Reviews and Ratings for Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener

Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpenerrated 4.714 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener

 

Price: $129.95

Save $20.00 (13%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Håvard
Norway
Sep 01, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Superb!
This thing delivers above my expectations and is the perfect tool for sharpening kitchen knives, fishing knives and especially hunting and tactical survival knives. I've always had a crush for convex knives for my outdoor use. It's still sharp and supports the edge with more mass to prolong a smooth and sharp edge before the need of resharpening. I've sharpened my knives by hand with stones and leather stropping for many, many years without any hazzle, but it takes time especially if the knife has chipped. With this tool I needed about 10 mins to bring a quite damaged Fällkniven WM1 back to razor sharp. Another two mins of honing made it shiny sharp! This tool is evil. For knives that just need a touch up, It takes only a couple of mins at worst. It needs a bit attention with shorter blades, but if you have some knowledge about sharpening knifes when getting this, you will figure out how to do even short pocket knife blades. This evening I have set up quite a few different fällknivens for my colleagues. Now they are all hair popping sharp and still have a perfect convex shape. It does not heat the blade to any degree of danger at all btw.
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donald C
Evans City, Pa
Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Work Sharp Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpen (update)
After using this sharping system for less than a month on everything from small folding knives to large kitchen knives made one thing very clear. It sharpens knives faster than any other sharpener I have owned. The belts last longer than I expected. Once I found a good technique for drawing the knife thru the guide and using the proper belt speed. I was very pleased with the results. The Quick Start guide that is included with the sharpener is very helpful and easy to understand. The only issue to using the sharpener is changing belts. It takes as much time to change belts as it takes to sharpen the knife. The more knives you sharpen in groups reduces belt changes. The three belts I use the most are (X22) medium, (X4) fine, and (6000) extra-fine. Keep a close eye on maintaining an equal ground edge reduces grinding strokes. This sharpener will make anyone that can follow directions able to put a good edge on their knives.
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthew
Sudbury
Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Love it. used it worked great!
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anthony C
TEXAS
Dec 02, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
PRODUCT REVIEW
excellent knife sharpener adjustable angles perfect too for intended purpose. All information was available before purchase
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
Troy, Tx
Jan 06, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Sharpener!
After quite a bit of research and gathering of opinions, I got the Ken Onion version, and really do love it. It does take some practice to get a good edge so I recommend starting with some inexpensive knives first. I have a drawer full of Chicago Cutlery and Old Hickory kitchen knives that I had before getting the Henckels/Zwilling set and ESEE kitchen knive set that are primary now. The WS KO makes pretty quick work of putting a nice working (and nice looking) edge on these old knives. This is why it's important to read the directions and practice...you can also screw up a blade just as quickly!
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray
NC
Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Works great
I have used it to sharpen my pocket knifes and I must say that ever cut so good.
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ddbart53
Oxford, MI
Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Absolutely The Best Sharpener Ever!
I could never master the stone. This makes you a seasoned pro in minutes. I'm the master sharpener in my neighborhood now! I barter for sharpening their knives. The flex belts give you the ultimate edge-kitchen-hunting,tanto or axes. This is a MUST have if you want your tools sharp and effective. The belts are cheap on the web. I promise, it'll change your life!
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Murray Shann
Bryan, Texas
Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
I have not used the sharpener long enough to judge the durability. I have no reason to expect anything less then excellent service life. I have a friend who also builds custom knives. He will surely enjoy the one I intend to give him.
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Turkey
Leesburg Georgia
Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
EXCELLENT PRODUCT . Easy to use . Well made ! I would recommend the product .
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brad Q
St. Louis, Mo
Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Magnificent! No word better describes it.
I have a collection of Wusthof Classic kitchen knives. Prior to finding this system, I would NEVER touch those blades with an electric sharpener. I bought it to sharpen my pocket knives and some cheaper kitchen knives I have laying around, and found this system is absolutely safe to use on my pricy forged steel blades. It is amazingly versatile, incredibly effective, and with its variable speed motor, gentle on my blades. If there was a grade above A+, this Ken Onion edition Work Sharp would earn it!
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom Horn
Illinois
Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Works as Advertised
This thing isn’t magic. I’m sure Ken Onion could stop by the house and put a perfect razor sharp edge on any tool in a flash with this thing. Like all sharpening methods, this takes some time and skill to master. I consider myself only, ‘fair,’ with a bench stone, although, I’ve been trying since I was 10 years old. I just don’t seem to have the patience for it. I have a few friends that can sit down with a stone and put wicked sharp edges on knives without a guide (they’re better shots at billiards, too). They have a keen eye for angles, and the dexterity/fine motor skills to create them. If they were tools, they would be scalpels, where I’m more a sledge hammer guy. So, anyway, I need some sort of guide (bench wedge guide, Sharpmaker, Lansky 4 rod Turnbox [vee rod sharpeners] all available at KnifeCenter.com) to be able to consistently put a razor sharp edge on my tools. >>>>>>>>>> I really like the Ken Onion Work Sharp’s ability to lower the shoulders of a knife (thickening of edge with repeated sharpening) with the 15 degree setting, then set the edge at 20-25 degrees. I like the adjustable edge guides, and I didn’t overload them (bend back, change angle), with the small knives I’ve sharpened, so far. I messed-up the point on the first knife I sharpened (careful, easy to do). No big deal, it was one of those free with... blah, blah, blah... promotional knives from KnifeCenter.com. That’s what they’re there for. All controls are easy to use and understand. Belts change about as fast as the rods on a Sharpmaker/Lansky 4 Rod Sharpener. It will probably be a while before I trust any of my good blades to the Ken Onion Work Sharp. Not because of its limitations, but because of mine. I’d be puking blood if I rounded the tip of one of my nice Spyders on this thing. But I will master it with time. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Handy Tip: Take the nice, “Quick Start Guide” (easy to overlook and pitch, looks like extraneous packing cardboard), mount a large paint stirring stick/piece of lath to top back w/wood glue, drill two holes, hang over work bench w/ bead chain. Copy/print-out, “Belt Info Chart,” pg. 11, write the colors of different belts (e.g. Xtra Coarse = Brown, Xtra Fine = thin Grey, etc.) and tape/glue to right side of Quick Start Guide. You will now have all info you need to use this tool right in front of your face when you need it. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> This would make a nice Christmas Gift for anyone who regularly uses knives/sharpened tools. And, what do guys like? Power Tools. Better yet, get one for a teenager who likes fooling with knives/tools, with all the attachments. They may become the next, Ken Onion.
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 4 stars out of 5
Frmerusmcducker
wisconsin
Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
good tool
Used to use a steel or a wet stone but since getting this tool I can make my knives scary sharp in a lot less time than it used to take. I would have given this item five stars but I will say that after sharpening about 15 different items the belts started looking like they would need to be replaced. I think that they should have included an extra set of belts. I would have given this item five stars if they would have included them.
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 4 stars out of 5
Donald C
Evans City, Pa
Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, None
Cons: Ease of Use, Effectiveness
Work Sharp Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpen
Work Sharp Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpen This sharpen is well made and has the potential to return most knives to better than new sharpness. However, fast also means making mistakes just as fast. Some folding knives with opening studs are difficult to sharpen because the stud has to be removed or sharpen without the angle guide. Pressing too hard on the adjustable sharpening guide changes the cutting angle. Small pocket knives also make using the angle guide difficult. Large wide blades and straight edges work fine as long as care is taken to not overpower angle guide. This sharpen is easy to use and has merits of convince and speed. However, it does not replace the need for a good bench stone and set of ceramic sticks. Convex grinds are fine for making a razor edge however there is a question of using them on knives carried in wilderness areas. This sharper is not magic and without careful use could damage expensive knives. I like the idea of its design but doubt I will trust using it on custom blades any time soon.
Work Sharp WSKTS-KO Ken Onion Edition Knife & Tool Sharpener
rated 3 stars out of 5
Karl M
Colorado Springs, Co
Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: None
Good in the Kitchen
The Work Sharp Ken Onion is very good at larger kitchen knives, but I don't think it is particularly good for high quality pocket knives and hunting knives. Additionally it isn't very easy to use for axes and hatchets. However, the motor part is very good, you just need to add the Ken Onion Blade Grinder. This provides a much better platform for sharpening pocket knives and hunting knives in my opinion. It is a little slower in that you have to be more careful when holding the blade parallel to the work bench, as the guide isn't right against the belt, but the angles are easier to adjust and the belts for this attachment are longer but otherwise the same as for the basic sharpener attachment, but the longer belt seems to last a bit longer also. And the blade grinder attachment seems to be more robustly constructed and easier/faster to change belts. Changing back and forth is easy and straight forward. With the blade grinder attached I would give this 5 plus stars!