FREE SHIPPING SITEWIDE USE PROMO: SANTA Details

KnifeCenter strives to provide individuals with disabilities access to its products and services, including through an accessible website. If you have questions, comments, or encounter any difficulty in using this site, please e-mail info@knifecenter.com or call - (800) 338-6799

Skip to main content

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to our Cookie Policy.

FREE SHIPPING SITEWIDE USE PROMO: SANTA Details

Reviews and Ratings for Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles - 01BO047

Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles3.803 (61 reviews)
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
19
3 star
10
2 star
6
1 star
4
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63 inch Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $40.46

Save $13.49 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Hawkeye
Wisconsin
Jul 14, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
Nice little knife
Nice little knife. I originally bought one for a gift for a friend that works in an office environment. I liked it enough to get one for me. Nice little backup edge. Not a primary defensive tool but nice as a last ditch-type blade. Also has a nice feel to it.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Paul Dragos
Ohio
Jun 18, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
A very lightweight knife. It has an extremely sharp blade, and is of Boker's excellent quality. It is an excellent knife for someone who wears a shirt and tie, because in your shirt pocket it looks like a pen! I highly recommend this knife
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Jay
Kansas
Aug 17, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Sheath, None
Tip for using the Boker
Great knife but very hard to open one handed at first. The trick is you have to loosen the hex nuts with the key that was supplied with the knife. The blade will flick open one handed very easily with a thumb under the stud if loosened. It still locks up very tight, might ruduce horizontal stability but should thrust and cut without a problem.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Redhat
Florence KY
Mar 25, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good looking and handy
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Kujo
Loma Linda CA
Nov 24, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Outstanding quality
Great knife all co workers have also ordered after seeing mine
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Cj
Florida
Jan 16, 2010
Pros: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, Handle Feel
Cons: None
Fantastic and creative design. Well made
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Will Craig
Idaho
Jul 06, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good for what it is
I wanted a blade i could carry discreetly, and this fits the bill. Comes very sharp, good lockup, and fits my hand like it was made for it. I can stash this easily in a pocket (it's smaller than a Bic lighter) and forget it til I need it. However, because the blade is so small, it took some extra attention the first few times I opened it to keep from laying my thumb open. It reminds me of a folding scalpel.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Dr Jon
Indian Harbour Beach
Jul 16, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Type, Ease of Opening
awesome knife
Ergonomically perfect blade sharp One thumb opening takes some care
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Ron
lake City, FL
Aug 30, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Quality Product
Plan to use as a self defense item while on a trip. I was happy about the quality and stability of the knife. It is a great buy at a good price.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Contact
HONG KONG
Feb 06, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Great. Make a longer one!
Great overall. But will a longer version make it more harmful, moreover, will it then become possible to open by a single-hand swing action?
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Bob M
Tx
Mar 18, 2012
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None
Evryday usefull
I used this knife as a box opener evry day at work
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Rm
Ohio
Jul 01, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
It is what it says
I liked the idea of having a knife that looked like a pen when it was in a shirt pocket, and this one fits the bill nicely. It even comes with a fake push button and a wrench to swap out the glass breaker tip. The handle is made from aluminum which gives it a nice sturdy feel, and yes, the blade is difficult to open one handed, but it is not really a one handed opener so that point is moot. Some reviewers complained about the sharpness of the blade. It took very little work with a set of crock sticks to put a good useable edge on the blade, and it has a wicked point on it. It is sturdy enough that you could use it to defend yourself in a pinch. It is exactly what it says, and nothing more. As long as you don't have unreasonable expectations for this little knife, you won't be disappointed.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Gremlin
FERNANDINA BEACH, FLORIDA
Jan 05, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, None
PERFECT FIT
I WORK AS LOSS PREVENTION AND THIS KNIFE IS USED AS A TOOL IN PREPARING PAPERWORK, WORKING ON DOOR LOCKS AND WHEN I WANT A PIECE OF FRUIT THAT NEEDS TO BE PEELED OR SPLIT. IT IS A LITTLE STIFF IN OPENING BUT I FEEL IT WILL WORK IN.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Rich T
West Virginia
Jun 24, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
This little gem has garnered a permanent spot in my shirt pocket!
It does take a little practice to master deployment of this knife in a stressful scenario, but it can be done. The size weight and length are perfect. The blade could be sharper out of the box but it was easy to tune up with a Spyderco Sharpmaker. Over all I am very impressed and the price is right! This little gem has garnered a permanent spot in my shirt pocket!
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Emre
Binghamton, NY
Oct 22, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Excellent Pen-Knife
It's extremely useful in a lot of situations, including self defense. The razor is very sharp out of the box. I carry it with me all the time.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Cesar
Brazil
Nov 30, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Easy way to sharpen this knife
This is an excellent knife for self defense. It is low profile and with effective non deep cuts and rips. To sharpen this kind of curved blade, simply use the corner of a wet stone instead the flat size. After that use a steel to make a fine edge.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Kuntreeboi
Dallas, TX
Jul 30, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Convenient knife
The guise of a pen is deceitful and causes people to look over the knife unsuspecting. It can be concealed quite easily for an element of surprise. When folded, the knife will fit completely in your hand. I would advise changing the glass breaker for the feaux pen top when in casual carry. Overall a convenient knife for being prepared in public.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Bmatthew
Sydney,Australia
Jan 24, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great EDC!
This trusty little comes alittle hard to open but boker plus sent this knife with some tools and accesories. It comes with a pen clicker on the back so it looks just like a pen! doesnt really clicker tho. Friends love it it and some have purchase one themselves. Blade is dull but the tip is sharp as a scapel. KNIFECENTER IS A EXCELLENT KNIFE SITE!
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Dr. Rick
Mineola, TX
Dec 18, 2009
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Another Happy "Great little Knife" Owner
Like many have stated, this is a great knife! Totally portable,discreet, sharp right-out-of-the-box, and an all around great knife! I use my thumb and middle finger to hold the studs while the back of the knife rests on my index finger, then move the two fingers together pushing on the studs to open the knife. Easy!
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Schnauzer Man
Denver Colorado
Dec 02, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Idea!
This is the perfect carry knife for defense and use. It doesn't have a knife look but is constructed to high tolerance and is easy to open and use. This knife hits the nail on the head.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Av
Clarksville TN
Apr 09, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Love this knife
I had one of these before and lost it...very small, compact, easy to handle, very sharp blade.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
5 out of 5
Edon V
The Netherlands
Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Nice box opener!
As I receive quite a few packages during a week, I was looking for a small, but sturdy knife to open them effortless. This sleek designed knife has a 4" long handle, giving a nice firm grip, better than most box knives. The point of the blade is very useful for penetrating packing tape or the corners of a box. It is a low profile knife, deep carrying in a pocket, no one notices it. A joy to use. Only the thumb stud should have been a little bit bigger. The service from Knifecenter is perfect as always! Thanks!
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Progym
St Pete Fl
Mar 16, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Material
Excellent design for a pen sized knife
Very easy to carry, with a great pocket clip for the shirt or pants pocket. I wish it was just a little longer for a better grip and for striking with both ends while being gripped.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Alexmhh
Granite Bay, CA
Sep 09, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Smaller than expected, in a good way
This little knife surprised me when it arrived--it really is no larger than a fountain pen, and the blade is tiny. In the pocket, or clipped to my collar, it would appear to be a pen to anyone who hasn't personally handled one themselves, even with the glass-breaker tip; the pen tip does even better. Despite the minuscule size, it feels secure in my hand, and the recurred bade's shape, in conjunction with tissue compression, would make it a wickedly effective hideout self defense tool, should the need arise. My one gripe, which I have seen reflected in other reviews, is the degree of force required to open the blade makes it effectively a two-hand opener out of the box. Disassembley is simple with the included tool, and by sanding the bump on the liner-lock spring flat, it becomes a nearly flawless knife, and the blade still remains securely closed until opened with the thumb.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Mffitz
Southern Maryland
May 17, 2010
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Cute
Pretty cute but I don't really like the thickness of the edge. I haven't tried to sharpen it yet but it looks like a bit of a bear. I'll probably try to grind it down flatter with a coarse diamond stone. It would be really nice with a hollow grind.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
C3bhm
USA
Sep 28, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening
FIX FOR DIFFICULT OPENING
PROBLEM: Extremely difficult for single-handed opening. Even for medium sized hands with good dexterity. SOLUTION: Disassemble with tool provided and use a metal nail file to file down the little bump on the locking spring/tang. Pros: Now opens w/o fuss, single-handedly PLUS you can actually open it fully ON THE DRAW with a quick whipping motion. Cons: Now the blade isn't tightly secured closed anymore, since the 'factory setting' is so stiff it's almost like a 'safety'. But you can adjust this via the main tension screw.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Twid
Sweden
Aug 18, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
I really like it
I really like it very small and have many similarities to a scalpel ...
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Kage
San Jose, CA
Dec 15, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Elegant little knife
As much as I love big knives, I also appreciate the utility of small ones. This is an elegant little knife that allows for very discreet carry. It is going to become one of my EDC knives, "One is none two are one." I like everything about it except the thumb studs; I wish they were a bit larger and less sharp edged. That is the only reason I give it only 4 stars. Many have complained of difficulty opening this knife. I have found that adjusting the pivot nut, lubricating the pivot with a molybdenum dry lube, giving it a number of break-in open and close cycles and practice take care of that. Frankly I find most, even the finest made, folders need one or more of these to some degree.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Papa Doc
Fresno, CA
Jan 04, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very Cool Pocket Carry
This thing just looks cool...it's discrete, sharp, easy to deploy (despite the posts stating otherwise...), and has every one trying to steal it out of my pocket. Make an assisted opening model with a slightly longer handle & you'll get a 5 score (and I'd buy a dozen more!) Overall - it has an excellent "ooooohhhh" factor.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Heavy D
spfld IL
Jul 27, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
My primary use is general purpose,envelop opening, cutting string,removing splinters,with the hidden option of last resort self defense.I like the overall small,yet functionable design. The only problem that is annoying to me is the one hand opening is almost impossible for large hands such as mine.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Alan
London UK
Jun 29, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Mr
I bought this to try it out and since it was cheap. If you are thinking about this as a tactical combat knife, then don't, because its a bit slow to do the single-handed opening trick, because the narrowness of the handle makes it tricky to get the right grip at short notice. If you just want a functional knife that clips to your inside jacket pocket like a pen, and has got a nicely legal short blade that isn't going to freak people out so much, then this will do the job nicely. With the window striker at the end it can also work as a life saver for that rare time when you are party to a crash and need to break thru a car window. Well thats not quite what I need right now, so actually I just added this to my collection. It has some nice unique properties and is very well made for the price so I am happy just to store it as an example of yet another interesting edged weapon concept.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Tev
Kentwood, MI
Mar 26, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, None
Tactical Folder
A specialized defensive/tactical weapon for the seasoned C.Q.C. professional; not a weapon for the inexperienced or unseasoned edged weapon(s) fighter.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Frank
Texas
Jun 23, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Boker Knife
Very nice pocket knife - extremely sharp. Just what I needed for working on my leatherworking projects. shipping was fast and transaction was trouble free. Would do business again.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
J. Pendrey
WASHINGTON, GA
May 30, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
PRACTICAL BACKUP THAT IS EASILY HIDDEN IN PLAIN SIGHT
BACKUP BLADE & GLASS BREAKER WHILE LOOKING LIKE SHORT PEN. WISH BLADE WAS A BIT SHARPER.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Eric
Boulder, CO
Jan 03, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Material
great little tool
Blade quality could be better, but it makes a great EDC when a more obvious knife isn't appropriate.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Dennis L
Fairfield, CA
May 08, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Handy pocket scalpel
Is my EDC now. Super sharp and extremely handy to use. It's so small you have a hard time opening it with your thumb. You have use two hands to open it.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Jaybird
Visalia, C.A.
Aug 13, 2009
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, None
NOT A BAD LITTLE KNIFE FOR THE MONEY.
pretty nice little knife, however one handed operation is hardly even possible, and having only one side of the blade sharp was disappointing.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Brad
Charlotte
May 23, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
Wife Loves It
This has been my wife's EDC for 5 years now. ***Unless you expect your attacker to send smoke signals... This is not a defensive tool by any stretch of the imagination. The blade requires a cumbersome and deliberate motion to open. Fine motor skill and dexterity are required for deployment.*** It weighs nothing at all and stays put in the pen pocket of all her purses. She loves it because no one typically even knows she's using a knife. The lockup is outstanding and ergos could not have been better for my hands or hers. The glass breaker gives piece of mind. While the blade has required a few frustrating sharpenings, the tip has stayed in factory condition.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Mike C.
Ohio
Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Pen knife review
I use this knife everyday for work. I like it because it don't fell bulky in my pocket.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Steven K
Switzerland
Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, None
Great Knife
Small sharp knife
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
4 out of 5
Librealbladelover
los angeles ca.
Mar 09, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight
just what I was looking for...
What a wonderful little EDC blade with a bit extra. I've got small hands and they dwarf this slick piece of kit, making it impossible to open the knife one-handed, but I really picked it up for two reasons, #1 the window-punch end and the low-low price. Don't get me wrong, I would never buy a blade that I thought was "cheap" in cost or design and this is far from cheap in those areas. The Boker Plus Reality-Based Urban Survival Pen is just that, reality based on my needs for a covert yet very legal edc knife that I never leave behind, even when my larger "companions" cannot come with me, this hear little wonder always tags along.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
3 out of 5
S.Allan
Powder Springs,Georgia
Mar 12, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use
Could use some work
This knife could be a good back up to carry if it wasn't so hard to open with one hand. Once opened the blade the razor sharp and the lock is very strong. It takes some practice to close it with only one hand.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
3 out of 5
Mighty Kong
Rochester N.Y.
Apr 12, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
Tactical
Definately a stab knife ,blade very small. Looks like a scalpel
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
3 out of 5
Nick
Virginia
Jun 18, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, None
I bought this neat little knife thinking it would make a good companion to EDC (Every Day Carry). Out of the box it's not nearly sharp enough to be truly useful for anything other than stabbing. When stabbing, it will easily penetrate most anything I could throw at it, thanks to the tiny form factor and needle like point. It's only drawback while being used in this manner is the tiny blade length. Another huge drawback for this knife is the deployment... I can't, for the life of me, deploy this knife easily with one hand. I have, at best, an average size hand and I couldn't see anyone with larger paws having an easy time flicking the blade out. The only way I could see this knife being used in a self defense application would be if the user had the blade out and ready, anticipating a possible attack. There's just no easy way to "ready" this thing with any haste at all. It's quite a unique piece, and though I would love to justify putting it in my pocket every day, I've yet to find a reason to. The slow deployment issues make this totally unacceptable for self defense which in my opinion seems to be it's sole intended purpose.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
3 out of 5
Memnoc
Augusta, Ga
Dec 26, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening
Good try but not well executed.
The blade is way too wide to get a good edge easily. For a short knife they should have given it a more narrow blade. The tip is very pointy and sharp but the rest was unacceptable. I do like that it comes with a different "pommell". You can take off the glass breaker and put on one that looks like a push button on a pen. It is a hard to close and open. I have larger than average hands.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
3 out of 5
Alex
CA
Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Boker Plus Urban Survival Pen Knife
Mediocre product: attention to detail would've made it a "5:" sharper blade, larger/smoother pivot + ability to "thumb open" blade w/ one hand. Hollowed-out handle to keep emergency $ or other w/ easily removable glass-breaker end cap would make it "5." Haven't found anything of value/quality similar...
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
3 out of 5
Dame Droiture
NYC
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, None
looks good, but not very practical
Small and thickly built, but the cutting edge on the blade is too short to be useful for anything but opening boxes or cutting string. The bevel of the blade is too wide -- so that even trying to sharpen something like a pencil is more reminiscent of hacking a twig than shaving it to a point. One-handed opening is definitely not happening with this knife, and I had to sharpen it out of the box. I think one of the best things is the glass breaker cap (which can be switched to look like a click-pen if you want).
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
3 out of 5
Jack Feldman
GA
Jun 30, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, None
Dr.
The knife is of good quality and feels right in the hand. It is difficult to open one-handed, though, and a little clumsy to close.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
3 out of 5
V. Sharp
Ambler Pa.
Jan 24, 2010
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Great for collection but not for self defense
The survival pen is light in the pocket and depending on your hand size could be used as an impact weapon. Unfortunately the blade is to hard to deploy with one hand, making it to slow for self defense. But it sure looks cool in my collection.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
3 out of 5
Simo J
NYC, NY
Jan 25, 2010
Pros: Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Slim
I thought this little guy had a spring opening mechanism but it doesn't - gotta pull the blade out manually all the way. Otherwise, it's a fun little piece - looks just like a pen sitting in my shirt pocket.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
3 out of 5
Sebor
Jul 01, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Very clever design- it's like a new item - something between a knife and xacto knife. Very deadly
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
2 out of 5
Don
Mar 19, 2010
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Not impressed
The concept is good, but, the reality leaves much to be desired. Opening of this knife is problematic due to size and placement of the thumb stud. Don't expect to bring this into play quickly in a CQB application. I was also less than impressed by the sharpness of the blade. This is my first Boker and will possibly be my last. As a blade based martial arts instructor I would not recommend this product.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
2 out of 5
Jr
Raleigh, NC
May 08, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Type, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material
Small and a Bit Impractical
Blade is very difficult to open with one hand if your hands are larger than a child's. Odd blade shape is reminiscent of an x-acto, but not sure how it was intended to be used as it is poor for slicing...box cutter, maybe? Glass breaker/fake pen top would be good for hand-to-hand, but other end of knife body comes to a point so it is difficult to exert pressure without the knife slipping or hurting your hand. A gimmick at best, but a cool gimmick, that's why it rates a 2.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
2 out of 5
Michael
Wilmington, NC
Aug 03, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel
Really Tiny
It is very small. I am not sure how you could use this tactically unless you want to create a lot of superficial wounds and get blood everywhere. A blade like this seems more suited to cutting paper like a craft knife. I would have loved to have had this in art school. It is not necessarily difficult to open but it is awkward. Overall I would say it is of limited utility.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
2 out of 5
Guy E
Pasadena, Ca
Feb 03, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use
Specific use and not quite designed for it
So as this is meant to be an EDC knife and one for self protection I would want easy concealment, quick deployment to hand and deployment of the blade. Concealment is good, especially like the fake retractable pen top to it (and the nifty tool to attach it). To hand is easy to as very slimline like a thin pen/pencil. The major issue is blade deployment. You really need to ask your aggressor to hold on a moment while you two hand the tiny blade and thumb assist (useless - you need two hands) For something so small you are really looking for the element of surprise which is most definitely lost on this deployment. Any other folder of substance would be better than this for EDC tasks and for self defense.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
2 out of 5
Brian
S.F.
Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Poorly conceived
Just received the Boker Plus Urban Survival Pen Size Knife. Thought it would be a cool back up knife. Like the size and shape of the knife but it is very difficult to up one handed. They should've made it and assisted open.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
2 out of 5
Fish
North Carolina
Nov 02, 2017
Pros: Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Meh
This is an extremely innovative and well manufactured tooth pick.... or fingernail cleaner. Potential for use as a letter opener.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
1 out of 5
Dr.Jkc
Queens, NY
Nov 15, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Junk
This item literally fell apart in my hands from the poor construction and I am very respectful and easy on knives. I have been consistently disappointed by Boker products.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
1 out of 5
Jujitsu1
Los Angeles
Jul 22, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Small knife huge disappointment
I love Boker products. I respect Jim Wagner. The Urban Survival Pen seemed like it would be a great knife - until I opened the box. The blade was extremely difficult to open, even with loosening the screws it is awkward. The biggest problem is that the blade is dull - really dull. I could sharpen it - with difficulty - sure, but a new knife should be razor sharp out of the box. The idea is good but poorly executed.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
1 out of 5
George H.
Monroe NC
Jul 11, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Don't buy it!
Gimmick. Small. Blade is not sharp. If you need it as a backup survival blade you'd better off saving your money and just using a a throw away ball point pen. Wish I had not wasted my money.
Boker Plus Jim Wagner Urban Survival Pen Knife 1.63" Black Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
1 out of 5
George
North Carolina
Nov 11, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Useless...
Dangerous to open if you are not paying strict attention. It's basically an exacto knife for $35 bucks. I wouldn't hesitate to throw it away but I keep it simply because I did pay $35 for it. I would not recommend it for anything except maybe model building.