Reviews and Ratings for Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits - AC22

Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Gritsrated 4.2 stars out of 5 (25 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
2
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8 inch w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits

 

Price: $43.95

Save $14.00 (24%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve Elliott
Arizona
Mar 19, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Very nice stone set

This is a very nice stone set for all your general purpose sharpening needs. I have sharpened about 8 blades with it since I got it, and it is very easy to put a sweet edge on any blade. Buy this with confidence. The wood block and honing oil makes this a nice kit. Great quality and good price.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike H
Suwanee, Ga.
Jun 11, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Tri-hone sharpening system 8"

Finally, a great way to sharpen my knives. Works wonderfully and the instructions give helpful hints on how to sharpen. Great price, great sharpener
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cam
Iowa
Aug 04, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Works Great

I sharpened a chef's knife and my Kershaw Skyline on these and they're now sharper than they have ever been.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Viper
Galesburg,IL 61401
Jul 12, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Durability

The Tri-Hone Sharpening System great for good steel

If you have a knife made of good steal and know how to use a stone this is a great bargin for three stones. The The Tri-Hone Sharpening System has one of the finest stones I have ever seen to bring razor sharpness back to your steel. Be careful that fine stone is fragile as I have already cracked it with my first use, but was my fault because I droped it.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
|Slayer|
West Point, NY
Mar 21, 2011
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Use, None

Excellent Whetstone

I use the product to sharpen my field blades on a regular basis. Once one is familiar with the stones, and is able to maintain a consistent angle, sharpening becomes extremely easy. Recommend practicing with a throw-away blade before using on expensive knives. Works on stainless, bent blades, etc.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shane Mcc
Nampa, Id
Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
This is a great tool 2 own.... It's just the right size , sturdy makes sharpening alot easier plus there was alot of love into making this tool . You can tell that just by the way this was made . I recommend this tool 2 anyone who is serious about sharpening their knives . Also this is priced @ a reasonable price .just nice job all together !
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brit Boy
Grand Coulee, WA
Jan 31, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Sharpening Tool

I have already used this product to sharpen some pretty dull knives and it did the job admirably. Nothing can replace a little elbow grease when sharpening a dull knife, but these stones certainly make it a lot easier.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter
Akron, Oh
Dec 14, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None

Nicely Done

I immediately sharpenef 2 knives with this, a pen knife and a kitchen knife; both absurdly dull. I was amazed at how sponge-like the stones absorbed the honing oil. The coarse, medium and fine grits have nicely distinct separation of abrasiveness. Both these dull knives dragged noticeably on the coarse stone for an alarmingly long time but once they pulled smoothly, they reacted to the 2 finer stones to quickly be impressively sharp. In my opinion, all knife enthusiasts ought to have a 3 stone system!
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cd
USA
Jan 01, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great piecce

Bought this for a gift for my daughter who is a chef in Seattle. She loves it. She has not given any pros and cons but from what i saw when i received it the piece seemed to be well thought out, designed and made
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ellen
Phoenix Az
Dec 24, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Tri Hone Sharpening system

My husband will use it on a regular basic, since he is a cook with a large resort and they do a lot of banquets.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
M.B
Buffalo,New York
Nov 26, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Everything you need in one package

I bought this sharpening system for my Uncle as a birthday present.He owns (and uses) knives that are conciderably longer.This makes using conventional oilstones unwieldy and awkward.The added length of the stones makes sharpening any knife(upwards of 10") a breeze.The added versatility of having fine/medium/coarse stones available at the turn of your wrist and in a stable platform is a joy.Well worth the price paid for this item.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ea
DE
Jun 22, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Nice system

This was my first sharpening stone. It was very easy to learn and my wife was floored by the difference in her kitchen knives.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark E
Lehi, UT
Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Sharpening system

Placing the stones on a cradle gives the sharpening process stability that is more important the the grit of the stones. It is the consistent angle of the sharpening that is the key to getting a tool sharpened and this product delivers. I like it.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Martin Gonzalez
brooklyn ny
Jul 20, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None

excellent

Excellent product
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken Foster
Victoria Texas
Jul 09, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Really nice product

This is a really great product. It works like a champ.Easy to use and puts a very sharp edge on all my knives. Did'nt like the fact that the wood in bare. Had to spray coat it myself to protect the wood. An extra bottle of honing oil would have been nice. Other than that, its great and I will be buying another at this price.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe G
Chesapeake, VA
May 07, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Use the honing set for my pocket knife which I carry all the time. The size is perfect for small knives and having all 3 stones in the same block is convenient.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 4 stars out of 5
Deertan
Charlotte, NC
Aug 10, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Intro Stone

I'm a novice at using bench stones, but I have used this product to sharpen everything from pocket knives to kitchen knives and fixed blade hunting knives all to shaving sharp in just a few minutes per blade. If you read the simple included instructions and follow them, you can put a sharp edge on almost any knife without a lot of effort. I have had trouble sharpening a particular pocket knife that has a blade made of S30V steel (very hard), but that could be my lack of experience as much as anything. You may want to purchase a stone with higher grit if you want a polished look, as this stone's highest grit doesn't seem to be able to put a mirror edge on a blade. Get an extra bottle of oil as well, as the included bottle of oil is small. Although you don't want to use more than a few drops, you will probably find yourself sharpening everything in the house and run through the included bottle in a week or so. Overall, the three grits attached to backing (which prevents the stones from warping) combined with the heavy stationary base (which prevents the stone from slipping on your work surface) all for this low price makes this a good stone for a beginner like myself.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charlie
Georgia
Nov 20, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None

Good Sharpening System

The coarse grit stone is great for really dull or small chips you can work up a pretty good edge to go to the medium grit stone. The fine stone is not as fine as I thought it should be but works great. Need to use honing oil when using any stone or diamond faced sharpeners to remove the fine grit and after several passes wipe the stone clean and add new oil you get better results with a clean stone and oil and the oil you get will last a long time because you don't use that much at a time.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 4 stars out of 5
Doug
Monterey
Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability
Cons: None

Consistant

For years, I have gotten by with just an old two-stage stone. This is the first time I have used a three-stage with Arkansas stone. Upon opening, I immediately pulled all my knives out and sat for a while restoring a couple of old ones and putting that perfect edge on my others. Very happy with it, just wish it came with more oil.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ol' Man
Ft. Smith, Ar
Aug 19, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Stones

Arkansas has always produced some of the finest sharpening stones in the world.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 4 stars out of 5
Papa Mike
Northern Colorado
Mar 05, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Good Deal

This hone is just the right size for my use in the kitchen, it will handle all my knifes from full sized chef, ti my smallest pearing.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 2 stars out of 5
Sharpener Guy
Le Sueur MN
Dec 03, 2010
Pros: Durability, None
Cons: Effectiveness

Just OK

I got the tri-stone and it wasn't great. I liked the length and the base or the holder. The stones itself were not the best the fine grit stone just fell apart. You could take your finger nail and scrape it off like it was sand. Over all not the bet I've used.
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 2 stars out of 5
Stevie B
fl.
Jan 22, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality

not great

not great. would try something else
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 1 stars out of 5
Mark
indianapolis,indiana
May 05, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality

Stay away!!

Steel eats away at the rock, u might get 1 good sharping before the stone just starts falling apart. its like sand paper =/
Tri-Hone Sharpening System 8" w/oil Three Stones, Three Different Grits
rated 1 stars out of 5
Brian F
Fort Bragg, NC
Nov 23, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality

Horrible stones

i have a ceramic stone 2 inches long i bought for 3 dollars that does a far better job sharpening my knives then this piece of junk. these stones are VERY soft and practically disintegrate upon use. Also these stones dry and drink oil like deep sand. Worst stones Ive ever used. Buy it, use it, hate it, return it. On a brighter note, the shipping was very fast!