Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheathrated 4.731 stars out of 5 (26 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5 inch SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $59.95

Save $40.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Walter F B
montana
Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Very Good
The above knife looks and feels great. It is as described. However, I have not put it to any tests yet. If it holds up as well at it looks and feels than it will be truly great.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Festus A
New Jersey
Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
What are you waiting for?
It's the ultimate fighting knife! Just look at it! It screams bada**! Mine arrived razor sharp. Fit and finish are flawless. The sheathe is super high quality, with no looseness or play. The price can't be beat. I've seen this knife selling elsewhere for $99.99. Don't wait! Order yours today! I guarantee you will not be disappointed!
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joey
Virginia Beach Virginia
Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great knife
picked this knife up for my wife, i know she will love it. had to spend a little time bringing the blade up to snuff, other than that if you get this you will not be disappointed.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Skygunner
Alabama
Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Trench Knife
This knife is strictly a last ditch fighting knife. When you're down to this being your last weapon, in a desperate situation ( been there, done that ) you cannot ask for a better one! I'm a black belt in Japanese karate, with some weapon training and this would be a devastating knife in a fight! Very sharp, for slashing to the right or left, a very strong tip for easy and deep penetration with little effort, through any clothing someone may be wearing including bullet resistant armor. The knuckles, built into the hand guard, will cause tremendous damage to head or torso, plus giving more support for a stabbing use. I'm retired military and law enforcement and I would like to have had a knife similar to this in a few remembered situations. For a defense weapon, I would pick this knife over any other I have seen. The weight and balance makes the use of it effortless and will not wear you out.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Louisiana
Apr 19, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
great feel
Wow... this unit has a great feel and weight. looks very nice. I would consider this a # 1 all around choice for a personal weapon. The sheath is awesome too. After a quick sharpening and a fresh coat of WD40, this thing is ready for serious close combat. The unit is bulky and hard to keep hidden in normal clothes.. so look into special belts/body straps.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam I Am
Northern Colorado
Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Materials
Cons: None
Great Knife
I have always been facinated with the "trench" knife but they are poorly made and expensive. Cold Steel comes to the rescue with the Chaos. I was concerned about the fit to my hand with the enclosed grip but it fits my hand perfectly. (x-large glove size) Even though it is made in Tiawan I am "assuming" it still meets the Cold Steel blade strength standard. Even so it is a lot of knife for the money. Very sharp edge.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Maryland
Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Wow!
This is an amazing knife, especially at this price range. I'd been shopping for a fixed bowie/trench style knife for awhile and was attracted to those with a pronounced quillon. Then spotted this with the full handguard as well, and the punch pommel. It's a feature combo that I haven't seen on anything else. But I was not expecting the quality of both the knife and the sheath to be as high as it is. They're an incredible pair. I've gotten used to crummy sheaths, but this one is excellent. It has a detent housing that holds the knife secure, allowing you to keep the normal handle snap enclosure free if you want, for a quicker pull. And the detent has a nice thick edge right where your thumb rests, for easy release. The sheath also features a secure velcro fold-over as the belt loop, which means no more having to undo your belt in order to wear or remove the sheath. Lastly, the sheath is reversible so it can be worn on the left or right side, with the knife's handgaurd facing forward or backward however you like. As a leftie, I really appreciate this. The knife itself is as advertised. It's a beast. The balance point is near the index finger groove on the handle, making the knife easy to wield and maneuver better than its weight would imply.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bruce J
Atizona
Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Nice Knife!
This knife is exactly as advertised.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mario
Malta
Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Wow Factor
The Cold Steel Chaos Double Edge is my first Cold Steel product. It looks much larger and impressive than the photos and videos I found online. It is very well made, has a good heft to it, and comes extremely sharp. The sheath is great too. I'm very happy with it!
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
R J B
Louisiana
Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife
This double edge Chaos, is a great tribute to old trench knife of WW I , solid construction, sharp as h-ll, everything I would expect from Cold Steel, and Knife Center !!
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian
Feb 04, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hillbilly Lt
west Virginia
Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
one badass knive
This is a hand to hand fighting Knive mine came razor sharp well balanced i see no other purpose for it besides killing but it's still very cool
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phil
France
Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge
Pros : Excellent knife. The quality is very good, blade is very solid. It's all in mat black, therefore no light reflection which is perfect for night missions. The handle has a very good grip. The finish is excellent, not a single sharp edge or loose screw. The Sheath is also very good. Cons : can't find any, but if you have small hands it might be a bit too big. For me it fits perfectly. The blade is not razor sharp when it arrived but it certainly is sharp enough. You can always sharpen it if you really want to. I was always looking for a Trench style knife. Never found a good one that was not cheap Chinese copy of the original, and this one is just perfect.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Erwin K
Austria
Mar 04, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great price for a very nice built knife. First class all the way.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy Boyd
Elkton, MD
Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Give me Chaos
Just what I've neen looking for at a good price.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thomas D
Long Island NY
Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Cold Steel Knife
Keeping this simple. Customer service: Superb The Knife: Outstanding. I bought a second one!
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Efrain
Los Angeles ca
Oct 03, 2013
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
excellent knife
heavy duty dagger great steal for the price!
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom Serafin
CT.
Jul 01, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
great knife
I called Cold Steels R & D department and mentioned that the back of the male snap that secures the knife handle rubbed off the finish and should have something over the metal to protect finish.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barry
Arkansas
Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Serious self defense, not a utility/survival knife
Very serious self-defense knife. Dangerous in any strike direction. Excellent quality for price, typical of Cold Steel. Better than I expected. Substantial weight, but remarkably well balanced due to knuckle hardware. Aluminum handle / guard / knuckles are comfortable and very sturdy. Blade was sharp out of the box, but can be sharpened further if desired. Compared to classic Fairbairn-Sykes, knife blade is wider, untapered (except last 2 inches), and more shallow diamond cross section. All points to superior cutter but slight inferior penetration. Grip, for me, is excellent. Surprisingly, is not difficult to grasp or release but would be hard to take or drop. Strange description, I know. but accurate. You must hold for yourself to understand. Any grip adjustments I considered meant upsetting these attributes, so I left it as is. Kydex 'type' sheath sturdy, Ambidextrous(switch around hardware) has holes for attachment hardware- lanyards etc, holds well but use hilt snap. Nylon belt loop and snap adequate but i intend to change them out soon with after market. Get One! I think you will not be disappointed for the price and purpose.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wyatt
New York
Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
HARD TO KILL
This a fighting knife, end of story. It's not for survival. It's not a utility knife. It's not for cutting your steak, batoning, or building a shelter. It's for self-defense and mortal combat. That said, you'll understand I haven't had a chance to use it for its stated purpose yet, and it would be nice to never have to. However, let me tell you why it's such a perfect knife for what it's made for. First, it's a dagger, with a double edge. No flipping the blade to pull back across a body part belonging to a sentry. Easy in, easy out, less drag from a blunt side/edge. The D-guard is the next function I find most useful. Use it to parry, to punch, to break a fall, to protect your hands from your enemy's gear as you slash and stab. The guard is also reinforced by a brace midway down the handle, making you place two fingers on either side. This may appear a pain in the ass at first, but it has a very specific purpose, you ask me, other than keeping the guard strong and sturdy: It makes it that much harder for someone to take the knife out of your hands. Your middle and third finger naturally grip against the brace. Thirdly, the glass breaker on the pommel is a useful, less lethal alternative to using the blade. Smash a temple, a knee, a shin, pressure point, etc. And that's just on bad guys. Use it to crack a nut or break a passenger window once in a while, if you must. Weight is lite and nimble. I have "fighting knives" and this puts them to shame. Sheath is fine. Nothing beats a custom-made job, of course, but blade retention appears more than adequate, with multiple carry options. Overall, the knife feels very, very solid. Nothing feels tacked on. It's a one-purpose tool, and it knows it. As far as blade material, thickness, coating, full-tang vs. partial, grip material, edge retention, etc. I say only this -- that when it comes to daggers, none of the above matter nearly as much to me as they would if I were looking at a survival knife, for example. Let's be honest, daggers get used a lot less than utility knives. Unless you're living in a video game. Which might be kind of cool.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill
South
Feb 19, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Looks like a reallly good idea for Spec Ops
I am a former Infantry soldier having served in Vietnam as a Scout Dog Handler. 17 ounces might not sound like much, but hour by hour, day by day, the damn ounces add up. Would I rather have 2 and 1/8 cups of water (yes), or 17 oz of 5.56 ammo (yes) or this thing? How many soldiers, sailors, marines, spec ops actually need to stick someone? It does happen, but not that often. If you want a sticker, get one of the new Cold Steel Spikes. This blade would, I am sure, do the job. But at what cost to your back? This blade is for spec ops, REMPS, and people who are too chickenshit and cowardly and yellow and think that THEY are too special to serve their country to actually join the Service, but want to appear to be really, really badasssss to their friends. But since I'm now 66 years of age and shouldn't have to go to the field anymore, unless the ISIS craziness takes over the world, I might get one of these for a novelty item.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles P (Dj Analysis)
Statesville NC
Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
This is light
I'm about 110 pounds - 5'6" and some change. Thought this would be heavy, but it's a lightweight juicy thang!! I really can't fathom a greater weapon than the trench dagger, (though this is more of a combination Trench/Yarara) it slashes, thrusts, pierces, and bludgeons. You don't even have to take it out of the sheath for it to be a powerful striker. The top blade will seem worthless at first, but believe me...it's one of the most defensive parts of the "double edge chaos" right next to the dual-section-knuckle-guard. This doesn't come very sharp, so you will have to edge it...other than that - super bada** SK5 construction. Probably won't stay beautiful for very long - but who cares - look at the price-tag!! Barely a WW1 remake, considering most M-1918's weren't used until WW2 and quickly replaced by M3. A weapon lost in time.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nwguy
Northern Michigan
May 29, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
BANG for the BUCK.
0 DARK 30: I SILENTLY closed to almost within arms length of the sentry. I reached for my COLD STEEL Chaos with my left hand ... only then realizing that it was not where I usually carried my blade because the sheath was not ambidextrous. Slowly I shuffled hands with my High Standard with the silencer. I went to deftly pull the CHAOS with my right hand, and the form fit sheath held on to the blade like a desperate housewife clings to her charge cards. The sheath finally gave up and with a rather loud SNICK the blade was in my hand just as the sentry turned saying "What the hell was that?"... WITHOUT getting into war stories, I have on occasion in my life time gone in harms way carrying various instruments of war. A blade, a GOOD blade was always a necessity... for all sorts of reasons. Curiosity got to the better of me when Cold Steel introduced this one, as I have handled and used the "real thing" , both WWI and WWII various "trench knives" A friend of mine used to also have a full collection from both wars as well and so I am quite familiar with them. The opening paragraph points to two of the points I would call negative if going in harms way for serious is the reason for purchasing this knife. I have no idea what the engineers were thinking when they did not make the sheath/knife combo ambi, at least it is not to my line of thinking. Let me clear this up. You can carry it on the left side but the handle/grip configuration is all wrong. ALSO.. for a fighting/combat knife the sheath is LOUD. It is NOT STEALTHY. The originals were heavier than the CS version, most using brass or steel for the handle and protection. AND I think CS did not allow for the larger handed of us in this version. A real ham hand will find it somewhat binding, same for cold weather with gloves, but, there is room enough and material enough to open the grip up a little without degrading the hand protection from working. Other than that there is not much else to say of a negative nature. The plus side... Nice weight for all the material there. The finish is consistent and it looks like it will wear well. The new sheath.. well as I intimated above, IT IS NOISY if you are doing silent wet work but most of us, we will never have to worry about that kind of stealth. The only way you will lose this knife is to forget it somewhere. The sheath grabs it and locks on. There is also another loop to secure it with a snap. It is going nowhere. ALSO, there area enough attachment positions on the sheath you could find a way to strap it to anything you wanted. The quality is typical of CS knives. Very good and while not a show knife it has no flaws that I can find. It comes out of the box sharp enough to hurt yourself very easily, it is sharp, but as with any production knife it could stand a little cleaning. I like the Spyderco sticks and after a few rubs with the medium fine I then went to the ceramic, now HOLY CRAP IS IT SHARP!!!!!! It will take a while for the arm hair to grow back. I haven't had a chance to get into the woods with it yet since I just got it a few days ago. AND, neither blade design, double edge or tanto, is what I would really choose to take into the deep and dark, but I should have an opportunity to give it some work over the next few weeks to see how the edge holds and how it works on various tasks. If I was going into a knife fight it would definitely be my first choice(after they said no guns), it offers all the right bells and whistles. If you are not envisioning MORTAL COMBAT and looking for a more general purpose knife, you can buy a couple of CS Bushman knives for the same $$$$ and be better off. It is far cheaper than buying an original after which it is a copy and probably last longer... still... I like it and the quality... Just don't know what I'm gonna do with it now.
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Adam
Krokelvdalen, Other
Aug 02, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
Afterthought
Just got the knife yesterday and have not had a chance to abuse it yet! How ever it feels (as most CS knives) well built and solid. It is Nice and Sharp out of the Box. Also the SK-5 steel is a fairly good steel, allthough some tlc and oil is recomended. The only thing I am not happy With is the Choice of handle finish. It is not wear resistant at all, and in fact it had allready peeled of on a small area due to friction from the loop snap. That said I would all in all certainly not have any problems With recomending it to anyone!
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Beak
NorCal
Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Sweet Vengence
Hopefully you NEVER need to use it unless your plan on ending the life of pumpkins or squashes for entertainment purposes. Otherwise god bless the fool who is on the business end of this piece. Yikes
Cold Steel 80NTP Chaos Double Edge Fixed 7.5" SK-5 Blade, Aluminum Handles, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Steve
wood dale il
Jun 13, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
waiting for a grat trench knife
the paint peeling on the handle