Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles

Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handlesrated 4.915 stars out of 5 (59 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
55
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4 inch S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $187.00

Save $33.00 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 09, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
The definition of a great EDC will vary greatly with each individual and even their day (I often carry the Rift on weekends). For me the 940 is as nearly perfect. I work in a professional environment, which simply translates to wearing slacks and working with many people that have no exposer to the great outdoors. This knife is light, slim and goes unnoticed during my day. It is very well made and built with quality materials. Unlike the Shoki and many other smaller blades I have carried, the 940's blade length and strength are what raised the bar. It carries small but can handle more demanding task than most other knifes I consider for my business day EDC. The aluminum scales are also a plus on pocket wear when using the clip. I did not expect to like this knife as much as do until I carried it for a few days. Then I couldn't' belief the compromises I have made since this knife was introduced. I have found myself carrying it more than my small Sebenza and that is saying something!
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean
Philly
May 22, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
This is like a gentleman's folder that can kill zombies. Well, maybe that's an exaggeration but this is an awesome knife. It's long enough to cut a hoagie but slim enough to carry unclipped in your pocket comfortably.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William
Portland, ME
Jul 28, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
940 Osborne, excellent EDC!
Fit and trim excellent. Very well crafted and smooth.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick
parker, co
Sep 17, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
nice knife
Can't go wrong w a benchmade. I need to put a better edge on it, but that's about the only thing "wrong" w it. I love the axis lock system. It's a beautiful knife!
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeremy
tn
Nov 09, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Knife
Had mine for 3-4 years now. Holds edge well. I use it as a tool everyday. Been rotating it out with my Sebenza, but really this is the better "tool" knife. Light weight and easy to deploy. Wish it came with the deep pocket clip. Gets scratched up easily, but it looks cooler when it does. If it was lost I would purchase again. If I could only have one knife this one just might be it.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Echo117
Southeast Michigan
Oct 07, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent Practical EDC
The first Benchmade knife I ever bought was the 940SBK. The aesthetics and style of the knife admittedly took a little getting used to at first. I think part of this is because the knife market nowadays is so flooded with the same cookie-cutter design/style of folding knives that anything significantly different stands out. However I didn't choose it initially because of its looks. I wanted practical performance. And for me to spend $150+ on a knife that doesn't immediately please my eye requires very high hopes of potential. I ordered the knife based on the quality of materials and construction as well as the fact that the design appeared great as an EDC knife. The 940SBK definitely lived up to my hopes/expectations, and then some. The incredible quality and feel of this knife is something one must see in person to fully appreciate. The BK1 coating resists scratching well and is about as close to rust-proof as possible. The blade takes a wicked edge that lasts for a LONG time. I am a bit rough on my knives, and it held the edge very well. I can only imagine how long it would take for light, basic knife use to dull the blade. To be honest S30V is not the easiest steel to sharpen, but for someone without a proper quality sharpening system there is the free Benchmade LifeSharp service (which, by the way, is just one reason out of MANY that BM famously has one of the best customer service out of any company in the industry). I have to note that I was not sold on the look of the "modified reverse-tanto" at first but I am now a believer. It provides tanto-like tip strength (which is a significant weakness in the structure of it's brother, the 943) while retaining a curved belly that is easier to slice with and sharpen. The handle is aluminum but the anodization process used for coloring seems to have left the handle surface with a very, very fine grip texture. Perhaps the handle was just designed like that. Regardless, it works even while wet, and although not providing as strong a grip as molded grip patterns it works for all but the hardest of forces exerted on it. The 6061 aluminum on the 940 has the benefits of aluminum (strength, feel, stability) without the super-slick grip (or lack thereof) typically associated with aluminum/steel handles. The design and material selection of the knife provides for a blade long and strong enough for light/medium "utility" work while maintaining the slim (and legal) profile desirable in an EDC. Despite my aforementioned reservations at the start about the look of this knife, I grew to love its remarkable toughness hidden under an unassuming frame that easily sits in - and allows the use of - a front jean pocket, for instance. Combined with support from a crazy-dedicated warranty/customer service department that clearly cares about its customers' satisfaction, Benchmade's 940 is a no-question buy for anyone looking for a slim EDC with performance beyond what its size suggests. Is it more expensive than most name-brand knives in its class on the market today? Yes. Is the price worth it? Absolutely. After the 940SBK I won't ever go back to cheaper knives, and my Benchmade collection (now 9 knives strong) exists solely as a result of my immense satisfaction with this interesting little 940 I bought.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr. E
Florida
May 12, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
EXCELLENT EDC knife!
Outstanding knife. Sure it's expensive, that's only because you don't own one yet; but once you do, it's money well spent and a good value. Heirloom quality.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craig
Sacramento
Nov 18, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Benchmade Model 940 Osborne 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Edge Blade
This is the best knife I have ever owned! Super sharp, light and functional. I use it for hunting, cleaning birds. Nice sharp tip and one hand operation makes it a snap to open and use. I own many Benchmade knifes, this is the one that always goes with me in the field.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael L
Houston, Tx
Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Perfection
May be the best edc knife ever built. If your wondering whether to spend the money or not... do it. It will literally last you the rest of your life
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed M.
North Carolina
Dec 28, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent as expected!
Razor sharp out of the box, blade utilizes full length of handle when closed, handles scales ergonomic and non-slip, purple back spacer gives a pocket jewelry look. Well designed, well manufactured.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Coach
Pataskala, USA
Sep 05, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Sexy beast
So far this is my absolute favorite knife. Slick operating, nicely finished, great blade, cut-yourself sharp, Love the blade, the look and feel. Axis lock works great. Every friend who handles it wants one.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ruslan B
Moscow,
Mar 15, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Must have EDC
Must have EDC for collectors and who want to buy just a good knife. I love it with fist sight! :))
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy
Iowa
Jun 11, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, None
Nice EDC knife
Very nice knife, easy to carry. Wish the picture showed how green the handle is, it's color and texture resemble a chalk board. Love the axis lock.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthew
Upstate NY
Feb 12, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great knife
I've wanted this knife for a while. Finally decided to purchase it and was not disappointed. Blade is perfectly centered when closed, and has zero lateral or vertical play when open. Blade is very quick to deploy. Knife is very well balanced. Blade shape is pretty slick (I dig it, at least). Came razor sharp (at least as sharp as my Delica4 when it arrived, or any of my other Spydercos or BMs for that matter). S30V blade... you either love it or hate it (I love it - half of my knifes are S30V). Axis-lock is silky smooth (of course, it did require a break-in period like all of my other axis-lock knives. The axis-lock tends to be "sticky" at first, especially if you open the blade with a lot of force. Once the axis-lock and blade metals have mated, that issue goes away. Some lubricant doesn't hurt either). The aluminum handles feel a little odd at first, but after handling them for a while they seemed to wear-in (the oil on my hands improved the feel substantially, with zero cosmetic issues - the knife still looks as good as the day it was unboxed). Pocket-clip is fine... but I prefer Benchmade's split arrow pocket clip. I wish Benchmade would make a mini-940 Osborne - with a 2.91 inch blade (same size as the mini-grip). What a winner that would be!
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric P.
USA
Oct 26, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
An excellent knife overall!
I conducted a fairly large search for a solid, well made knife that would serve me as a tool for a good period of time. I found one in the Benchmade 940 and use it for EDC and utility. It is extremely lightweight, and fits very well in my hands. The pocket clip has a lot of grip, making the 940 very easy to just slip into your pocket for everyday use. The blade length and shape is great for EDC. The “reverse tanto” blade style is extremely useful with a strong tip but still retaining a pretty good belly. As I stated earlier the 940 fits very well in my hands. I also really like the texture and color, a beautiful green that separates it from the majority of black folding knives. Overall I think this is a truly wonderful knife that I will use for many years.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dragan
Canada
Jan 26, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
Great EDC blade.
Great knife from Benchmade ,classic.Excellent feel,weight,lock is awesome,easy to sharpen,open- close.Cant find fault on this great knife.Capable of any task I have.Superb product from Benchmade.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ngwun
Australia
Nov 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
not bad
EDC, ideal GP folder. Pulchritudinous and functional. Have had one for a few years, but it could get lost... I keep the pivot a little tighter than factory.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Francisco S
Cal
Jan 27, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cst Fan
MS
Jan 09, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Ease of Opening
My EDC
Goldilocks. Not too big nor too small. Works during the week as a smaller type EDC and on the weekend big enough for chores. Just an all around winner. Buy it. Do wish it was a flipper.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr. B
Huntsville, Al
Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
The bar setter for EDC!
This knife is such a bada**! It really can handle most anything. Super light, sharp, and durable. Nothing beats the AXIS system!
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alf S
Norway
Nov 21, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent knife!
Skinning deer Sharpness Nothing
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ali
iran
Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Blade Material, Lock Type, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Sheath, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use
one of the best edc
one of the best edc
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sharptheology
DFW,Texas
Jan 19, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Osborne 940: Great design, Great Steel and Great performance!
This 940 is one of the finest designs I have seen from Benchmade. I carry this knife everyday. Upgrading the steel from 154 CM to S30V was a great idea! If one keeps this steel honed and sharp this blade will out perform most others. Once it gets dull the task of restoring a razor sharp edge becomes a challenge of time investment. Buy this knife!
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Smo
Cape cod
May 07, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Benchmade 940 osborne folding knife
Great blade right out of box as usual with benchmade Not my first one use knife every day at work. And will be on me hunting and fishing. Was expensive but well worth it. Have many folders but this is the one i carry just the right size and weight. Thanks knifecenter great service and support
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Maddmike
Campobello SC
Jan 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
money well spent!!
I carry this knife daily.I use it to cut whatever.I like s30v better than any knife steel.This is not necessarily my favorite Benchmade, it would be the Benchmade Skirmish but it is in my top five.It is a very lightweight and stays very sharp.People can't believe how smooth it opens they ask is this blade assisted?The only and I mean only complaint I have had and its not bad is that if you have anything on your hands it tends to show easily on the green handles.Now this is my opinion of Knifecenter.com I have ordered alot of knives from alot of different companies and web sites.My favorite knives are Benchmade and recently my wife ordered me a knife off the knifecenter web site and made a mistake and ordered one I already had.We have never dealt with a company that was as easy as they are.Even with a price difference we exchanged it with no mistakes.I have been very pleased with this knife and this company!
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff B.
Ontario CA
Jul 02, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
This Knife Rocks!
The 940 Osborne is the smoothest knife I own. Almost as fast as an assisted opening blade. Great blade profile and the s30v steel allows it to take on a scary edge. The deep annodized handle provides an excellent grip. It's small profile fits easilly in tight pockets yet easy to employ.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vivelevin
San Pedro, CA
Apr 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
A First Knife
I like everything about this knife and it's the first "real" knife I have every owned. I keep it in my purse because you just never know when you might need a knife for something...even to cut a seatbelt with.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Travis
Guam
Mar 13, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Incredible knife
I love the feeling of the handle. Nice solid lock up. Incredibly sharp right out of the box.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ethan R
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Sep 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best edc
This knife is my favorite Benchmade knife. It has all the right features and styling to make it a perfect knife for everyday carry. Pros - light weight, very ergonomic, classic design, axis lock, fast and easy deployment, s30v blade steel, tip of blade has a thick back bone that would help this knife hold up to most any abuse you can throw at it. Cons - When you take it out of the box it is almost to pretty to put in your pocket and beat up so you will have to buy 2 one to carry one to collect
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fred
Fl.
Oct 11, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Wonderful EDC
I was surprised to find this knife as well made as this for the price. It is worth every penny and the people at Knife Center were very helpful when following up with the order. This knife has the look and feel of one priced a good deal more. Thank you Knife Center.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Todd
Virginia
Feb 12, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Awesome knife. Very well made.
A friend had a similar Osborne and I was very impressed. After seeing what he put his through on a daily basis I knew it would be a good choice. When it came in I thought I'd bought something much too nice for daily use, but it has proven capable for every task so far. The locking mechanism is stronger than any other one handed lock I've ever used and easier as well. I'll be looking at more Benchmade knives with this construction.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Huub
Holland, Europe
Aug 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Just Great!
I use the knife every single day!
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lou
NW Fla
Apr 25, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
A User and a Keeper
Love the slim profile of this knife. The handle is very grippy-I had some concerns about that because some of the aluminum handled knives I have do not feel comfortable in my hand--this one definitely fits my hand very well. I like the blade profile and find it suited for my usual tasks-opening packages, slicing cardboard etc. The knife opens and closes very smoothly; the dual thumb lugs and axis lock make it truly ambidextrous and I like being able to open and close it with one hand. It was not super sharp when I got it but I haven't felt the need to sharpen it yet and I've had it for 2 weeks now. It's a user and a keeper for me!
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Akotz61
NY
Jul 23, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Fast, Light, Strong
this has been my EDC blade since I got it in the mail. It's sharp, has stayed sharp, and hasn't shown any corrosion yet. I like the blade shape as it inspired confidence in the strength of the tip. The handles are grippy but not uncomfortable and also it looks really good. I have nothing bad to say about this knife.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jay R
Orlando, FL
Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
cheaper at knifecenter
I purchased this knife from another place, but when I got home I jumped on the internet and started looking to make sure I didn't overpay. I came across knifecenter.com and they had this same knife for cheaper. Normally, if it is not that much of a difference I would just keep it, but the gap in price was so profound I had to return the knife and ordered it through knifecenter.com. Upon placing the order I immediately receieved a confirmation email and the knife showed up, as promised, three days later. I'm very happy with the service I received and the quality of the Benchmade product.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Happy Wife
NY, NY
Jul 26, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
extremely happy
My husband was extremely ecstatic when he received this knife as a birthday present. He had been dying to buy the same model ever since he lost the same knife yrs ago. Although, the one he had was a numbered prototype version he bought from a knife show, he was still very satisfied with the overall make of this. I'm just happy I managed to get the exact model #.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yale Brown
Miami Beach, Florida
Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Oustanding for over eight years!
I bought my first 940 Osborne from Knifecenter over eight years ago and proceeded to ruin it as well as three others over the years through brutal and sometimes careless use. All my 940's were CM154 steel. I decided to take Benchmade up on their "lifetime" guarantee and sent all four back to them (they worked fine, the blades were just ruined). One month later, at a total cost of $100 for all four they came back. That's only $25 each and they came back harper than I have ever seen any knife blade. Upgraded with brand new SV30 steel blades and new springs and screws; cleaned and lubricated, too. Dale Scott at Benchmade did one Helluva' job. They were all like new...actually better than new since the upgraded steel raised the price of the knives since I bought them, but I was not charged for it. Not many companies stand behind their products like Benchmade, but they have my business as long as they do.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Alaska
Dec 05, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife and great service from KnifeCenter
I just got this knife in the mail from Knife Center.com I love it. It is perfect. And very fast delivery to me in Alaska. I love this knife and will buy from K.C. again for sure. Plus I did a lot of looking around on the net and found that K.C. had the best prices I found. Thank You... Matt.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Chicago, Illinois
Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Everyday carry
I work as a commercial plumber. I'm outside in usually all weather, and I rely on my equipment to work, rain or shine, no exceptions. I'm sort of new to the knife game (obsession/disease) but I'm not new to benchmade. I served as a rifleman for the Marine Corps and carried a 710 on tour in ramadi. As of now the 710 is in some tsa officers pocket in Boston... So, after owning a few Rat 1's & 2's I purchased the 940 based on all the ranting and raving of guys like wranglerstar, apostle and nutinfancy. The 940 is great. I do not baby the 940. I cut, pry and poke with it, because well, sometimes I need to. And it holds up. I didn't by it to sit in a friggin glass box and look at it with a glass of wine. It's a knife, gents. It's a benchmade, it's a performer. I really don't like praising tools, but this one demands respect, and it's earned mine. Happy holidays.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
Tyler, Texas
Apr 06, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Classic- grab one
A classic from Benchmade. I hope they keep making this one./ It's easy to carry, easy to sharpen and it works great
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Russ
Milwaukee WI
May 13, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Excellent EDC!
Excellent knife. Blade shape is great for general use and overall very light in the pocket. Easy to open and the Axis lock is very solid. I look forward to many years with this knife.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Art C.
CA
Feb 28, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife!
I use this as one of my EDC knives. It was razor sharp out of the box. The ease of opening / closing and the smoothness in doing so is very impressive. Inspires confidence in any use situation. The pocket clip, along with the friction provided by the handle, insures that the knife will never accidentally come out of the pocket.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sydney
Tennessee
Jun 05, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Came in perfect condition.
Knife is extremely smooth to open and razor sharp. I purchased many time from Knifecenter and its always a great experience.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed
Las Vegas
Jan 11, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Handle Material
EDC!!!
With the green handle and the purple spacer my kids call it the Incredible Hulk Knife. I don't disagree. I love this knife. The Blade profile is just about perfect. The Pocket clip is a little tight and the handle gets dirty easy.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Logan
CA
Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife, will travel many miles with me
I love this knife, I love the quality. I have nothing bad to say about it. When I was younger and started getting into knives, I got a Gerber folder from Walmart, it costs 30$. It got me by, I cut myself with it many times. Then I bought another knife this time of higher quality and price, and then another knife but a little more expensive, and another knife until I had bought a knife for 100$. All of those knives (excluding the Gerber) were exceptional. I told myself over the course of those years buying knives that I would never spend almost 200$ on a knife. Well now I have 2 almost 200$ knives, both from Benchmade. I love Benchmade. They make outstanding knives backed by an outstanding warranty and repair service. If you can afford it, purchase this tool. It will become a friend you can rely on everytime. as long as you keep it sharp and take care of it, it will take care of you. This knife is my companion now and I am never without it.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ufnick
Gainesville, FL
Sep 18, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
What a sweet knife!
This knife lives up to and exceeds all the rave reviews that it has gotten. Perfect for edc. Opens quick, locks up tight, easy to close. After I took it out of the box and opening it a few times I thought that the blade may be a little loose. When I checked it had no pay in either direction. Just great design. It's light, sleek, and easy to carry. I was a bit apprehensive about the green handle but after seeing it in person it is a beautiful knife. The quality of the S30V blade steel is exceptional. I also love the fact that it is made in the USA. Buy this knife, you won't regret it.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ronnie A
Waco, TX
Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Handle Material
The best
I consider this the greatest EDC knife of all time. There is no more useful blade shape. Benchmade calls it a reverse tanto, but it's more of an elongated sheepsfoot to me. I don't pierce much material with my knives, but the tip of this blade is sturdy enough to do so when needed. The ergonomics are spot on. Even though it's a large knife, it isn't wide so it doesn't take up a lot of room in the pocket. Although it's no fixed blade, it performs many fixed blade tasks admirably due to its design. The S30v isn't hard to sharpen but it does take a bit more time to bring to the edge to a mirror polish. It holds a good working edge for a long time. A few cons. The anodizing on the aluminum scales is horrible. I noticed wear on the scales the first time I carried it all day. The same could be said for the pocket clip although it's paint not anodizing. The blade grind was slightly asymmetrical on the example that I purchased. It took a little work on a coarse diamond stone to make it symmetrical. Although purely asthetic, I don't care for the purple titanium back spacer. I may take the Dremel and the wire wheel attachment to it. Despite the cons, the is the best, most useful and versatile knife that I've ever owned. I've come to really like knives where the blade has a lot of cutting edge.Whenever I think a buying a new folder, gets compared my 940. Needless to say, the new knife that I'm considering stays in the case at the store. This knife, like my 556 Griptilian and my Glock 19, are objects that I pick up now and again, admire, and then think to myself, "wise choice".
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Aust
Nov 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Quality piece of gear. Very thin and light.
Always impressed by Benchmade products. This is a lot lighter and thinner than the Grippy and the Rift.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dylan
Port Moody, Bc
Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
The best edc
The knife speaks for itself. Its a great blade shape and size in a small and light package. The axis lock is by far the funnest and smoothest lock type I own. I may be expensive but you're not just paying for the knife you're paying for benchmades amazing customer service.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wilkinson
PA
Aug 12, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
As with all Benchmade products, this is one great knife
I purchased this knife upon it's introduction some years back. As with all Benchmade products, this is one great knife. Even after all the carry time the piece has seen it shows very little wear. The blade retains an edge nicely and sharpens easily. The axis lock is ambidextrous, convenient and locks up solid.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anonymous
USA
Dec 04, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Phenomenal!!
Treat yourself to this work of art (or any 940) if you haven't already. Or, buy another one. It is that good.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tyrone
JAX FL
Oct 01, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife Great Price
I bought the 943. 943 blade is definitely easier to open and close. I opened and closed it a little to often and broke the omega spring that holds the axis lock in place. Benchmade won't send out replacement springs but did repair it under warranty at no charge other than my shipping cost to them. Even though it was my fault for the breakage. After I shipped off the 943 for warranty work I purchased the 940. Blade on the 940 has more mass which makes it a little more effort to open and close than the 943. The 940 blade carries the thickness all the way to the tip so of course holds up better under utility use. Opens and closes easily, left or right handed and the lock is solid. Definitely worth it.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pup
Greeley, CO
Jul 14, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Feel
excellent build, great price
the AXIS lock is solid ... the blade steel (S30V) is an excellent choice for a beautiful knife
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cricket
Vienna, VA
Feb 09, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Excellent EDC
Great EDC - perfect size and so light it's hardly noticeable. The easiest opening/closing knife I've ever owned. Must give the color (green) some time to grow on you. The surface also takes some getting used to. All-around excellent knife.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
P-O W
Sweden (Staffanstorp)
May 09, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material, None
I Luv Benchmade
Hi Knife nerds I´m from Sweden and a knife collector for thirty years. My collection is pretty big right now. My absolut favorites are Spyderco, Fällkniven and Benchmade. This knife comes razor as usual whith B. but not as sharp as the PXL but that one is extreme. Comfort handel very comfortly acctualy. Opening is as usual flawless. This knife is going to be my EDC untill I find a new one. This is a "cheep knife" in my mind anyway. Please accept my poor spelling. P-O W
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sam
Wisconsin
Oct 30, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Great knife
This is my EDC knife, I love it. My first Benchmade but it will not be my last. What you here about the action being smooth and opens easily is real and correct. I can flick this knife open as fast (or faster) as most of my automatic knives. I would have rated this knife as "excellent" but the factory edge that came on the blade was poor. I can correct this myself and does not take away from the knife in a long term fashion.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jesse J
Hawaii
Nov 04, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
an Excellent Everyday Carry
Whether in the pocket or hand, the slender curvature and contouring of the Benchmade 940 make it a perfect everyday carry. very light wieght. the slim handle is perfect clipping into your pocket without it getting in the way
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John F
Austin Texas
Nov 11, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Nice knife
I have had this knife for a couple months and it has done every task I have put it to. Overall an awesome knife I hope to have it for a long time and do not plan on getting a new one in a long time. It is a very fun knife I can't stop opening it and am amazed as is everybody I have met that it is just a manual. I carry it every where and use it for everything including every day uses hunting and self defense.
Benchmade 940 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Armorer
NORTH CAROLINA
Jan 14, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Not even close to my ideal knife
Okay, a well made knife with SV30 steel. I think SV30 is the ideal compromise between edge holding and sharpenbility. So, why not 5 stars? First of all, the G10 grips are slicker than I would like them to be. And then there's the blade... Too weird. I would rather have a straight ahead drop-point. The tip is way too thick for piercing and the whole bade is too thick for slicing. It's too light for a tactical/woodcraft knife, & just not suited to the general use knife role. Just bought 2 knives. A Boker mini Kwaiken which is terrible and is getting returned, and a Spyderco Paramilitary 2,which now has o more or less permanent place in my pocket.