Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheathrated 4.579 stars out of 5 (19 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5 inch SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $39.95

Save $90.04 (69%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John Doe
Anywhere, USA
Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Great knife

This is a wonderful knife. I got it for self defense and to have a knife I could carry that people would be able to see from quite a distance away. Sadly my apartment was broken into and the item was stolen. Still I could see myself buying this again.
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cody
Colorado
Aug 04, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

2 designs I like (Kukri/chaos) combined into one awesome machete

Very awesome machete! I love both the Kukri machetes and the chaos knives, and this is just awesome! Nice weight to it, very thick blade, nice and sharp, very solid, comfortable grip, and I REALLY like that this Kukri came with a hard sheath vs the other 2 I have cane with the soft sheaths.
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Europe
Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Just amazing!

This Kukri has everything I missed in the other kukris... Excellent job coldsteel!!! Joe
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jnemes66
Pittsburgh, PA 3rivers-city of bridges
Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

kukri, the best yet...

...every aspect of this kukri receives a five star rating...im not all that found of the full knuckle gaurd which i plan on modifying someday...other than that its the finest kukri i have and i have over one hundred of them...it finishs with a much approved kydex sheath...this is one fine BadAss kukri designed for all out combat...goes right with my AK47...HellYa an easy five stars...
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pocketknifejimmy
Northeast, USA
Aug 06, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

A unique addition to my collection...

I purchased this knife for my hobby in collecting. It's uniqueness had already grabbed my attention, and the great sale price Knife Center was offering on it, sealed the deal. If it were an item offered by some no-name brand company, I would have passed on it. But, I know that Cold Steel is true in making fully functional items. Their materials and the heat treatment they have applied to their blades, is meant for functional products. Although I purchased this item only to be a unique collectible, I only add items that are known to be real and useable if called upon. The fit and finish is top notch! The blade, handle, pommel attachment... All done very well! Kudos to Cold Steel on the obvious build quality, and kudos to Knife Center for offering it at such a great price... Thank you!
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gfs
Anch ak
Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material

Kcreview

Na
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Duke Of Windsor
Pennsylvania
Aug 03, 2018
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Bargain bush-beater

Honestly, I would have just scrolled past such a monstrously wacky looking blade if it weren't for 2 things: I've been looking at kukris for months and the sale price was exceptionally low. I've needed a new heavy duty camp chopper for a while and the thick, resilient steel blade with a well made sheath were big selling points. But the overdone knuckle duster and zombie apocalypse vibe were not what I need at all. Solution: cut off the knuckle duster on a band saw and sand/file the 3 stumps until I have a shapely guard and pommel. Also removed the useless pommel spike: not likely to bash a wayward spruce in the skull any time soon. Good solution to make this into a tool that won't raise eyebrows at any campground.
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ghostgarden
Louisburg, Mo
Sep 16, 2019
Pros: Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Weight

Great Heavy Duty Chopper

I'm a big kukri fan and have owned lots of them and this is hands down the best as far as being a heavy duty chopper. I like the hand guard. I had planned on cutting off the center part of the hand guard when I got it cause I thought it looked like it would be uncomfortable. But after getting it I discovered it wasn't bad at all. I suppose it would be useful for punching a zombie in the head with but fortunately I've never encountered any zombies and doubt I ever will. It is useful for protection from the thorns of the wild roses I occasionally have to deal with and gives a secure grip. I wish they'd lower the double edge model to the same price as this cause I'd buy it too. I just can't justify paying what they are asking for it when it would just end up being a toy. I don't intend having to use a such a thing to fight with and lets be honest, that's about the only thing the double edged model would be good for. This kukri on the other hand is a very useful tool around the farm and besides being a little heavy would also make a great bug out bag chopper.
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael J
Goose Creek, Sc
May 27, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Good Deal

I've served my time, so this more likely will be on the opposing end of a surplus web pistol belt or the side of a pack. I figured this: good carbon steel like my much older black carbon CS kukri-and again a solid sheath for a faster draw. The handguard reduces busted knuckles from when i'm tired, sweaty, pissed off-or a combo of any or all! The balance is great for a back spine smack, and I like the acorn skull tapper! The price and quality for price are exceptional. The weight is noticeable-but Christ!, whatta you want-EVERYTHING to be roses and freaking rainbows? Good hunting!
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kenneth A
New Mexico
Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Too Cool

What can I say about this knife? Quite a bit actually. The knife came shaving sharp. This I say not merely as a hyperbolic statement, but as a matter of fact. It popped the hairs right off my arm! The steel used in the blade is Japanese SK-5 (about the equivalent of 1080), which allows for a good compromise between toughness and edge holding ability. In addition, the gentle slope of this kukri makes sharpening that dreaded inward curve possible with just a regular stone (a possible point of interest for my fellow kukri lovers). The handle is absolutely solid and provides a secure grip as well as armored knuckles! The sheath is great. It holds the blade securely and with no wiggle (a personal pet peeve of mine), and because it is made out of a synthetic material it will be able to weather the elements. The cost to value ratio on this beast of a knife is quite high. The Cold Steel Chaos Kukri is just too cool and although I will probably never need to use it in combat, it is nice to know that I could!
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cody
Colorado
Aug 13, 2018
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

I love the chaos line, and the kukri is no exception!

I really like the hard sheath that comes with the kukri chaos vs the regular kukri machete. Came nice and sharp, very comfortable grip.
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thana
California
Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None

awesome kukri

In 20 years of owning coldsteel kukri this one is bad ass of them all. The best bang for the bucks was the long discontinue L.T.C. that I paid $55 plus shipping with 10% military discount in 1993. This one cost $24 more but come with better sheath that would slip easy on my LBE pistol belt. Only thing I don't like is the slippery aluminum handle but atheletic tape solve the problem. Still try to get use to the knuckle guard but I can see its potential to protect my hands and lock the grip tight during use.
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Truth Be Told
Ecuador
Nov 17, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great Buy

Absolutely nothing wrong with this blade handle or sheath for this price also some people complaining in the comments spoiled little kiddos expecting $200 worth of knife and sheath for $40. LOL. 🤣😂🤗
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Stephen
Saint Petersburg, Fl
Feb 09, 2019
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Excellent blade but use caution

Just received my Chaos Kukri.It's a great value but I have an issue with the sheath. When I first tried to remove the knife from the sheath it wouldn't release so I loosened the two screws at the top of the sheath in the hope that this would make it easier to remove.It worked but I almost sliced my fingers as the sheath opened on one side and a small portion of the blade was exposed. I re-tightened the screws and began working the blade in and out.It comes out easier now but is still "clunky" to remove as it catches briefly at the curve.I'm wondering if they are all like this or did I get a defective one? One other minor issue is the partition in the hand guard.It's kind of uncomfortable and I have rather small hands.I think for someone with large hands this would be a more serious issue. To sum things up I love the blade, it's a great buy for 40 bucks.I'm giving it 4 stars for the two issues I mentioned.The hand guard is a good idea but I would prefer that the partition be removed.The hard sheath is cool but be careful drawing out the blade as a slip up may get you a trip to the emergency room. I would definitely keep this out of the reach of curious children.
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Edge Fiend Nh
NH
Jul 15, 2019
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Oustanding design, quality, and value. Another winner from Cold Steel

The knife has the weight and balance that a kukri should have, 28 oz (advertised weight is accurate according to my scale), and POB is 2.25" from the end of the grip. It is a hefty chopping tool and weapon that handles like a heavy-duty machete or a short sword, unlike some other Western-designed kukris on the market that simply don't get it and are too lightweight, like the Ontario Spec Plus Kukri, which is only 18 oz, feels like a kitchen knife in the hand, and is severely lacking in cutting power. This knife will make efficient and ergonomic work out of building camps and gathering firewood just like a hatchet, as well as slicing the limbs clean off aggressors. Mine came with no defects. The blade is straight, the grind is even, and the bevels are appropriate for the intended task, although some honing will be required to bring the edge up to my standards, as is the case with virtually all mass-produced blades. This is in stark contrast to the Condor Kukri, which came to me with a ghastly splitting maul edge and required hours of two-handed filing while clamped to a bench in order to be remotely usable, which seems to be Condor's trademark. I was thinking of cutting the knuckle duster off, but I ended up liking it when I got it and will leave it alone. It doesn't seem to interfere with anything, and the fully encapsulated grip allows you to adopt a loose grip with your wrist unlocked, focus centrifugal force at the end of the grip or the subhilt crossbar thing, and apply maximum swinging momentum into a blow, really freakin' WHIP the thing, just as you can do with traditional kukris that have dramatic pommel swells, and CANNOT do with western grip designs that lack an adequate anchoring point for the bottom of the hand at the end of the grip. Additionally, the sturdy aluminum grip/duster effectively forms a crossgaurd and would prove useful for parrying blows of an opponent's blade. I have not removed the removable grip yet, but I've seen photos of the tang of this knife, and am assured that it has a properly designed tang with smoothly radiused corners at the junction between tang and blade, meaning that it should be able to handle the shock of chopping tasks indefinitely provided there are no issues with the temper. Overall, it's incredible that I was able to get something so smartly designed and high-quality for only $40. This could end up being the Marine Raider of Kukris; a quality, effectively designed tool and weapon that is highly representative of it's type, and reliably available from major online vendors with fast shipping for an amazingly low price. If you're tired of poorly designed, low-quality kukris available from other manufacturers, give this one a try. I just wish it had a leather or cordura sheath though. I hate kydex. Maybe it will fit into the kukri machete sheath.
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Clint
yucca valley ca
Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

chaos kukri

haven't used it yet but it looks willing and able knarly knife
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kirk C
Kentucky
Aug 05, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: None

Better than all others seen but still needs work to be perfect

Blade-AWESOME spike pommel -excellent, hardened glass breaker tipped would be better Knuckle guard -good room enough for my over large hands but a steel striking faceplate ( interchangeable bolt on ) with a surface that will not glance off on a blow would be best Handle- a little small for my hands would be better if milled a bit and had a slip on grip ( U shaped in cross section) that could be bolted to the grip Sheath- better than all others seen but still needs lots of improvement a sheath is a vital component of a combat blade. What good is the best blade if you go to draw it and it isn't there because it fell out or it retains so well you're still trying to draw it while someone guts you with a $2 box cutter. Retention- I bought 2 and would rate one as about a 9 (being nearly impossible requiring 2 hands to draw or very securely fastened down. The other about a 6 almost perfect. An Inset headless tensioning screws where the top rivets are would allow to adjust tension to desired level Slots on sheath- they took away too much material from the outside of the slot they are going to break very easily and they are placed wrong. I think the best way to carry the blade is off side with the handle at about a 45°angle. Nylon belt hanger- almost totally worthless Price and value- is excellent even with above mentioned deficiencies but if I would have bought one of their premium blades with such a sheath I would've returned it.
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joey
Houston
Aug 09, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

Beatly Blade

This will make short work of a lot of small limbs and brush. My hands (big ones) fit nicely, even with a leather glove on. Yes...a tad heavy, but that will help the inertial action an well. Blade sharpness ( relatively not sharp) kept this to a 4.
Cold Steel 80NTK Chaos Kukri Fixed 12.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Dam
FL
Nov 06, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

great kukri

Glad I bought this! It is really too heavy for regular belt carry, but has become a semi-permanent fixture on my ATV. I removed the (worthless) belt hanger and simply used cheap zip-ties to attach the kydex sheath to the front basket of my 4-wheeler. It has replaced the machete and hatchet that I used to carry. It is safer & easier to carry than a hatchet, while being less bulky than a full-size machete. yet does an good job with chopping. batoning, splitting, and even heavy chopping during butchering larger animals. Some people seem put off by the knuckle duster handle; while I don't mind expect to be in hand-to-hand combat with zombies, the handle really helps to keep things firmly in hand when wet, sweaty, greasy, bloody, or when wearing gloves. this is NOT a skinning knife, EDC belt knife, or kitchen knife. But it IS a great chopping tool for rough use.