Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheathrated 4.250 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
1
Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3 inch Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $21.95

Save $15.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Oleg
Chisinau, Republic of Moldova
Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
"Apple of my eye"
I wanted this dagger for a long time. It is very comfortable to use. you can wear it on your neck or belt. Pros: - Cheap, yet made of quality steel - features nice handle material and excellent grip - razor sharp spear point and blade out of the box - exquisite blade design which mesmerizes me (I collect small exotic knives) - good concealing features (it doesn't look harmless, do not stress your colleagues) - amazing stabbing abilities and piercing potential - sheath is practical and keeps the blade w/o any "falling" issues - diamond-shaped cross section of the blade for better strength Cons: - you cannot wear it as a boot knife, due to long handle, but that's not really a cons - cannot serve as perfect gentleman's knife, blade is not flat, but that's not really a cons Overall: - I like it a lot, this is my favorite neck knife - great buy, best price/quality on the market for a neck knife
Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew B
Foothill Ranch, Ca
Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Knife
I thought that this was a fantastic neck knife for the price. It is easily concealed under a shirt or jacket and is easily accessible with the handle length and shape. The blade is also full tang which adds to the strength. The only thing I would change is the bad material but with the better steel would raise the price...
Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
M Feagan
NC
Oct 08, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Neck Knife !
Great neck knife ! Weight is awesome ! You don't even know it is there. I wear it on and off duty ! Great quality for the price !
Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric
NJ
Jun 11, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Small Knife - Feels Good in my Hand!
Cold Steel got it right with this one! The grip feels good in my hand in a variety of positions and the non-slip coating works. The sheath is as flat as they could get it (no belt clip), the steel is thick enough to feel substantial, and the whole package is light and comfortable around my neck. Similar in size to the the 'Counter Tac II' but flatter, lighter, easier to hide, and a lot less expensive. This knife is made in Taiwan, but for twenty bucks, you can't beat the price and the quality is good for a 'cheap' Cold Steel knife!. And it's SHARP too!
Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel
Denver, CO
Feb 09, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife, but shipping was slow
I use this knife as my self-defense knife. It hasn't seen action fortunately but is quite comfy and concealable. Definitely thought the 2 week shipping was worst case scenario, but it was all too true. I can't complain too much though Knife Center did have the best price.
Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lynch
New Mexico
Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
affordable self defense
Issued this product to my daughters and girlfriend. Excellent concealment for changing times. Cold steel makes a superior product. My hopes are that my girls never have to use the blade.
Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephen Bele
Tallahassee, Fl
Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None
Cheaper, Lighter, More Concealable version of a counter tac
Great little neck knife/last-ditch, "Get-the-F@€K OFF Me!" knife....at least as good as the smaller Counter Tac. Weighs next-to nothing, excellent balance.... Intuitive 'thrower' (not that you should, you only arm your attacker). I was surprised at how well the super-thin grip works, much better than expected. I bought a CS Spike couple years ago, before Benchmade came out with their cool little last ditch SOCP dagger....This would be my choice over the Spike, for sure....& a VERY close second to the SOCP, (Hint: you can buy 3 maybe 4 of this HideOut for one SOCP, & the SOCP would probably not take as much abuse)....& as ALWAYS, Knife Center ROCKS! Only drawback is probably blade steel, but for a "Get Off Me A$#-Hole!"- stick-er? How much use is blade gonna really see? Carry an Endura for regular use & you got your bases pretty well covered in knife category.
Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jared
Colorado
Aug 09, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Perfect when you can't carry a concealed pistol
If you wish you could carry a concealed pistol yet you can't or don't want to for whatever reason but you can carry a small knife, this is a great option. My girlfriend and I love this little guy. We leave it by the door for walking the dogs late at night in the city where we've unfortunately had quite a few nasty encounters. It's shiny, easy to deploy out the sheath (lift up your shirt), easy to handle in your hands (very light, appreciate the hilts), and razor sharp out of the box which is no surprise for Cold Steel. Love the double-edge. Not really "great" for anything except self-defense/intimidation...that being said, it's still a knife and it will cut most things easily in utility/EDC use but that's what my CRKT M16-13SFG is for. It's meant for it's name-sake, to "Hide Out" and become deployed only when desperately needed.
Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Adam B
Kent, WA
Sep 03, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Great conceal option. Check the legality of double edged in your area.
I carry this knife daily and have found it to be very useful for day to day tasks as well as the "what if" scenario. The handle provides excellent grip and it is balanced enough to throw. The stainless blade is well made, but did not come sharp out of the box and does not hold an edge as well as other blade materials. I had mine professionally sharpened which involved regrinding the angle of the blade and that made a huge difference in the sharpness and edge retention. Overall I am happy with this knife and would recommend it to others.
Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cj
Colorado
Jul 02, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Cold Steel Hide Out Neck Knife
Back-up knife while on-duty as Auxiliary Peace Officer, as well as during everyday life. Conceals easily, but also deploys quickly.
Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Boris H
Hong Kong
Aug 19, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
In the middle of no where...
The overall design make not much sense, any good folder can replace it. Besides that, the bevel was warped and came with almost no edge. Typical PRC cheap item problem.
Cold Steel 49NDE Hide Out Neck Knife 3" Plain Blade, Griv-Ex Handle, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Desmond D.
Mapusa, Goa, India
Oct 03, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Materials
Excellent Product with Faulty Sheath
The Cold Steel Hide Out Neck Knife is truly a product that disappears underneath your shirt, so an excellent Neck Knife, usefull as a last ditch weapon. The sad part that the sheath does not hold the knife securely after a few days of use, and you will have an empty sheath to face off that last resort situation.