Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheathrated 4.231 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
6
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5 inch Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $55.23

Save $9.75 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rjm
NY
Dec 08, 2011
Pros: Finish, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
new favorite
This knife is one of my new favorites. The 5" blade is about perfect length for hard use. It is capable of batoning and splitting small pieces of wood. Mine came from the factory very close to razor sharp. Just a touch up from a diamond rod and it was shaving hair. The knife is a scandi grind (meaning only one bevel) which makes it excellent for woodworking and a breeze to sharp. it's like a Mora on steroids. This knife is standing up beautifully to the abuse I've been giving it for about a year. Bought the Kumunga knife because I liked it so much. Love the Kumunga even more than this.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clownshoes
Apex, NC
Jul 23, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Knife
Glad I went with the 5" it has a really good feel and balance to it. Haven't had a chance to use it camping yet but have no doubts it will be very useful. Edge is nice and sharp and polished from the factory which I'm coming to expect from Condor. Handle is comfortable and good quality. Sheath is thick and durable. It does look like a steak knife from outback (still waiting for one of my friends to make fun of that) but if that bothers you they have the bushlore knife for you. Only concern is I'm worried the sheath will loosen with use and I'll end up losing the knife hiking or something.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mikenh
new hampshire
Oct 14, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Good Deal
Sharp right out of the box. Blade thickness just about right for all around camping/bushcraft chores. As always Condor gives you quite a bang for the buck! Great sheath, hard to beat this knife.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gilbert
north carolina
Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Fine product
I purchased this knife to use as an all purpose knife. I use it in the kitchen most of the time to replace my stainless steel knives. It is great for chopping, mincing, and slicing. The sheath is one of the best quality leather sheaths I have ever purchased. This knife is also good for outdoor activities as well. Highly recommend. A little touch up on the sharpness and it really cut well.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ricardo S
San Antonio, Tx
Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great camp knife or all purpose hunting knife. Carbon steel is easier to sharpen and this one holds an edge for a good long time.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bloodracuted
Virginia
Mar 15, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
Decent knife for the price
Excellent knife for the price. Fairly sharp from the factory, had to do a little touch up work to it.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
John Kilsby
Fort Worth, Texas
Jun 06, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great Knife
Good strong knife. Easy to sharpen
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Will K.
Florida
Apr 21, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Good Basic Knife
I purchased this knife for my GHB (get home bag) in my car kit. I've used it for some light bush crafting to get a feel for the blade. The sheath is top quality. You couldn't buy a better sheath no matter how much you spent. The knife is a very basic, bushcraft/camp knife. I actually like how simple it is, as it has the feel and look of what I imagine the frontiersman used back when America was being discovered. The knife is comfortable to work with and it's overall size of it is perfect for camp, utility and general purpose use. I really dig fixed blade knives in the 5-6” blade length range for field use. Shorter or longer knives just aren’t as useful for me. The blade steel isn't overly thick, to where it interferes with finer tasks, but is thick and long enough to handle batonning limbs up to about 3". It performed that task easily enough. The materials used to make the knife seem to be of good quality. So far, it's held its edge well and easily re-sharpens. The blade didn't chip with heavier work like my Mora did. Another positive that can't be overlooked is the price point, about $30 delivered. You could equip a family of 4 with these Condors for the same cost of just equipping one family member with an ESEE, but the realistic performance difference between those two knife types is just about moot. If you lose the Condor in the woods, no biggie since it didn't cost you much. Onto the negatives about the knife. A coil and/or guard would have added alot of functionality to the design. The fit and finish of the knife is mediocre, with tooling marks and uneven edges present. The paint coating used on the blade scrapes off readily with even the lightest use. In essence, the knife is bare bones basic with a price point to match, but will get the job done in the field.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Marabe 999
CO
Jul 13, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None
Workhorse
It feels comfortable, big enough for bushcraft, strong for hardwork and the sheath is perfect for its use.A little bit heavy, but anyone can get used to that and is not so difficult to sharpen it.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shooter11b
Enumclaw, WA
Jan 26, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
EXCELLENT
Of the two Bushcaft Basic knives, this is the onbe to get. Forget the 4" model. For all the faults of the 4", this one has none. That is very strange to me but this knife was superior in every respect to the smaller version. It was also dull out of the box but sharpened up brilliantly. The handle is larger and fits the hand very well. The tip of the blade is not as curved as the four inch and is much more suitable for basic Bushcraft uses. Overall, the way to go or better yet, GET A BUSHLORE.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jransom
Northwest Arkansas
Sep 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Finish
Good Project Knife
My basic bushcraft was NOT a great knife out of the box. However, it was solidly constructed with good carbon steel. After changing the grind angle and resharpening it is almost "Mora sharp". So far, I have done some very heavy batoning and had no problems with the scales. If you are willing to pay someone to change the bevel or do it yourself, this is a good knife at a great price. If you want immediate performance don't buy it.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bill
New Jersey
Apr 28, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, Materials
5" Condor Basic
Used for bushcrafting, outdoor activities. Great look, feel with a nice finish. Sheath was good quality Knife was EXTREMELY dull on arrival and took a while to sharpen
Condor Tool & Knife CTK236-5HC Bushcraft Basic Camp Knife 5" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Berk
The deep swamps of New Jersey
Feb 07, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish, None
Very VERY "Basic"
I have 2 other Condors, which I like. Bought this for the extra length compared to the "BushLore". I find this one a little TOO "Basic". I find no way to safely hold / use this one. The design just isn't working for me. Ah well. Can't win 'em all, eh? -Berk