Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles

Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 4.812 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5 inch Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $49.95

Save $30.04 (38%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don B
San Diego, Ca
Nov 24, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
ANOTHER GREAT KNIFE FROM C.R.K.T.
NOT QUITE AS IMPRESSIVE AS THE M21-14SFG. BUT,STILL A HOME RUN.THANK YOU C.R.K.T.
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jordan A
Canada
Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Excellent tanto knife
I use the knife for everyday and camping use and it's is excellent. I love the multi purpose of the tanto, self edge and serrated section. Along with the style just makes it a excellent knife to have. The box is a nice small one nothing bulky and even displays for those who serve in bold on top. Pocket clip seemed too strong at first to fit on any fabric. Bit is will probably loosen with wear
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Long Island, NY
Mar 05, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
very nice
everyday carry everything nothing
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leo
Freedom
Jul 06, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Replacement for a lost one
Exactly what I owned before. Shipped very fast. I had one of these for about 6 years before losing it recently and loved it as my EDC Knife. It flips out fast and I like the extra lock on the blade. I take it when fishing and camping and it serves as a great multipurpose knife and the serrations are super sharp as well as the straight portion of the blade. If you have large hands it might not be a great fit as the handle is on the smaller side. If you want to know how to sharpen the serrations, Tom Veff the inventor of them has a video on how to do it without a specialty sharpening tool. Hint* wooden dowels, contact cement, automotive wet dry sandpaper and a marker. Great knife.
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Arthur H
Western Canada
Jun 07, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent EDC / Camping Knife
I have had this model for several years now and it is a perfect EDC knife, highly functional. The blade, handle, lock, belt clip, everything has stood up to rigorous use.
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pooz
kansas
Oct 22, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
different type of knife
in my opinion not a edc. maybe a self defense/slash heavy duty task knife. definitely looks cool. the knife is of average weight. i have the g10 model and i am not sure if it's just my knife but the clip is NOT adjustable. the dual flippers are usefull but do not help the knife sit well in a pocket, (flippers scratch hand when reaching in pocket, it is better for me to clip it on the belt). the AUTO LAWKS safety is useful for preventing accidental release of liner lock. strong tanto design. the VEFF serrations work really well especially on ropes or chord.
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jordan A
Canada
Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Excellent tanto knife
I use the knife for everyday and camping use and it's is excellent. I love the multi purpose of the tanto, self edge and serrated section. Along with the style just makes it a excellent knife to have. The box is a nice small one nothing bulky and even displays for those who serve in bold on top. Pocket clip seemed too strong at first to fit on any fabric. Bit is will probably loosen with wear
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thomas R
Philippines
Mar 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
great edc/defense knife
i love this knife, specially with the Veff serration on it. Its really tough, the blade is really sharp out of the box. the handle is perfect on my hands. i got quite problem with it during the 1st 5 flips, opening it is kind of hard. but a drop of oil fixed its. now it unfolds like it was assisted. and it feels really secure with the autolawks.
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jared
Colorado
Aug 09, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Great out of the box
I use this for EDC but want something that might scare away a criminal or god-forbid help me defend myself, that's EDC for ya. Right out of the box I found it deploys and closes very smoothly. This is my first knife with the AutoLawk and, for as much as others complained about this feature, I find it very easy to close even with a stiff right thumb (broken then healed badly). To close it, I use my middle finger to hold down the red Autolawk latch while using my thumb to move in the liner lock, then I use my index finger to pull the top of the blade (just forward of top hilt) in towards the handle while moving my thumb out of the way. Much easier and faster than it sounds and it only took me about 4-5 attempts to figure it out. Deployment is easy with simple wrist action (after using index finger to 'pop' blade out via the bottom hilt) or using the top hilt to change my pocket edge as I pull it out just like Emerson's Wave feature (love this kind of deployment, super quick and easy just need practice). So far I just leave it in my pocket with the blade face up to do that (not using clip because it's in wrong position for that but eventually I will find the right bit to change the clip so I can clip in that position). Construction and materials seem quality for the price, cuts so far are sufficient. Like Veff serrations. The blade is not very sharp compared to some out of the box but sharpening a factory blade is a given to me. Overall exactly what I wanted and am very happy. Great bang for the buck!
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Buster Goode
Saint Johns, FL
May 18, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Nice Knife
This knife feels really solid and high quality. No flimsyness or looseness at the pivot points. Kind of tough to close at first, but once the mechanism gets broken in closing becomes a lot easier.
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tango Alpha Golf
Charlotte, NC
Jul 25, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great little edc knife
I used this as an edc knife and have now retired it to a back up knife stowed away in what ever backpack I happen to be using. It's a solid little knife and for anyone familiar with Emerson's Wave Opening System the flipper on the back of the blade can be used to deploy the knife straight out of the pocket extremely quickly. This is perfect for a small edc knife but kind of little for military use in my opinion, the M16 13SF would be the way to go for that. The steel doesn't seem impressive since it's Chinese but this knife holds a better edge than many of my more expensive knives.
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael P
Colorado
Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Serious value for the money
I receive my CRKT folder and was extremely impressed with the solid craftsmanship and quality. It was very sharp and ready to go right out of the box. After a short break-in period, I was very impressed with the Autolawks functionality (didn't initially like the two-step unlock, but now like it very much). If you're looking for a legal folder (max blade length here in Colorado is 3.5") to carry when your CCW is prohibited, this is one great knife for the price.
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jake
OR
Aug 15, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
The Black Beauty of military knives
SInce I bought this knife, I've loved it. Veff serrations work like a hot knife through butter. Excellent! It takes a little practice and time to get used to the AUTOLAWKS feature, and the true hilt design is indeed a rare feature. But for its intended use as a tactical/self defense or heavy-duty outdoor rec knife, it rivals any benchmade in my opinion, for a much more reasonable price. I especially like the fact that I can still effectively open, use, and close the knife while wearing snow gloves, which for me is a good test. The G10 scales are also a big plus when considering its application in wet climates with extreme temperatures (hot and cold). They are not affected by water, nor are they conductive towards temperature. Awesome! The blade steel, I'm sure, is not the hardest, nor does it hold its razor edge for months on end. But because I can freehand-sharpen knives well, I don't mind the occasional touch up. As I found, tactical/heavy duty knives are only good in everyday use when the steel used in its construction is manageable to sharpen without needing carbide, or any other specialized sharpener. This is just my opinion. The only thing I didn't like was the original shape of the pocket clip. It would always snag or tear my pocket. But once I removed it, flattened it out, and reintroduced new curves into its design before putting it back on, it worked great. All in all, an excellent knife!
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joey
puerto rico USA
Mar 16, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
IT TAKES A LICKING
This knife has been through he** and back .You cant break this knife. 5 years of steady use from rope to cardboard. punches through 55 gal drum. get one at this price. knifecenter rocks.
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tyler
CT
Oct 04, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
Aggressive looks
Very aggressive looking knife, but it is a bit on the heavy side, i prefer my SOG trident ontop of this for EDC, but it is a good knife in terms of style, looks. the Veff serrations are very sharp, but the blade itself i though could have been way sharper.
Columbia River CRKT M16-13SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.5" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Quin
Carmichael CA
May 12, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Beware of clip
Be sure to let buyers know clip is only tip down,not like the other m16's