Reviews and Ratings for Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome - 700 002

Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chromerated 4.781 stars out of 5 (32 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
26
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome

 

Price: $68.00

View Product Details
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom M
CT
Dec 04, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Merkur Adjustible Razor Satin Finish
I get a nice smooth shave from this razor second to none every time I use it. It is easy to clean and exquisiely made with quality. If you look forward to a super shave this is likely a best bet for you.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
Irvington, NY
Nov 15, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Enduring quality and value
I have had this for years now (long enough so I forget when I bought it) - and I'd never use anything else. One nice thing is that if shaving with warm water, the metal holds a bit of the heat and provides a nice feel. Can't beat the combination of quality, durability and precision. Clean it every so often and it's as good as new years later.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kr
CT
Nov 19, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great razor
I am of the same opinion as Gerry from MA. I got sick of the obscene expense of the Fusion products and thought I would try the type of razor I first shaved with. $3 a blade for Fusion, .10 per blade for this Merkur and a great shave. It does take a few shaves for your skin to acclimate to the razor but it shaves just as smooth and clean. I told my wife this razor will be paid for in savings by May. Very happy with this purchase.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr Jeep85
walker WV
Jun 06, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Outstanding
The (Old) New only way to shave! Very well made, the weight makes it soooo easy to shave without applying any pressure.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennis C.
Clinton, N.C.
Sep 19, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Real Man Razor
This is a well built razor and is heavy which I prefer because its easier for me to control. I like the adjustment feature which I'm still learning how to operate. I ordered a stand for it but it was put on back order which is ok because the folks at Knifecenter have been e-mailing me and letting me know the status. They believe in customer satisfaction and these days thats very rare.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dgarrity
Fall River, MA
Jun 10, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Can’t wait to shave again...
After searching my entire life for a razor that would actually give me the extremely smooth shave I’ve been looking for without cutting or irritating my face, I came across this work of art. Motivated by not wanting to pay for expensive electric razor foils and the obscene cost of refill cartridges that left me disappointed, as a last attempt to get the perfect shave, I thought back to my fathers old double edge razor and thought perhaps the old way of doing things would somehow be a new way of shaving for me. Admittedly, this is my first double edge razor and I’ve only used it once, but the Futura is definitely the last razor I’ll ever have to buy. Having extremely sensitive skin I was nervous about taking the very first stroke. To my amazement, It just glides over the skin smoothly and efficiently. I’m still experimenting with the adjustable settings (I’m starting with #2) but I think I’ve found what works best with my very first shave. I can’t think of anything that I don’t like about it - I don’t believe I ever will. Right out of the gate this is the best razor I’ve ever used - and besides - it looks cool on my sink.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steven S
Celina, Tx
Apr 23, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Easiest safest best razor I ever had.
This was my first safety razor. I finally abandoned the practice of paying way way too much money for those dull expensive over-priced Mach 3 disposables. This razor was very easy to learn to use, as I am a beginner at using a safety razor. It is a very nice close shave. The blades are easy to change and it is very adjustable. It is also a sturdy handle and overall I can see it lasting me for years. Andddd it will save me BIG money, very quickly, compared to using a Mach 3. Do the math. A Mach 3- 5 blade cartridge replacement pack at $14.00 for 365 days shaving costs $1,022.00, add at least $8.00 for the Mach 3 handle and it totals $1,030.00 a year to shave using Mach3 (and you dont even get anywhere as close or as nice a shave as the safety razor), as compared to the Merkur razor blade replacement 30 pack at $19.00 for 365 days shaving costs $230.00 plus the $78.00 handle totals $308.00 plus the $15.00 for the badger hair brush and three $4.00 shaving soap cakes totals all in all $335.00... Thats almost a $700.00 a year savings and a MUCH MUCH BETTER shave with the safety razor and blades process.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Th
Hanford, CA
Apr 04, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great Razor!
I Shave everyday and have just gotten into the safety razor thing because of the reduced cost of the blades. I was a little nervous at first, but that was quickly overcome with how well this razor and method of shaving works. I would and do recommend this razor and shaving method to anyone interested in a good comfortable shave. The hard part is remembering that you don't need to or want to push on the razor. I keep my setting on the Futur at about 2.5 amd get about 8 shaves per blade.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
R Franco-Cuevas
4163 E 24th Street, Tucson, Arizona 85711
Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Merkur Futur Adjustable Three Piece Razor, Brushed Chrome
So far the Merkur Futur Adjustable Three Piece Razor is as I expected it. It has the right weight, and the shaving is smooth. I have not adjusted the blade jet because, since I set it in #1, I am still shaving perfectly. What I like about my new razor is the easy way to change the blade, the shape, the reliability, and the easy way to shave. After I apply shave cream on my face, I enjoy my shaving. I do not have to shave every day and my skin does not get damage when shaving.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Patrik L.
Sweden
Jul 14, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Greatest shave ever!
Got it yesterday, tried it today - best shave ever and will never ever use anything else... Setting: #1. Why didn´t anyone tell me about it (or at least something like it) 20 years ago? That would have saved me a lot of pain... No more plastic razors for me... Hope that this one will last a lifetime! PS. Great service as always from KnifeCenter - Thanks! DS. Patrik from Sweden.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Albuquerque, Nm
Apr 11, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great quality and design
Going on my fourth safety razor over the years. You can really tell where the extra money goes. First, the simple stand that doesn't take up a lot of space is beautiful. The satin finish has a great feel. The brush is excellent compared to my other two brushes. It's soft but firm enough to spread the lather effectively. Second the razor is very comfortable in your hand. It's size and thickness is just right. It's head not only has adjustable settings it has a guiding edge that doesn't allow the blade to "scrap" your skin. Leaving you with a clean non-irritated feel. For a guy that can only shave once a week because of my skin. This razor is worth every penny.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dom S.
Bayside New York
Dec 24, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
AWESOME!!!!!
This is my first der and will be my last!!! This razor is AMAZING controll is a breeze,the closest shave in my life! Started on the 1 setting will try 2 next time but outstanding buy, and orded on Wednesday and recieved by x-mas eve!! Love this razor and HIGHLY recommend!!
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gerry
Norwood, MA
Oct 05, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
A shave back to the future
I bought the Merkur Futura to get away from the over priced and obnoxiously expensive Gillette Fusion products. The safety razors this shaver uses cost only a fraction of what the Gillette shaver cartridges cost. The good news is that you can get a shave that is every bit as good as the modern day shavers. The downside is that it takes a little longer to get the best shave and do it safely. This is the style shaver that I learned to shave with 45 years ago. This particular shaver has a heavy feel and essentially requires no further pressure on the skin to shave. Just let the weight of the shaver do the job. I'm using the adjustment set on #2 as I tried #4 and ended up with a good razor burn. The skin needs to acclimate to this style of shaving. The initial cash outlay isn't any more than what you'd blow on about 6-months worth of fancy shaving cartridges. I'm definitely happy with this purchase.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jean R
Gatineau, Canada
Sep 05, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Ultra shave
Great design and a confortable shaving
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mukk
Kentucky
Dec 04, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Doubt I will ever need another razor
Well made, well balanced razor. At the beginning it took around twice as long to shave with this as with the usual store bought suspects; but after a couple of weeks and getting used to just using the razor's own balance and short strokes, takes no longer, provides a closer shave and no cuts or burns anymore. I would highly recommend for those who easily burn their necks. I've seen plenty of reviews claiming the need to use only premium (translates to expensive) blades, and changing them constantly. I use cheap Personna blades from the local discount store with no problem, and see no need to change blades much more often than I did with my old multi-blade cartridges. Admittedly my beard is not of hedgehog consistency. Aside: Splurge on a nice brush. There is a big difference between a cheap hogshair brush and a decent badger one.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Y Hird
Central Florida
Aug 02, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Pure Perfection
This is my first double sided safety razor. I switched from disposable razors because of the extortionately high prices. Not in a million years would I have expected such a close and comfortable shave from a single razor blade. I found the setting at 1.5 to be the best. Great razor. I would highly recommend it for anyone who wants a great shave at a great price!
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
William H. Barnwell
WV
Jul 09, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
This razor is very good
This razor is very good. It reminded me back when I started shaving.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alejandro H.
Gilroy, California
Jun 19, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Function and meets beauty
I purchased this this razor back in 2000 for a few bucks less than its current retail price and i've used it ever since. Worth every penny! What is a heavy razor? I guess it depends on who you ask. I like its weight and use it to my advantage...let the razor weight apply the pressure and you provide the control. I shave every other day and a blade will last me about 5 months.....unlike the Mach III which would last me 1.5 weeks. This the reason why i started to look for a different type of razor. Straight edge is the best for shaving but not practical for traveling and maintenance. Everyone claims "modern" blade/cartridges are beyond expensive.......and i totaly agree. What I do is i buy my blades at Wal-Mart and buy a 10-pack for about USD2.00 and buy a few packs. Next time i see them im really going to stock up since the price of these refills are also on the rise. I will only go back to using modern shaving equipment if i have no other option. This razor is awersome! I recommend it because you can also control how close can shave. Once you find the setting that works for you, you never have to re-adjust.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kane
Mt Home Ar
Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great Razor
I let the razor rest in a glass of hot water while I lather up the wiskers,on the first setting it gives me the closest shave I've ever had.I needed a more cost effective way to shave and the Mercur was the answer.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Theo
Soquel
Feb 07, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Clean shave
Over the years I've tried them all, electric, disposables, straight razors even the Rolls Razor... This is by far the easiest and best shave ever. I will never go back. I love the wight, feel, ease of use and quality of my new razor. Best shaving purchase ever
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe B.
Bloomington, IL.
Aug 29, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Nice razor
I am still learning how this works with me. It is a nice smooth shave on new blades. Start on "1" an move up until you are satisfied and don't cut yourself. Nice weight and easy adjustment. If you have bumps or an angular face be careful. It is the best sahve I've had in a long time.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Obey
Orland, FL
Mar 17, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Nice Razor
An all-around great razor. One thing they tell you not to do is tap it on your sink when cleaning- it's not for the razor's safety- it is sturdy enough to chip your sink. And beware the settings past 3 as you can get some serious razor burn. Probably the last razor of this type you'll ever buy. It's that good and that substantial.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jd
Ocala, FL
Dec 18, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Best Shave I've Ever Had!!!
Firstly, Great job Knifecenter. Shipped next day, arrived in 3 days!!! Out of the box, first time using it, it put to shame every other razor I've ever used. (many disposables, mach 4, mach 3, electrics, and cheap straight razors)Well worth the investment. I found it a few dollars cheaper elsewhere, but I'll always pay a few dollars extra for knifecenter service and shipping!!
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve H
Cullman, AL
Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good
Shave
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Harold D.
San Antonio, TX
Mar 06, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great razor!
This razor will shave every bit as close as any multi-edge disposable. Blades are a lot more cost effective, at about a dime apiece. I get about a week per edge, so one blade lasts two weeks, more or less. Haven't tried the more extreme settings, but no real reason to. Just goes to show that, in some things, old school rules!
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mick
Ms.
Jul 02, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Nice Razor
I have been using this razor for several years and it is awesome. You won't get a closer shave that this and the quality is outstanding.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gary
NYC
Mar 06, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Mercur razor
Works well. Great product
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob
Bobsville
Aug 23, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None
Futura
I finally used the Merkur Futura. The razor may be a bit on the heavy side, but the first shaves were close without cuts. I guess that you can't ask for more than that from a razor. The only change that I would make is ribbing on the handle to improve the grip, particularly when the handle is wet.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 4 stars out of 5
G. B
Spokane, Wa
Nov 03, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very good quality, takes practice.
In all fairness, I've used disposables for years. With those I'm finding you can shave much quicker. This razor is very precise and sharp. I cut myself with the same type of strokes I'm used to using. Today, I slowed down and was much more deliberate with my shaving technique and it worked much better for me. I believe a few more shaves will prove the superiority of this system. I highly recommend this razor for those who want to get away from the typical disposable shave experience.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 4 stars out of 5
G. B
Spokane, WA
Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Very good quality, takes practice.
Nice razor but much different than the cheap (relative) disposable razors or multiblade heads. Go easy and take your time so you don't cut the hell out of your face.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
Minneapolis
Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Quality Razor Worth the Price
This razor provides a very close shave, such that I can go two days without shaving if I can accept a slight showing of growth at the end of the second day. I could never do that with cartridge razors. The razor is heavy which, once I got used to it, I prefer. I use it on setting 2 and have no reason to change. Good blades provide a comfortable shave longer: cheap blades wear out in 2-3 uses while quality blades provide 4-5. Handle can get a little slippery with shave cream on it. High quality I expect from a German product.
Merkur #70 Futur Adjustable Safety Razor, Brushed Chrome
rated 3 stars out of 5
Robert B.
Austin Texas
Jul 18, 2012
Pros: Durability, None
Cons: Overall Quality
A great shave.
The shaver gives a very good shave; I credit that to the weight and robust construction. I've had the shaver for about a year, I'm dissatisfied with the poor quality clean up of the metal flashing on the handle. The chrome finish has flaked off from the flashings sharp edges as well as a small area on the handle where it was attached to what looks like a casting tree durring the manufacturing process. For the price I paid for this shaver I expected not only a great shave but a great looking shaver that would last a life time. A minor point, the handle is slippery when wet and covered with soap, could use a knurled surface treatment to correct this problem.