Reviews and Ratings for Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles - BM005

Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handlesrated 4.205 stars out of 5 (39 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
12
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
3
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4 inch Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles

 

Price: $29.95

Save $10.00 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steven
California
Jan 05, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Type, None
Awesome knife. The only issue I have is the locking mechanism is a bit loose.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pablo R
CA
Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Durable and affordable!
I've been using this knife constantly and it never gets loose like other knives with screws. Love the overall quality of the knife. Seems like it's going to last me years, but only time will tell. The grip of it is beyond perfect. The only con to it would be having to break it in but that's what you would have to do with every knife.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sifu
Arkansas
Mar 14, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Got the blade about a week or so ago sharp and it kicks butt now
Have been a Martial Artist all my life got so great butterfly s but I looked this one over got it kind of stiff at first but now I love it great blade very sharp out of the box. So watch your fingers.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
USA
Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Beginner Knife!
First off, let me say I bought this knife as a gift for my friend who was new to balisongs. I thought this knife was going to be an inexpensive little toy just to mess with, but wow I was wrong. It's solidly built, and has a hefty weight to it. The lock is solid in both open and closed positions (maybe a little too tight, but it will break in). The action is very smooth out of the box, and the blade seems decent. It's just an all around great beginner knife, and you cant beat it for the price. Head and shoulders above the similar Bear and Son models (I own several of those). Great buy!
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephen
Tenisee
Jun 09, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Gooooooooooood
Nice
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Ct
Sep 16, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good way to see if you like flipping a balisong.
This is a excellent way to try a balisong without breaking the bank. The latch is a problem but YouTube has videos with some suggestions that solves that issue. As long as you aren't expecting a Benchmade and your interested in learning it really is a decent well made knife. I would never use a balisong as a edc it just for playing with and there is a lot of you tube videos on how to do tricks.. good price and fast delivery from knife work's my first purchase from them.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dane
Kansas
Dec 09, 2014
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
My first balisong
This is my first balisong, I had been wanting one and the price and reviews were good on this one. It seems to be pretty good quality. the handles were a little stiff to flip at first but after a while they got buttery smooth.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Edward
The Moon
Jun 16, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
BUY NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!
GREAT!
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlie
Georgia
Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, None
excellent knife, very sharp
This knife is very sharp, like really sharp. I gave myself 2 cuts and a gash on the first day. Granted I'm pretty rookie at it. Very good construction, heavy handles quality blade. Feels substantial in the hand. The extra weight makes every mistake unforgiving. Comes a little stiff, but loosens up with use. Overall, great knife for the price, well recommended.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeramiah
New York
May 22, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel
Benchmark Bali-Song
Probably the best $30 butterfly knife you can purchase. The knife is quite heavy so if you're used to lighter folders this will take some getting used to. The quality is excellent for the price point and doesn't feel like some cheap Chinese bali-song that will break when flipping.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry
Albuquerque, Nm
Jun 09, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
super
Great product. Expected a loose piece that might come apart when flipping. Got a quality knife that will last a long time.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Krunch
SanAntonio
Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, None
What i was Looking for
I fidget alot , so I use it as a fidget controller ,keeps me occupied when needed. Although it may make me look crazy in public just kidding!
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kyle
Ohio
Aug 07, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Fantastic Knife!
This knife is great! I just received it today after it only taking 2 days because knife center is awesome! I love the feel of the knife, and the way it flips. I own a benchmade 42,51 morpho and a 63, and this knife is almost up to par! Yea it's pin construction and won't last a life time like my 42 will, but this knife is serious good for the price! The blade is quite sharp, even someone that has been flipping for several years still gets cut. I guess now only time will tell how long this thing lasts!
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cindy
Syracuse, NY
Dec 31, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Pefect
Great service. Great knife.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Igor
Windham
Feb 28, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
Good USA product
Aaaaa+++++
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob J.
Pelham, AL
Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
Great Knife for the money.
Good starter butterfly knife.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe B
Lansdale, Pa
May 27, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Awesome knife
Does not use screws, so it doesn't get too loose. I like the heaviness in the handles, and the blade is quite sharp. It was a little stiff at first, but do not worry - it gets very loose after doing some flips. This is my second butterfky knife and this is an awesome one.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brando
CA
Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Awesome knife
After probably about 4 butterfly knives (mostly found at flea markets) breaking within the first week I figured I would give Knife Center a try. And I don't regret it one bit. This is an amazing knife especially if you're just learning how to flip. With all the other knives Iv'e bought, the handles would become so loose that the knife would no longer be flippable. I was a bit scared that it would happen with this balisong too but that's not the case at all, this is an amazingly durable knife. if you're looking for a balisong that will last you AT LEAST a year 2 years of everyday use and constant flipping this is your knife. The only thing I noticed was when I first got it the handles were really tight but a day or 2 of use should give it it's full flexibility. Awesome knife, great price, definitely recommend
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert S
Hoopeston, Illinois
Dec 20, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
This knife is very sharp and is very well made . Very satisfied .
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew La
Coppell, Tx
Feb 12, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Knife!
This knife is the perfect butterfly knife for the price. It is made of very strong metal and rib-its and I couldn't break this even if I tried. It comes pre-oiled for smooth performance and handling and it closes and locks really well so it won't open in your pocket. This Knife also has a really strong and sharp blade. It is by far the best knife I have ever had.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Denise
Petaluma Califoria
Jun 05, 2014
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Indestructible
What a great little butterfly knife. Benchmark was recommended to me by a knife enthusiast as a beginning knife for my son. He had purchased a practice butterfly "pen" that broke within a day, so no good there. He has been practicing with this knife during all waking hours (Sometimes the clicking makes me crazy for two weeks, and it is still going strong.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jxv
TX
Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Feel
Pretty Good Balisong
Latch is a bit big, and has loostened a lot after a couple hours of flipping. It was a little stiff at first but that also loosened a bit. Overall decent knife.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ethan
Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, None
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Roninadf
Atlanta
Dec 04, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great priced solid knife
This is a great starter butterfly. Nice and solid.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Richii T
Indiana
Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type
Georgious piece with a bite as mean as its bark.
I ordered this because I was looking for a low cost piece with great performance, and after seeing the 5 star reviews, I had to get this knife. The first thing I noticed about this butterfly was the weight. It is a hefty piece that makes you learn to control the knife. Next, the blade. This knife nicked the heck out of my fingers, but that isn't a complaint. This definitely isn't a beginner's blade, simply because even the lightest touches will cause little cuts along your fingers. I'm a beginner and didn't realize what I was getting with this knife. The blade is razor sharp, USA made, and all 4 inches of this blade speak for themselves when it comes to flare. The handles: The handles are easy to hold onto, a bit girthy, but for the most part, they are a breeze. Their weight honestly helps with little tricks, due to the momentum they naturally build while in flight. WARNING: GRABBING THE BITE HANDLE BY ACCIDENT DURING A TRICK WILL CAUSE SOME, IF NOT QUITE A BIT OF BLEEDING FROM AT LEAST ONE FINGER!!!!! My only complaint with this knife is the lock. It has been about two weeks since it has arrived and the lock has become a little squeaky and loose, nothing too bad. All in all, this is a great investment for any Balisong admirers/collectors. It is incredibly quiet, the only noise it makes besides the squeaky lock on mine is the sound of the handles hitting each other upon opening and closing. A small click. That is it. It has a slick design that catches the eye, and the fun is endless. Have fun!
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jp
California
Jan 27, 2016
Pros:
Cons:
Alright
This is a super starter butterfly knife. You just have to get used to it being tight when flipping. And from time to time, the lock do get in the way, but these cons aren't deal breakers -- particularly for the price.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kenneth M
Carrollton, Tx
Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
This is a great knife for its price! It came in the mail on the day it was expected to, and it was super sharp. I cut myself a few times. The handles did loosen up after constant use, but other than that it's a great knife
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Walter
payette Id
Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
balisong
This is a really good affordable knife very sharp and smooth grew beginner balisong!!!
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim
East coast
Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Good for the price
It came shave sharp. Feels solid. Good weight for flipping. The biggest downside is the handles were so stiff it was almost impossible to use. Either get some oil or be prepared to spend a lot of time breaking it in. It also didn't come with a case. Just a ziplock baggie in a box. Not inherently a bad thing, just know ahead of time, that's how it comes.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tyler
U.S.A
Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Great knife
I've owned this knife for 2 months now. This knife is simply amazing as a starter knife. It took me about a week to work in the handles for they weren't so stiff The function is smooth, the weight is amazing, the handle has a good texture and grip, the blade material does get scratches, but no stains. The only problem I have with it is the lock becoming too loose. It's a simple fix, though.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff
NH
Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Pretty good knife
This a pretty good balisong for the price. It works smoothly, but seems too heavy for effective spinning and flipping. It is a solid knife. I really like the looks of it. I wish the blade came with a sharper edge, but it was able to be sharpened. So far the edge is holding up. For the money this is a good knife.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Edward
Evansville, In
Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Pretty good for price.
I've had this knife for a few weeks. It started very stiff, but after a few days of breaking it in it works like a charm. Very good for the price.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cole
Roseburg
Aug 03, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
Everything that it says is there.
I bought this because I thought it would be fun to learn. So far I have spent several hours using it ,and I have learned a couple of moves already. The only problem I have is the lock gets in the way sometimes. This was a great first butterfly knife.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Brose
Texas
Nov 12, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, None
I'm learning
I'm new into flipping but have been a knife collector over 10 years ( knife #42). I got the knife to try my hand a flipping and went with benchmark for the reviews and because i didn't want to break the bank first go around on something that would be tossed around.The knife lasted exactly 28 days of hard flipping ( I'm committed to learning!!!).. I've always known the basic opening but since having the knife I'm on trick 12, that being said i have no complaints other than the pivot pins, basically in between an opening the handle flew right off when the pivot pin snapped. I've only flipped over grass so it has never hit the floor hard, but it has been dropped plenty. Its a little handle heavy and the latch sucks, but for a beginner knife its perfect. Would make a perfect edc, but lacks flipping finesse ( i assume).
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Knifegal28
Illinois
Mar 03, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
Good for a first, but don't expect it to last.
So I used it primarily for regular flipping when I was bored, but I used it for occasional cutting at work for taped boxed or plastic containers. After a little bit of flipping, it got easy to open. It started off pretty sharp, but I stabbed it into the weak point of a jug to create pressure, which bent the tip of the blade, which pointed to lack of longevity. I had it for about a month of minor flipping for an hour or two a day before the pin on the safe handle just snapped, causing the blade and bite handle to fly off. Decent knife, but don't expect longevity.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Logan
Pennsylvania
Feb 26, 2020
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, None
Broke within a month
I personally loved the knife. Felt smooth and felt natural doing tricks with it. Pretty sharp. I THOUGHT it was durable... Until I’m in the middle of flipping it open and one of the handles decides to fly off. Didn’t hit it off of anything, didn’t pull on it, just flipping it open and it flys off. Thank god I didn’t get cut. I had it for about a month before it decided to do this. A few washer pieces flew off and I could only find one, and the screw piece thing (is it a bolt that holds it together?) flew off and forever missing. I am really displeased that’s I paid for what I thought would be a nice knife, which I still loved for the month I had it, until it decided to collapse.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Paul H
Ashburn, Virginia
Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening
One extremely tight handle renders it useless
This knife is garbage. The manufacturer does not know anything about butterfly knives. One of the handles is extremely tight. Hold the knife with the hinge at the top and extend the handle at 90 degrees. Gravity will not cause the handle to lower. Even after extensive oiling the knife is useless. I stupidly bought two. Both are identically tight. I deeply regret this purchase. Learn from my error.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Alex
Washington
Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Dont waset your money
Within a week of buying this knife, both handles became dented (form the inside where the blade hits the handle while closing the knife and on the outside where a metal stud stops the handle when opening the knife).This caused the locking mechanism on the bite handle to not function like it should. I can no longer lock my knife close or open. The locking mechanism is now a useless piece of metal hanging loose at the end of the knife handle. It gets in the way when closing the knife or when I do tricks as it tends to get stuck between the bite handle and blade ( this dented or chip the blade because it hits the same area every time). I do not feel that I have a bused or over used this knife in any way. It might be better to look into a different brand or a knife that is more expensive as it might not have all of these defects.
Benchmark Balisong Butterfly Knife 4" Clip Point Blade, Silver Vein Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Nu-Be
IN
Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Type
Broken in three weeks
Only 30$ affordable yes but guess you get what you pay for blade seemed sharp and good quality but after using it the lock seemed to stick open and catch on blade just today one of the rivets fell out disappointing hoped it would last longer than under a month considered purchasing a better more expensive model but I am inexperienced in this game so many to choose from and pricing wide glad it was only a thirty dollar disappointment not sure if I should risk a 300$ dollar investment actually got some what good at using my fidget spinner knife lol