Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles

Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handlesrated 4.417 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75 inch Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles

 

Price: $63.95

Save $36.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Sarnia
Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight
Intimidation Factor 10
This is a great quality, great looking knife. It is large and a little heavy, but that adds to the bossness. Get this knife to become a boss. QED
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jayson
Iowa
Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Miles S.
Calgary, AB
Jul 27, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Great Knife!
Solid. Sharp. Perfect weight. I gave one to the wife to keep in the car.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul Burt
SK. Canada
Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
CRKT Carson M16-14LEK Rescue Folder
I use this daily and for EMS call outs. I really like the size and shape of the blade, and the weight and balance of this knife. The locking mechanism is totally solid. Super quick smooth opening! I like the way the belt cutter is designed. Feels great when held in the hand and fits great in the pocket as well. All round Great Knife for everyday use and excels in call outs. Very Happy with this knife :) Cheers
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Austin
Feb 12, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
the mq
I used to own the 13zlek (both dissappeared due to misplacing) when I got this big dog, I could not be happier. It is just as functional for automotive work is its younger brother, but its size make it much harder to lose track of. It is also perfectly balanced and does not feel as heavy as its bulk might suggest. Someone needs to tell Kit Carson to keep up the the innovations.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alan G
Gaithersburg, MD
Feb 08, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Almost perfect Duty Knife/EDC
I have tested alot of knives with glass breakers and seat belt cutters and many do not live up to their advertised capability. This is a well made knife, good AUS 8 steel and thick, sturdy blade. The seat belt cutter creates a really easy one handed opening with or without gloves. It was a little bigger than I expected but is a good EDC knife.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave B
Bellevue, WA
Mar 21, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Awesome knife
Very nice, solid blade with the sweetest, non-assisted opening I have ever experienced. Seatbelt cutter also great for opening clamshell packaging (with blade closed, of course:) Large knife, but very comfortable in the hand, even in my sister-in-law's smaller mitts.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lozza
New Zealand
May 29, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
WOW it is big for a folder.
I purchased this as my on duty carry. I was a little taken back by the size of the thing, it seemed huge and my first thoughts were well this is to big to carry, I'll sell it, not now. I have owned this for two weeks now and it is great. I EDC this with no issues, on duty or not. The size is now an advantage as it seems there is no task it won't be able to handle. I have used it from opening boxes, cutting cord from a hog tied dog to slicing a safety harness of a person with the belt cutter, all done with ease. We attended a multi car crash and the paramedics on scene used my CRKT to brake the glass and cut belts. I thought the belt clip was a little out of place, small I guess, it works well. I have since made a Kydex sheath it slides into for horizontal carry on my duty belt. It didn't come as sharp as it should've yet its no big deal to give it a few minutes on a stone. I'm not a fan of serrations yet they work well here. As all CRKT's like this opening is smooth and fast. When the blade is closed there is a little play in the open/closing directions on the blade, not a problem it may need a little more tension on the lock when closed, something one can do yourself. Overall be prepared for the size, yet it is worth it cause it can be used with gloves on with no issues.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Berserkertom
Texas
Sep 03, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Nice quality - Needs beefier handle
Like the blade design and seat belt cutter. Love the skull- I mean glass-breaker. I have large hands though a would like a more substantial grip. Could also use a sturdier clip.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles
New Jersey
Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Good Knife
Thanks for making a good product. I was excited to take this knife to work and use it to break down boxes. I was not disappointed and it performed 100% better than the box cutters/ scissors that I was used to using. An added bonus is the glass breaker and seat belt cutter for emergency situations. This is a good blade to keep with you in your car. Also, the size and weight of the blade support its emergency functions(especially the glass breaker). The one draw back is that the studded tip makes it difficult to quickly draw out of your pocket. If you need it right away, it possible that the tip could tear your pocket or prick your hand if you are not careful. You may want to keep one in a special compartment in your car. In my opinion, this blade is not good for self-defense, unless you already have it drawn. Maybe it is possible to overcome this, but I haven't figured it out yet. The lock system is a great feature.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Joe
San Antonio, Texas
Jan 02, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, Lock Type
M16-14ZLEK
I am active LEO in a large city and I have been carrying this knife now off and on for three years. There are three areas that concern me when considering whether or not a knife works well FOR ME as a duty knife. 1. How easy is it to deploy? Does the knife have an ambidextrous pocket clip? Is it a flipper, spring assisted, or automatic opening knife? 2. Does it have a sufficient grip? Is there gimping on the back of the blade at the base? What is the handle material like? 3. Does it have an effective blade? Is the blade long enough? Is it sharp out of the box? Are the serrations effective and easy to sharpen or do they break? Under deployability this knife rocks. Being a flipper, it opens flawlessly and, be ready, because theres even a little recoil. The seat belt cutter at the base of the blade makes the flipping mechanism easy to locate in a pinch. I love the fact that CRKT makes it easy to take their knives apart for cleaning, if you like to do that every so often. If your picky about cleaning your guns you likely like for all of your equipment to be in top shape as well. With a simple star screw driver set, you will have NO trouble disassembling and reassembling the LEK. If your not into cleaning and not OCD like me, you will be happy to know that this knife works flawlessly out of the box for months and months. The grip on this knife is where I have a major problem. The grip is smooth and in sweaty or wet conditions the knife is likely to slide around in your hand or even slip out. I think this knife with CRKT's G10 rough textured grip would be awesome. The gimping on the base backside of the blade is excellent. If this knife is needed as a last resort deadly force weapon, I think maintaining a solid grip on it would be hard. The blade of this knife is mean looking. Its sharp out of the box and does not dull quickly. The seat belt cutter is a great addition and with the right tools is easy to sharpen. The serrations are durable and more than sufficient. One major con of CRKT M21 and M16 series knives is the weaker liner lock, but I didn't mention this as a necessary feature for LEO/MIL use. Unless you intend to chop wood with this knife I have found the liner lock to be more then sufficient. Several other reviewers said that the weight is a con on this knife, but for what you get I would say that the weight for the LEK is about average. The glass breaker at the bottom is an interesting addition, that I personally don't like. Most of us carry some form of baton, but if your military or a civilian looking for a knife that has multiple functionalities this might be good for you. A lot of military folks have told me that they are trained hold a knife in the inverted position with the thumb on the bottom. The glass breaker gets in the way to that end.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14ZLEK Carson Rescue Flipper 3.75" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Lozza
New Zealand
Jun 07, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
WOW it is big for a folder. UPDATE
As a carry on from my review below; The small dome that is on the side of the knife which is the release for the AutoLAWKS fell off.... Now releasing the lock is a little harder as I need to use my nail to pull the tiny lever back. I have the small dome yet it of course won't just go back in, its not on a thread and it won't press in and stay so I might try to TIG it on.... maybe.