Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles

Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handlesrated 4.727 stars out of 5 (44 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
33
4 star
10
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91 inch Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles

 

Price: $127.50

Save $22.50 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mick
Houston, Texas
Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Beautiful knife
This knife is terrific. It opens smoothly and very quickly and feels good in the hand. The blade is sharp and sufficiently long enough to be very useful. The lock mechanism is solid and you can keep your fingers out of the way when closing.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Redline4200
Colorado
Jan 04, 2010
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
SWEET!
My girlfriend loves it. Her first knife after seeing all her brothers get knives for Christmas for years. It is very handy for her to open and still looks very innocent to those around her in the office.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kent
Fort Bragg, NC
Oct 06, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great EDC Blade
Outstanding smaller EDC knife. Quality and workmanship of this blade is excellent. Smaller size makes it great for utility use, food prep, and other routine cutting tasks. Fast opening, nice handling and secure lock-up. Razor sharp out of the box.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lee
San Diego
Mar 28, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Benchmade makes great knives
I'm a collector and a tool junkie. This knife is functional, dependable and esthetically beautiful. It also has great unique features that attracted me a s a collector
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ivan
Mar 07, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
A really nice quality small knife.
This is one really solid quality small knife, nothing at all could be better IMHO. Blade Material is really good, and blade came sharp. Opens with hardly any effort needed, easy to close. Handle Material. feels very good IMHO. Clip is well made. I really like this Mini Barrage 585.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leprechaun
Winter Park, FL
Nov 27, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
An excellent knife!
Another winner from Benchmade! I really like the fact the the blade has a safety lock which works for both open and closed positions. Great steel in the blade and as usual from Benchmade, very sharp. I like the Mini-Barrage so much that I am considering the full size model.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Martin
Texas
May 04, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel
Benchmad 585 Mini Barrage
The self assisted folding knife is small enough to carry comfortably in your pocket; the spring assist is easy to use and opens quickly with a flick of the thumb. The handles feel plastic, not the same quality of materials as the blade and metal parts of the knife. Overall, I am very satisfied with the knife.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ct
Texas
Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great EDC
Holds a good edge, and fits nicely in your pocket with the clip. Not too big, not too small. I carry mine everyday. I have not used it to dress animals, but I'm sure you could use it for that purpose if you had to in a pinch.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
B.B.
Arkansas
Jan 19, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Great knife!!!
This is my 2nd Benchmade I've used for a pocket knife. Love the ability to be able to open and close the knife with one hand! The only drawback is it's hard to keep a good edge.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doug K
Wimberley, TX
Feb 26, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Design
I've never been a "knife person" but sometimes you need one and this fills the requirement. I'm left handed and the either side attach for the clip is welcome. Best feature is the open assist. I just hate to drop what I'm holding to open and use a knife. This is a truly one hand, quick operation
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Crm
Phx,Az
Jul 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
fast fast fast
Fast action, razor sharp. This is my first bench but not my last.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill S.
Salter Path, NC
May 29, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Impressive design!
General purpose use (on the boat, in the truck). Axis locking mechanism and the "assisted" opening functionality for one-handed opening are things that finally "fit" the use of the word "awesome." Superb quality. No complaints whatsoever - I like the handles as well. I'm 61 - have had a lot of knives - this is now the favorite.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Malinkirybak
Newport RI
Jun 12, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Every Day Pocket Knife
I use the knife every day and wear it always. The blade opens easily and the locking wheel allows one-handed use, which is very much appreciated.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Glenn
Batesville, MS
Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent for EDC
I bought this as an EDC to replace my ten year old Kershaw Blackout. Out of the box it was shaving sharp, but quickly lost its edge after I cut a few yards of burlap. The factory edge was fairly rough, so I guess that's why it dulled fairly quickly. It took only a minute on a Sharpmaker to get it back to shaving sharp again. The assisted opening feature is really nice, and I've had no problems with the knife opening when it shouldn't so the lock is unnecessary in my opinion. The pocket clip is nice and tight, and so far the knife has stayed put in my pocket. I haven't used the knife when my hands were wet, so I can't say whether or not the handle would be slippery. So far I have nothing but good things to say about this knife.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob
troy,ny
Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Benchmade 585
very sharp
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Wisconsin
Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Awsome knife
This is a great knife for the money. Razor sharp right out of the box. Am going to buy a spare so I don't have to go without when I use Life Sharp or lose it. I live in Wisconsin and received my order in two days using standard shipping - excellent service!
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Satisfied Customer
Florida
Sep 09, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Well, it's a Benchmade...
...and with that you can expect a top quality knife. The assisted opening is effortless, the axis lock is smooth and has a solid lock up. The Cons for some could be the weight. For me, I'm very happy with my Benchmade.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J Bilyak
chesterton IN
Dec 17, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
excellent Knife
this knife is the perfect size for an every day pocket knife. The blade is not too big and the thickness is just right not too thin. the handle fits the hand good
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Benchmade 940
Northglenn, CO
Sep 07, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Outstanding EDC knife!
My first Model 585 Mini-Barrage was the limited edition 585-1 (Mini-Barrage with G-10 scales). I was so impressed with that knife I bought the Valox scaled 585 as a "beater knife" for EDC. I make every excuse I can to pull this knife out of my pocket and flick open it's AXIS-Assisted blade. In my opinion, this opening mechanism is as close as most civilians are going to get to an auto. I like the 585's built-in safety feature of having to thumb the blade open approximately 30 degrees before the spring kicks in to help deploy the blade. For those who prefer to carry the 585 loose in their pocket this safety feature is nice to have. Be advised, the spring is strong and the blade deploys very quickly (COOL!). I haven't found the auto-like thumb safety on the handle spine to be a necessary feature but it's there for those who do and it works well. The 154CM stainless steel used for the blade holds an edge very well and is easy to resharpen. I've found that stropping the blade against my jeans after use keeps the edge shaving sharp for quite some time. Regarding the Valox scales... well, they do feel cheap but my gripe about them isn't how they feel it's the waffle pattern on the back side against the stainless steel liners. This waffle pattern catches and holds everything from pocket lint to water and makes maintenance a royal pain in the neck. I would gladly pay more for solid scales (even if it's Valox). That said, perhaps all the open space between the liners and the back side of the scales facilitates air circulation for faster drying... time will tell. The only other negative issue I've encountered has to do with people who are intimidated by the speed and sound of the AXIS-Assisted opening. If you work around such people you might want to exercise a little discretion when opening and/or using your knife (or sharpening your deadly pencils). Overall, the Mini-Barrage is an outstanding little pocket knife that carries well and handles everyday cutting tasks with ease. I believe this knife deserves the 5 star rating I gave it even in light of my issues with the Valox scales. I'm very happy with both my 585's and should you choose to purchase one I'm sure you'll be glad you did.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Heriberto S.
Sonora, Mexico
Jan 10, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
nice knife
Great knife., light, good edge retention, good size to keep in the pocket all day long.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fast Eddy
Southeast Missouri
Jan 04, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great addition to my Benchmade family.
Ealier in the year I purchased a full sized Barrage from Knife Center and was very pleased with it. I decided to give the mini a try and I love it too. I like the option to mount the clip for a point up left or right handed carry. The blade deploys very quickly with little effort and locks solidly. For me, with the smaller length of handle on the mini, most of the time I prefer to just carry it in my pocket and not make use of the clip. However, the pocket clip does come in handy sometimes. As with my other made in the USA Benchmades there is no disappointment. They come razor sharp, hold a great edge, look awesome, and will last forever.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bisogno S
Downtown Los Angeles, CA
Feb 21, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
the perfect knife
This is the perfect knife for me. I had one before, but lost it. The new one has some very slight refinements, a better lock, and better blade release. The workmanship is flawless. I use it for camping and kayaking, and opening boxes at my photography studio. I am never without it. I also appreciated how quickly KnifeCenter.com got the knife to me.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bryan
Moorpark, Ca
Sep 03, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
New Favorite
I have a lot of knives and change my carry knife often. This one will be around awhile. Came sharper than other Benchmades i have purchased. Quick and easy deploy.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ramone
Orlando, FL
May 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Awesome Little Knife
Whats not to like? I carry it everywhere. The cool factor alone makes me want to purchase another one.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Graham
Baltimore, MD
Mar 01, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Sheath, Handle Feel, Lock Type
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
One of the best knifes i've bought
use it for general everyday use. its comes it handy for almost anything. the overall weight and feel of the knife is very comfortable. only dislike if you would call it that, is that it takes a little time to get used to the quickness the blade releases. other than that great knife. best place to buy any knife, anyone should go to knifecenter.com
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David Ford
hill park auv ,md
May 16, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
excellant
i use it for every day for jobs. and find it just the right size for carrying with me.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike S
Augusta, GA
Jun 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Valox Handles
Great knife - fast, sharp, and well made...perfect for EDC!
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shovelhead
illinois
Nov 27, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
great knife
this knife is the perfect size and is solid as a rock. I definately would recomend this knife. Made in the USA, makes it even better
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luc
NE Ohio
Jul 24, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
Solid Knife
I carry this knife as an EDC. It is out of my pocket 99% of the time to cut back multi-flora thorn bushes that try to take over the paths through the woods on my property. I need a knife that can be deployed with one hand and that's why I got this knife. I also wanted a knife with a blade of less than 3" to avoid trouble with cops. Mine has a plain blade; I would rather have a serrated blade to more easily cut through the thorny vines. A concave blade shape would also make it easier to use for its usual purpose. However, this seems to be a very solid knife. I don't think the complaints about the handle material, voiced by others, are valid. Sure, I'd rather have G 10 or micarta scales, but the plastic seems to be fine. It can be a little complicated to deploy, but there is no rush. The "safety" lock will also prevent nasty cuts from reaching for a knife with an already opened blade. All in all, the safety is more of a "pro" than a "con."
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Al F.
Aberdeen, SD
Dec 24, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Darn good knife
Very good knife. Not as sharp as it should be from the manufacturer. Heavier than I am used to.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Lexington KY
Feb 24, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Just works
Right size, right price for a nearly perfect EDC knife In my small hands, the clip is a bit large and catches on jackets sometimes.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon Rambo
new york
Nov 21, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
Awesome!!
what an awesome little assisted folder from Benchmade!! the thing flies open and is easy to close! the blade is excellent. my only complaint i guess is that the handle material is kind of cheap plastic feeling?! but for the price i definitely cant complain!! solid buy!!
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
St. Charles, Mi
Jun 17, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Awesome Knife
Love the spring assist. Like nothing I've ever owned. Worth the money.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe F.
New Jersey
Jul 18, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
Nice EDC
Nice little EDC knife,quick opening came very sharp,good fit and finish.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brown
NC
Sep 13, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
I like it
I like the feel of the knife. The action is very smooth. It's pretty sharp out of the box, but I do wish it were a bit sharper... otherwise I would have given this a 5.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark C
South Florida
Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
As good as it gets!
The Mini-Barage is the right size for pocket carry on a daily basis. Is has a safety that prevents accidental opening but can be opened with one hand easily. It is extremely rugged and holds a good edge. What more can be said.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill C
West Suffield Suffield CT.
Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great knife for the money
High quality handle, lock, and steel quality. Opens easily with one hand and more importantly also closes easily with one hand. Have a number of spring assisted knives and this one consistently opens quickly and is rock solid once opened and locked. The 154 CM steel is rust resistant, holds an edge for a good long time, and sharpens easily with an electric 20 degree angle knife sharpener.(It is a tuff sharpen on a wet stone due to the hardness of the steel) All in a great carry knife and totally legal to carry in CT.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eric Blair
cambridge, MA
Jul 31, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, Handle Feel, None
simple and simply excellent
i use the knife for everyday carry and utility (and for the fun of reflexively opening it: which is a hoot!). it feels solid, and works flawlessly. i have young kids, so i like the addition of a "safety" so the knife can only be opened by a young adult or older. only tiny demerits?: the scales feel like plastic and the lightness of the knife makes it feel less rugged than it actually is. you will not go wrong with this knife.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Friend Of Pooh Bear
Santa Rosa, CA
Sep 11, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Very Good Product
I carry it daily; use it to open packages, cut through everything like butter. The lock on the bottom takes a little getting used to, but the axis portion to allow the knife to close, is superb. I am not generally a fan of assisted opening knives, but this one could make me purchase more. It is quick, efficient, and pretty safe.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Colbuckshot
Florida
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Good size, good hand fit for small to med. hands
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
George
FL
Nov 15, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Solid & well made, & reliable, compact knife.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Anonymous
Somewhere, Earth
Jul 20, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
My new EDC
This is best summarized that it's my new primary EDC knife. The blade shape is great and uses the entire handle length when closed (no wasted length). I can hold part of the handle with my pinky finger, even. The axis lock is great as usual, though I'm still trying to figure the best way to close it with without using multiple fingers because the assist is stiff on the collapse, though I wouldn't make it any weaker and I expect it to get weaker with use anyway. My biggest complaint is the lock. Constant use with my thumb on the spine rubs against the lock (not axis, the spine lock). I have to leave it unlocked in use or use a glove or hold it awkwardly to keep my thumb from getting raw. I trust the axis, so leaving it unlocked when open isn't a big deal. I prefer this more plastic-y handle casing because G-10 tore up my jeans. I would order it again, and I'm considering getting another just in case I loose it or break the blade on the one I have.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Po - The Dragon Warrior
Kalifornayay
May 13, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, None
Sleeper to Keeper
The 585 is one of Benchmade's best current offerings in the EDC category. By EDC I mean a knife that is effective for a wide range of uses, and allows the owner to carry in a wide range of environments, but particularly at work, which is where most of us go every day. The size is ideal, being as small as it can be while allowing a four finger wrap-around grip on the handle for hard cutting. The blade is wide and stout, with generous belly, providing maximum edge length and cutting efficiency. The overall shape of the Mini Barrage is comfortable, ergonomic, and versatile. The handle feels comfortable and secure in every orientation. The Axis-Assist is great, combining the best folding knife locking mechanism in the industry with a gadget factor of ten. The safety is simple, strong, and easy to actuate. The auto-like actuation might make office-mates jittery, though. My only niggle with the 585 is the Valox handle scales, which are not as solid feeling as G-10 would be. I recommend the 585 anyway though. The Valox handle scales are not as much of a demerit on the Mini Barrage as they are on the full sized Barrage, as the Mini scales are smaller, and more dense. But this is a great knife, and it deserves premium handle materials. The handle scales made the Mini Barrage a sleeper for me, but once I held one in my hand, I knew it was a keeper. In my opinion, this knife belongs up there with the 940, 690, 707, and Mini AFCK on the list of Benchmade's best EDC-sized models. The 585 jumped right to the front of my EDC rotation. I think it is one of the best Benchmades ever, particularly if you can find one of the limited editions with G-10 handle scales.
Benchmade 585 Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Herbz
TENNESSEE
Nov 02, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Lock Type, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening
BENCHMADE
THE KNIFE IS BIGGER THAN I THOUGHT. IT IS NOT A MINI BY ANY MEANS