Reviews and Ratings for Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle - AC46

Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handlerated 4.615 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12 inch Overall, Wood Handle

 

Price: $2.95

View Product Details
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randall
Tyler, Tx
Nov 01, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

I like it better than steel.

I use it on all my knives that already have an edge. It really finishes the edge off.
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jay
Alabama
Dec 07, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Ceramic sharpening stick

This stick works good, but I've already noticed some wear. But it works good and gets used very often. Maybe 10-15 X's a day.
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donald Ed
Melbourne, Fl
Apr 08, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I have owned one of these for 6 years and it still works as it did the day I purchased it. The 5 I just purchased are for gifts. It is so much better than a steel to keep the knived as sharp as new. Don Ed
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob
Bismarck, ND
Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Nice sharpening tool

Brings a nice edge to many of my kitchen and carry knives in both carbon and stainless steel.
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jared S
Austin, TX
Mar 02, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

I would highly recommend.

Just as good as the 8", but only larger.
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tuey
La.
Jan 06, 2018
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

12” sharpening sticks

First tool I grab for taxidermy
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
M Brecher
Buffalo, Ny
Jun 11, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

For stubborn kitchen knives

I bought this for some of my kitchen knives that even my good butcher's steel couldn't touch.After a few minutes with each one,the job was finished.With a cost that's next to nothing and an effect that's spot on,the cost+bother of keeping any plain-edge knife sharp anywhere you are just dropped to zero.
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ladrigan
Ky
May 06, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great stick

Cheap and good sharpener. not much else to say
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Craig K.
Houston, TX
Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Durability

Good value

This ceramic stick does an overall good job for the price which is not much. The rod is a little over 7" and the handle is 4.5 in. It could be a little longer but still good. It will get the knife cutting paper pretty easy depending on the knife's condition. Not sure about hair popping though. Needs no water or oil which is easier. Cleans up easily with a rag and water. I used it on my Buck Bantam and some kitchen knives with good results. I do not sharpen the tip of the knife on the ceramic rod. I use the Smith's ceramic 6" flat to do the knife tip. I feel the tip may get rounded on the rod. Anyway good for the money but may not be as good as one of those 6000 grit Japanese water stones which I don't have but I am happy! I bought 2 just in case I drop one. Good deal :-)
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Evan
Washington, D.C.
Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Durability

cheap, effective

cheap and does exactly what I expected. If you are looking for a low cost method to revive your knives, this product fits the bill.
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Paul
USA
Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

works well, cheap, and made in USA

I use this sharpening stick for my kitchen knives, and so far over the past month or so, they have stayed keen as always. I like how light it is, though unlike metal hones, gray streaks appear on ceramic. That said, this is the only downside. I love that this sharpening stick is made without petroleum products, was very affordable, and best of all, it is made in the USA, where I live.
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Capt D.
North Georgia
Jul 09, 2010
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: None

Simple yet effective.

Your basic sharpening stick in a steele format. Excellent value and works well on thinner bladed kitchen knives.
Arkansas Ceramic Sharpening Stick 12" Overall, Wood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jezter
California
Jan 06, 2018
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

It's OK....!

For the price you can't go wrong. It is a little coarse for a ceramic rod.. but that will change with use. It is still very effective in doing a final hone & strop...