Reviews and Ratings for Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe 15.75" Overall, 1.6 Pound Head - M4328

Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe 15.75" Overall, 1.6 Pound Headrated 4.500 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe 15.75 inch Overall, 1.6 Pound Head

 

Price: $19.95

Save $6.00 (23%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe 15.75" Overall, 1.6 Pound Head
rated 5 stars out of 5
William R
Minnesota
Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Swiss Military Surplus Small Axe
This hatchet is the perfect size for my backpack. It'll be great for bush-crafting projects. It came quite dull but sharpened up nicely. It seems to be made of quality materials and put together well. Shipping was prompt and the price was good. I would definitely purchase from The KnifeCenter again.
Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe 15.75" Overall, 1.6 Pound Head
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom H
Illinois
Aug 10, 2018
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Perhaps, the Best Bargain @ KnifeCenter.com
Don’t tell anyone about these, until I have a chance to buy a several more. I want to give these as Christmas presents to family and friends this year. These would make a great gift for a youngsters about 10-12 years old, perhaps, just transitioning from Cub Scouts, to Boy Scouts (from Daisies, to Girl Scouts), where they can start learning axe care and usage. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> The two Swiss Military Surplus hatchets I received were in good order and fairly sharp. I highly recommend you download free U.S. Forest Service: “An Axe To Grind: A Practical Axe Manual”, by Bernie Weisgerber, to learn to properly use/sharpen/care for an axe. Great book, even if you do know. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> See: Johni, from Bloomfield’s review for removing polyurethane coating. Since the two I purchased are gifts for my son and nephew, I won’t be removing the plastic. My offspring didn’t inherit my OCD genes for tool care/fighting rust. My epitaph will read: “He fought rust, rot, rodents, weeds, and ignorance his whole life, … and he lost the fight.” They can remove the plasti-coat, or wear it off chopping wood, as they choose. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> The Swiss Military Surplus hatchets arrived with a fair grind on them. If you spent 30-60 minutes with a sharpening puck, you would have a real nice grind. May want to rough-up handle with a wood rasp, too. The handle could be reshaped for smaller hands. This hatchet has very nice balance and feel to it. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I’m not going to take it out and chop wood with them, as they are gifts, but, I can tell from my experience with many other hatchets that these will work just fine for limbing trees, and chopping/splitting kindling wood. I sure don’t need another hatchet, but at this price it would be a sin not to gift one to myself. May even gift one to my brother-in-law, but might have to show him which end to hold. It would be a nice hatchet to keep in the truck. At least twice in my life I have come upon down trees in the road, where it was easier to clear a path, than to go back. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> P.S. You’ll have to make your own sheath (easy to do with a few pieces of leather, some copper rivets, and a 12 line snap).
Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe 15.75" Overall, 1.6 Pound Head
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ram S
Texas
Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Weight, Construction, Head Material
Cons: None
Best value for the money
Indestructible. Excellent value for the money. You will need to reprofile it yourself but once you do, you have a tool for life. RS
Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe 15.75" Overall, 1.6 Pound Head
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter M
knox indiana
Nov 07, 2016
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
small swiss axe
thank you.
Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe 15.75" Overall, 1.6 Pound Head
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Mad Hungarian
The Cascade Range
Jul 09, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Amazing quality for the price!
I bought two they're so good. Dropped a single metal wedge in both, few coats of boiled linseed oil, and quick sharpening session later you end up with a small axe that can rival more expensive hand forged pieces. Straight blades, good profile, handle grain direction are ideal in both. I found the weight and balance to be perfect for camp duties. Weight really is a personal thing, so for someone who swings an 8lb splitting maul all Winter I don't mind the extra 2oz and 3/4" compared to other smaller axes/hatchets that I have. Excellent product!
Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe 15.75" Overall, 1.6 Pound Head
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dale S
S.E. Oklahoma
Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Highly recommend
I know axe's, been using them over 50 years. This Swiss hatchet is every bit of quality as say a Collins axe head, or better. Out of the box the edge was not sharp, and after a very light filing to get the proper degree of angle, then I used a course stone, then went to a medium stone, and it will shave hairs on my arm. I went outside, split some Hickory kindling up that was cut this last Feb. Split very well. Hatchet was balanced for me. The edge did not roll. The handle grain was tight, all milled so the grain is proper to the head. I did sand the handle with 220 grit wet paper, but it really did not need that much sanding at all. Then I treated it with Tru-Oil. Linseed oil would work fine too. If I ever need another handle, I can take a single-bit axe handle, cut it down, and rasp it to the same size, then cut off the handle, or just make a new handle from some cured Hickory or Ash. The head was tight out of the box. It had dried cosmoline on it, and acetone took it right off. Then I applied a light coat of oil to it. Save your money on the higher dollar hatchet's and get the Swiss hatchet. It's every bit as good. I'd say the only thing that buying them online, is not being able to see the grain of the wood handle in person, but this particular hatchet handle was near perfect. Quality steel with a good handle, easy to sharpen, holds an edge. The hatchet did exactly what it was supposed to do with me doing my part. Excellent quality!!
Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe 15.75" Overall, 1.6 Pound Head
rated 5 stars out of 5
Manolo
Coral Gables
Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Construction, Head Material, None
Cons: Weight
Old World Quality
Sturdy hatchet with nice finish, excellent value for an european made tool. Some say this hatchet was made by german firm Helko for the swiss military. It needs some sharpening, this is ok because I can profile the edge my way. Kind of heavy for its size. Handle is decent but can be "cured" by applying vegetable oil or just wrap some cord around it. No lanyard hole (drill one). For $20 this is a steal...get yours NOW.
Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe 15.75" Overall, 1.6 Pound Head
rated 4 stars out of 5
J
Minnesota
Sep 04, 2017
Pros: Construction, None
Cons: Handle Material
Well made military surplus.
Well made and not hard ti bring to readiness. Obviously overbuilt so as to make it soldier ready. Good for a camp axe but a little heavy for most crafting. Needed a good sharpening but that is to be expected from an axe that has been in military storage. Overall excellent condition. This is my first ash handled axe. While the ash performs well I find I like the feel of hickory better.
Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe 15.75" Overall, 1.6 Pound Head
rated 4 stars out of 5
Johni
Bloomfield NM
Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Balance, None
Handy and we'll made
This small axe comes with a plastic coating sprayed over the wood and steel. I removed it and used steel wool to further smooth the wood and applied a few coats of tung oil. I tried it on some kindling and did some branch trimming and so far I have no complaints
Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe 15.75" Overall, 1.6 Pound Head
rated 2 stars out of 5
Hillbillyblue
WNC
Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Construction, None
Cons: Head Material, Balance
Not so good
Looks good out of the box, but the edge needs complete reprofiling. One side of the axe is more or less straight to the edge. The other side has a slight bulge going all the way to the edge. This causes the axe to glance off when chopping into a tree, again and again. I started with a file to remedy this, but soon gave up and moved to my Work Sharp grinder. After 30 minutes I am approaching sharp, but not there yet. I can do nothing about the bulge. I will say it splits campfire size wood, but nothing bigger due to the short handle. If I ever get it to a usable shape, I'll keep it in my FJ where I won't hesitate to abuse it chopping out roots and such when stuck, something I won't do with my expensive axes. For the money I can't really complain