Reviews and Ratings for Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles - BM004

Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handlesrated 3.864 stars out of 5 (22 reviews)
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
7
3 star
3
2 star
4
1 star
0
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4 inch Clip Point Blade, Black Handles

 

Price: $29.95

Save $10.00 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jay
NJ
Jan 30, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Balisong

I use this as one of my EDC knives. When I first received it everything was really tight. After some play and a little oil it's perfect.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff K
Arizona
Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great Product

I bought this product as a collector's item and it's a great knife. The blade is sharp and the handle is great quality. Overall a very nice item.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew B
Foothill Ranch, Ca
Feb 10, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material

Good knife

Overall this knife is great!!! The blade comes extremely sharp. The knife is a little on the heavy side but that does not effect how you are able to flip it. One thing that I didn't like was the lock. The lock came if you just tipped it upside down. This though was really easy to fix. All I did was put on o ring on the lock and than it stayed. Also the handle material is very strong, but whatever is coated on the handles is kind of slippery. This though I also fixed by taping some grip on the handle. Overall I think this knife is an amazing cheap starter butterfly knife.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William
U.S
Aug 01, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, None

Excellent Balisong

The latch isn't spring locked and I had some difficulty using reverse openings such as the ice pick, because the latch was freely moving as I was flipping the knife. my this knife broke after about a year and I'm not surprised, I'm not all to careful when it comes to the security of the knife, but overall an extraordinary knife and I am considering buying another. (I don't know if mine was faulty or not)
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Drake
O'Fallon
Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Great balisong

It is my second balisong and so far the best every thing about it is great. my other balisong broke it was a bear and son.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Drake
O'Fallon
Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Great balisong

It is my second balisong and so far the best every thing about it is great. my other balisong broke it was a bear and son.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mo Money
USA
Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Sheath

Well built and worth the money. would buy again

feels great in your hand. Built well with a great blade. No one of those cheaply built import pos's My second blade from Benchmark the other was a ceramic and I love it even more.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles
Mommys house
Mar 15, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

It's pretty good

I've had it for like 5 years and it still flips good. I use it a lot.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
That Guy
usa
Feb 24, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use

Soon to buy

The locking mechanism has something to be desired, but the overall quality of the knife is great. It is rather heavy which makes it easy to flip, good blade for an everyday-use-knife. I lost my old one and will soon get another.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eddie
California
Sep 27, 2018
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, None

Only a few hours in?

I got the knife this morning and so far i’ve been flipping it for about 3 hours and the handles are still pretty tight! only thing that’s loosened up so far is the lock so don’t expect it to actually lock well for more than just a few hours. the blade got stuck in the handle so when i went to grab it after the attempt to flip it open, the blade snagged my finger. on the bright side i now know the blade comes very sharp straight out of the box. i’m sure once i continue to play with it and oil it up it’ll loosen nicely so the only issue really comes down to the flimsy locking mechanism the rest seems over all durable.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brandon S
Virginia
Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type
This was my first knife I bought and it's great but the only thing that's a problem is the latch it usually gets stuck on the blade somehow and doesn't let me finish the move
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kris K
colorado
Apr 08, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type

4/5 great knife!

I've had this knife for over a year now, and it is still great! granted the lock is a bit iffy, but the durability and the smoothness makes this a great first buy! I have abused the he** out of this poor thing and it has stayed with me the whole way with only the occasional sharpening!
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bertha
Louisiana
Mar 12, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material

good for a beginner.

this was the first live blade balisong i got and it was a bit tight at first, but loosened up quickly and has lasted me a few months so far. its pretty good quality and works well if you're a beginner. once you get better at flipping i would recommend an upgrade but its pretty cheap and i personally like the weight. handle material is not the best.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Evan
Pennsylvania
Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

Good knife for the money

This knife is pretty good a lot better than others in the 15-30$ range definitely a good beginner knife. Paint chips but if you cant deal with that buy a painless butterfly knife.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt
Feb 06, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Solid butterfly knife

When I first got the knife it was very stiff, and wouldn't flip open very easily and the bite handle would lock up mid flip, however that problem only last a couple of hours. I put Wesson vegetable oil in the pivots so if I cut food with it there's no chemicals from WD-40 or a synthetic lubricant. Other than that, knife is perfect.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shawn W
Seattle
Jan 06, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Serviceable butterfly knife

I really like the size and action of this knife, it's no Benchmade but is a reasonably priced alternative. It flips very well and has a decent edge out of the box. If you want a butterfly for a pocketknife that won't drive you nuts because of the cost if you lose it, this knife's for you. I bought two of these, one to carry and a spare, and leave the Benchmade I've carried for twenty years at home. Nice ergonomic handles as well. Great for opening packages or mail, breaking down boxes, whatever you normally use a pocketknife for.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Knifeystabby
GA
Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening

Goo beginner knife

If you have never flipped a knife before and have some wd40, go for it. It helped me not waste 200 bucks on something I don't know if I'd like. Unfortunately for this knife I do enjoy flipping very much and it just broke on me after 2-3 months of use. No worries since it helped me discover a fun way to clear my mind. However, other than it breaking I will say the latch is pretty shoddy. I recommend putting a rubber band around tip of bite handle to keep latch from falling into space between bite handle and blade.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Noah
Texas
Aug 06, 2015
Pros:
Cons:

hmmm good but not for long

In my experience at first it was great! but after not even 2 weeks the bite handle flew off! for absolutely no reason I don't know if I just go unlucky but it was good knife but when it's lose there's no telling what can happen.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Matt
UT
Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

Solid cheap knife

I bought this primarily to learn butterfly knife tricks, and it has done a pretty good job. It was a bit stiff at first to spin and trick out, so I put a drop of olive oil on each axis. Unfortunately somehow it's way to loose now. Also the knife seems to be getting loose itself at the axis, and kinda shaky. There are no screws to tighten though, unfortunately, so hopefully it holds up ok. I flip the knife quite a bit and quite intensely sometimes. It is extremely sharp and I use it for everyday cutting, and even some food eating/cutting. Great starter knife for the price, but if you're more into butterfly knives, I'd suggest a higher quality model.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Guy
USA
Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Feel

Decent blade, poor construction

The blade itself is sharp and looks decent. The play is terrible though.. Locking mechanism not the handles spin freely. It's almost as if someone used glue instead of lube on the pivot points. The washers could be warped too. The blade gets stuck to the safe handle, resulting in dangerous rotations. The pivot pins aren't are permanent, so there's no easy way to make it better. If you just want a knife to open packages with, this will work just fine. If you want to play with a butterfly knife, this is a bad choice.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jayboi
Oviedo
Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Sheath, Weight, Pocket Clip

Heavy, Slow, Sticky, BAD...

balisongs are a fast, flipping and lightweight. This balisong product is opposite slow, heavy, sticky, and just not meant to flip around. it is a buck Balisong basically just meant to open and latch handles, and you get crap. playing on the bite side, slammed it on my thumb to see how sharp it was and it is not!
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Domsap
Australia
Nov 10, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness

crap

paint on the handle was chipped also latch lock to keep it closed or open doesn't line up and the blade is very dull and loose. also the pivots are to tight and have to much resistance.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Black Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Bandaged-Balisong
Dallas
Oct 05, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Type

An average leaner

Loved this knife out of the box although the lock and handles were a bit tight, they loosened up in the first hour. I bought mine just to see if I would enjoy flipping and once I knew for sure I bought a BRS barebones. This knife though is quite average, if you just want to know if you're going to like flipping it's perfect for that. Although it won't stand up to sustained abuse. Mine lasted about 3 months of on and off flipping. Get it and plan to upgrade if you like it, or simply don't get it all at.