Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade 484 Nakamura AXIS Folding Knife 3.08" M390 Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles

Benchmade 484 Nakamura AXIS Folding Knife 3.08" M390 Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.7780000000000005 stars out of 5 (9.0 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade 484 Nakamura AXIS Folding Knife 3.08 inch M390 Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $195.50

Save $34.50 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade 484 Nakamura AXIS Folding Knife 3.08" M390 Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wizardstorm
Durham, NC
Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Wow, what a knife

So I'm a steel snob, and wanted a performing folder that had a very high end blade. The Nakamura has easily met all my expectations. It has a great grip. A smooth functional action. I love the lock system which has made me focus on Benchmade knives for a while. Bottom line if you want high performance steel, in a great functional form factor, this is a the best knife I've found. Best Knife I own
Benchmade 484 Nakamura AXIS Folding Knife 3.08" M390 Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Olivier Delap
Leers, France
May 03, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Sheath, None

My first EDC and what an EDC

It is my first Benchmade and I am overjoyed of it. It fits perfectly in my hand and in my pocket. It is not very heavy and it is very well sharped. The blade's quality is excellent. The first of a long list. About Knifecenter' services , I have only good things to say. Professional, fast and very good quality' services. It took me 5 days till the order to receive my Benchmade. Another big thank you to all the team of Knifecenter.
Benchmade 484 Nakamura AXIS Folding Knife 3.08" M390 Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Tulsa
Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Love this blade

I use this knife in my EDC rotation. Have to say that the only things I would wish for is a different clip and for it to be a few millimeters thinner but wouldn't trade that for the excellent grip the scales provide or the full steel liners and I don't see how they could have made the knife any thinner without sacrifice of one of these or having to make the blade thinner which I wouldn't want either. I wish the clip was black or at least not polished and I wish it set the knife a smidge deeper in the pocket. Love the full 4 finger grip and the fact that the blade is as long as possible and still fit in the handle. The handles are perfect in length for a full grip for my average sized hands. The pivot is as smooth as anything I own including the IKBS ZT Hinderer and Para 2. The M390 steel sharpens up pretty easily on the Wicked Edge and holds an edge for a long time. There was no blade play in any direction and the Axis lock is secure and easy to manipulate. I know this knife isn't cheap, but it screams quality and I have no regrets dropping the cash. If I could only keep 1 folding knife this one would be on the short list for consideration. As that list includes the ZT Hinderer, Para 2, Al Mar Eagle HD ZDP, and Osborne 940 I think this is pretty high praise.
Benchmade 484 Nakamura AXIS Folding Knife 3.08" M390 Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
R. L.
Hong Kong
Jun 04, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None

Super smooth

The opening and closing of this knife is super smooth. The quality of every aspect is beyond any description. I use it as EDC. Before I own this knife, I have one with inline lock and one with frame lock. I cannot believe how good the AXIS lock is. Every time I open it or close it. the feeling of perfection comes to me. The only improvement should be the handle. A version with carbon fiber handle will be great. A version made with hard wood handle may be considered too. Finally, the shipping was very good. I got a few email updates to inform the progress of my order. Thanks.
Benchmade 484 Nakamura AXIS Folding Knife 3.08" M390 Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Axel B.
Switzerland
Aug 08, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Nice & fantastic finish

Great knife, great blade ! Fantastic finish !
Benchmade 484 Nakamura AXIS Folding Knife 3.08" M390 Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trevor
ohio
May 10, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Has great edge retention with great size

I bought my first benchmade and it was the nakamura and absolutely love it. I'm a farm boy and use it everyday type of person it's sharp and has great edge retention with great size. The part that sold me on the knife was the handle it has finger grooves and is absolutely perfect.
Benchmade 484 Nakamura AXIS Folding Knife 3.08" M390 Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
A Allen
Indiana
Feb 03, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

A new favorite

I was looking for a 2.5-3 inch knife with superior steel and a comfortable handle for EDC. I was also looking for something with an Axis lock or similar - secure, but easier to release than a lock back. This knife is a perfect fit. I was a little concerned about the width of the handle and weight, but once I received it, I found the handle is only a little wider than mini-grip. The weight mostly comes from the solid steel liners, but it really isn't bad, and it gives the knife a nice solid feel in the hand. Expensive, yes, but for a M390 steel blade, worth it. Has become my favorite knife for EDC.
Benchmade 484 Nakamura AXIS Folding Knife 3.08" M390 Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff L
Moorhead, Minnesota
Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Benchmade 484 Nakamura AXIS Folding Knife

There's much to like about this knife, including the finish, the M390 steel used in the blade, scales, size, even weight (a little heavy, but more substantial than heavy). What I don't like are the thumb studs. Big mistake by Benchmade. They are shaped like "mushrooms" with a cap on the top. While they look nice, they can be dangerous, catching on your pants' seam when withdrawing the knife from your pocket. The result is a blade inadvertently pulled open, potentially cutting your hand. Bad design, Benchmade. The thumb studs should've been dome shamed or flat, but they are what they are. Deal breaker? You decide. I no longer carry mine clipped.
Benchmade 484 Nakamura AXIS Folding Knife 3.08" M390 Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Earl M.
Alaska
Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Pocket knife

Daily use. Opens easily sometimes to easy when taking from pocket. Stays sharp. Easy to use