Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles

Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handlesrated 4.467 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5 inch Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles

 

Price: $21.95

Save $28.04 (56%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J. Sabia
Fannin county GA
Dec 25, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent work knife
I'm most always in search of a great work knife . I'm in construction and go through them often enough . This knife is really light weight and locks up like a tank . It feels good in the hand . Came super sharp .
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Edward
San Antonio, Tx
Jul 30, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Good price, GREAT knife
Came SCARY sharp. I've shaved missed facial hair with this thing. I've never gotten a knife this sharp from the manufacturer. I love the light weight. The pocket clip is sturdy and correctly placed for left and right hands. The lock is a bit stiff, I know that this will change with usage.
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
Switzerland
Feb 22, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Blade Material
That's an excellent knife for not a lot of money!
Used it for over two months now (mainly opening packages and cutting cardboard) and really enjoy it more now than I thought I would. The best thing about it has to be how sturdy it is (and feels) despite being extremely lightweight. The only bad thing is the blade steel - it just won't keep its edge for long. But this is merely a nitpick considering the whole package you'll get, since resharpening it is so easy and the overall fit and finish is impeccable at this price point. The Tri-Ad-Lock is notorious for being stiff sometimes - mine however is more on the smooth side and even allows for fast opening with some wrist action. If you're looking for a straight forward, highly affordable, sturdy beater knife and don't call yourself a "steel snob" I can safely recommend the Pro-Lite to you!
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Charlotte, NC
Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good buy!
I just got my new Pro-Lite, as in opened the box about 10 minutes ago. Obviously I haven't put it to much use yet, but my first impression is excellent. It is a good, practical size with a useful blade shape. It locks up very tight & the handle seems surprisingly stout given the light weight. The lock is a tad stiff, but I imagine that will work out with time. The blade may not be a premium steel, but you can't expect that for $30. It has my experience that 4116 performs quite well for an inexpensive steel, much like the Sandvik steels, because of it's fine grain structure. Oy yes, the blade was extremely sharp out of the box, as I expect from Cold Steel. If you're thinking about one I'd say buy it.
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
Collegeville, Pa
Nov 06, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Amazing Value For The Price
I love the blade on this knife. It is very solid and the fit and finish are very good to excellent. The handles are functional and, overall, the knife is lightweight. What I would like to change is the strength of the spring used in the handle to hold the blade in place and lock it. I was using Blue Lube to make opening a little easier, working the blade open and closed quickly, but without opening it all the way to lock it open. Not sure how I did this, but I lost my grip and the blade closed down on my index finger. All of a sudden there was a lot of blood. Totally my fault! But I don't think it would have been so serious if the spring was a little more relaxed. I have two of these knives. The only other thing that is lacking in both of them is the locking mechanism. Opening is easy, but it takes a lot of effort to depress the spring-loaded lever to unlock the blade to close it. I tried oiling the notch and that helped a little. But I require two hands to unlock the blade and close it on both of the knives I purchased. Even though the opening and closing is kind of stiff, I still think it's a great value for the quality of the materials. If I can, I would like to replace the handle material and fine tune the spring. Just can't beat this knife for the price.
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel K
California
Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Blade Material
Fully loaded
Bought this as a stand in while my sebenza gets a new blade. Wanted something strong that wouldn't break the bank, and then ProLite from CS is basically the best bang for your buck on the knife market today. Blade finish is super, grind and swedge are awesome, love the shape of the clip point blade and the handle (God made our hands to hold a stick -ThrApostleP) is excellent. Light weight. The price only sweetens the deal. Also, you get the triad lock so you know you have the strongest lock on the market. Cherry on the cake is the perfectly centered blade. Only con, which I don't even consider a con, is the 4116 German steel used in the blade. It dulls fairly easily, but it also sharpens in about a minute, so for me it's totally fine, and gets hair whittling sharp with very little effort.
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave R
Jacksonville Fl
Dec 09, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Great knife for the value.
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dunha
São Paulo-SP, Brazil.
Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Type
Cons: None
Boa Ferramenta.
Bonito, discreto, leve e seguro. Numa emergência, pode perfeitamente ser usado em defesa pessoal. É uma das melhores opções para EDC urbano atualmente.
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Simpleman
Florida
Dec 03, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
If you loved the original Voyagers...
This knife is everything good about the original Voyager line, before they got so expensive. Good steel, very strong Tri-ad lockback, simple steel clip, comfortable FRN handles with no steel liners to add weight. High value, Dependable working knife for about $20, can't go wrong.
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mauguilar
Encino, Ca
Mar 18, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material
Had this knife for 1 year I like it.
I love it. easy to carry
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
David
Goshen, In
Sep 05, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Great Value For The Price
I bought this knife because I happened to be ordering some other things and couldn’t resist the sale price of less than $25. The knife is just what you would expect from Cold Steel; well made, lines up nicely, really sharp, and locks up tight. Unfortunately that’s a bit of an issue. It is really difficult to unlock. If it weren’t for that, I would have given this knife five stars just on value alone. A solid, simple, robust knife. Excellent value at the sale price.
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sneakypop
Out West
Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Not bad
It is really hard to disingage the lock, (on mine at least) especially if you open it too hard or fast. If you open it slow or two handed (aka a buck 110 etc.) it doesn't have an issue. Nevertheless, I spent a morning tearing up cardboard, cutting vines, trimming rose bushes etc. with no issue. It was 30 dollars, so I didn't expect it to be perfect, and it wasn't. It should make for a good beat around blade though.
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lisa
, Al
Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry
Chandler, Az
Sep 07, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use
Worthy EDC Beater!
I, too, chose this knife as an add on to a kitchen cutlery order. After operating the tri-ad lock a few dozen times I can now close with ease. The handle is a little blocky, unfinshed, but not an impediment to carry or use. A worthy EDC beater.
Cold Steel 20NSC Pro-Lite Folding Knife 3.5" Clip Point Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Alex
Houston, Texas
Jun 06, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, None
Not Very User Friendly
This knife is of excellent quality, and if the locking mechanism were "user friendly" would be a knife that should be in everyone's pocket. The blade was substantially sharp, perfectly machined and the handles were first rate. The only problem? Well, the blade opens easily enough, but what opens must sooner or later be closed. And here's where my problem comes in. It's almost physically impossible to push the lock -- located on top of the handle -- down far enough to allow for routine unassisted closure of the blade. An email from the Knife Center folks indicated that was a normal feature of the knife. So unless you have King Kong's thumb strength, or the willingness to use a screwdriver blade or other tool to complete the unlocking process you may find this otherwise desirable knife to be one you'd leave at home in a dresser drawer most of the time rather than out being used.