Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheathrated 4.158 stars out of 5 (19 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
3
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2 inch VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $279.95

Save $220.04 (44%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Igors
Latvia, Riga
Jan 08, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
What a Great Chopper !!
This is definitely not a combat thing, it can be classified as a camping or a survival knife. An extremely thick and massive blade makes it chop like an axe. I own a Modeco Expert tool, it has an axe on one side and a hammer on the opposite. This thing is made to break thought metal doors being stuck, it weights 590 grams. Trail Master weights 496.116 grams, think about it. On the factory-made knife market the Trail Master has only one real competitor -- a Fallkniven A2 bowie. These both are great knives to have. What I like about Trail Master is it’s edge-holding, balance and classic blade shape. The primal edge is easy to sharpen with pocket tool, you can also save it, making hard chops with shadow-edge. It is a right edge for chopping wood. Not that sharp, but almost impossible to damage. Handle is nice, long, knife doesn’t slip away. Guard is pretty useless, I think they putted it for balance, because blade is overly heavy. Cordura stealth looks durable and practical, however I haven’t use it long enough to judge. Kydex might be a much better material. This knife is so large and so sharp, I’m afraid if it could break through the cordura stealth. Anyway five stars. If you need a knife to rely on, you go for the Trail Master and never be disappointed.
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michele
napoli (Italy)
Dec 29, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
best knife for our money
This is the perfect survival knife supersharp: it chop, cut, shears,slice,slash, dig penetrate, can skin an entire elk,can fight like the best combat knife. In few word it can do all and do it at best. Spend your hard earned money in the best!
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Krolden
El Paso, Texas
Jan 05, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Worth a lot more than I paid for it
I was debating whether or not to purchase this knife, a Busse or a Scrapyard knife. I definitely made the right choice. At almost half the price it well worth the money. This is my "Go To" knife. Some people don't like Cold Steel but they do make some great stuff. Get the Cold Steel Trail Master in San Mai III, forget their high carbon offering.
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peo
Sweden
Oct 17, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
For the busch
This knife is a heavyduty jobdoer. sharp as a razor direct out of the box, can´t think of a better knife in the busch.
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike M.
BALTIMORE MD
May 30, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
ferociuos blade at a meager price
"Not a whole lot to say,not needed when something is so simplistically perfect".The cold steel trailmaster vg-1 in the san mai steel is expertly crafted,balanced,and is equal in strength and blade sharpness retention and re-sharpening.You couldn't go wrong with the same in the sk-5 steel ,their original version.I would strongly emphasize though,that given the price and quality,the sheath that comes with it should be more befitting a blade of its caliber.Something military grade or a finely crafted leather perhaps."
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
BC
Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Japanese Made and georgous
Look...Cold Steel offers knives for all price points so every person can afford a cold steel knife. But make no mistake this knife is in a whole other class then the carbon trail master and all other cold steel offerings. It lies in the rarified atmosphere inhabited by very few production knives, and it is finer then most custom knives. Cold Steel actually makes nothing, it may do some designing and produces cool videos of fat men chopping heads of pig carcass. That doesn't mean they don't offer awesome knives and this is the crown in the jewel. This knife is actually made by Ichiro Hattori, the finest knife maker on the planet. This is the same blade as the Fallkniven Thor and Hattori 160-1, with only slight material and finishing differences. Hattori made the reputation of all the big boys in the knife business through the 70's to 90's, Al-Mar, Browning, Kershaw, Tekna, as well as early SOG, Cold Steel and Fallkniven. Only Fallkniven has all its fixed blades still made by Hattori. Sadly SOG has moved away from Hattori, and quality has suffered! Cold Steel is moving slowly away but still offers a handful of blades made in SEKI. This knife is essentially the same as the Thor except it uses a laminated VG1 instead VG10. Not much difference! It is much less expensive, and you forgo the leather handle and sheath, but if you want a kraton handle that will probably last longer, and a cordura sheath then this knife is good value.... Relatively. It has a hama guri ba (convex) ground blade, which can be 400x stronger edge, then a conventional flate ground blade. This type of grind can only be hand ground by master knife maker, and can't be replicated by a machine grind, thus the extra cost! The weakest point is the sheath, it is a bit thinner then I was expecting. I thought it would come with a similar sheath to the old Gerber Bowies, but it is about half the weight and bit flimsy. It comes like all Hattori blades....scary sharp, remove your finger tip, without knowing you did it sharp. If you don't know how to handle knives....AVOID this knife as you can do yourself great harm, but if you want a bowie style knife that has more in common with traditional made Japanese made Tantos and Swords of the 1500's then with a KBar then this is your knife
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave Cortes
Phuckbusse, Ohio
Jul 31, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight
Truly Amazing Knife!
The design on this knife dates back to the eighties, it's proven and the San Mai III is near perfect. Mine chops, draw slices and cuts with all the best. In comparison to the competition its a world better than the cult brand of knives that only come out with certain models during full moons and made of magical metals for 392 dollars? Get a Trailmaster then a good three day pack with the money saved.
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary
Chino Hills, CA
Jan 04, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Great Knife!
I love the solid feel of this knife. Great workmanship and style. I'll use it on all my camping, fishing and hunting trips. It'll make a great camp and survival tool. The sheath is plain and simple and that's what I like about it. It does its job well. I'm very happy with the knife and will enjoy it for years to come.
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gilbert M
Los Angeles
Apr 24, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
The best I ever had
Solid and very very tough. Worth every penny.
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tony
Vancouver B.C.
Feb 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
One hell of a steel
At first i wanted to do some firewood chopping with it to test the edge after repeated abuse for about 30 min until i ran outta power. Arm shaving was still possible though with a slight, barely noticeable difficulty. Used finest grade diamond sharpener and with a few strikes the edge was superb again. This knife didn't give me an impression of holding a "hatchet" as some people described it, indeed it feels lively and extremely capable in my hand. One blade that i would sure use in a last stand against man eating bear (after i emptied a whole can of bear spray and bear was still charging or started to devour me). Tip of the blade looks thin enough for an easy penetration but sturdy enough to be unbreakable on some heavy prying work. Is it heavy for a long hikes? Maybe it is for some smaller folks or weaker women, but for me it was perfectly suitable even on a longer hikes.
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan L
Singapore
Oct 22, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Simple but beautiful
i use this knife as a camping tool, and i must say, it chops through anything! i think its like this beacause its blade heavy and thus, has more momentum. looks wise, its not the most beautiful knife......but this does not matter due to the actual razor sharp edge, simple, flawless design, comfortable rubber handle and the superb san mai steel. one fault this knife has, the mother f!cking sheath, the thing barely goes in and when you do manage to get it in it feels like you're breaking the knife! make a goddamn kydex sheath!!
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trigger
BERMUDA
Aug 30, 2009
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
ONE FOR THE AGES
A TRULY AMAZING KNIFE PERFECT FOR MOST EVERYTHING ONLY DRAWBACK IS HANDLE COMES USE AFTER HEAVY CHOPPING............. PERFECT FIGHTER, CAMPER OR SURVIVAL KNIFE WORTH EVERY PENNY AND NOWHERE IS CHEAPER THAN THE KNIFECENTER OR PROVIDES BETTER SERVICE
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stonefly
Fallbrook, CA
Oct 06, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Knife 5 / Sheath 0
Excellent knife, very sharp rolled edge. Weight and balance are very good. A go to for self defense or building a shelter in the woods. However, the sheath that came with it is a throw away. I would like to see them make a Kydex sheath for it. I make my own leather sheaths so it's not a problem for me. Give the knife a 5, and the sheath a 0. Have to sharpen with a 1" belt sharpener or send back to Cold Steel for sharpening. Also,trust Knifecenter to deliver it promptly and in perfect condition at the right price.
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cj
small new england island
Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
The moment I received my Trailmaster sanmai, I went outside, and beat it against a tree using the sides of the blade. After my right hand was blistered and bloody, I switched to my left hand. After about forty minutes of the blade not breaking, nor the handle slipping in my hands from blood and sweat, I decided it was a fine knife. I tend to abuse my new knives in hopes of breaking it quickly before I get attached to it. After 7 years of much use and abuse, I would (and have) recommend this knife. It batons very well, makes devastating snap cuts, cuts bigger trees than you might expect, and the rolled edge sharpens nicely using a sharpening steel. The sheath on the other hand....Lynn Thompson, what are you thinking?! Please do better with the sheath. I had recently sent my Trailmaster to a custom sheath maker, my only regret is I did not insure the parcel, and the post office lost my knife. That knife was a great friend over the years, and I had a LOT of blade in hand time with it. It's blade heavy, which I did not like at first, BUT, quickly fell in love with the forward heft... like I said before, DEVASTATING snap cuts. If you want a large fighter, or bush knife, check out the Trailmaster SanMai. Just remember, you are buying a great knife, and they are throwing in a crappy sheath free of charge ;)
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Walter
Bern, Switzerland
Jul 15, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Weight, None
Great backpacking blade for groups
Use this for multi-day group backpacking. Replaces a camp axe when used properly, but much more utility. Chops wood, cleans out wilderness campsites and prepares meals. Apparently too heavy for single backpacking but, in groups, worth every ounce.
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Barnabe
Pacific Rim
Feb 08, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
WARNING: Looks nice, but BE CAREFUL
Over the years I've owned and used CS's Trail Master and (It's little brother) Recon Scout knives, each in both San Mai and high-carbon steel versions. Trail Masters are impressive, macho knives with lots of heft for heavy-duty chores, but are a bit too bulky to be good combat blades or well-rounded survival tools. The Recon Scout is much closer to the right size for these latter two uses. BEWARE: Having used these four knives extensively, I have to recommend AGAINST San Mai in these models. The internal layer of steel that forms the edge is fairly fragile, and chips surprisingly easily. It also picks up corrosion on the cutting edge quickly without careful maintenance, which defeats the main purpose of having stainless steel at all. The SK-5/high-carbon steel versions corrode as well without maintenance, but are vastly more durable with better edge/tip strength, and all the other advantages that hc steel brings. For heavy monster knives like TM and RS, go with the strong stuff, and leave the (gimmicky) San Mai for light, quick fighting knives that will never have to touch harder material.
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Kirk Negd
pleasanton
Jul 30, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Overall Quality
crap
this thing is frickin junk,didn't know about busse yet,damn
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Mike
NJ
May 13, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Blade Sharpness
The "chip-a -way" is what it should be called.
ist question answer : Not on butchering a deer for sure ! 2nd Q. It fits in its sheath and it looks nice. 3rd Q. That the quality for the price is not worth it. The blade chipped when it hit into a bone, first time. will not hold an edge, even when professional done. For the money i am extremely disappointed, i own a dozen or more Cold Steel knives, and this one is the worst !!!! As an avid collector and user this is a big let down !! I have bloodied all of my knives some 200 for hunting, and this is the worst of all of them. Ii would not recommend this knife to anyone.
Cold Steel 16JSM Trail Master Fixed 9-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Noel
Australia
Dec 15, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Paid a lot of money for this knife , what a waste. Was chopping some kindling for the fire and chipped pieces out of the blade, very dissapointed. For a knife they rave about as being so great it is absolute junk. Don,t even think about buying one.