Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles

Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handlesrated 4.7219999999999995 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24 inch S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles

 

Price: $127.50

Save $22.50 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Georgia Adventurer
Georgia
Aug 12, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Bugout

I've had this BUGOUT for six months...My second Benchmade. I have to say this is my favorite EDC Folder...it's lite and I like the blade shape, good steel, a little hard to sharpen. It's a good cutter, even for food processing. I like the blue handle on mine.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodland Warrior
California
Feb 25, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Impressive! Can't put it down!

I purchased this knife as a hiking/EDC knife. This thing came scalpel sharp out of the box. Benchmade does an awesome job with their S30V steel. It holds an edge for a long time. Even after 6 hours of hammering on this knife it is still able to shave hair. I will say from past experience with S30V steel that it is a bear to sharpen though. The handle on this knife is super comfortable and it fits my large size hands very well. Blade centering is perfect out of the box as well. The bushings in the pivot make the deployment very smooth and the thumb studs are easy to access. Lockup is also extremely solid. All of this combined with the ultra light weight makes this an excellent knife and I strongly recommend it. Watch for my review on my youtube channel (Woodland Warrior) in about a week for more details and in action shots on the Benchmade 535 Bugout. I also have reviews of tons of other knives and gear.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Indiana
Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Benchmade Bugout

As with all of my Benchmade knives this one is very high quality. it is exactly what I wanted for my primary bug out bag, in fact a bought a second for my wife's.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Big T
Chicago
Mar 13, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

New favorite EDC knife !

Really impressed with this folder. The blade is super sharp. The opening action is fantastic. I had a hard time putting it down once I received it. Very light knife, the pocket clip is the perfect size. Just about every folder I have ever owned has been black this blue handle is such a cool color. Buy it you won't be disappointed. As always knifecenter.com does a great job with delivery and handling the order.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chop
Los Angeles
Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None

Holds it's edge. Great knife

This knife is very light and easy to carry. Very well designed and I've had a lot of Benchmades and others. This is one of my favorites and a fantastic bargain. I haven't run into any strength issues but I don't think you would want to split wood with it necessarily. Really, a perfect pocket knife. Stays sharp with minimal maintenance.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doug
Atlanta
Dec 26, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Beefy lite-weight

Benchmade got all the right features for this folder. Great steel for a lifetime of enjoyable use, big blade to do every task required of it, lite-weight so not noticeable in my pocket, and a color that isn’t black or red. The blue is a nice color that shows up (if dropped) out in the woods against brown leaves and dirt.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shawn
Pa
Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Buy it.

This is a great offering from benchmade I've had mine for a month now. Time for a review. This knife is so light that you might forget you have it. Blue? Great color choice. It doesn't stand out like a sore thumb, yet is easy to find if misplaced. S30v? A fantastic heavey use steel that easily gets crazy sharp. Size? Hand filling but not bulky. It handles daily chores with ease. Now, for my only concern. Strength. After a month of daily use, that concern no longer exists. This knife is tough.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mason
Chula Vista, Ca
Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

I've been waiting for this knife!

I had been waiting for a well known high quality brand to release a knife with a deep carry clip, extremely lightweight materials, high quality blade material, high quality lock mechanism, and full size blade for a long time. I had been out of the knife game for a bit but when I discovered the Bugout I scrambled to find someone with it in stock and purchased it immediately. I was not disappointed. I have purchased 8 knives since I have owned this and none have supplanted it as my daily carry. It is my favorite knife. The blade is very sharp and of high quality material. Centering is perfect. Blade action is perfect. The axis lock is nearly perfect and improving with use. The deep carry clip is very functional and short. Finally a designer realized you don't need excessive length in a pocket clip to be effective. This knife is so lightweight it is ridiculous. I've never held a tool at this size that felt this light and still very sturdy. Ergonomics are spot on. The only thing that should stop you from buying this knife is if you are allergic to blue. If they ever offered in in black, or anything else... I'd buy more; I'm sure many others would too.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nl2316
ND
Mar 12, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Super light

The ultimate pack knife when every ounce you are carrying counts! This knife is super light, yet can function as an effective EDC or pack knife. It is so light that you forget that it is even in your pocket. The blade came sharp and has held an edge well so far. I also like the extra deep carrying clip. The axis lock feels solid. Another excellent Benchmade knife.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stev-O
D.C.
Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

An eDC hit!

I can't find a single thing wrong with my plain blade Bugout. Super sharp, nice steel, unbelievably light and I love the deep carry, short pocket clip. Its handle might be a little too thin for those with larger hands or for heavier duty tasks, but it works perfectly for me in the office. Only two very, very minor gripes: 1. Slightly blade heavy bc of the lightness of the handle 2. If u don't use the thumb stud for deployment, but use the axis lock instead...Both sides of the Axis-lock requires pressing in order for smooth deployment (single thumb pull of axis lock won't deploy it smoothly like on my other Benchmade knife is capable of doing)...but this is definitely not a deal breaker by any means. Buy it if you can find one in stock!
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bigduke6
Chicago
Feb 26, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great light weight EDC !

My new EDC. Hardly know this knife is in your pocket. The feel in my XXL hand is great. The knife came sharp as a razor right out of the box. First folder I have purchased from Benchmade. I own some fixed blade knives of theirs. Their attention to detail is first rate. Quality in every aspect. Pricey but you can just tell this knife is gonna be worth the money. Love the blue color ! One other thing...buying from Knifecenter is the best ! So easy to order and they ship immediately. Very pleased with their service.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Edc
Illinois
Mar 01, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

What a great EDC knife

This is my first Benchmade knife ive ever owned. I own many many knives and this bugout really surprised me once actually in hand. I wish I bought this knife when it first came out. It's so nice I don't even want to use it. I will prolly have to buy another and save one for my collection. One of my favorites I own now. I wrote this review not having owned it more that a day. I had to leave a review right away because this bugout really impressed me and surprised me once in hand. Very nice EDC folder.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron
Colorado
Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Bugout

The overall ease of carry and quality of the blade.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chad
Tuscon, AZ
Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Couldn't be any better

Love the size, shape, quality, and especially the weight of the 535 Bugout. Small liners keep it feather light but give the knife some stability for harder tasks. Carry this knife whenever and wherever I go where weight may come in to play. Get one now!
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barry
Cape cod
Jul 31, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great knife

Extremely light weight and thin for ease of carry. Razor sharp with excellent edge retention . Don’t listen to the guy who complained about the handles, they are very robust.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Marc
Georgia
Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Very light

This has replaced my 530 for ultra lightweight edc, the omega springs feel stronger then normal (have multiple for comparison) and all at store felt the same. Not big on the blue but is growing on me. They are doing a much better job on edge grind consistency lately and this one(all of them) is perfect. The handle flexes a bit and was concerning, but after clawing into some wood it holds up just fine, considering this will not be used for that, it is a light use edc for me, I usually carry 2 blades, usually a fixed and a folder. It is now blade drop smooth with no play in any direction. This would be perfect with g10 scales, and hope they release a model with g10. Still have mixed feelings on the small pocket clip, it works just fine, just not the norm I guess. Oh and yes the axis lock was sticky and is getting much better as usual as it breaks in.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Anonymous
USA
Jan 06, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, None

Not really impressed with this

Very light, clean blade, typical Benchmade construction. However, the axis lock is pretty sticky on this one. Hopefully it works in. Also, the handle scales are way too smooth. It will definitely slip out of your hand. For the price I would buy a griptilian instead because it has a mean grip, and it's a better knife. Or I would buy a pardue, very slim, yet strong and a nice grip for grivory handles.
Benchmade 535 Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Blue Grivory Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Michael
California
Nov 10, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Handle Material

Buttery Action, less desirable handle

I read all the reviews on YouTube and Online about this knife before buying. First thing everyone says is “quality blade, great axis lock, terrible handle, too expensive”. They were right. In design, this is a great EDC blade! Really thin in the pocket. Sometimes I forget I have it on me. The action of flipping open and closing is super buttery smooth once you lube it. But the handle sucks. It’s plastic and feels like it’s going to snap. The name Bugout is a weird name for it since when you talk about Bugout, the knife should survive the apocalypse. I don’t think this knife would. Price point is completely off for the knife since the handle isn’t amazing. I’ve had to buy G10 scales for this to feel amazing so now it’s perfect but I had to spend an additional $60 for those. So if you don’t mind spending the moneys, get it. But I think the spyderco paramilitary series is better for the price point.