Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall

Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overallrated 4.556 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13 inch Overall

 

Price: $44.95

Save $25.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr
San diego
Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, Balance, None
Great weight. Seated well, better than expected. Should prove to be a solid camp axe.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert Lee
GEORGIA USA
Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
EFFICENT DESIGN AND SOLID TOOL
I have extensive experience at swinging steel in a wide variety of environments. I bought both hawks and use them weekly for cutting tree limbs, clearing and felling trees up to 10" in diameter at times in tree tops. Both hawks are well balanced and use them one handed with minimal effort at 57 years old. These hawks hold an edge and require little maintenance. The hawk design and symmetry are perfect for what I use them for.. The price is fair - and sheaths adequate for use. Mine don't spend much time in the sheath anyway. I prefer putting an edge on my tools as opposed to being shipped with an edge-as depending on the task, your edge will vary. Each hawk also would serve well as a close combat tool.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ccfree
3100 feet
Jan 05, 2018
Pros: Construction, Handle Material
Cons: None
Slammed it into logs for hours
I been throwing this thing for a couple weeks. I gotta say it do put a dent in a log. Then after throwing hundreds of times it will still chop okay. Once you throw it for a while your gonna want to put an edge on before building a cabin. While I was at it I popped the head off and tried using it as a knife and as a splitting wedge worked pretty good as a wedge and okay as a knife or Uluu if that’s all you had. It comes with a kydex slip cover thingy which l put on it and slip it through my belt while walking around the property works good. Planning on making a 36” handle (i.e.tree limb) and seeing how it chops.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom H
Illinois
Jun 03, 2018
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
When You Care Enough to Send the Very Best
As a wood processing tool, the CRKT Woods Chogan is just, alright. It will chop and split, but there are many axes/hatchets out there (Hults Bruk, Cold Steel, Condor Tool & Knife) with heads designed just for chopping wood that will perform better. I even found a nice Swiss Military Surplus Small Swiss Axe, for under $20, at KnifeCenter.com that I would wager would chop wood better by design. As a mid-18th century tactical weapon for close quarter combat in the forests of Northeastern United States, this ‘hawk really shines. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I took it out in the back yard and put it through the paces. I chopped and split some well seasoned split white oak into kindling. I’d say it performed the tasks better than most of my tomahawks, but not as well as any of my axes and hatchets. If this is what you had, it will work. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Next, I threw it at, “Mack the Knife Throwing Target.” I never hit Mack, but I planted it in the tree behind the target on my third throw. Seems like a good throwing ‘hawk. I stopped before the neighbors called the police about the crazy man. The irritating thing is, that when it fails to lodge in a target, and grazes/bounces off, the head detaches from the handle, sometimes flying off dangerously. A friend who does 1812 re-enactment suggested wrapping fine copper wire under the head. That may do the trick. I’m sure there is a common cure; I’m just ignorant of it. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I’ve seen the sheath available from CRKT for this thing. Do you really want to undo 3 snaps to get at your tomahawk? You can make a nice one strap quick release, drop-out-the-bottom, leather/copper rivet sheath (lazy man sheath, no stitching) using the black guard/packaging that comes with the Chogan, as a sheath liner. Cut off the bottom tabs, except the one holding the hammer end (this will be retention/pivot point). Trim back the front guard so blade can swing clear as it drops out with hammer in retention on pivot point/hammer shelf. Next, trim a notch in the plastic so a retention strap will hug the blade snugly at the heel (blade bit side, see axe anatomy), just forward of the handle. This is now the sheath liner, and the pattern for your leather. Add half of the depth of the ‘hawk, plus 5/8” for the rivets/contact cement to the outside dimension on 3 sides (not the bottom). Add ¾” forward of furthest ark of blade edge so it clears freely as it swings from retention (critical). Include 2 straps from front top, going around to the back for belt retention, and one strap from back, to front, for ‘hawk retention. I usually make cardboard pattern from cereal box, cut separate cardboard straps, and adjust, then tape them in place with ‘hawk inside the pattern. I used 24 line Pull-Dot snaps on the belt straps (won’t yield to belt pressure, only when straps pulled from bottom), and a regular 24 line snap for ‘hawk retention/quick release strap. Punch holes for rivets about every 1”- 1.5” on 3 sides. Contact cement liner to one side of leather (I riveted mine in 2 of the holes in liner for added security). Place hawk in liner, and contact cement edges of leather on 3 sides. Place two sides together, aligning punched holes. Set copper rivets, alternating hammer side, blade bit side, then do top edge rivets last. It’s a useful, ruggedly handsome sheath, with more bling than a rapper on a Las Vegas holiday. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Well, I can see I’m going to have fun quick drawing this ‘hawk, and playing Roger’s Rangers in the backyard, until the trip to the emergency room, when my wife takes it away from me. Don’t try this at home, kiddies.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Calvin
Brunswick Georgia, USA
Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Excellent tool, solid materials & decent craftsmanship
Excellent tomahawk by CRKT. Hickory handle, good high carbon steel blade holds a good working edge, stays sharp & functional hammerhead. Will definitely refer to friends...
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stitch
Grand Island, Nebraska
Aug 09, 2014
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Construction, Head Material
Cons: Weight, None
Solid Tool
I just received this model, and haven't had it out chopping yet, but have no doubt it will handle most chopping jobs with ease. Pull this unit out during a fight, and unless the dorfs have a gun, they will turn tail and beat it out of sight! Larger overall than I had imagined from the picture - I will have to pump some iron to be able to swing this baby with ease. As is, it's built like a tank, and still has the appearance of the old tomahawk styles the Indians used.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim C
South Carolina
Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight
Really Good Chopper!
Really cuts well. I had been using a Gerber hatchet and this is much better for chopping. I know that some of the reason is heaver weight so there are trade offs. Great shape head for chopping and the hammer on the opposite end is great for tent stakes or any hammering tasks. It came pretty sharp and after a little work on the Work Sharp it has a really nice edge. The bottom edge looks sharp but it is not but you can correct this if you want.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stéphane V
Québec , Canada
Apr 08, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Excellent quality
Very well made , nice handle This tomahawk Will make native american jealous . Knife center give a very good service :)
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Calvin
Brunswick Georgia, USA
Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Excellent tool, solid materials & decent craftsmanship
Excellent tomahawk by CRKT. Hickory handily, good high carbon steel blade & hammerhead. Will definitely refer to friends...
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon M.
Stafford Virginia
Aug 01, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Balance, None
great camp tool
This not a light weight hawk but a heavier version of a hawk that works like a small ax but since the head is easily removed it can be used to carve and process food. Nice finish. No need to strip it and blue it or force patina the head. Only downside is it does not come with a sheath.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Indiana
Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Amazing hawk!
Fell in love with this the moment I laid hands on it. This has everything I was looking for in a tomahawk. The factory edge ain't too great, but the edge it will hold after resharpening will last a while.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dan L
Northern Ontaro, Canada
Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Head Material, None
Great tomahawk, great use as an axe and good for throwing it at stuff. Although would be better if it was 1095. All and all great tomahawk/medium size axe. Not to heavy to carry on your pack when your going hunting. This will b my tree stand hammer for spikes and I will cut pieces to lenght with it. / Throw it at targets for fun.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Darrell B
Sedgwick,ME.
Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Chogan T-hawk
I bought the Chogan for my stepson who is going to live a self sufficient lifestyle in Alaska. He loves the overall construction, weight an balance. The only problem is when you put the head on it wasn't perfectly straight. The head is cocked off to the side slightly.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark N
Lakemoor, Il
Dec 02, 2015
Pros: Construction, None
Cons: Weight
Excellent but DULL!!!! Did CRKT even attempt to sharpen?
Collect a LOT of Axes, hawks knives etc. This was by far the dullest blade I have ever received. Dull to the point that it was just useless. Fit and finish are top rate. All though there was a LOT of curling of the shaft above the hawks head. had to get out the exacto knife and trim all the way around. The sharpening took about an hour as I do most of mine by hand. Was VERY disappointed with the way the T-Hawk was sent out. Not acceptable from CRKT. Would of given a 5 if someone would of attempted to sharpen this hawk. Otherwise the hawk is what I had expected. Little heavy, but that could be a good thing in the long run.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Morgan
Washington state
Aug 28, 2014
Pros:
Cons:
Love this
Love this tomahawk the sheath is so so.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bear
Heber Springs, AR
Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
Good material BAD finish
The hawk wasn't bad, but wasn't good either. The head was pressed on, couldn't get it to come off to refinish the handle and had a lot of curled up wood above it. The finish on the head is rough also. The beard was as dual as a butter knife and the rest of the blade wasn't real good either. The one good thing about this hawk is the material. And for 50 bucks you think it would come with a sheath. Don't get me wrong I'm glad I picked it up and am happy to own it, but will be happier once I get the finish taken care of and a sheath for the thing. I do like the design very much, I think it's going to be a very useful tool.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mr. G
New York
May 06, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
Very nice piece
Nice piece. Hefty hard wood handle to match the weight of the head. Love the beard profile but will need to sharpen the blade before putting it to use. I will also add a grip of some kind as the handle finish is very slick.
Columbia River CRKT 2730 RMJ Woods Chogan T-Hawk Tomahawk with Hammer, 19.13" Overall
rated 3 stars out of 5
Legroovynoo
Alabama
Jul 19, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Balance
Ok--Just not "Good" at anything
Most tomahawks have cool/fun factor. The Woods Chogan is no different -it's cool, and looks good. However, after having it for a few years, I can say that I wish I would have bought something else. It not really "Good" at anything. The concept is great, but the head design holds it back. It's just not great at the two things most people will use it for- occasional light chopping, and splitting. Sometimes if feels down right poor at these tasks! Especially the splitting. Though, it's not why I bought this THawk, as a weapon it's too heavy for my taste On paper the 2lb Head combined with a 19" handle makes perfect sense! Great combo that is versatile camping and at home. However, I found that when you actually get to using the Chogan, it feels heavier than it is. This is because of the lacking performance- everything takes more effort than it should. It also doesn't hold a great edge. It's definitely usable, and if it performed just a little better I would be content with it. It's also true that everyone has different uses-- I bought this for general outdoor excursions/camping, and for occasional use around the yard. It may suit you better than I. However, I think they missed the mark on this one.