Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles

Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handlesrated 4.500 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2 inch 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $44.95

Save $25.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
North Dakota
Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
CRKT Swindle
This is a very nice open assist knife with a slightly upswept blade. I am a fan of Ken Onion's knives, and own several. This one, I carry every day clipped on my left back pocket. It is an ambidextrous clip, so it works wonderfully. It's also a blade up carry, so left hand removal from my pocket has the knife ready to open with just a flick of the finger. No flipping the knife around to open it. With a very little bit of practice, I can open and close this knife one handed, with my weak hand, as I'm right handed. The open assist system is prone to slowing down, if it is dirty, but just washing the knife after using it on messy things, like BBQ ribs, and a quick dry with a paper napkin, takes care of the problem. A drop of a dry lubricant on the pivot point once a month after sharpening works wonders. With my Kershaw Leek in my right pocket, (clip re-configured for blade up carry) I can open and cut with either hand. I won't leave home without them.
Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William
Fresno, Ca
Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Best kife in the world??
I bought two of these and have hundreds of knives some costing more than $400...this knife was perfect in all ways..operation, blade quality, sharpness, look, etc. and was the best buy of all...CRKT really has good quality assurance and you cannot go wrong....bought FOUR more other styles last week!!!
Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
D.T. L.
Syracuse, N.Y.
Feb 04, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Excellent pocket knife
I bought this knife to replace one I have carried for several years. While the old knife served it's purpose, the Columbia River is a bit sleeker and opens a whole lot faster and easier.
Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary
Auberry, CA
Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Well Made Knife
Received the knife about a week ago. I was impressed by the knife when I opened the box. I chose this model over it's grooved sibling as I liked the much cleaner appearance. Price was not a determining factor between the two. The steel in this knife is of a good quality so the selection between the two was easier. The blade opening system is butter smooth and the blade was sharp enough out of the box. The pocket clip presents an interesting approach but it does work adequately (even when wearing jeans) and is one of the main reasons the knife maintains a clean design. Great price for a well made Ken Onion knife.
Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason
Barnesville, Oh
Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Ken onion swindle
It's a great slicer.uniqe pocket clip.over all awesome knife
Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian B
Bridgenorth , Other
Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Well Made Knife
The CRKT swindle knife is a really a solid quality knife with no blade play that comes with a razor sharp blade. This knife is ideal for EDC and I use it mainly for cutting fruit and the blade is well suited for this as well as harder use. I had thought about the other version of this knife but I liked the clean look of the plain handle more than the grooved handle of the Swedish Sandvik steel version. I already have a knife with 8Cr14MoV steel and I find this steel ok for general use and it does keep a good edge. The handle is solid and quite heavy and I like this in a knife because I am not a fan of light handled knives where all the weight is in the blade and the handle feels hollow.
Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tyler
Ohio
Dec 09, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Great knife but not without Quirks.
I bought this Knife because of it's looks that separate it from most other gentleman's knifes. I wanted a more formal carry knife that is as use full as it is astatically pleasing. I feel like I got both of those things from this Knife. The only two things I was not to crazy about is the pocket clip and the " swoop " design the blade makes with the handle. With the pocket clip the knife wants to always sit weird in my pocket. I find that the only way to comfortable carry this knife is in me back pocket. Which I am not to fond of. With regards to the design of the handle and blade is curves out. There where times when I would be using it to cut food and what not, then I set it down, pick it back up to use it and be holding it backwards ( edge side up.) yes I was distracted when this did happen but it is not a natural feel for it's hold. Everything else is A+ Great fitting. Frame lock is very clean. Polished blade looks nice. Simple elegant styling. Quick flip action. Sharp W/ good edge retention. Overall id give this knife a B. Great knife for a formal EDC. Maybe not the most functional, but what gentlemen's knife is??
Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles
france
Jun 10, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
very good knife
I love this knife for EDC, few problem like not really sharp, looks bigger on pics... But the shape is awesome and the flip work very well!!!
Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Buaya
South Malaysia
Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
No regrets
Very sleek, well balanced and feels really good and solid in hand.
Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Erik J
San Diego, Ca
Mar 26, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
Fun design
I love the clip on this because it sits well in slacks. The flipper works great and the blade came balanced and sharp. Two problems though. 1. The frame lock doesn't engage too well. I had instances where I was able to close it right after I flipped it open, without moving the frame lock. It feels a little loosey goosey. 2. The way this knife sits in your pocket, with the flipper on the same side as the clip, lends itself to opening up in your pocket. I did stab myself once, when I reached for it. So, you need to constantly make sure the blade is tight in an effort to mitigate the possibility of cutting your hand.
Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim M
mchenry IL
Apr 18, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
A fun little knife when the fun big knife isnt appropriate.
I purchased this knife as a gentleman's EDC for dress pants and occasions when it just wasnt practical or appropriate to carry a large or intimidating folder. This knife delivers in that respect and overall I would recommend it to people who are a fan of the IKBS system and need something a little more low profile. I am a huge fan of IKBS and other bearing pivot designs. IMHO they leave assisted and auto knives in the dust with less points of failure. They have become something of an obsession in my collection. So much that i wont buy a folder if it isnt a combination of flipper and bearings. If you have tried CRKT IKBS equipped knives in the past and found them to be wanting i would suggest trying them again. They have really come into their own and they have refined the way they set up the detent. Older CRKT knives really required some effort to ensure a fully deployed blade. Those days seem to be over as both this swindle and the recent Foresight I picked up have very well done detents that ensure they wont release the blade unless it will lock up. But it isn't so stiff that it will hurt your finger. Another point of interest is the handsome blade grind. CRKT knives usually have pretty good lines but I have noticed that their Chinese knives can be a little generic looking in their lines. Especially if you compare the Chinese ripple to the taiwan examples. The swindle has a very nicely executed hollow grind wharny blade that really does not elude to being chinese. The knife came reasonably sharp though i prefer my knives to be a little bit more keen. This could be a fluke as ive only experienced one of these. The blade is ever so slightly off center though to the lock side. Again this may only be my knife and I may be able to adjust it to be perfect later on. The ONLY reason I feel i cant give the knife a 5 rating is due to the clip area. First issue is while the clip is a neat idea I dont find it practical for all types of clothing. Dress slacks and thinner pants work well but the clip almost hates jeans. It feels a little awkward as it never sits completely flat like it would with a normal clip. The other issue with the clip is with the screws. Mine came loose from the factory and when tightening them it rendered the clip useless. apparently the backspacer and the clip are the exact same thickness. And with the screws tightened the clip gets clamped down on the sides and wont move with spring action like its supposed to. The only real solution is to grind a little relief into the clip as shimming the backspacer would offset the pivot area. All in all its a quite fun little flipper and great for playing with while on the computer.
Columbia River CRKT K240XXP Ken Onion Swindle 3.2" 8Cr14MoV Plain Blade, Smooth Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Randy T
Waipahu, Hi
Dec 02, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None
Columbia River K240XXP
Not intuitive. I must look at it to open. The clip, tho it has a really nice look, not really functional. I find that I end up picking it up from the ground too often. Love the knife. Would be a great knife for a purse.