Reviews and Ratings for Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles - 00032

Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handlesrated 4.563 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625 inch Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles

 

Price: $24.95

Save $10.79 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimbo
South East Texas
Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great, Classic Pocket Knife-BUY IT NOW!
I was just so impressed I felt I'd share my thoughts. This is a no frills, utilitarian knife for sure, yet still manages to look attractive. The ergonomics of the handle are great and the yellow plastic scales are really unique and classic looking. I have large hands and can easily get all four fingers comfortably on the knife. The blade shape is basic and stout, I had no trouble carving notches into sticks, cutting bait, fruit, string, etc. The steel is Case's CV (chrome vanadium), which is basically carbon steel. To prevent rust, I went ahead and forced a patina by sticking into an apple for five hours. It looks great! The CV steel sharpens easier than stainless (had to after a good bit of use), and in my opinion holds an edge just as long. Out of the box it came hair popping sharp, if your concerned about that. IMHO every man should know how to sharpen a blade, because if you dont have to do it to begin with, youll end up doing it later? I got it back to a razor without much effort. The slip joint is much sturdier than any other slip joint I've ever handled. When opening and closing, there is a proud "snap", and no blade play. A good bit of pressure is required for a knife this size, and that's a real plus. You can use the nail knick with ease, but there's enough blade exposed you can easily pinch open it as well. Centering is pretty much dead center. For a knife this size it's very light, and virtually disappears in my pocket until I need it. Now for fit and finish, I'll go ahead and say "it's twenty bucks". You shouldn't expect perfection at this price, although you damn near get it. Just minor fit and finish stuff, like a couple small openings around the liners, spring, and scales,some uneven grinding on the scales, and two or three unflush rivets. This doesn't bother me, because I'm not looking for something pretty and perfect to stick in my pocket, just a good knife, even though like I said, you almost get it. It's USA made, and it's upholds CaseXX's quality reputation. This is a great knife, and I can't say enough about it. It's a sodbuster, just a regular ol' working mans pocket knife.
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill Conrad
Emmaus, PA
Jun 17, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Sweet carry knife
Very sharp, feels good in the pocket, love the color of the handle
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sevensix
NWE Oregon
Oct 23, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
CV Sod Buster
Excellent fit and finish, highly polished hollow grind blade. Very sharp right out of the box! Unbelieveable value for the money, a real keeper. This is American quality and crasftsmanmship through and through. Too good to be used as a daily pocket tool.
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim C
Lubbock tx
Mar 15, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: None
Good price sharp knofe
Use everyday construction. Very sharp easy to sharpen also. Couple swipes on diamond sharp as razor very good customer service. Will buy from them agdin
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fred Asmus
Oahu, Hawaii
Jul 21, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great all around pocket knife
This is my second one of this model, just a different color.... perfect size for the pocket and having no clip it really is a "pocket" knife.... the blade is really versatile and always reliable and useful...and add to that the CASE quality... keep coming up with colors and I'll keep ordering.
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Garrettd
Beacon, NY
May 06, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material
AWESOME KNIFE
Very simple knife. walk and talk. The yellow handle looks terrible in the pictures but is much nicer in person. If you want the cv steel, and don't want the stupid "SOD BUSTER JR" etching on the blade - you will have to grow to like the yellow handle. I did! The blade is super sharp right out of the box, reviews say it is easy to sharpen too. THe handle is a little light and makes the knife a little top heavy in the hand, but it still feels very nice in your hand. It cuts very well: the spine width allows you to do some heavier work - i don't know if it will cut a lot of sod, lol. But very nice. THe only problem with the fit and finish: the blade does not sit centered in the handle when it is closed, but the blade does not rub up against the side when closing - so i can live with that. Awesome knife!
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jasper
Alabammy
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Wicked sharp
This steel, whatever it is, reminds me strongly of M2 where its edge-holding capabilities are concerned. It far outlasts the most skillfully cryotempered 1095. I believe it is at a hardness of 60Rc. I was considering buying a cpm-m4 knife, but to be honest, it holds a near-shaving edge for days and days of cutting boxes or smaller branches. No joke. Unless I lose it, it likely will last another fifty years. Even though the price is so very affordable, you couldn't do better if you bought a Spyderco VG10. This blade holds an edge as long, or longer. Good luck!
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Coach
Pataskala, USA
Jun 15, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
My back pocket knife.
I was sceptical about the mid-sized soddy. I like the big ones a lot. This one has all the utility of the full size, but it fits in the back pocket comfortably. Goes anywhere. Makes short work of cardboard boxes. Why would I carry an ugly "utilty knife" when I can have a lighter and more versatile tool like this? Easy to sharpen, but doesn't go dull too quickly. Only con is the shiny blade that shows fingerprints, but that's just a personal preference.
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack
MississippI
Nov 07, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Reminds me why I keep coming back to case
I've had this little sodbuster for over two years, this little joker has been in deer,hogs,fish, and everything else you could imagine a 20 year old would do with a knife that costed 20 bucks. It's tougher than a $2 steak and sharper than Einstein. I love it best knife I've ever owned, won't be my last sodbuster for sure. It was kinda difficult to open at first when it was new though.
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gonzalo
Argentina - South America
Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
My Junior
I had in mind a classic USA EDC knife. I already had the full size Sodbuster and decided to give the Junior a try since my first Sodbuster is an excellent folding knife but a bit bulky and heavy for my pockets. No disappointment with the Junior. Meets all expectations: easy to carry, friendly size, razor edge, no safety issues ( considering it's a slipjoint), and, to my eye, simply beautiful. Thank you KnifeCenter staff for delivery time and helpful communication.
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim C
Lubbock
Mar 15, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: None
Good price sharp knofe
Use everyday construction. Very sharp easy to sharpen also. Couple swipes on diamond sharp as razor very good customer service. Will buy from them again
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Coon Hunter 77
MENA ARKANSAS
Mar 25, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
What a knife- made in the USA at a great price.
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff
Iowa
Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
GREAT KNIFE
GREAT ADDITION TO MY STARTUP KNIFE COLLECTION.
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Coon Hunter 77
MENA ARKANSAS
Mar 25, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
VERY SHARP, LOVE THE CLASSIC YELLOW HANDLE
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Vic R
Kalix
Nov 17, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel
Mooo i'm a cow
Very good basic slipjoint, a definite improvement over carrying swiss army knives and such. Needs to have the corners on the front of the handle ground thinner though. Feels awkward as butts. Kind of soft mystery steel, but works ok. A bit too hollow ground for my preference. Proper sturdy handle shape, except for the mentioned corners. My ear hurts.
Case Sodbuster Jr. Pocket Knife 3.625" Closed, Yellow Synthetic Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Agb
JBLM, WA
Apr 02, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Disappointing
I'll preface this by saying I'm a big Case fan - grew up near the Bradford factory, have relatives working there, and have collected their knives for years. I have a hard time believing someone actually inspected this knife before boxing and shipping it. The blade is completely decentered and rubbing on the liner. At this price point, I'm willing to accept, and in fact expected, the minor flaws in liner-scale-pin fit and asymmetric scale grinding. But this lemon is unusable as shipped. I was left with the choice to either return/exchange it (and take another hit on shipping which would approach half the cost of the knife) or try to fix it myself and risk destroying it. Not to mention, a return means that it would probably be re-stocked and sent to another sucker. I chose the second option, and after a few knife-repair videos and 10 minutes of hammering, have improved the centering to where I can open/close it without scraping the liners. A quick web search reveals that QC issues are not uncommon with this knife - disappointing for an American-made product with the Case name. I'd recommend inspecting/buying locally if you have the option. Your results may vary.

Editor's Note: The return process for defective products is very easy at the Knifecenter. We email the label and never reship a product that is not in pristine condition. A replacement would be meticulously inspected to ensure we don't send another defective item out. We get very few Case knives returned, however, and disagree that the brand is anything but first rate. There are always mistakes made.