use as a pocket knife. There is nothing great about the product I received. One nail groove for opening is slick and rounded, sheepsfoot groove is partially inside handle and the third blade is loose when open. All blades are jagged and dull. I did not expect much from a cheap knife but I got less than that. Glad some of you got a better deal!
Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim F.
Abernathy TX
Apr 09, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Happy to find this one.
This is a well made American product. I prefer carbon steel blades and these sharpen nicely. The blades have nice snap opening and closing. I see no blade rub or side play in the blades. This knife is heavy built and feels good in the hand. I carry this daily and use it for everything short of a pry bar. The craftsman that put this knife together did a fine job. Plan to carry this knife for life.
Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark C.
Central Nebraska
Mar 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
American made HC steel
It's nice to see an American company put out a good quality knife at a reasonable price. This one is a very good bargain. The fit and finish are quite good, and the knife feels good in the hand.It is a bit bulkier than my other stockmans of similar size, but that is not a problem by any means.The spring tension is comparable to my other knives as well, although the tension on the spey blade may be a bit light.Overall, I would recommend this to a friend or co-worker. It is a well made, American made product.
Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marc
Grand Island, NE
Feb 24, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Good Value
Although it took nearly forever to get here, it seems to be worth the wait. The fit, finish, and grind are all quite good. The spring on the spey blade is not as strong as the others, but should not be a problem. The bolsters and handle material are robust and should hold up well. This is a good value on an American made knife with high carbon blades. I would recommend it to anyone looking for such a knife.
Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
New Jersey
Jun 23, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Nicer than I expected
I am really happy with this knife. Not only is it American made, but it has the non-stainless blades that take on the patina I like in a knife I intend to carry for years. I was particularly impressed with the thought that went into the spring to blade fit, where my main blade is firmly set but easy to pull, and the two smaller blades or also not the problem to pull that you often find, yet once again, these are balanced perfectly to their length of leverage. Thank you for a fine knife.
Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Gastón Fuenzalida
Santiago de Chile
Dec 26, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality
Calidad Regular
La verdad ha sido algo decepcionante ver este producto, con un valor similar a Boker y Case su calidad de manufactura es inferior a estas. No recomendaría su compra.The truth has been somewhat disappointing to see this product, with a value similar to Case Boker and manufacturing quality is inferior to them. I would not recommend purchase.
Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wolfgang
Wisconsin
Sep 16, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
About time
Utica finally reentered the collector market and with the outstanding quality exhibited in these knives will take their place among the best American cutlery companies. Incredible quality for the price, good fit & finish, good bone, good steel, good everything here. Well worth opening the wallet for. As usual, excellent service from KCI also.
Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodswalker
Texas
Jun 23, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Perfect
This knife will put Utica Cutlery on the same footing as the more well known knife companies. Fit and finish was perfect, good snap on all blades and no blade wobble. Handle is a real nice jigged bone. It is a top quality knife and it is made in the USA.
Utica Catskill Stockman 3-7/8" Jigged Bone Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wayne
Upstate NY
Jun 16, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great product
High qulity and made in the USA. Fit and finish is perfect. Utica will give the more famous knife companies a run for their money with this one.