Reviews and Ratings for CAS Hanwei V-42 WWII Dagger 7" Blade, Stacked Leather Handle, Leather Sheath - KH2124

CAS Hanwei V-42 WWII Dagger 7" Blade, Stacked Leather Handle, Leather Sheathrated 3.556 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
3.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
2
CAS Hanwei V-42 WWII Dagger 7 inch Blade, Stacked Leather Handle, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $89.95

Save $31.05 (26%) Off Retail

View Product Details
CAS Hanwei V-42 WWII Dagger 7" Blade, Stacked Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carl Kline
Virginia
Jun 19, 2009
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Mr.
I've been buying this item over the past five years from the knife center. I've always been satisfied with the service and the quality of the knife. I use them in custom made shadow boxes for special operators that work at the Pentagon. The office gives them as a going away gift for the service they've provided. It is an excellent knife. I hope you keep it in your inventory.
CAS Hanwei V-42 WWII Dagger 7" Blade, Stacked Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anton Chiseliov
Republic of Moldova , Chishinau
May 29, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Exelent knife
I'm so happy , that few days ago i bought this replica . Awsome stuff ! This is high quality knife , and good historical replica for my collection .
CAS Hanwei V-42 WWII Dagger 7" Blade, Stacked Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Xray
oconus
Jan 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Nice blade
I have the Colt version of this historical piece. The CAS Hanwei is much better. The price these guys sell it for is the best out there. I am happy with the purchase.
CAS Hanwei V-42 WWII Dagger 7" Blade, Stacked Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy T.
Colorado
Oct 03, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
V42 Review
I use the knife and scabbard as presentation gifts. Although it is a good reproduction, I wish it wasn't made in China.
CAS Hanwei V-42 WWII Dagger 7" Blade, Stacked Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
C. L. K
Stafford, VA
Jun 20, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great Replica
Used in shadowboxes for Special Ops folks leaving the Pentagon. My personal favorite for this purpose. No need for the sheath, could be eliminated, or offered as an option. I was shocked to see the significant jump in price, but after talking to a sales rep understand the problem with the forge. I hope it gets back on line and the price of the item returns to a more reasonable level. Over the past 10 years, I've purchased over 50 of these knives. The individuals that get them love them.
CAS Hanwei V-42 WWII Dagger 7" Blade, Stacked Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Grease Jockey
AZ
Sep 05, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality
Decent but imperfect
I've been EDCing this knife for 3 months now, in both the OE sheath and a boot sheath I made. I have put it to some reasonable cutting tasks, but now mostly carry it concealed as a backup weapon in my boot, which it does very comfortably due to its thin profile. The first thing to note, since most who buy this knife are historic collectors, is its historic inaccuracy. The originals had hollow ground blades,flat cross guards and thick leather glued to the bottom of the cross guards. These have flat ground blades, and curved cross guards with thin leather glued to them. There is also the matter of ricassos, because the originals had neatly curved thumb grooves machined out, and these have haphazardly flatly ground imitations of that. The original sheaths also did not have the mid mount belt slots, just the top loop. There are some quality control issues, albeit of much less concern since most won't use these for real world tasks. The blade finish is of low quality, and came off the top on me while eating canned fruit with it. The rivets used in the sheath are very cheap, and will come apart with much of any use. The very soft metal used to make the skull crusher was rusted under the (apparently) powder coat, and flaked off in many spots just from the most basic of carrying. One thing that has not let me down is the blade steel. It's a good spring steel that for its size and shape leaves little to be desired. Also, in spite of the historic inaccuracy and poor rivets, the sheath is quite nice and much more useful than I had thought, carrying nicely in spite of its long length, and being abnormally easy for a fixie to drive with since you can just pull it up out of the way. They are serviceable, and in handling one you have a much more real idea of the originals than merely looking at pictures. The are probably the best historic option on the market besides an actual case made replica for nearly 5 times more money, but if you wish to buy one to collect or use, be aware that its performance and historic detailing don't live up to the reviews.
CAS Hanwei V-42 WWII Dagger 7" Blade, Stacked Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Clayton
Las Cruces, Nm
Oct 14, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Decent, but way over priced
This knife arrived with the skull crusher already unscrewed from the handle. Strike one. This is a decent replica of a knife similar to the original V42, but only a replica. Decent quality, but nothing spectacular to brag about. The sheath is a joke and a bad one at that. The retaining strap needs to be another inch higher. As it comes, the strap will no secure to the snap around the middle of the handle.
CAS Hanwei V-42 WWII Dagger 7" Blade, Stacked Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Bama Otter
Maryville, TN
Oct 27, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Weight, Overall Quality
FRAUD
Knife is as "authentic" as "genuine imitation vinyl leather". The Case V-42 stiletto's blade was HOLLOW GROUND. This knife is nothing but a standard dagger blade with leather handle and skull-crusher pommel. Nothing like the real thing. Will be returning. I have replicas of several knives and they are true to original design. This isn't close.
CAS Hanwei V-42 WWII Dagger 7" Blade, Stacked Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jnewsom
aurora ill
Mar 30, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Weight, Materials, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
bad choice pure junk
the only good thing was the sheath the rest fell apart pure garbage