Reviews and Ratings for BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles

BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handlesrated 4.425 stars out of 5 (40 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
11
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
1
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $224.99

View Product Details
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frosty
Small town USA
Jan 07, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Pocket Clip
≈BRS≈ Barebones is #satisfaction
I have been a supporter of ~BRS~ for a while now. I love the approach to Balisong/Butterfly knife design and manufacturing in the intention of the flipper and entire lifestyle. The name says it all as others have stated in other reviews. It is a very good affordable knife for whatever your reason is for getting the Barebones. It has a bit of weight to it but it is easy to get used to and adjust the way you flip it compared to other lighter weight Balis. I also have to consider how lucky you are to have a - BRS - knife, I love the 3 designs that they produce but they are in demand and they are not always manufacture enough to satisfy everyone that wants to buy the new product before they are sold out. Alpha Beast, Replicants and Barebones are all individually different but at the same time they are top quality. I wasn't disappointed with the Barebones that I purchased and I would say that I pick it up and flip it at least once a day.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Driftchurch
Arizona
Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great knife would recommend
The brs barebones is a great balisong it is a smooth flipper it is on the heavy side but if you want an edc balisong that can withstand abuse get this knife. I have been flipping this knife for about 1 month it has been dropped on tile,concrete, and blacktop and still functions and flips perfectly despite some slight road rash. Will definitely be buying other BRS products in the future. Also this is shaving sharp out of the box not forgiving if you happen to make a mistake.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron
North Carolina
Oct 06, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Great knife even if a little heavy
As expected of BRS, it's a great knife. Probably the sharpest knife I've ever gotten out of the box. When it comes to flipping, preference is huge and I don't like my knives this heavy. Although, this helps carry momentum very well. Solid work from -=BRS=-
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barry B
Hanson Massachusetts
Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Weight
Great balisong
My 1st quality balisong much better action than the old no name brand I had.Razor sharp so be careful came fast would buy again.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hotch
Maine
Feb 07, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Unbeatable quality and design at a remarkable price!!
I'm loving the barebones as my EDC. I find it a well balanced quality flipper and fine functional knife. And because the price was so reasonable I could afford to purchase a spare stock barebones to squirrel away as backup. The BRS Crew gives an amazing knife at this price by putting some of the responsibility of minor finish work in the hands of the owner... makes great sense! With a little emery paper and five minutes I smoothed out a couple burrs and the knife was purrrrrrfect!! I was so happy with these purchases I treated myself to a CMF Metalworks Modified Barebones just to know how far a BRS barebones could be taken by a knifesmith... all I can say is Wow!! Make sure you pick up Linos sheaths for your bones... a must.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason T
Arcata, Ca
Sep 26, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
Brs is the best
Clearly those who waited are finally getting rewards. Thanks again KnifeCenter, Brs and all involved, can't wait for October, will shop again!
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Abimbola Xd
Maryland
Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Balisong
Flips very well, looks amazing, longer and skinnier that I expected but that's not a bad thing, very sharp, nice weight. Overall very good knife that you should buy.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Rochester Michigan
Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I'm impressed!!!
This thing is a beast! Great for flipping, and the balance is amazing for a heavy knife. I like this better than my benchmade 51, although it's an entirely different feel. I've had it for 2 weeks, beat the hell out of it, and its holding up very well. Great knife, you won't be disappointed with BRS!!!
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Toe
Ca
May 30, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Blade Material, Lock Type, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Sheath, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use
Nips
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Db
Florida
Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Better than I had expected
Lets talk about the negatives first so ya'll know i'm not a robot. Full disclosure I own a Standard Brs Replicant. I love the Replicant but with the work I do I wanted something with stainless steel handles that felt like a tank. -It has no crowned spine and yes you can definitely feel it doing a fast ricochet. -It has no Blade Choil so you will have to be careful sharpening -Definitely gotta open and close the latch roughly a few times before it felt like the Replicant Now let's talk positives, and compare it to the only other good ones with stainless steel handles aka the Bradley Kimura and the Benchmade 62 and 67. I almost got the 67 because it had the tank feel that I wanted. However it's handles are barely longer than the blade so it feels like you don't have as much control over the weight. -Longer handles are a definite plus -The Stainless handles and 154cm blade are definitely thick, no bend or flex here -The blade grind is damnnnnnn near a flat grind, I think the grind on this is better than the replicant except for the no choil part -Very Neutral handling, it neither goes nor stays and you get an "air" feel while flipping -The stonewash is a little darker in real life than is depicted in the photos, it's dark enough that it seems like it fits, i'm not going to polish this one Honestly I am very pleased, this is a knife I will have no problem using for edc as well as every day tasks. I was going to get an Alpha Beast when they drop in October and who knows maybe i'll have some extra throw away money that month and get it anyways. I can't see this knife not being my EDC for the next few years.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dominick
Minnesota
Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
I love it
This is my first real flipper and my god it is great. It is razor sharp, however the tang nipple isn't rounded that probably my only complaint
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Db
Florida
Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Better than I had expected
Lets talk about the negatives first so ya'll know i'm not a robot. Full disclosure I own a Standard Brs Replicant. I love the Replicant but with the work I do I wanted something with stainless steel handles that felt like a tank. -It has no crowned spine and yes you can definitely feel it doing a fast ricochet. -It has no Blade Choil so you will have to be careful sharpening -Definitely gotta open and close the latch roughly a few times before it felt like the Replicant Now let's talk positives, and compare it to the only other good ones with stainless steel handles aka the Bradley Kimura and the Benchmade 62 and 67. I almost got the 67 because it had the tank feel that I wanted. However it's handles are barely longer than the blade so it feels like you don't have as much control over the weight. -Longer handles are a definite plus -The Stainless handles and 154cm blade are definitely thick, no bend or flex here -The blade grind is damnnnnnn near a flat grind, I think the grind on this is better than the replicant except for the no choil part -Very Neutral handling, it neither goes nor stays and you get an "air" feel while flipping -The stonewash is a little darker in real life than is depicted in the photos, it's dark enough that it seems like it fits, i'm not going to polish this one Honestly I am very pleased, this is a knife I will have no problem using for edc as well as every day tasks. I was going to get an Alpha Beast when they drop in October and who knows maybe i'll have some extra throw away money that month and get it anyways. I can't see this knife not being my EDC for the next few years.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alan
Arizona
Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, Sheath, None
Great Knife
The weight and balance of this knife is wonderful. I love the simple utility blade design. I just wish it had a sheathe or clip for ease of carry. It would be great if there was one just like it in smaller size, maybe a 3 to 3.25 inch blade and must be able to mount a clip on either side of the handles.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Amateur Flipper
Louisiana
Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Extremely Satisfied
Quality is excellent and it flips like a dream out the box (also very, VERY sharp out the box). Stonewash finish is also a nice touch and makes for a very tough aesthetic. Ordered a sheath that can be worn around the neck and for such a large balisong (apx 10 in) it is very discrete making it a great EDC. The weight distribution is very nice for a heavier balisong too. Finally the rounded clip to prevent the blade from hitting it is nice.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Branden R
Nov 09, 2016
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Amazing!
I love this knife! It's sharp and looks great. I've owned it for almost a month now and it's holding up awesome. I've recommend this to manny of my friends who also love balisongs.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack H
In my house
May 01, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Most Solid Balisong you could find, period
This is by far the most solid bali I've ever seen. Sure I wish I had the money to try those full channel titanium balisongs such as the Marfione Tachyon or the Benchmade 87, but the first time you drop a titanium piece on hard floor, is the day you'll cry! However, this bali can take a real beating and barely show scratches and wear. Totally solid. Due to the weight and sharpness, it's a real threat to the user though! I just cut my self really deep in the index finger and it sucks! Totally worth it.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carlos
Charlotte NC
Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
As expected from BRS
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joseph B
Boston
Apr 03, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Best balisong under $300
This was my first "good" balisong. I had the b400 before I got this. Now I have an infinity that I love too. But the barebones is prolly one of the best knives out there under $300. I still love mine. Even tho I sold it to get the infinity. But on a certain level I kinda liked it more than the infinity. I would have liked it even more if the spacers didn't get stripped out from dropping it. I don't know why that happens. But it does. I would buy another one today if that didn't happen to them. That's the one thing they need to fix. Then it would be the perfect entry level balisong. Like I said tho I like this a little more than my alpha beast infinity. That's pretty good since its half the cost. Hope this helps some of you aspiring flippers out there. And don't listen to people this is an amazing knife. Its all about preferences. But if you don't have any preferences yet than this is perfect for you.. The people that don't like this are the people that have flipped a 3.3 ounce 51 morph for 2 years. They think its too heavy. But I don't think its that heavy. Hope this helped. Peace ✌
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thetruereview
Lincoln, Ne
Jun 22, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Feels Amazing
Before this, I only had a CCC balisong. The Barebones is amazing to flip and a great beater. The blade is of very nice quality with the added bonus of being extremely sharp and strong. I love the way the handles are shaped. 5/5, This knife is amazing, would recommend.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron
North Carolina
Oct 06, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Great knife even if a little heavy
As expected of BRS, it's a great knife. Probably the sharpest knife I've ever gotten out of the box. When it comes to flipping, preference is huge and I don't like my knives this heavy. Although, this helps carry momentum very well. I almost forgot to mention that the spine on this knife has sharp corners that bite kinda hard and the part that hits the zen pins is really sharp as well. A good sanding is recommended on that piece. Solid work from -=BRS=-
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Christian
Oklahoma
Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Awesome knife!
Great knife for flipping. Only thing is if your not used to flipping a full metal bali then it takes a bit of time due to the kinda rough edges.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gail B
Lenore, Wv 25676
Nov 07, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Well Made Kinfe
I collect knives. This caught my eye and I purchased it. Was well pleased when I received it. The design and feel to your hand is outstanding. Not too heavy.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Chicago
Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Must-buy
I have owned a Benchmade 51 Morpho and this is a huge step up. This knife is beautiful, it flips amazingly, and it has a very unqiue design. Most Balisongs have titanium spacers but this is knife is pretty much 100% steel. The weigh is very nice. Definitely a lot heavier than the 51 Morpho. I love how easy it is to manipulate momentum with the Barebones, too. It's like it was designed to practicaly flip itself. Doesn't flip nearly as fast as the BRS Replicant, and as a flipper who isn't as experienced as some of the best, it's kind of a good thing. I love the way the knife looks and flips. 10/10 BRS very much outdid themselves. It's razor sharp right out the box too. And it's not stiff at all. Ready to flip right out the box.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wolf
Baltimore MD
Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Scary Sick.
Hell yea all thanks to Knife Center i got my blade on time...this is my first real sharp as hell bslisong, im scared like shit to flip it but im work on my brave facto, sexy blade fells really good in hand,..i definitely recommend this balisong.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Iamherebrother
CA
Oct 02, 2017
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Barebones is my first Balisong
First impression; the balance and feel is great. Latch is heavy amd makes the bite handle slightly harder to throw. Handle chevons, cutouts, pin nipple, blade spine, are very sharp. These things all hurt and make flipping painful. The my blade came nice and sharp. Blade chips kind of bad on concrete, although I'm not experienced enough to know if this is just plain abuse or a bad heat treatment. I know what I bought and the price is good. If I had known this wasn't ready for flipping out of the box I would of shelled out $20 more for a Dog bite 3.1.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Z
Reno, Nv
Nov 01, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel
my first quality Bali
Its great and ready to flip,its loctited out of the box and really nicely tuned.It feels like its 5 oz despite being way heavier,there are two problems.1. is the zen pin nipple that concaves to hold the zen pin which is not necessary and is sharp.2. the spine is blocky so chamfer it or crown it out of the box,its noticable and uncomfortable for long flipping.the blade is sharp and i cut my self doing a zen rollover first thing out of the box. Overall:Buy it as you first budget bali,but dont buy it if you have something better
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cody J
Haverhill, Ma
Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Weight, Pocket Clip
So Close
this knife is amazing i love everything about it. the only thing i don't like about it is that all the edges are very sharp and cut into your skin. coming from the model 51 with all its rounded edges this knife is slightly uncomfortable to flip but that is an easy issue to fix and i understand that they had to make compromises at this price point. i still recommend this blade to anyone that wants to flip just because the way it feels when its not digging into your skin. overall this knife is a joy to use and im very happy with the price point to performance you get with it.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
Ohio
Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Good for the price.
For the price point, you are getting a decent flipper. The only gripes I have are pretty much what others have shared--weight, sharp edges on the handle, latch sucks, etc...you will get more sore and bruised when flipping for extended periods compared to other designs in the BRS lineup. Biggest are ricochets--they hurt. A lot. Heavy handle and/or sharp handle edges hitting your knuckle means you will see it the next day. If you have the money, upgrading to an infinity would be the way to go but for this price, its not bad. Just rough around the edges. It's pretty much barebones, as the name suggests. But in this price range, it's the best you are going to get.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dc_ Blade_ Works
Massachusetts
Mar 06, 2017
Pros: Handle Material
Cons: None
The BRS bare bones i gat at knife center.com
It is a good knife and it is definitely flip friendly but it will take some getting used to. The steel hands give it to much weight. Plus the pivot system definitely leaves room for improvement with plenty of handel play right out of the box and blade rub is not far behind. With that being said it still grew on me and i do like flipping the knife and for the price i don't mind if it hits the ground. It makes a good edc balisong once you get over the weight .
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rdt
Michigan
Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Almost perfect
This balisong is incredibly smooth and balanced, and I would absolutely recommend it as a flipper. However, I have a couple of problems that keep it from a perfect rating. For one, the handles are too thin. This combined with the weight make it twist in your hand when doing a trick like the around the world. Second, the spine and the Zen pin stop between the handles are very sharp and have done some damage to my hands. Other than those two things, this knife is great and I absolutely recommend it for the price.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nrno
California
May 01, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Almost amazing.
The spine of the blade is much larger than I expected. Combined with the slim handles I already had blade rub out of the box and it will eventually scar up the safe handle. If you're going to flip it though that's probably not a concern. Rest of the knife is beautiful. I love the bayonet grind so much more than their more premium blades. Can't complain about 154cm. Wish it had a pocket clip though so I can edc it but it might be too big anyway. Overall I'm satisfied.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Josh
Texas
Oct 07, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Nice balisong.
Overall this is a great balisong. It is a little rough around the edges. I had to actually take a dremel and use a sandpaper bit to smooth out the edges on the tang so that it wouldn't tear up my finger when flipping. I just did a little light sanding and it is now perfect. You could sand by hand or use a file but the best way is to use a dremel. Other than that, it is very well balanced for flipping. I'd say it is better balanced than the Benchmade 51. It is much heavier though. Blade and handle materials used are very good. This knife can take a beating. There are many reports of tips breaking off on other BRS knives. That is not so on this balisong. I have dropped it on the hard floor many times and it hasn't dinged or chipped any. It has even landed on the tip a couple times. Overal it is a great flipper and one of my primary edc knives. The blade spine can hit the bite handle slightly even when the pivot screws are tightened pretty good. That may be because I like a little blade play. But that is no big deal to me.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kyle
Lockport, Ny
Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight
Good Flipper
Flips really smoothly, the weight took a minute to get used to but after that it is definitely fun to flip. Came really sharp and gave me more than enough cuts but maybe thats just cause i'm a bad flipper.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Max H
Fort Worth, Tx
Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Sheath, Weight, Handle Material
Great
The BRS BareBones, excellent knife would prefer ti handles but they are nice the way they are, Kinda thin but feels nice in hand, The weight is an issue from its massive difference in rep/ab It feels like a different alpha beast Overall its a great knife.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tercio
España
Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: Weight, None
Gran balisong
Gran balisong de calidad exquisita y muy buen servicio, gracias knifecenter pude conseguir tener un buen balisong viviendo en Europa, tardando solo 15 días en llegar y resolviendo algunos problemas de pago desde email
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Casey
Portland Or
Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Feel
Great Knife Bad flipper
The build quality is fantastic and they did a respectable job. However the weight of the blade and thickness of the handle throws off any sense of balance for flipping. I bought a tachyon 3 at the same time and thoroughly enjoy flipping it. Though I will not be sending my barebones back it has sorta turned me off to getting a alpha beast. As far as quality goes if you're just a very casual flipper then this knife may be the right choice for you.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ab
Virginia
Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Weight
Barebones
Great knife for flipping. wish it had a pocket clip and crowned spine and much more refined and rounded zen pin stop, but that just nit picking. the knife I got however did come with a scratch about a 1/4 inch long on the safe handle and a nick in one of the cutouts. Don't expect the level of refinement the AB and Rep come with all that aside the knife flips very well, I still think the Replicant and Alpha B will always be great bargains for the money.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Randal
Battle Creek, Mi
Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Good Build - Not Great Design
Received BRS Barebones knife today. The knife is solidly built with excellent blade that is razor sharp out of the box. As others have noted, there are sharp edges that will tear holes in your pocket; these can be fixed. My main concerns, though, cannot be fixed. These are design, not execution problems. There is no integral guard. The handles become quite narrow towards the open blade. Additionally, the slots in the handles are primarily parallel with the length if the handle, which do not provide grip to resist the hand sliding forward toward the open blade. The net effect of these design flaws is that this knife should not be used for self defense. If you do so, you will likely cut your hand. I will use the barebones to further develop my balisong manipulation skills. It is a cool knife, and should excel at simple cutting tasks. For self defense though, I will revert back to my Benchmade 42 Ti. The design is better thought out, and my grip is sure.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Brandon
Nowhereville
Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Great knife-while the hardware lasted.
First I want to say that I have an A.B. and it was my main flipper....I have always liked brs and appreciated what they offer....When I received this knife I really liked it,I was flipping it all the time instead of my alpha beast like usual.... the way you will do with a new balisong-.(you flippers know what I mean)I did not abuse it in any way,and the few times I dropped it were on a rug,not on concrete or anything...for some reason my handles have popped apart at the bottom on the latch side-(bite handle) despite me loctiteing them as expected...Its almost like the barrel spacers are stripped where the screws are supposed to thread in. They will not screw in to the spacers,they will not engage the threading or something....I can not figure it out.I am very disappointed because I was really starting to like the feel of this knife...They said they would fix it but I just feel like it should not have happened in the first damn place....bummer...I gave it a 3 because It was so good while it lasted.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Barebones Balisong Butterfly Knife, Clip Point Blade, Skeletonized Stainless Steel Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Blades
CT
Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Sent me defective knife
Knife was excellent out of the box. Then after one week i started noticing the sex bolts coming undone on the handle. Never dropped it on anything but a mattress i practice over so i was surprised when stuff started coming apart left and right. Started tightening the bolts when i first noticed the thread retention issues. Ended up losing two small screws for the handle that held the latch. I'd tighten the bolts and within a few minutes of flipping they'd fall out. Contacted BRS - slow unclear customer service. Took two weeks to find out I'm going to have to send the knife to them for a couple of defective screws. Which may take up to 6 weeks not including shipping. Going to Uni in a month so I'm running out of time with it as it is.