Reviews and Ratings for Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer - 114BTR

Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainerrated 3.841 stars out of 5 (69 reviews)
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
37
3 star
7
2 star
3
1 star
5
Bear & Son Black 5 inch Butterfly Trainer

 

Price: $39.95

Save $20.05 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Satisfied Customer
USA
Sep 25, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None

Happy

Good trainer to get you started before getting the real thing. Only con is the latch. It flips around a bit and that can be annoying.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cutleryadorer
home fl
Aug 25, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, None

I love this awsome trainer

this knife is amazing. it flips with great ease and it looks awsome.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Serious Sam
Classified
Sep 01, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None

Love it

I got this because I love Butterfly knives, but don't like cutting myself by accident. So this i an amazing alternative. Lasted longer than my balicomb. So I very pleased with this.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billybobjoe
Walled lake, MI
Nov 13, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Bear & Sons Black 5 Butterfly Trainer

the knife is overall amazing. One of the flaws is that if you are flipping it backwards the latch blocks the blade from closing
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Benchmade Sucks
IL
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Really good knife

All of the complaints about the latch getting in the way can be fixed by putting a simple rubber o-ring right below the latch. The blade never comes in contact with it, and the latch can't go below it. I also put a very small o-ring around the latch itself at the top so it stays more snugly.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lan Bui
Ontario, Ca
Oct 04, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Received product as my expec tation

I bought it for my son and he is very happy about it.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tradam
Canada
May 16, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great quality, Good flipper

Purchased to use as a flipper. Very pleased with quality. Comes pre lubricated on the pivots. Definitely would buy it again
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Enlargedhousecats
California
May 14, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Crazy fun and I can't stop flipping it

This balisong trainer is cheap for what you get ind is insanely fun to play with. I just can't stop flipping it. I can't really think of any cons besides the fact that the safety latch gets a little stuck some times but it's not that much of a problem. I recommend this to anyone where sharp butterfly knives are illegal.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ezra H.
Novato, CA
Oct 06, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Lock Type, None

Good buy

Pretty durable. Definitely worth the purchase if you want to practice flipping without the risk of cutting yourself. The latch could be slightly better, but no big deal really. Minor problem.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Justin Tyme
Howard County, MD
Jun 13, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife!!!
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlie
Florida
Jul 03, 2017
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None

As Advertised

Used to practice knife tricks.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sidney
Atlanta, GA
Mar 25, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

spectacular

This is one of the best butterfly knives i own, i would highly recomend this to anyone who doesn't want their fingers cut to ribbons. It has held up under some terrible abuse and being dropped several times. I have no complaints at all.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aftershoc
Roanoke Virginia
Sep 08, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None

Great balisong for beginners

I have had this for about 3 weeks and I use it CONSTANLY. Seriously, almost everywhere I go this knife is in my hands being flipped. The only problem with it is that the paint on the handles chip a little bit. No biggie. If your a beginner at flipping, like me, this is a must buy. It's also legal in many states where ordinary balisongs aren't because of the dull blade. Look at cutlery lovers review on it on YouTube for more info.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon M.
Yonkers, NY
Oct 03, 2009
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Handle Material

A Good Starter

-This is a must have for folks wishing to learn to use the balisong, or butterfly knife, without the hazards of an actual blade. If I had to say, my only complaint would be that the paint around and on the latch chips, but if you use the blade often and effectively, it's bound to happen anyway. A must have...
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Komrade
Baltimore, MD
Oct 28, 2009
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, Lock Type, None

Great trainer

This has a much better feel than the other cheaper butterfly trainer and is much more durable. I highly recommend.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Xyzcwp
barry , u.k
Oct 25, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use

Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer

good solid product
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 5 stars out of 5
Simon
New Zealand
Oct 06, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type

Great Flipper. Very Durable

Amazing product, not just for the price, but in general. Excellent build quality, very survivable especially for beginners like myself. The handle material is very nice because since I am a beginner, I tend to sweat a lot while flipping, but the handles never become slippery or worn out. Although I don't have a long time experience with this knife yet, I can definitely say so far that it will last me a long time. But just because its well made doesn't mean you should throw it around or be careless. Treat it like a proper, quality knife. 5/5
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Edeedon
Ft. Gordon, GA
May 17, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use

My first butterfly knife

Defiantly good product for such a cheap price tag. I bought it to learn how to handle a balisong and learn some basic opening and closing techniques. It's pretty much exactly what I was looking for. There are only a couple of minor problems that include the latch likes to flap around and sometimes gets in the way and the powder coat paint began to chip off after only 2 weeks of use. I have heard from multiple sources that the latch problem can be solved with a simple O-ring but I haven't tried it myself yet. Other than that I have loved this trainer and it has done its job in getting me ready to handle a real butterfly knife. Also, almost forgot, this is a slightly heavy knife and that can be a little annoying when trying to do more technical flips but then again, its a trainer and I think they did that on purpose so it will be easier with a real (lighter) knife.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jon
Columbus, OH
Feb 28, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use

It is what it is as a budget trainer

Overall, it's sturdy and reasonably well built as a training tool. Flips decently and the action is smooth. The one complaint I have about this is major, but I remedied it with a pair of pliers rather easily, and with it out of the way, it's no longer a problem. That issue being the latch. It's thick, there's no gate (you get what you pay for), but because of the latter, it often swings up too high and gets stuck. This becomes a major problem while you're flipping, as it wedges up, gets stuck, and separates the handles. It's very annoying. The pins do not allow for you to remove it, so I had to simply break the damn thing off completely. As it's a trainer, I really didn't need the latch anyways and this thing is way better off without it. Of course, had I not been able to break it off, this would have resulted in a lower score. But the latch is definitely a big drawback.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Suspiciousrussian
Jericho, NY
Aug 23, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type

Bear and son black 5" trainer

Overall it is a great trainer for beginners. It is a little bit on the heavy side so flipping might be a little tough at first. The coating starts to chip off after a while. If you are new to the art of flipping and don't want to cut yourself, defidently get this trainer.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kevin T.
LA, CA
Sep 19, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Lock Type, None

Very cool knife

For my first trainer knife, this is pretty awesome. It's nice and hefty, and very smooth to use. The latch is relatively loose, and will get in the way of flipping, but this can be easily remedied with an o-ring or some duct tape around the base of the latch. There was some material shaving off where the handles were attached to the knife, and after maybe a day of use, the play in the handles was a bit more than at the start, but all in all, a good buy for how cheap it was.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nehpetslolz
new york
May 09, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

nice.

Very decent product for the cost, well worth it!
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Johnny
Ohio
Jun 03, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening

Solid beginner balisong

This is my first balisong ever. I've had it for about 2 months now and up until now its been really good. Yes the lock gets too loose and it'll start flopping around everywhere, but i dropped mine a bit and it made the handle sides go inward making it a snug fit for the lock, which really it isn't supposed to do, but it worked out for me that way. I don't really mind the lock problem much. The only real problem was the blade sticking in the safe handle, because of the alignment of the blade wasn't straight. I pounded the end of the blade (that's where it would get stuck) and it worked great after that! Warning though try not to drop the balisong on tile or any hard surface as it will squish the handle and make where the blade fits in smaller. Anyway today I was going to the bathroom playing with my balisong when I noticed a crack in the top of the safe handle. I flipped it for a couple of seconds and the handle broke off (half of it, other half is cracked too) ): Regardless of it breaking, it's still a nice beginning balisong with no risk of cutting, but pinching does hurt a lot! ouch! Recommended.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jhon D
las vegas
Sep 27, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Weight

Overall a great training knife

I use the product to practice tricks. It is a good training knife. A little heavy and if you drop it the latch may become a little loose.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Becs
NJ
Oct 04, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Type

Great knife for practice

Great practice knife for balisong tricks. I have gotten better faster because of no fear of cutting off a finger. a little on the heavy side thou, but you get use to it.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Heavysteve
Feb 01, 2010
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Excellent for the Money

Overall a very nice knife. My blade stuck a little at first, and after about 2 weeks of the handles seem a little 'loose'. But definitely better then I expected.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jack
USA!
Oct 18, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, None

A decent quality knife for the money.

This is a great trainer to learn with. It has a significant weight that allows for easy flipping. The lock is too loose though. It will often lock shut when you close the knife quicky. When closed and locked by the user, it doesn't stay shut. But for as cheap as it is, this really isn't a bad way to go. It's held together with pins so it's much more robust than some trainers I've seen. A good buy.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shyguy
Scarborough
Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material

Nicely weighted but mixed build quality

There are a couple build quality problems. The black coating on the handle flakes off easily at the edges, but the main problem is that the latch is loose and swings open on its own. Other than that, it seems pretty sturdy and flips smoothly.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dcm315
Maryland
Sep 05, 2009
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Lock Type

Great trainer at great price

This trainer is very good for its price. It is a bit heavier than most balisongs, which gives you a sense of sturdiness. Also, it arrived very quickly (since I live in Maryland, I guess). A few minor problems are that the latch comes loose and moves around while you flip but this can easily be fixed with a couple of O-rings (check out cutlerylover's review on youtube). All in all, it is a great training knife for a beginner like me and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who's looking for their first balisong/ butterfly knife.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Julian S.
Palo Alto, CA
Nov 16, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type

Nice trainer, Great price, Thanks KC!!!

This is what I expected, a simple, inexpensive trainer that is solid and effective. Until I can afford (or find) a BM42, this is great. Biggest issue, and why it only got 4 stars is the latch. There is no latch gate so the latch swings and hits the blade sometimes. Not a problem for a trainer blade, but it does detract from flipping fluidity. I put a rubber O ring to block the gate, works well, but the blade has some play and the paint is already starting to chip. For the price, a great way to learn about balisongs without cutting your fingers off! Thanks KnifeCenter! Order arrived on time, in tact, and it is now being greatly enjoyed. Great product for the price!!!
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Meik
canada
Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, Lock Type, Blade Sharpness, None

decent trainer for less

I like the trainer it has a good weight good feel and its quite durable i have dropped it many times and it has never broken or even shown any signs of breaking. This would be a great trainer if not for the latch. Sometimes it doesn't close other times its fine. The other problem is that while flipping the latch swings into the handles and can make it not close or mess up the trick. overall a good trainer but id remove the latch
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe Wood
Georgia
Aug 31, 2009
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None

great trainer for a beginner like myself

I initially purchased this trainer because I read and heard good things about it. I watched a video review of it on you tube and it looked like a decent quality product for a good price. Sturdy design, has held up so far to me attempting to learn how to use it. I will say that the black textured paint on the handle does chip off in pieces. Doesn't effect the use of the trainer at all, just a little annoying. And the T-lock does get in the way from time to time. But for the money you can't really expect it to be flawless. Overall I'm very happy with this purchase and I would buy this again.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Stephen M.
Atlanta, GA
Nov 05, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Good Balisong Trainer

This is a really good trainer balisong. It is slightly heavy, but I have heard it is easier to go from a heavy knife to a lighter one. The blade when I first got it was sticking in the bite handle because of the bend of the handle contacted the blade. An easy fix for this is to just stick a flat head screw driver between the blade and the bite handle near the pivot and close the blade on the handle. It gave it enough space to work perfectly. I definitely suggest buying this if you want a good trainer, but can't afford a Benchmade. Pros: Solid construction, Easy to use, T handle fit snug into groove Cons: Having to do some minor work to get the knife to pivot right, no latch gate
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Francesco C.
NY
Feb 29, 2012
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, None

Perfect for Beginners

This is a good knife for anyone that is interested in learning to flip balisongs but would like to try it out risk free before purchasing the real deal. The weight is just right and the texture is great. Overall a decent choice. The only bad is that the t-latch does get in the way of the handle and the blade sometimes and can interrupt certain moves. This can easily be fixed by adding a small o-ring on the latch.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Collin D
Germany
Aug 09, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, None

Decent trainer

After taking the trainer out of the box, I immediately began practicing with it (I am trying to learn some aerial flips I dont want to destroy my hand with a normal balisong.) After about an hour I could feel the hinges loosen significantly (keep in mind they used rivets for the hinges.) I have dropped it a dozen times, and although it is still intact, I doubt it will be able to take being dropped much more. After a day of practicing, the rivets are substantially looser, and there is a bit of wobble as well. You are paying for an economy trainer here, so don't expect too much. Also, the handles have a plastic coating and there are flecks of plastic sticking out in the holes, probably left over after it came out of a mold and they weren't removed.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Timothy J. P.
Auckland, New Zealand
May 10, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type

Great trainer

Been using this pretty constantly since I got it a few weeks ago, so much nicer to have a properly shaped balisong instead of the jury-rigged mess I had before. The weighting is great, the texture of the handles is great, I like most everything about this trainer. I don't like the latch, I knew it was going to get annoying before I purchased the trainer, and there are a few things "cutlerylover" from youtube suggests you can do to fix it. But I found if you lightly tap the rivet by the latch it'll tighten the latch up enough so it's still usable, but not so loose. If you want a trainer, this is definitely a great one; Don't waste your money on ones with screws instead of rivets/pins - screws will come loose so often on this contraption
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Abreathlessoblivion
Madison, WI
Aug 10, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, None

good with a minor issue

feels nice in my hand, works great. very sturdy feeling. the only issue i have is that the latch that keeps the knife closed is rather loose and not spring loaded so it does tend the get in the way when closing.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ricky
Port Jervis, NY
Mar 23, 2010
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Good butterfly knife for beginners

This is a good trainer knife for someone looking to get into flipping balisongs. The blade is very blunt and so is the tip so you don't have to worry about stabbing yourself. There are better balisongs out there, but you will pay a LOT more for them, and for the price, this is a great choice.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Casey W.
MA
Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: Weight, None

Yeah, not bad.

Got this as a companion to my Benchmade 42, as a balisong that I could attempt more intricate manipulation with while not risking damage to a nice blade(and, secondarily, my hands). Construction on this seems remarkably solid for a 30-dollar purchase. Overall balance is pretty good, and the handles actually almost feel nicer to me than the 42 (in comparison, the Bear & Son's handles are a little rounder, and the coating doesn't have as much friction to it as the 42's bare metal). One point of note, the latch on this is kinda junk(it is quite loose and doesn't stay closed), but there's some cheap ways to fix it and I honestly don't care myself. It's also...quite heavy. Like, really heavy. It's not really a big deal in the end since your hand will just strengthen as you flip it, but starting off it feels kinda like flipping a Buick. Might just be my being spoilt by the Benchmade.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob S
My Desk
Oct 21, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Lock Type

Lock

about the lock, you can put and O ring on the lock and it makes it so that it locks into place better, and another on the handle under the lock so it doesnt fall down and block the handles from coming together.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rake
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 22, 2009
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Good trainer

Right out of the box it's a pretty decent trainer. The joints are well lubricated and it has a good weight to it. Lock seems to catch back onto the handle but some sand paper to the latch did the trick. Overall I'm pleased with this knife.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike Rotch
Simi Valley, CA
Sep 26, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None

Pin Broke Off in the Bite Handle After I Dropped It

I'll still keep using this Butterfly trainer after I replace the pin myself. And I still give it a 4 because I feel it's still a pretty good quality trainer and it withstood alot of use. Admittedly, it's my fault that I dropped it. Just be careful enough not to do that and the knife should be pretty durable for long practices.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jon
Somewhere on earth.
Oct 19, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Sheath, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use

Good for the price.

It's pretty good for flipping practice. The two things that I really don't like about it is how squeaky/loose the latch gets after a while, and how heavy the thing is. It makes it kind of hard to do some flips with this much weight behind the knife, and with the latch randomly flipping in the way of the safe handle.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
George C.
Marble Rock, Ia
Mar 23, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Feel

Good knife, great price!

I enjoy practicing with it. I like the feel and the weight of it. Plus the sound it makes when opening and closing it.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Munkatten
Sweden
Sep 02, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening

Functional

I've been flipping it for a few days, it feels good and is relatively balanced. It's only been compared to cheap crap balisongs, so I might not have the right idea of what a "decent" balisong is, but right now i feel that is an apt description for this trainer. Sharp balisongs are illegal to import to sweden, so finding this trainer was a great win for me. It's gotten very loose, and it dents easily when dropped. This doesn't affect the flipping... yet. I believe the trainer will hold together for a long time, but beware that it's not the highest quality.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ryan Dufrene
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 07, 2010
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use

Good enough

the black paint chips off if dropped and look pretty bad and every now and then if u drop it it gets a little messed up however this is a good trainer and all problems are easy to fix if you try to fix it. if your looking for a good trainer this is good for the price.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Edeedon
Ft. Gordon, GA
May 17, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use

My first butterfly knife

Defiantly good product for such a cheap price tag. I bought it to learn how to handle a balisong and learn some basic opening and closing techniques. It's pretty much exactly what I was looking for. There are only a couple of minor problems that include the latch likes to flap around and sometimes gets in the way and the powder coat paint began to chip off after only 2 weeks of use. I have heard from multiple sources that the latch problem can be solved with a simple O-ring but I haven't tried it myself yet. Other than that I have loved this trainer and it has done its job in getting me ready to handle a real butterfly knife. Also, almost forgot, this is a slightly heavy knife and that can be a little annoying when trying to do more technical flips but then again, its a trainer and I think they did that on purpose so it will be easier with a real (lighter) knife.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Li
gd china
Oct 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Type

good

Strong and durable, medium size, impact resistance. The disadvantage: the lock needs to be improved.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jacob
California
Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, Lock Type, None

Good trainer

This was the first balisong trainer I purchased and overall I've been pleased with the quality. It definitely got me into flipping and was able to handle all the abuse that resulted from me being inexperienced and dropping the knife repeatedly. However, there are two minor details that potential buyers should be aware of: This trainer is a little bit on the heavy side, so if you've been flipping lighter trainers or knives then this will take a little bit of adjustment to get used to. The second thing to keep in mind is that the latch on this model is not spring assisted and can freely move into positions which can prevent the knife from closing and opening when flipping. This can easily be fixed with an o-ring or some rubber bands to keep the latch from getting in the way.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hockey Dude That Plays With Knives
Jackson, MI
Oct 15, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Starter Knife!

I have had my Bear & Son Black 5” Butterfly Trainer for just a little over a month now. When I first purchased the knife I was a little skeptical because I was not sure what kind of quality I would get for a less expensive knife. Right out of the box, I was just a bit disappointed because the knife was still very stiff and didn’t open very easily; however, I found that within just a couple hours of use, the knife was way more responsive and was opening and closing with ease. I purchased this product because of the flat dull blade because I am new to butterflying-uh that’s a word. Since I was a beginner, I knew I didn’t want to be flipping and twirling a sharp knife, I know better than that! So, this has been a great starter knife. I would recommend this knife to anyone who is thinking about starting to flip a fly. I am even going to purchase one for my younger brother, because it is safe, fun, and really easy to learn.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mason
Georgia
Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great

The paint wears of pretty easily and the latch is annoying as h*** but it flips good
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daniel
Maryland
May 27, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

Best butterfly trainer on a budget

This is isn't the cheapest balisong trainer out there, but it is far from the most expensive. It is noticeably better than cheaper trainers, but after using benchmade's trainer you will realize how this one differs from the top dollar knives. On high end trainers the lock is spring loaded and the balance is perfect. The weight and feel of this trainer are superior to the $15 one, especially concerning the action. If you can't afford the BM40TR but want something more than a toy (such as the CHKO2000A), this trainer is perfect. After trying them all this is the one I bought. Makes a great gift because of the fun and unique butterfly style and unsharpened blade.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Alexander Lewis
Norway
Dec 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, None

Nice trainer for beginners.

This is my very first actual balisong, and it feels great. It did feel a bit too heavy when I first got it, but I got used to it after a day. Also the joints where a bit stiff to start with, but a bit of oil and cleaning fixed that. The main problem I have is the lock, for me it was to short and wouldn't lock when the knife was open and the lock will often get in the way of the blade. I fixed this with a bit of black tape. Also, I live in Norway, so balisongs are hard to get since they are illegal to import. But since this trainer isnt sharp it does not count as an illegal weapon. If you live in Norway I can higly recomend this Balisong, I had no problem with the Toll and it came straight to my door after a week.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ian
Belgium
Sep 05, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None

Good for a beginner

Its great for beginners.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 3 stars out of 5
Eb
Boston
Feb 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Great knife to train with
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chaotic
Englewood, Co
Oct 18, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, Weight

Bear ops trainer

This is a decent trainer, my biggest complaint would be weight and material construction. This thing is heavy. It beat the crap out of my hands more than any non-trainer version of a bali ever did.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 3 stars out of 5
Lafmaster3000
California
Sep 01, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material

bear trainer

as trainers go, this one is pretty solid. doesnt fall apart like most of the cheaper ones do. my only complaint are the handles. the black apoxy(?) coating easily chips off with use. more than that, they're far too light, which makes the overall knife VERY blade heavy. for those of you planning on using it to practice your flipping...its gonna throw you off. other than the fact that that its blade heavy tho...decent knife for the price. i say get it.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jhb
florida
Nov 17, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

not so bad, but not so great either....

training blade part is very thick as expected, but the coating on the handles made it stick for allot of practicing until that thick black coating wore down and now it doesn't stick. coating is also a bit slick. latch is poor, but o-ring trick will fix that. put an o ring just over the "t" part of the latch and it will keep it closed tight and lock it when open. put another o-ring over the handle to keep the latch from free falling into the handle area when flipping and jam up everything. the handles are most likely potmetal, not aluminum. maybe i am wrong but they are very heavy....too heavy to be aluminum. the black coating chips off easily. easily where there is any wear or contact. not a big deal though. it's heavy and some consider that good for learning and other's not so much. doesn't bother me, but it's good for a beginner who wants to practice some basic moves and get comfortable of where the blade goes and when without cutting themselves. all in all a decent value, but don't expect a finely fit and finished product. it works, but it's rough all over in fit and finish. also to note, the real version of this same bali is not as top heavy as the trainer. it flips much easier and works somewhat better. the trainer being a replica of the knife version is a bit of a nisnomer as the weights are very different and the balance is different. that said, i found uisng the trainer made using the real knife easier, but you might not? it gets a "3" star score cause it works fine and does what it needs to but the latch is problematic eventually once the coating wears off and it's flapping around freely everywhere, and you have to fix it, or be annoyed with it. as is it could never be a 4 or 5 star rating. anyone who does rate it that high, has very low expectations, or has owned worse trainers that are out there that don't actually work.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 3 stars out of 5
Patrick F
Demarest, NJ
May 20, 2012
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness

Butterfly

its an alright butterfly knife. the paint started to chip on the latch very quickly, but thats not really a big deal. like most cheap butterfly knives, it will get loose. because it is a good knife, it took a couple days of rough use before starting to loosen. the latch does get in the way sometimes, wich can mess a trick up. overall, great knife for the price.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 3 stars out of 5
T
Seattle
Jun 28, 2012
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Not bad, not great

I received the knife and the blade was bent. I tried to contact the manufacturer and they completely ignored me. The blade is very thick and heavy. I had to take a large rubber mallet and hammer the blade flat on my cement patio edge. One it wad strait, I lubricated it a bit more and it became a decent training flipper after a day or so of getting it loosened up. I got it a couple of months ago and it's held up really well even after after being dropped quite frequently. It's probably the heaviest training butterfly knife around which isn't necessarily a bad thing, some tricks are easier with the heavyweight and some tricks maybe a little more difficult.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ryan
Winnipeg, Canada
Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness

Alright trainer

This is a decent product for beginners. I've used it for a few weeks now and it holds up through most regular use. However, the handles are already starting to become loose and shaky in the first month. I expected to get more than three weeks of regular use for $35 before aerials became shaky and unreliable.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 2 stars out of 5
Kim Kratz
Purcellvile, Virginia
Oct 17, 2011
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Weight, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality

Second item purchased

I have purchased 2 butterfly trainers from you. The first was a well made product and I got a tremendous amount of use out of it. The second seemed to be of inferior quality and broke in the first week. Did you change manufacturers?
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jessfox
Nova Scotia, Canada
Aug 30, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Feel, Lock Type

Heavy

This knife was reviewed as the best trainer knife available for people who didn't have access to a real one. However, I was forewarned about the weight but opted to ignore it. It needed to be loosened up a bit which wasn't a problem, since it came well oiled. After a weekend of toying with it, it opened easily. However I cannot get past the awkward weight of it. Attempting any fluid movement is very difficult and I think it's because the blade is so thick. I don't think I can use it myself and adapt to the weight. Still, looks cool.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 2 stars out of 5
Marcus
Canada
Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Lock Type

Good trainer until it broke

It was a very good knife and I really enjoyed it but after a couple times dropping it the bite handle cracked and fell off
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 1 stars out of 5
Mathew
Minnesota
Mar 16, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening

After 100+ hours the handle cracked.

Used this to practice flipping for maybe 100hrs total. I had to grind down the T lock to get it to lock and added holes in the blade to get the weight down to match its live edge counterpart. Just had one of the bite handle crack just above the first hole. basically got what I paid for.
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 1 stars out of 5
Gabriel W
Michigan
Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Don't buy a balisong with rivets..

I didn't get mine from knife center but this is the exact one I bought. All was well and was happy.. but after clocking a couple days of heavy work on it.. the handles cracked up by the bolsters and it went flying in two pieces.. threw it in the trash and wrote it off as a lesson learned and started looking else where. Not trying to sway anyone away from bear and son but the lesson is obvious.. You get what you pay for and don't buy a balisong with brass or any kind of rivets.. you might as well go to the flea market..
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 1 stars out of 5
Adam
Peoria
May 22, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type

terrible

As soon as i tookthis knife out and stred fliping the whole latch broke and my mate snapped it clean in half on the handle
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 1 stars out of 5
Nik
Az
Oct 15, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Lock Type

What a piece of crap

I just got this and the bite handle and blade were stuck together so when i flip they stick. I tried sanding it and wd-40 and it didn't work. If you do buy this just ho[e its not the same situation
Bear & Son Black 5" Butterfly Trainer
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jacob
Louisiana
Mar 05, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Type

Safe handle BROKE

The part of the safe handle that holds the latch broke clean off.