Reviews and Ratings for Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Blades - 570 001

Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Bladesrated 4.727 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Blades

 

Price: $72.00

View Product Details
Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kenny
200 Bvld Media Luna 1204 Carolina
Sep 25, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
I use it everyday and it works perfect.
I use it everyday and it works perfect.
Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff M.
Delray Beach, Fl
Jan 08, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Merkur C570
Great little razor like the ones from the 1950's. Unlike the Merkur Vision I used to own, this is chrome plated allowing easier cleaning and not build up calcium deposits. I would have liked a little more info, like does the razor have a split head that opens up like a drawbridge to make blade changing a little easier and faster plus a little more info on its use and cleaning. I had some bad luck with my Merkur Vision on cleaning but that was entirely my fault. Only have C570 awhile and have not gone through ten blades yet to give a full progress report on the durability and full cleaning issues if any. Small cleaning done after ten shaves with a blade...
Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
George
New Jersey
Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Razor
My first double edge razor and I Iove it. No more expensive disposable blades. I should have used this my whole life. Great fit and finish of handle! A quality product.
Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich
Wakeman, OH
Jan 07, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
My husband just loved the razor!
Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gregg
Temecula, CA
Jan 24, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best shave I ever had!
I just love my new Merkur adjustable razor. After throwing away my money on expensive cartridges for over 30 years I finally wised up and bought a good quality single blade razor. The Merkur is weighted perfectly, glides across my face and makes ever shaving experience enjoyable. Not only does this razor perform exactly as it was described it exceeds in performance, quality, durability and ease of use. From the first time I picked this razor up I knew it was the last razor I would ever buy. It is finished beautfully and the workmanship and quality are evident from the first time you hold it in your hand. When I used it to shave it took about two strokes and I knew what I was doing and from that point foward it has been smooth shaving! I have two teenage boys and will be purchasing their's tonight. I will no longer be throwing my money down the drain on inferior, over priced, multi-blade cartridge shavers. I figure I am going to be saving about $300 dollars a year just in razor blades between me and my two sons. Thanks Knife Center.
Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephen Lane
FL
Jul 09, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
My best double edge razor yet!
I started shaving with a double edge razor - Gillette, many years ago. About 10 years ago I came back to wet shaving using double edge razors, straight razors, whipping up the lather with a brush. I've used many vintage Gillette razors and began to gather Merkur's. I've enjoyed their shaves as well. I purchased the Merkur Progress from the KnifeCenter because it was adjustable and I had heard many good things about it. It has turned out to be my favorite double edge razor. Adjustable so you can make it fit you. Well balanced and easy to use. My shaves have improved greatly, nice and close, I actually look forward to using it. Tough beard or fine, you can adjust this one to fill your need. It's the only one I'm using now! As always, YMMV! KnifeCenter- A great bunch of folks to work with!
Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kenny
Sep 28, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
I purchased this shaver based on some old reasons. My grandfather got one since long time, he past away for long time now. My father had one and used on Vietnam he bring the shaver back. I used before and is great, but is just my time to have one. I been using that shaver every single day and its good more than i was spcting. I used with the kent finest soap sold at knifecenter.com the combination is great with the Coronel Conk Amber sense lotion. Real good quality. thanks Kenneth
Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Blades
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gene3
South Carolina
May 31, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
I am very happy with Merkur Adjustable razor. The fit and finish is great, it has a nice heft that helps with shaving. My first shave was really close. I did shave very carefully and managed to get done without a nick or cut. So far so good, the included blades are quite sharp. I have used it setting one and two so far and I think that is plenty close enough. I had been using a multi-bladed Gillette Mach 3, this razor and blade gives a much closer shave though it does require a little more attention while shaving. It is a pleasure to use this tool and it was a pleasure to buy it here at the Knife Center.
Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Blades
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rick
Concord, CA
Apr 22, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
I've been using one of these almost 20 years, long enough for the chrome to have started flaking off (Not complaining, though. I've got tough whiskers!). The adjustable feature is neat, but you really have to guess, as the numbers are a bit arbitrary, considering the razor screws apart via the same "adjuster". It's about time for a new razor, and I WILL be getting another Merkur.
Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Blades
rated 4 stars out of 5
Karl
Kitchener, ON
Jul 22, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Quality piece, however adjustability is oversold
I like this style of razor because I only shave twice a week. I've got a thick, wiry beard that clogs, dulls and basically renders useless any cartridge-type multiblade shaver. And of course, I resent the price of those expensive replacement cartridges. This is my second Merkur razor. the first one was not adjustable, so I purchased this one to get some additional flexibility with closeness. Overall the quality of this razor is exceptional, however, I am a little disappointed by the ranges of adjustment provided. It works essentially as follows -- the tighter you screw in the adjustment screw, the more flexed the blade is. the more flexed the blade is, the more it moves inline with the guards, meaning your shave isn't as close and that you're less likely to get cut. Presently I am shaving with the blade flexed at the maximum. this gives me as close a shave as I need in two passes (over trouble spots) and doesn't result in nicks or cuts. Awesome! For giggles, I tried to dial the adjustment out for an even closer shave. this moves the blade out past the guard. This means you're basically shaving with the blade edge directly on your skin. This takes a bit of an attitude shift. I can shave with a straight razor without nicking, however, using this style of razor required me to slow down considerably: it's tough to keep track of your blade angle and the temptation (from habit) is to make long passes with some pressure. Very bad idea. Rated 4 out of 5 only because I think the "adjustability" is not truly worth paying a premium for. Chances are, you'll use this on the maximum flex setting.
Merkur #570 Progress Adjustable Double Edge Safety Razor, Chrome Plated, Includes 10 Pack of Double Edge Blades
rated 4 stars out of 5
Red Beard
Bryant, AR
Apr 08, 2010
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Durability, Overall Quality
Takes some getting use to
Great constructed razor an very good quality shaves very well on setting number 1. I love my new razor no more expensive blades to purchase.