Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handlesrated 4.667 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402 inch Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $31.95

Save $18.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Loris
Richland, Wa
Jun 25, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Excellent design - decent construction by CRKT (considering the price)
The Pilar is very popular for a reason: it is a great design and for the ~$25 street price, it is quite the bargain. The ergonomics are great and it came quite sharp out of the box. There were a few gripes though: first, it came very gritty and second, the blade was not centered. It was so gritty, it was a pain to open and impossible to flip, the blade would not move much by itself. I tried to disassemble the knife (after watching nick Shabazz tutorial) but the screws were not cooperating and the Loctite on the pivot so strong that I gave up by fear of stripping the screw. I was surprised that the screws holding the clip had some thread locker too even though it is designed to be a resersible clip. The thread locker left some goop on the original clip hole. I oiled the knife and it helped a little bit, it can now be flipped with quite the wrist action though.
Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Upstate NY
Jun 04, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight
Small but versatile knife
The Pilar is an elegant and sturdy knife with a versatile flat-ground blade. It's a great EDC knife, equally comfortable slicing avocados and fruit, or cutting rope and cardboard. Adding a small snake knot lanyard provides a more secure grip.
Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Angola, In
Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great blade
Yes I am so glad to get the Pilar from CRKT. I use it all the time as a back up blade to my CRKT Vizzle.. both by Voxneas. Fits the hand great and just enough blade to do my every day task..
Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chirs
barrie canada
May 14, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
great little knife
A little knife that does big things.
Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Geo
Vancouver BC
Sep 09, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Blade Material
Great value and design
CRKT and Vox did a fantastic job of bringing his design aesthetic into an entry level price point folder. The Pilar has features that you don't normally get in this price point- a Reeve integral folding mechanism that is extremely solid, a flat ground blade with a well designed choil for close up work, and a pocket clip that can be adjusted for tip up or tip down carry. It sits well in the hand, opens and shuts with the authority of a bank vault, and sharpens up easily. It has become my pocket EDC of choice, displacing more expensive folders. It's also one of my favorite knives to guve to people as a gift, because it offers so much value and enjoyment for the money
Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tm
USA
Mar 03, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Simple and solid
Some might find this too heavy but I like the heft of it, it is very solid and opening/closing is very smooth. The blade seems to be holding it edge well and arrived sharp enough to finish off a spot I had missed while shaving. I use this little guy for chopping, slicing, scraping and even a little light prying although I'm confident it would stand up to more abuse there isn't much to be had now that I'm in the office. It also looks good so that's a plus.
Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris B
Boston, Massachusetts
Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, None
Cons: Weight
Excellent EDC Option
It's very compact and I really like the blade profile. For the price, it's hard to beat and I love Jesper's designs.
Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken S
Kirkland, Wa
Feb 06, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Love this knife
Pleasantly surprised when I got this, nice build quality and feels sturdy in the hand (a bit of weight to it which some might view as a con). Nice solid framelock, fits in the hand pretty well with the finger choil. Action is very smooth out of the box. For $25, it's a good deal.
Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aadne
Norway
Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great EDC
This was my first Jesper Voxnaes. Love the design, ergonomics, blade shape, sharpness and the price :) Nice and sharp out of the box. Used it a lot already. Lock seems tight and safe. Feels like a more expencive knife. Now I'm waiting for my next shipment from Knifecenter.
Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Christian
Sweden
Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Perfect EDC
Fits perfect in your EDC pocket.
Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Christopher
Presque Isle, Wi
Aug 27, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
Cons: None
Love It But Hate It
Loved it at first sight.. No assist, thumbhole, easy edge to hone, and a discreet size. Got it and nothing changed, until I tried to cut anything longer than the tape at the end of a box. Maybe I'm chicken, though maybe I'm smart, but I don't like to choke up on a razor blade to cut things like cardboard or plastic sheathing. It's that choil at the edge of the blade. They want to give room for a "full grasp", but it hangs up on everything you cut. If you actually grasp the handle and don't fill that void it grabs/tears at everything. This is a knife trend that needs to stop. Don't ask me to grab the blade.. Find another way. Other than the design, the knife exceeded my expectations in every way. Smooth, sharp, classy, and quality.
Columbia River CRKT 5311 Jesper Voxnaes Pilar Folding Knife 2.402" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Shaznis H
Petaling Jaya ,Malaysia
Aug 19, 2019
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight, Blade Material
bought on 29/07/19 arrived on 19/08/2019!
-I'll intend to use it strictly for mobile knife utensil, since i'd already has spork/chop sticks and spoon (small size). -It's small size and perfectly fit with my portable utensil bag. -For other usage like opening a envelope or cutting tapes for boxes,I'd already owned victorinox pocket knife. -Would be great if CRKT made this Pilar series with lighter material for spacer and scale by factory finish.