Reviews and Ratings for Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2" VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handles - 01BO730

Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2" VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handlesrated 4.364 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2 inch VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handles

 

Price: $104.96

Save $34.99 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2" VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Katy, TX
Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Dress Pocket Knife
This is a beautiful, thin, sharp knife that is so lightweight is can almost be forgotten in dress slacks. The only problem initially was that it was difficult to open. After slightly springing the locking tab, it is now very easy to open.
Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2" VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barnabe Jay
Pacific Rim
Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Far better than you might expect
I purchased the mirror-polished model of this knife a while back with a gift certificate from another vendor, and after giving it some trial time as a versatile EDC (nice enough for dressy occasions, strong enough for most other uses), I am VERY IMPRESSED, far moreso than I had expected even after reading a dozen glowing reviews. Mechanically, this knife is exceptional. Despite the numerous complaints about the flipper size, I have found that even a little practice or familiarity with flipper folders preludes any problems. The supposedly sticky frame lock actually frees up noticeably after a day or two of use, but still provides a tight, secure and wiggle-free hold on the blade. Speaking of the blade, it is excellent in all performance aspects. The VG-10 steel is able to take and hold a fantastically sharp and stable edge, even when compared to other VG-10 knives. Like many buyers here, I was skeptical of the Chinese make of this knife, but it shows none of the quality problems I have seen in other older knives made in China. The titanium frame provides a solid lock-up, and the skeletonized design makes the knife seemingly weightless. Along with the low-ride clip, this knife ends up being one of the least intrusive and troublesome knives to carry in any kind of pocket. So many aspects of this knife greatly exceed expectations for a knife in this price range, and although I rarely gush about knives, the Urban Trapper has earned every compliment. I even bought a second piece--the black blade version--because the design is just that good. I have bought a second of the same model less than three times in over 25 years of carrying and collecting, but I have no doubt I will not regret owning a second Urban Trapper. Thank you for reading this review, and I hope you choose to invest in this excellent tool.
Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2" VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jag
California
May 24, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
pure, perfect elegance
Totally blown away. I've previously only purchased ZTs, Benchmades and Spydercos in the $150+ range. This is the best $68 I've spent. I wanted something really lightweight / gentlemanly / deep-carry and was prepared to not care too much about quality for this price - but wow! The acid/stone wash is gorgeous and provides just the right amount of grip. The blade came hair-popping sharp (literally popped the tiny hairs off my hand that my bigger blades don't catch), and the blade is perfectly centered. The detent is perfect - I was worried about it being too week. The flipping action is butter and really quiet, like wow. I feel very comfortable using this in front of clients - no show, no flash, just pure elegance. The pocket clip is truly deep-carry and I love how Boker recessed the screws in the frame - none of my "nicer" knives have that. I love the accent of the shiny rims on the milled-out holes contrasting with the the acid wash.... I'm gushing, I know, but I've spent so much money on knives and this finally fits the bill for lightweight, slim edc. My only gripe is they could have used a shoe to prevent lockbar stick, but if you want to compare apples to truffle oil, the Chris Reeve Sabenza doesn't have one either. Thank You Boker!!!
Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2" VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank H.
San Jose, CA
May 20, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Perfect discreet EDC
I am a bedside nurse in a hospital with a 'no weapons' rule and a very restrictive policy on allowable knife size. I also need to cut things frequently, usually while one hand is otherwise occupied. Finally, I'm pretty loaded down with tools and supplies already so I don't have a lot of spare pocket capacity. So, I need a knife that is discreet, non-threatening when used, easily opened and closed with one hand, and is light and small enough to vanish into a pocket. At the same time, for my own satisfaction, it needs to be big enough to be useful, which in my book means it'll go all the way through a large orange or reach the center of a normal-sized man's kidney (kidding, I'm kidding!). I have a few knives that were close but no cigar. My Deejo was a perfect size and weight but couldn't be opened with one hand. My Kershaw Scalllion was a one-hander and a nice friendly blue color but a bit too small. After looking long and hard I settled on the Urban Trapper. It's been my EDC for some months now and I couldn't be happier. It weighs nothing. The blade is a high quality VG10 steel that holds a terrific edge. I see some reviewers have trouble with opening this knife but mine snapped open smoothly and convincingly from the start. Because it has a short broad pocket clip that doesn't look like it belongs to a knife I put it in my scrub top pocket behind my nametag and it essentially disappears. If I didn't compulsively flip it open and closed all the time no one would know it was there. I am very happy with this knife.
Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2" VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Astronomer1
Chesterfield, VA
Jun 09, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
VERY nice knife
I also was concerned about the small flipper. The knife did not open consistently right out of the box. But with a drop of lubricant in the right places, the knife immediately began functioning perfectly...and VERY smoothly. Fingertip action was all that was necessary--my fingernail did not come into play at all. The liner lock worked well, the blade is well centered between the handles, and there was no blade wobble. I've only had the knife for a few days, so time will tell. Some of the other reviewers have mentioned that the pocket clip needs to be flatter, and I agree. But I did not have the same problems with it holding the knife too tightly to my pants pocket. The blade is not really a satin finish--it's closer to mirror-polished in my opinion. OK by me, but beauty is always in the eye of the beholder. It was very sharp right out of the box. I expect that the VG10 steel will hold an edge for a long time. The knife is very light, and I'm unaware of its presence in.on my pocket--great for dressier slacks/going out for the evening. Its construction seems a little delicate for an everyday, on-the-job tool. And at 3 1/2 inches, the blade is approaching the limit for a "gentleman's knife." That said, I would love to see a similar model but with a longer blade--in the 4.3 inch range.
Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2" VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Katy, TX
Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Dress Pocket Knife
The knife is beautiful, ultra-slim, and so lightweight as to be forgotten. A 3 1/2" blade and it doesn't even show up in dress slacks. Only downside is that it was very hard to open initially. I was able to spring out the lock clip slightly and not it works quite well.
Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2" VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack
SC
Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent
I've been carrying this knife for a year. It's easy to sharpen and it stays very sharp. I'm glad I picked up this version before they ruined it on the v2 with the grips. I didn't care for the clip and thought it took away from the knife so I removed it. You cannot feel this knife in your pocket. I should have bought two.
Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2" VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
J
California
Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
The flipper us actually very functional
This is a great light EDC knife especially when you factor in the relatively low cost. It's merits can be garnered by reading the many positive reviews available at various online outlets, thus I don't need to add anything to them. However, despite otherwise great reviews, I consistently see the remark that the flipper is inadequate and requires the fingernail to flick open. This simply isn't true. When I first received the knife I treated it like the reviews said, practicing opening it with my fingernail because it seemed like opening it with the finger tip would be uncomfortable or unfunctional. After some time I decided to forego that method and try it the finger tip way and found it to be quite functional. It's not uncomfortable unless you're some kind of wuss and is MUCH more practical (plus you won't chip a nail, you girly-men). After the break in period it becomes even easier. It is my recommendation that the buyer not let the flipper deter them from purchasing this excellent light EDC, but to open the box with no preconceptions of how it should function.
Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2" VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jc
Leon Valley, Tx
Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use
Very nice looking, a couple of flaws but still worth it
This is a very nice looking frame lock with a comparatively big blade. Very light, high quality materials, looks great. Two noticeable problems and a minor one. 1. The flipper is too small, and flipping it open can be done only by using the fingernail to engage the flipper. 2. The lock is very tight but sticky, disengaging the lock to fold back can be difficult. Minor issue: The clip is very tight, but on the other side allows for deep concealment. I believe the blade would look better if it was actually satin, but it is high gloss polished instead.
Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2" VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Danny M.
N.J.
Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
nice and light,slim don,t even know it,s in my pocket
very slim and light don't even know it's in my pocket
Boker Plus Brad Zinker Urban Trapper Flipper 3-1/2" VG10 Satin Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Gus C
Hawthorne, Ca
Dec 09, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife, except for the stupid blade geometry
I have two of these, the titanium frame lock and the G10 liner lock. My preference is the G10 liner lock because the numerous holes in the elegant titanium frame lock are a PITA to clean in the field after food prep tasks, and liner lock is easier for use in your left hand. Ignore reviews that claim the flipper is too small, I wear large size riggers gloves and can deploy the flipper with either hand very, very comfotably using my finger. My direct experience leaves me completely dismissive of claims that the flipper is too small, i'm calling that BS. Regardless, once the mech is worked in you can deploy using inertia and a flick of the wrist without using the flipper. The Handle gives me a full 4 finger grip and the hand position is choked right up near the heel of the cutting edge because of the excellent design arrangement. I love this knife. So... why the poor score. It's the stupid, stupid geometry of the narrow blade. Why would anyone make such a narrow blade with a hollow grind? Even dumber, a hollow grind extends only 3/4 of the height (15mm) of this narrow blade. With a full flat grind this knife would be a work of art. BUT the hollow grind ruins this for slicing. Such a shame, in every other way this knife is brilliant. I will carefully regrind the blade on the G10 to a drop point with the tip on the centre line of the blade and a full flat grind - or as close to it as possible. That should give me an open frame/easily cleaned folder that works as a paring knife and as a small game knife - as a lightweight flipper alternative to the stainless Mercator K55K lock-back that I currently use for field dressing rabbits and fallow deer.