Reviews and Ratings for Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS) - 00189

Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)rated 5.000 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
5 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25 inch Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)

 

Price: $65.95

Save $27.24 (29%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
MARIETTA OHIO
Sep 23, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Case 6265 SAB SS
I bought this knife in the fall of 2011 to use for squirrl and deer hunting I used it to field dress my deer that i got during deer season 2011 it is a very well made and good quality knife even though this knife is kind of expensive if u want a hunting knife that you can use and also pass dwn throught the family buy a case brand. This knife was used on deer and rabbits and even squirrl's. This knife is made from 420 HC Surgical Stainless steel and is pretty easy to re sharpen and stay's sharp also. Mine cost me $63 with shipping and sales tax it was the best sixty three dollars I ever spent on a hunting knife.
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
R.M
Burton MI
Nov 12, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
My knife was easy to use easy to sharpen and held its edge under rough usage. I purchased it when I was in the US Navy 66/70. It was lost or possibly stolen a few years ago. It was a good knife...It had no sheath, lock blade or belt clip. Warning do not use it as a screw driver unless you want to repoint the blade tip.
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Longhorn12
Lawton, OK
Feb 14, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Quality you expect
Quality is well better than my other Case xx knives and this one will see plenty of work. First impression... excellent, adequate back springs, blades centered, and good fit and finish. This model has Case's stainless steel, have plenty of experience with this steel, while its not Case's Chrome Vanadium it does have good edge retention and is easy to sharpen. Case you are winning me back, can't wait to get this out in the field and put some miles on it. Only complaint, could use a sheath that is better fitted to this model, that said the sheath will work just fine.
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Marietta Ohio
Nov 23, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
My 2010 case folding hunter
Back in September 2010 I ordered a case xx folding hunter and back then it was $62.00 at that time and it’s been a very good knife really like the knife and it will definitely get sharp and hold a really good edge. For being almost 10 years old in 2020 it’s still in excellent shape I still have the original box and papers to it. I have used this for squirrel hunting and rabbit hunting and actually have carried it deer hunting.
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert O
Rio Rancho New Mexico
Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Sheath, Blade Material
Cons: None
This knife is big enough to cut through thick rope. Has a beautiful case sheath that is durable and protect the knife. Case is a great USA brand.
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trail
Summerville, GA
Dec 22, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great knife....
My husband loves this knife....great for when your hunting or just working around the house...he also love the leather case that came with it. This knife is very durable and easy to open unlike some he has had....Can't say anything bad about this knife..guys if you don't have one then you need to get one. Great product!
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Casey M.
KIngston Idaho
Oct 05, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
A custom pouch sheath made it perfect.
A custom pouch sheath made it perfect.
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Buckshot
Marietta Ohio
Nov 25, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
CASE FOLDING HUNTER
I have a case folding hunter made in 1978 it is a two dot. I traded a Buck 110 I use this Case folding hunter along with my Buck guthook for squirrel and deer hunting. The thing I like about it is that it has the carbon steel blades that sharpen like a razor blade with a good carborundum stone I also like the fact that it fits tight in the sheath and that it fits good on your belt and the weight of it is not heavy like most other hunting knives. I would never part with it the knife is my best friend.
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
MARIETTA OH
May 07, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
MY CASE 2011 FOLDING HUNTER
I HAVE A CASE XX FOLDING HUNTER MANUFACTURED IN 2011 I BOUGHT IT IN SEPT 2011 AND USED IT ON MY DEER THAT I SHOT AND KILLED USING A CROSS BOW WITH A RED DOT SCOPE. I USED THIS KNIFE THAT VERY DAY. I HAVE EVEN CARRIED IT DURING SQUIRRL SEASON AND EVEN CARRY IT WHILE JUST WALKING IN THE WOODS. THE CASE BRAND HAS BEEN GOOD TO ME AND THE TRU SHARP SURGICAL STEEL BLADE IS EASY FOR ME TO RE SHARPEN. THE TRU SHARP SURGICAL STEEL IS 420 HC THAT CASE GET'S FROM PITTSBURG PA. THE CASE FACTORY IS IN BRADFORD PA. I REALLY LIKE THE WOOD JIGGID HANDLES AND THE NICKEL SILVER BOLSTERS I THINK THEY REALLY SET THE LOOK OF THE KNIFE OFF.
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mebailj
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Feb 17, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Sheath
Case Knife folding hunter 6265
This is the ultimate carry knife for the average outdoorsman. It is handy enough in the pocket and yet large enough to wear on the belt for most outdoor uses. The advantage is in having two large blades for use instead of just one as many large folders have. The knife is well put together with all seams smoothly finished. The blades are sharp from the factory and will retain their edge under most cutting situations. I recommend this knife as both a collectable and as an everyday utility knife. The only faults that I would have are the roughness of the wood scales and the leather sheath. The scales are a bit rough and could be smoothed more in production. The leather sheath is too large and the knife "bounces around" in it. A more form fitting sheath would be great.About the only other recommendation I would give is I would like to see this knife as a Pocket Worn model.My final recommendation is-buy two of them,one to use and one to put up!
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
MARIETTA OHIO
Sep 11, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
MY 6265 SAB SS
I HAVE A CASE FOLDING HUNTER 6265 SAB SS THAT WAS MANUFACTURED IN 2010 BY THE STAMPING ON THE TANG OF THE MAIN BLADE. I PURCHASED IT IN SEPTEMBER OF 2011 AND USED IT FROM SEPT TILL FEB. I USED IT TO DRESS OUT ABOUT SIX SQUIRRL'S, AND TWO RABBIT'S AND ALSO USED IT TO FIELD DRESS MY FOUR POINT BUCK THAT I SHOT WITH A CROSS BOW AT A FRIEND'S BROTHER FARM. IT HAS THE SURGICAL STAINLESS STEEL BLADES THAT ARE THE 420 HC STEEL AND IT SHARPEN'S OUT VERY EASY IF YOU USE A GOOD QUALITY AMERICAN OR GERMAN MADE SHARPENING STONE EVEN THE OLD WHET STONES SHARPEN ONE VERY WELL. BUT FINDING THE OLD WHET STONE'S IS VERY TUFF TO DO ONLY WAY TO FIND THEM IS AT A FARM SALE OR A ESTATE AUCTON. I CAN NOT FIND ANY FLAWS WITH THIS KNIFE WHAT SO EVER.
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
MARIETTA OHIO
Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
OWNED SINCE SEPTEMBER 2010
I HAVE OWNED THIS CASE XX FOLDING HUNTER SINCE SEPTEMBER 2010 . I CARRIED IT DURING HUNTING SEASON THAT YEAR. I GOT TO USE IT ON A FEW SQUIRRL'S THAT YEAR. THE CASE XX FOLDING HUNTER STAY'S SHARP FOR A LONG TIME AND IS VERY EASY TO GET A EDGE BACK ON. I REALLY LIKE THE LOOK AND FEEL OF THE KNIFE AND THE WEIGHT OF IT AS WELL . IT ALSO HAS A REALLY NICE LEATHER SHEATH . I REALLY LIKE THE TRU SHARP SURGICAL STAINLESS STEEL IT TAKES A EDGE RATHER NICE. BUT IF THIS STEEL GETS REALLY DULL IT CAN BE HARD TO GET A EDGE BACK ON. I ALSO USED THIS KNIFE IN DECEMBER 2011 ON A DEER THAT I SHOT DURING DEER SEASON THAT YEAR. I EVEN HAVE MY DAD'S 1973 CASE XX FOLDING HUNTER SINGLE BLADE STILL HAS THE ORIGINAL SHEATH WITH IT FOR BEING 42 YEARS OLD IT IS IN EXCELENT CONDITION. I HAVE NEVER CARRIED MY DADS OLD CASE IT JUST STAY'S PUT UP AS A SHOW KNIFE.
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stan98532
Chehalis, WA
Aug 30, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Nice Knife
I bought this knife as a replacement for the same knife I bought in 1972. The original knife is still perfect I just wanted a new one and retire the old one. This is truly a great folding knife. It is so beautiful you may not want to use it. What I like the most is that you have two really nice knives to field dress your animal. It holds an excellent edge. Buy two, one to look at and one to use.
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Keyser WV
Dec 18, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent Knife
I carry this knife in is Belt Sheath daily. I have the series of these going back too Single blade type. This knife I sharpened the day I got it. The knife has skinned two deer. And will stay shave your arm or face. Case is known world wide for great knives. I heard a rumor where Case was moving To MEXICO factory says not true. The will cease production first.
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
"Buckshot"
MARIETTA OH
Sep 29, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Case 6265 SS
I just bought a Case 6265 SS folding hunter to replace my 1978 Case folding hunter because case can't fix or repair the one from 1978 due to changing the machines for the new knives and stainless blades vs the old being cv carbon steel I wanted to put the 1978 away in the gun safe and use it for show. And I ordered the new one to use for deere hunting and turkey hunting. overall I can't tell much diff between my old one and new one except the one is stainless steel and the old one is carbon steel. I hope the new one holds up as good as my old 1978 has held up all these years.
Case 189 Folding Hunter 5.25" Jigged Brown Staminawood Handles, Brown Leather Sheath (6265 SS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
David Jon F
No
Aug 01, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
I have my grandfather's
It's over 40+ years old it's sharp and reliable. I love it.