Reviews and Ratings for Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles

Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handlesrated 4.200 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
0
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5 inch Cocobolo Wood Handles

 

Price: $72.95

Save $37.05 (34%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam O
Michigan
Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Good Balisong, very few issues
I bought this thing just to do some basic flipping. It works pretty well for that, but I have two minor things that lead to a little discomfort. For starters, this bali was very stiff when it came out of the box, which is easily remediable with a little tweaking. The knife was sharp as well, and the black finish is a nice touch. My only other complaint is that the bottom edges of the handles/levers are not rounded. The have pretty pointy corners, and if can be pretty uncomfortable at times. It is not a huge issue, and i still very much love this knife.
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ck
Middle of Nowhere
Jan 25, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
The classiest butterfly under $100.
The bolsters on the knife I received are most definitely NOT nickel silver (chromed here), but at least the hardware is torx and not riveted as pictured, allowing one to clean out all the crappy oil, relube, and properly loctite everything at the exact right spot. Those looking to start playing with butterfly knives, this is the perfect starter! It's no BRS, but it's definitely not priced like a BRS. Plus, it's got a really wonderful touch of style with the (real) cocobolo scales. Don't bother with the $30 crapfest at the bottom of the barrel if you can scrape together a bit more and get this one instead. Be forewarned, though, you will need a T8 and T10 torx bit (T5, I'm betting, for the scales) and some blue loctite... Within the first hour, you will probably drop a screw if you don't rebuild it straight out of the box... P.s. This guy is SHARP. Get a box of bandaids while you're at the hardware store getting the torx and loctite. ;)
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
north carolina
May 30, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
beautiful knife
I have been messing with butterfly knives for about 15 years and have owned several different types. I got one of these knives about a year ago and so far this has been my favorite. It is beautiful, very reasonably priced, full length, has a great weight to it, and has so far been very durable. This knife needed more breaking in than any other butterfly I've owned, but it has been worth it and the action is now very smooth. My only real complaint about it is that the latch to hold it together when closed is stiff; but it makes up for it by being very tough and holds it together tightly when not being used. I've been surprised by how well the handle material has held up to daily use. I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a butterfly in this price range.
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zac
Texas
May 19, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Amazing knife
I am very amazed with this knife. It is not junk or any piece of garbage. I own a benchmade this knife is just as good or even better.
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian
Michigan
Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Very Nice
Very nice knife. The wood looked even better in person than i thought it would. Little hard to open at first but within a few trys it was opening very smooth.
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ddbart53
Oxford, MI
Feb 10, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
USA Made!
Great Value, Heavy, Nice quality and American Made. I own 6 of the Bear and Son Butterflys and will purchase more. Excellent price at KnifeCenter.
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stary Dzedo
Turkey
Feb 08, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: None
Very good
Very beautifull
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob C
canada
Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
good and solid.this is a nice balisong
Ide just like to say that I didn't buy mine from this site,but ide just like to echo the comments made about this knife quality,beauty and durability.I also own a benchmade and ide have to say ide put my money on my bear if I was going to use it hard.no joke,and that's especially nice seeing as how I paid 3 times as much for my benchmade,which does have merits of its own.if your looking for a Bali that's built like an ak,this one could be it.and like a new baseball glove needs to be broken in,so does this bear,once you've got Er ready,she flips smooth as silk.quality beyond the price.
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Roger S
Texas
Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Very nice surprise
If your a butterfly enthusiast ,then you might possibly be surprised by the quality of this old school butterfly beauty. Most examples of this vaunted classic are very cheap looking and made,but considering the money you spend,you get what you pay for. This is a solid well made sweet swinging very old school wooden handled 70s style butterfly,I was shocked,and the best thing about it was its price. Spend the extra little bit and go for a more realistic swinger,you won't regret.... rSb
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John Doe
straight outta compton
Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Pretty!
Flips very well after breaking into. Small issues would be that it doesn't have washers, but since it flips well i guess somehow it doesn't need it, and the black finish on the blade can get scratched a little. I accidently had a few bits of sand in my pocket, and when i put it in my pocket the sand stuck to the oil lube and the bottom and a little bit of the blade is scratched. Still great though
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jack
Nebraska
Jun 15, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Make sure to loctite
Before flipping make sure you use loctite the screws will get very loose and fly out along with the handle
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jordan
Louisiana
Jun 02, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Cool Knife
I just bought another bailsong after not having one for years and was very impressed with the CB17. Sadly, after using it for about 30 minutes, one of the screws for the handle flew out and I’m not sure if I’ll ever find it again. Make sure to tighten the screws up before you use it!
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ng
UK
Jul 18, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use
Pain and Beauty
I bought this knife a few days ago and was reasonably pleased for the price i paid, $62 i think. The knife looks beautiful, the blade is incredibly sharp and the "wood" laid into the handle is a great touch, its actually what sealed the deal for me. There is room for improvement on this balisong, the first major issue is the bolt in the bottom of the blade meant to keep the handles from hitting. This is completely useless and very annoying. the second lesser issue is something i think you will encounter in any knew knife, stiffness, this knife is in need of some braking in. oh ya and watch out they say the knife is sharp,... its an understatement. i took a good slice out of my finger today. over all i would recommend the knife to anyone looking for good quality and a decent price.
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Billy T
New York
Dec 09, 2012
Pros:
Cons:
Not a flipper
If you're looking for a knife to flip, this isn't it. My handles are still stiff after over a year, it doesn't even look like the knife has washers, I think the tang is directly touching the handles. It came sharp, but there's no handle tang, so the blade presses into the handles leaving it dull. The handles look handmade, one is slightly longer and less round than the other. The metal they used for liners isn't very good, there are indentations from the tang pin. This knife looks great though, I like the wood and nickel, as well the nice black bowie blade. Don't get this as a user knife though.
Bear & Son CB17 Butterfly Knife 5" Cocobolo Wood Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Diesafe
North Carolina
Jul 20, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Ok if you don't care about maintenance
It's a solid knife if you don't care about maintenance ya you can pop it open once and throw in some locktite but beyond that you can't do anything filing washers and bushings it's also a bad fliper if you want to do anything advanced In other words just spend the extra 40 and get a Kershaw lucha