Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles

Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handlesrated 4.235 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3 inch Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles

 

Price: $31.95

Save $18.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tony St
Atlanta
Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best everyday carry ever
I find this knife very easy to open and durable. I am in and our of salt water and have had no issues of rust. Great value.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife Nut
Roanoke,VA
May 29, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Awesome
this is a later review of the this knife. I previously said that i didn't like the auto-lock and I don't. but after using a normal flathead screw driver and one of those tiny philips head screw driver that you use for glasses. this knife totally rocks, i've had this knife for almost six months and abused it alot at work, from cutting and sharpening pencils to just throwing it into a piece of wood, which bent the tip, it's not a throwing knife after all. but this knife can take abuse and still hold an edge
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James L
Fredericksburg, VA
Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good, dependable knife
I've owned this knife for approx. 2 years now. As a Retired US army Scout I used knives for mission support constantly... Now as an IT professional- I don't have a need for a carry knife nearly as much but I love to hunt and this knife is always in my pocket... it holds an edge better than any of my Gerber blades and it quicker and built better than any of my Kershaw knives... I touch up the edge about once every two weeks - not that it needs it... it's never seems to get dull, even with heavy use outside... I've gutted and cleaned an entire deer carcass without the need to sharpen in the field and it was still sharp enough to use back at base camp for anything I needed. excellent knife - I now own four of them, two M16 models and two M21 models - I'll probably never purchase anything else except my CRKT from now on...
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Max K
Montana
Sep 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Best Pocketknife I've Had
Excellent knife. I've owned three of these over the last few years, always the plain edge. Easy one hand opening, as fast as any of the SOG springloaded assist knives while being much lighter and smaller. I'm never without this knife, and it's easy to carry everyday because it has one of the thinnest and lightest closed-profile of any knife. Factor in a good blade, easy maintenance, and its cheap price (relative to SOG, Gerber, Benchmade), I will be buying this knife for many years to come. Two things I did were 1) take the pocketclip off. A Torx 6 (itsy bitsy) removes the three screws. Get one anyway because it's also the size of the screws that hold the rest of the knife together. Which brings me to 2) I disassembled the whole knife and removed the Auto-LAWKS doohickey. I can see why it's there, but I don't need that kind of childproofing on a knife. That's just a preference thing, I lived with the double lock for a year before I got bored one day and took it apart. It doesn't even come close to a deal-breaker for buying this badboy.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim B
Indiana
Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, None
Great Knife
I carry this knife on me at all times. Very sharp, opens easily and is a great overall blade for any use.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wildman
Randolph,N.Y.
Dec 27, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, None
A quality,sharp,lightweight knife
I LIKE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS KNIFE EXCEPT THE LOCK RELEASE.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tony S
Atlanta
Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best everyday carry ever
I find this knife very easy to open and durable. I am in and our of salt water and have had no issues of rust. Great value.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
New Hampshire
Jun 29, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
very good pocket knife
I use this knife for everything from cutting rope to opening letters. the workmanship on this knife is very good for the price I really have zero complaints the one handed opening,light weight,sharp blade and price are all great.I got this one because the plain blade is much better at opening letters. this is my 3rd carson knife and I will keep coming back.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Canada
Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife!!
I use the product everyday at work and for just everyday things, and I would suggest this knife to anyone ! It is the perfect knife for EDC!
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mitchell
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I owb 3
I have a small version, the M16 03Z for everyday carry and a large M21-04 for hunting. All three locks and flippers work great, lightweight and strong, no rust issues. Just all around great knife.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Knife Nut
Roanoke, VA
Feb 01, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: Lock Type, None
nice but...
This knife is great expect the auto-lock and this is just a specific issue but the black covering on the blade of the knife I received didn't cover it fully
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ron F
Long Island ny
Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
EDC. This series of knives is great quality at a good price. I have purchased several of these for gifts and for myself. The dual locking mechanism affords great confidence that the knife blade stays in place. Holding its sharpness is fair to good. Sharpening is easy though.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff
Seattle, WA
Jun 01, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Blade Material, Lock Type, None
A friendly gift
I gave this knife as a gift to a friend. I have had I few of these knives before and have always liked them. They are fair sized, light and easy to use. The only down side to this new model is the auto lock. It makes it a little harder to close one handed but other than that it is a fair knife for a fair price.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andrew
NV
Nov 05, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Blade Material
Andrew
I wrote another review complaining about the lock jamming; and am happy to report this was fixed by prying the liner over with a screwdriver. I was so frustrated about my new knife failing I overlooked many good points of this knife. The auto lauks thing (or however they spell it) is nice. with a little practice this knife can easily be closed with one hand. The thumbstud is imposible to use. If you oil the pivot the flipper works quite well but not out of the box. The clip has come lose but can be fixed with torx bits.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Frank A
Reston, Va
Dec 14, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
For me, this knife was a disappointment. The locking feature, LAWKS. is an abomination. More trouble than it is worth. To flip the blade, enough tension must be relieved on the pivot to make opening easier, but that results in a wobbly (sis to side) blade motion. I have other CKRT products that are outstanding. This, however, isn't one of them. Finally, all things considered, I think this knife is overpriced and not worth what I paid.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Andrew
NV
Oct 31, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type
Broke
Don't buy this the lock moved to far over and is now jammed. I'm very disapointed with this product. There are many other knives for around $30 that you can get.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KZ Carson Flipper 3" Plain Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Sean
Cleburne, Tx
May 11, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Hate this knife
This knife is so hard to open, the jimping on the flipper make my finger sore after a few flips of the blade. Sometimes I press down on the flipper with sufficient pressure and the blade doesn't move at all. It's a shame because I really like the looks of this knife, but without functionality it's a paper weight. It's so bad, I feel wrong for trying to resell this blade to someone on ebay.