SHOP ALL HOLIDAY SALES! Details

KnifeCenter strives to provide individuals with disabilities access to its products and services, including through an accessible website. If you have questions, comments, or encounter any difficulty in using this site, please e-mail info@knifecenter.com or call - (800) 338-6799

Skip to main content

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to our Cookie Policy.

SHOP ALL HOLIDAY SALES! Details

Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath4.479 (71 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
45
4 star
20
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
2
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $20.95

Save $14.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Gii
Canada
Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Review
Good Balance Sharp Sheath has awesome attachment points\
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Mib
New York
Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A Soldiers Review of Cold Steel 80PGTK GI TANTO FIXED 7"
This product comes out of the box " Mission Ready". The tip is fully protected with a neat protective device. The sheath is ready to tie down on your vest or just stick it on your u-til belt. I am a retired Federal Agent, former soldier and, use to putting my butt deep in harms way. My specialty is to protect american personal and or highly sensitive cargo. My use for this product is to stay alive in emergency situations when guns won't be used or I have run out of bullets. To be blunt the knife for me is used to cut my way out of deadly situations use your imagination men. For example; insertion without detection, take out enemy personal without detection, and various utility options. Things that are great about this weapon are; it is a heavy duty blade with the ability to cut through bone without bending, make deep cuts when slashing, open the wound once your in with maximum destruction of organs, maintain its razor sharp blade, slides out of sheath very easy, totally dark- no shinny parts to give you away. If you are looking for a combat knife with a blade built to; devastate the enemy, handle utility needs, thats easy to carry, can be tethered any where you wish on your body, belt or vest, and comes ready to raise hell right out of the box or just go fishing with your son this is it. I was very surprised at the quality, craftsmanship, and ability of this knife for the money. I give this blade a 5 star EXCELLENT rating and I intend to use this knife on my next mission. For the price everyone should have this blade in their inventory of ready weapons. In fact, 2 as I am ordering a second one to keep hidden on my person inside my uniform as a last resort. How about you, ready to try one?
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Skylar
DE
May 09, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Quality
For the money, this is one great blade. It is razor sharp right out of the box. Full tang, removable scales, and fantastic sheath! The belt loop on the sheath unsnaps and velcros so you don't have to undo a belt to slide it on. there are lots of attachment options on the sheath itself as well. I haven't really thrashed on it but I did sink it right through a sheet of 1/4 inch plywood. Legendary Cold Steel quality for sure!
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
David M
oklahoma
Jun 19, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
This is the best do it all knife out there put some grip tape on the handle and chop, throw, cut, dig it does it all. I put a fire rod on my secure ex sheath which is an awesome sheath by the way and now it starts fires too much recomended knife. I also took off the paint to give it a rugged look. It looks great. I quote lynn thompson when I say (with this knife u are a force) Get this knife!
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Rodney
Ohio
Sep 08, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
wonderful
got mine a day ago and its well balanced strong and sharp
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Happycamper
Seattle
Jun 02, 2011
Pros: Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material
GI awesomeness
I have the nylon sheath version of this knife and this weekend i took it out and really put it through the paces, its a fantastic hacker makes light work of thick branches, its hefty enough to use as a hatchet the hanldle is the weak spot on this knife but some blue loctite threadlock takes care of that, i wish i had the secure ex sheath i have other cold steel knives with it and there fantastic, i dont know why the one guy got a chisel edge on his but mine is just a regular grind at id say about 30* and the top "false" edge is sharp enough to slice paper like the real edge, all it took was a pass through a gerber ceramic sharpener to knock the paint off and get it that sharp, this knife is just as good as a Kabar or any other survival/utility or fighting knife you can buy for less than $100 and this thing only costs $25 fantastic buy one before they raise the price
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
William C.
Fort Collins, Co
Feb 23, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife
The knife is Sharp right out of the box. Very good quality and can't be beat for the price! Thanks to Cold steel and Knife Center.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Paul
AZ
May 24, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
excellent and affordable product
Super sharp and rugged no-nonsense knife. Sheath is very thin and streamlined and is comfortable on the belt or stuck in a pack. Blade is thick enough to chop wood and sharp enough to skin with. This knife should cost twice the price but i am glad it didn't.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Desmond W
Louisiana
Jul 28, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A man's knife
Just got my knife yesterday. It is everything as advertised. I love the feel and look. It's made for a man. I can't wait to cut something. I will love to throw this knife. Great Price and fast shipping.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Craig
Boise, ID.
Aug 09, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Materials, None
Cons: Handle Material
Love it!
I plan to use this as my camping/hiking knife. I like the sturdiness, weight, and balance, as well as the sheath.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Justin
Calgary, AB
Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
BadAss Knife!!!!!
This knife is everything it says it is. Beautiful weight, and it came out of the box sharp as he** and I could shave with it. Every knife I've purchased from cold steel I've never been disappointed. Cheers!!!!
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Neil M.
Oz
Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
7 inches of nasty
It's a tactical meat cleaver, I love it!
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Jay
Boston
Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
Exelent survival knife
Exelent survival knife and the price is great. Troughs great too.. Handel could be a textured G -10 but for the price I am very happy.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Charles H.
Mason, Tenn.
Dec 14, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
All business
You need and want a survival knife? Look no further! This GI Tanto is all you need. Not only is it wicked looking, but this thing can power through just about anything. I have this hanging on my "when the sh*t hits the fan" rig. Good steel, good balance and heck of a good price....Just get it!
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Bigw
Maryland
Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Handle Material, None
Subtle? No. Awesome? Yes.
This thing is not subtle or beautiful. But it doesn't need to be. It is a tool, not a work of art. It takes a nice edge and you can really beat on it. It feels like something a peasant farmer in the third world would own. Basic, simple, reliable and cheap. I suppose it would be a formidable weapon, but I think its best use is as a tough-as-nails beater knife in the back country. The only thing I don't like is the handle. It is too slick. Wrap it with something.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
David J
Palmerston North,
Sep 08, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
The one
if you want a hard core no BS knife for all purposes this is it AAA+++
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Fern
Capital of Canada
Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Weight, None
Cold Steel GI Tanto with Secure-Ex sheath
Good knife, I like the sheath a lot. Sturdy and awesome with tek-locs. Shipping was on time, in fact earlier then expect which was a pleasant surprise. Blade is a little beefier than expected, but it's solid. All in all, pleased with the shipping and the product. Thanks KnifeCenter, another happy customer!
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Aravinthan Rp
Karur District, Tamilnadu, India, Other
Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Be glad if you could own One
Guys, I am from India. I told you this because 25 dollar for me is not a easy money. But, trust me it's worth every penny you spend. A great knife to own. It could cut through a 4 inch dry teak wood like nothing. Just go head and grab one. It's an all purpose baby. I am glad I was able to get my hands on this one. Please don't reject this just because it's made in China. :). Love you knifecenter.com. xoxo for KC from India.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Shilo L.
magna, UT
May 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
best 25 bucks I've ever spent!
i received this knife a little while ago, and let me tell you it is the best 25 bucks i've ever spent. i took it on a fishing trip, chopped wood, split wood, made fire tinder etc... every job i put in front of this knife it accomplished. the sheath is worth 30 dollars alone, it is very very high quality for the price. it has a friction fit with a belt loop/ button snap, tons of options for lashing it to gear, and a quick attach/ release belt loop which is very sturdy, you don't have to worry about loosing the knife. the blade came razor sharp, and is really strong. i was splitting through 4" of hard wood and the 4mm blade could take it. it is easy to resharpen, and blade sharpness lasts a long time. the handle scales are nice and strong. i hammered tent stakes with them and they held up nicely. some people have had issues with the screws getting loose, which then causes the scales to fall off. i put some plumbers tape on the screws, and they didn't loosen one bit. i recommend this knife to EVERYONE! if you took your time to look at this knife and read this review you should definitely add this to your cart before checking out. this knife is well worth the money.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Jrp
montana
Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
nice
A sharp knife, looks good. Good for what I need it for.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Hungry556
Ontario, Canada
Oct 07, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Pure Awesomeness! Life does not get any BETTER! :D
Fast mailing, great quatity, fantastic service, super communications! Life is great. What a great product and a marvelous price point. I have put myself through university (28 years ago) teaching at an Air Crew Survival School and I wish I had this knife with me. Back then I used a USMC Kabar for the dirty chopping, slashing, and hacking duties. Today, for half the price (maybe a third) of a Kabar, Cold Steel GI Tanto exceeds my expectations to do all the nasty things many collectors would not even dream about doing to their tools. I love this knife. It balances well. The sheath is bombproof and will easily survive the zombie invasion! For the price: Don't buy ONE! Buy TWO of them! Actually, I bought THREE of them. One for my bug-out-bag, one for my Rav4 and the 3rd for my wife's Rav4. I'm ready for the crash of the stock markets and the Zombie apocalypse. No seriously, this is a fantastic deal and the vendor is top shelf. What's not to like? Cheers mates!
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Al L
GULFPORT, MS
Jul 03, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
FOR THE $$$ - ABSOLUTELY UNTOUCHABLE!!!
i have been buying and using knives & other edged tools for 50+ years. Never have I seen anything this impressive from a value position. Have owned this blade about 3 months. Cosmetically, it is NOT pretty. Functionally, it is Miss Universe!!! I have cut everything from blackberry vines to branches 3+ inches in diameter. This knife backs away from nothing! It came reasonably sharp. Sharpened it once & it is still that way. Title (above) says it all... On a money spent per utility value, no other knife I know of, from ANY maker even comes close. ONE PRO NOT ON THE LIST - PRICE!!!
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Britt J.
Texas Hill Country
Aug 09, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great Knife....Awesome Price......
I admit I have a problem . I like edged tools for many reasons and for many uses. This one will fill many of those uses. The knife was on sale for just under $20. At that price I bought two. One to use and the other may be a gift to a family member or friend to show my appreciation.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Luis H
Uberlândia, Minas Gerais, Brasil
Oct 01, 2012
Pros: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent knife
Gonna take a trip through Latin america and I'll take this knife with me, I can stay calm, because I know that I have a knife I can trust!! Congratulations to Knife Center for their excellent products Thanks
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Tim
Spring Hill, Tn
Jan 17, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Gotta love this knife
What an awesome knife for the money! It is very hefty and very sharp. It will serve as a camp knife, hacker, throwing and defensive weapon. It meets all of those standards and then some. It came with a kydex/hard plastic sheath with various slots and holes along the sides for easy attachment, or just use the belt strap which accommodates any belt size. Small criticism, but the hilt could be 1/2 to 3/4" longer and the plastic plates could be rounded instead of concave to better fill the hand. Nobody comes close for the price!
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Happycamper
Seattle
Nov 01, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Cold Steel GI Tanto 1yr Update
Update!!! after having this knife for over a year now, Ive used this knife alot in the year ive had it and I just love it, I have the canvas sheath which Is the weak point IMO Id much rather have the secure ex that the other CS knives have they are great, but the canvas works fine its just a preference. This knife is a tank, It will hack well and baton through firewood to split it, it will clear small trees and every other camp chore you can think of. the only true down side is the handle, the scales as they come are very slippery and they need to be removed and the bolts need loctite to ensure they hold tight. But thats no big deal it takes 30 sec to do and after that its fine. Also the tip is a bit fine but if you only have this knife, that tip will be very handy for detail work. Also in a self defense/tactical role that tip will penetrate like crazy. The one review saying the knife broke is either a fluke or insane expectations of a knife, any time ive broken a knife or a tool, its when Ive been doing something I shouldnt be, Screwdrivers knives, hell even breaker bars have limits, and from what ive seen and done with the CS GI tanto, breakage isnt something Id worry about. Also he said the edge rolled when he threw it, If you watch the CS video they do throw it but its edge up, so the false edge is what impacted the target. Also the guy throwing had great technique and it was a good soft wood target, throwing a knife is so abusive, even throwing knives break, and they are made for it. frankly the knife has too sharp of an edge and has too fine of a tip to be a throwing knife. Its a utility/camping/survival knife, yes it was thrown in the CS vid but they have a million of them and dont care if one breaks. It is a utilty blade that can be thrown in a pinch However in the CS vid they put the knife in a vice and bend it using a cheater pipe to around 80* it most likely didnt spring back straight but it would still be useable,so if that didnt snap it, you shouldnt be worried about snapping it either. And if you do its your fault not the knife. it a fantastic knife that will serve you well, it may have some design shortcomings like the handle, or the blade starts 2" in front of the hilt. but its great value All in all its a fantastic knife especially for $25.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Almarshem
People's Replublic of California
Aug 09, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Cold Steel GI Tanto Fixed 7"
Have one, gave one as a gift. This price was too good to pass, bought 4 more. Excellent knife, balanced, Cold Steel razor sharp (...but I repeat myself), purpose built and high quality. shoulda' bought 'em all!!!
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Dale Bloom
Grand Junction , Mi
Aug 14, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I should have ordered two!
The blade came sharp right out of the box. The false edge only took a minimum of work to get it sharp. The handle is comfortable in my hands, although probably not the best for someone with really large hands. The sheath is well done. I have done some cutting in my woods with it and the blade holds an edge well. The coating is tough and will take quite a bit of use to wear off. All in all I think this is a superiour knife for $23. Get it.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Max123
Beliot,WI
Aug 30, 2012
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material
I love this knife. just the sheath its self should be 25 bucks. i have a a pretty big knife collection and by far this knife ranks up with some of my other hight dollar knives. although scence it is carbon steel the blade may rust if the blade's coating rubs after hard use ,but with a little CLR the rust will come right off. Ha!
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
David M
Crowley, Tx
Mar 07, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
Great Blade
Great blade for multi-purpose use. Took off toy handle and made one from Micarta...very nice
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Larry S
NJ
Dec 21, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
Many are more costly, but not better.
Good weight and balance...the sheath couldn't be better. Most people who buy knives like this are expecting something "magical"......this knife is a bare bones killing instrument....nothing more. And it couldn't be better if it cost 5 times as much.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Danny
Oklahoma
Apr 14, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Finish
So far so good. Seemingly great knife for the money.
Just got mine in the mail from Cold Steel. As far as first impressions go, I'm very pleased with this knife. I'm testing it out soon to see if how durable it is. If the blade is half as tough as it feels then I think it will do great. The blade could be sharper from the factory though, mine was practically round.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Hugh
WV, the "Beautiful Mountain State"
Mar 06, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A knife that's tough as nails.
1). This knife may not be perfect for every outdoorsman or every outdoor task, but what it may lack here or there it more than makes up for in being versatile, tough, and reliable. 2). Whether batoning, chopping, or slicing, this particular knife can handle the use and abuse, be resharpened easily and quickly, and is just the right size to not be too big or too small. 3). The tanto tip does come to a fine and narrow point, which is ideal for precise picking and detail work, it can bend if it experiences a solid impact against a hard object, but it should be kept in mind that a good knife should be handled and used properly, even the most expensive knives on the market can be damaged through misuse. 4). The straight edge of the blade can function as a planer for making feather sticks to start a fire, and the sharp false-edge is very useful in removing bark or small tree limbs/brush without having to use the actual cutting edge (which further preserves the integrity of the real edge). 5). This knife and its hard sheath are very sturdy, which is rare for any knife under $50. 6). It should be noted that 1055 carbon steel is extremely tough, it may lose its edge after a prolonged period of hard use, but overall it is an excellent knife for anyone needing a solid medium length blade. 7). The handles/scales and the hard sheath are made from polypropalene plastic, which is exceptionally impact resistant, tough, and resists chemicals and can be easily cleaned with soap and water. 8). The blade and any areas of the exposed steel should be wiped clean regularly and oiled to prevent staining or rust. 9). The sheath can attach to almost any vest, belt, backpack, or other piece of wearable gear, which makes it very wearer friendly. The hard sheath prevents accidental injury from the blade if the wearer falls during carry. 10). The knife is a solid full tang with bolt-on handle scales, if purchased brand-new it will come in a box and the contents will be securely packed and wrapped. 11). Despite its very reasonable price, this truly is a quality made knife and sheath, I am a skeptic and quite critical about what I spend money on, but this knife is a true bargain that's hard to believe but is every bit as good as COLD STEEL says it is. 12). Anyone with knife handling experience knows the difference between real field use and ignorant abuse of gear, if used properly and not abused ridiculously, this knife will not fail or break. No more needs to be said about this issue. 13). Obviously this knife isn't a $300 custom blade, but as an avid collector and responsible user, I can honestly say that this knife will hold its own against the high-priced blades and it will not disappoint. 14). At its low cost, this knife is ideal for a multiple purchase, where one can be stored or packed in various places to have a good knife on hand wherever your adventures take you, but you should be aware of your local state/county rules, laws, and regulations about carrying or concealing it. Educate yourself. 15). Forget about using this knife as a ''throwing knife'', seriously, what use is a good knife if it's out of your hand several feet away, and also throwing a knife can damage the edge, which cripples the knife. Be smart, don't do dumb things to good pieces of gear or you'll ruin them. 16). Summary: Good knife, good sheath, good price.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Jake L
Rhode Island
Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great Buy
I use this knife quite frequently and it's held up great for the past two years. It's 1055 high carbon steel holds up well for the price. The only thing about it is the sheath slightly dulls the knife but it's not too much of a problem.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Ralph M.
Dallas
May 21, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
extreme quality little cost
This is my go to. It's Velcroed to the rollbar in my jeep. The knife is super strong and extremely intimidating. I could use it for many task,but for now since I am in a large number of not too nice places it's main purpose is quick defense. The videos on this knife tell the story. Many uses, pick one. Extreme quality little cost.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Sl
magna ut
Jan 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
great knife!!! for the$$$!!!
My younger brother got one of these G.I. tantos for christmas. I got a trench hawk and love it but after seeing and handling this knife i knew i had to get one. I plan on using it as a light camping/ survival knife going to order one along with a leather neck sf. The shealth with this knife is amazing for a knife this cheap. I've never had a problem with any of my cold steel knife sheaths. The 1055 carbon steel blade is mean its razorsharp can shave the hair off my arm... dry! The coolest this is the handle scales come right off and you can convert your knife into a spear. For this price everyone should have one!!!
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Michael R.
16 Colton Rd, Edison N,J 08817
Oct 09, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Heavy in a good way. Nice workmanship
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Phil P
The Projects
Sep 06, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, None
Cold Steel GI Tanto
Awesome no nonsense knife for the money! A must have !
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Kevin
west ny state
Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
THIS THING ROCKS
I use this thing almost EVERYTHING I gutted game with it butchered game with it used it in a kitchen on veges ive used it as a pry bar chopped wood with it made a survival spear out of it YOU CANT KILL THIS THING the only problem I have with this is the sheath makes it hard to draw because it is TO tight
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Jake H.
BrookPark OH
Apr 24, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
elegant
great knife for the money, good blade retention and coating, Secure-Ex Sheath is one of the best features of the knife...makes a great balanced thrower...extremely versatile knife
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Link P
here and there
Apr 25, 2013
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
HOT DAMN!
I've owned mine for about 2 years, and it's seen some heavy duty use... I can affirm that this blade is by far the most bang for your buck you can get... I use it for EVERYTHING. Literally. Cooked, cleaned, gutted, shovel, pry bar, can opener, even as a makeshift hammer! after that amount of abuse, yes, it needed sharpening, and a slight recutting of the tip, but what knife wouldn't? In order to make it more user friendly in the handle, I grinded off the top quillion guard, wrapped it in paracord, sanded off the finish and blued the whole damn thing! Now its end of the world zombie apocalypse proof! This thing can handle my abuse, it sure as heck can handle anything! The secure-ex sheath gave out before the blade even blinked... I just made a new one. I'm buying more of these, cause you can never be too prepared.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Dave
NORTH GA. MTNS.
Oct 28, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
A BEAST
It's a beast. You can get it reasonably sharp. It is not a fine carving tool. It's a pointy end in soft tissue, pry open stuck stuff, hacking, chopping, type GI knife. You don't mind beating the finish off of it because it's cheap. Good truck knife.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Jake
Arizona (AZ)
Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife
I've used this blade for chopping and fine cutting. It's a good overall knife. Great weight and easy to use. It's also very sharp right out of the package. I was able to shave my arm hair with it. If you're looking for a blade like this it's definitely a great blade and the price is great too. Hope this is helpful.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Chris A.
Providence, RI
Aug 29, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Knife at a Great Price
This Cold Steel is certainly a "no nonsense" tactical/survival knife. It comes with a nice edge on the blade and its heavy feel will allow you to cut, slice and chop all types of wood/material. The sheath holds the knife securely. If any Cons, I would have liked to have seen some checkering on the handle or a softer material for a better purchase. Overall and great knife...and for the price, you can't go wrong!
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Bjorn P
Wisconsin
Dec 26, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great buy, great all-around knife
I purchased two of these knives for their high functionality and great reviews. I was pleased with my decision. The knives are quite heavy and durable, and appear as though they could take quite the beating. The knife can be hard to draw one-handed if it is just on your belt as it locks in securely. Also, because this is a combat knife the tip is quite pointed and is the most vulnerable part of this knife. Blade comes pretty much razor sharp. Overall and amazing product and much more heavy and durable than it even looks in the pictures.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Ck
taiwan
Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality
not as expected
not so sharp
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Hobbs
Indiana
Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great value, easily modified
The cold steel G.I. Tanto is a full tang piece of high carbon steel. Mine came very sharp and with a Securex (kydex) scabbard. Sheath is nice, knife is a no-frills utilitarian tanto design open to modifications by the end user which is my reason for purchasing it. The price was too low to pass it up. I couldn't find much information online about the cutting edge length, so if anyone else is curious: Sharpened cutting edge is 6" long False top edge, easily sharpened if desired This can be reshaped to be nearly identical to the Australian HH Tanto if one wishes, or shaped into a clip point Bowie not unlike the SRK. I purchased it mainly for utility use and when I become bored or find it no longer useful, I can change it to suit me. As a side note, the sheath secures the blade by clamping down behind the finger guards. Some reviews complained about the scabbard not releasing the knife. As with most kydex or hard plastic sheaths, scabbards or holsters, just put your thumb on the sheath at the edge and push down and the knife pops right out.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Jm
NC
Jun 01, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Finish
Good Value
For $23, you won't do much better.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Corey
Ont ca
Apr 09, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Finish, None
Not a primary blade
Purely a combat knife but thats not a problem Love the sheath
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Cursemer
Commiefornia
Jan 20, 2019
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material, Finish
Great knife all-around.
Can attest to the quality of both the knife and sheath. Only reason this is a 4 and not a 5 star rating is due to the handle material being the antithesis of grippy, and doesn't have any kind of texturing to it (there's texturing but it's unbelievably shallow and made for looks more-so than actual utility), and it isn't rubberized, so if you plan on using this to chop as a bushcraft knife, or swing it around as a fighting knife, you'd better buy yourself a tough cord of leather or nylon for that hole at the pommel and loop it to your wrist, or else this thing is going to go flying out of your hand.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Dan'l Boone
Kan-Tuck-Y
Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
AWESOME AND INEXPENSIVE
This knife is pretty big, the width of the blade is about 2 in and the sheath makes it about 3 in so its to wide to strap on your backpack shoulder straps which is what I bought it for. The black coating on this knife is not very good just taking it out of the sheath it is starting to rub off on one spot close to the tip. The secure-ex sheath is nice to have for a MOLLE vest or pack. On the description it says the blade is 7 in, the distance from the guard to the tip is 7 in, the cutting edge is 6 in but the leftover inch is a finger choil for a choked up grip. The secure-ex holds the knife super tight in and you have to pull hard on it. The button snap is easy to unsnap but it still holds nicely, I've had a sheath with the snap so tight that it broke trying to unsnap it. The reason I gave the knife 4 stars is because of the coating that comes off quick everything else is great. I wish the sheath was a little bit more narrow so it was easer to store and didn't take up so much room on your vest like if your in the military and you need more room for ammo, radio, or handgun. I like this knife alot and for $25. Buy one.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Ric R
Richmond, VA
Dec 28, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Cold Steel GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
Used for camping/hunting, good balance and blade.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Anthony B.
Miami, FL
Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Amazing Knife
This knife is a great example of what Cold Steel does. They make work horse knives and this is an example of that. It Chops and Cuts and the Sheath is pretty nice for the money. I have one and I am going to get one for my lady so she can have one. The only reason I don't give it 5 Stars is because the handle could be better but its not bad.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Toby L
Williamsburg, In
Feb 09, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
feels good
Don't care for the handle , seems tuff and all but also is a bit slick for my hand . Maybe I have dry hands but not sure but how its gonna do after handling a wet limb then hacking with it , time will tell ,,,, don't care for seeing the word on the blade , thought it was US made. Fits nice in sheath , sheath very adjustable , I`m left handed so always nice to be able to switch them over. A drop of red loc-tite on the screws of the sheath may be good to do also. Don't like giving review before real testing but just don't think handle is going to have a grip to it .
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Jacob H
Mars, Pa
Jul 18, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Awesome for the Money
I have been using this knife in some pretty hard use roles over the last year and a half, and it has preformed pretty well. I have done everything from splitting wood to throwing with this knife. Everyone is collectively saying the same thing here.. awesome knife for a beater or someone on a budget, to get a decent fixed blade with nice sheath for under 50 bucks is a deal. Pros: -Inexpesive -Able to do a paracord wrap on handle -Nice Sheath (durable, holds knife well) Cons -made in china -Edge retention isn't amazing Ps: anyone who owns or is going to own this knife.. definitely remove the handle do a paracord wrap on the knife.. makes it so much lighter and easier to grip
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Toby
indiana
Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Handle Material, None
nice
said handle has great grip , don't see it that way , maybe I just have old dry hands but don't think it has great grip. Hell of a psc. of steel thought . very good fitting sheath.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Bigw
Maryland
Apr 07, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material
I'm a Rough Boy
If you are looking for a finely crafted blade, keep on looking. This is a heavy, blunt instrument ready for rough work. The edge it came with was garbage, but a little work with the Arkansas stones got it razor sharp. It is pretty easy to sharpen free-hand given the linear design of the blade. The handle material is nothing special, a bit slick for my taste. But it is a thick, heavy full-tang blade. I haven't beaten on it yet, but it looks like it will take a beating easily. I am sure the coating will wear off almost immediately. It is one of the heavier knives I own - not sure about taking it backpacking because of the weight. This is more for situations when you want a beater knife that you know you aren't going to break. I cannot imagine what I would have to do to break this knife, but it would be something pretty extreme.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Suzanne
Alabama
May 20, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
cold steel
Great knife for camping, hiking or anything outdoors that a knife might be needed. This is a VERY sturdy and sharp knife. Plastic sheath also well built HOWEVER if the knife is pushed into the sheath as far as it can go it can be EXTREMELY difficult to remove.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
X Villa
Nevada
May 16, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Finish, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Gi tanto must get
Get it, I love the sheath and the blade is great
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Kyle
Detroit MI
Aug 17, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material
Great penetration, weak tip
This knife is the best penetrator i have ever seen. The angular design feels weird in your hand at first, but it didnt take long to learn to love. The scales take some getting used to. The only problem i had was that i dropped it and the very tip busted off, rendering it somewhat useless. As a caution to other buyers I'd say be mindful of the tip when using this knife as it breaks kind of easily. For the money, though it's more than worth it.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Dave M.
Ohio
Oct 05, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife for the money
This is a great all around knife for the price. I have used it for small tasks and even batoning. This is a hard knife to break. Plus...... It is cheap enough that you won't feel bad using it as a tool.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Sold On The Cold Steel Gi Ig
Seattle
Feb 15, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
awesome all rounder
For the price this is a fantastic knife, i wasnt crazy about the handle, but i removed the handle scales and wrapped it in in paracord. One full leangth layer and about a 2.5 inch wrapped cord band for extra "meat and padding on the handle. it has plent of heft and solves the usual problem with tanto knifes the blades are too narrow almost half as wide of a bowie, so katana knives like the 8" KaBar tanto dont really hack through wood, you can baton but im not a huge fan of that method, the Gi tanto is at least 1/2 to over 1" wider than all of the other tanto knives i have and about a .25" wider than my bowie's and even though its only a 7" blade it a very long knife the hilt ends the blade doesnt start for an inch and a half. the 7" inch Gi is almost as long as my 8" kabar, this will not break i would never worry about this thing and if the false edge on the back isnt begging to be sharpened i dont know what is i think it could cut a tender steak out of the box,Speaking of edges the very shallow deep back-cut grind and the almost perfectly symmetrical tanto grind (the 45 degree corner that makes it a tanto) wich is frequently off so there are really 2 small corners that are weaker and are thin therefore wont hold an edge as well and that tanto grind is the most used part for cutting. alrigth no more rambling, Cold steel knocked this one out of the park. and if they are are reading reviews a molded grippy semi soft rubber handle like on the super edge and a secure ex sheath raise this knife from being outstanding to brilliant and a market leader
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Chris
South Georgia
Aug 23, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
Great budget knife.
This knife is great for the money. I have had mine for a year know without even a nick in the edge. I use it mainly for camp chores, self defense against animals on the trails(I have never needed it for this purpose) and throwing when I get bored.Overall a great defensive blade with some utility function. I only give it a 4/5 because I would prefer a handle with a better grip and a finger choil,maybe a thicker blade, and alas I bought mine before CS offered the secure-ex sheath.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Don B
San Diego, Ca
Dec 01, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
GOOD KNIFE FOR THE PRICE
GOOD BLADE, GOOD SHEATH, SO SO HANDLE. NOTHING SOME HOCKEY STICK TAPE CAN'T FIX.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Norm K
Tennessee
Aug 09, 2016
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Handle Material, None
Cold Steel 7" tanto
Bought it for a bug out bag/car knife. It's pretty big. Feels great in my hand, but wish the handle had more grip, I think I'm going to wrap it with paracord. Great value.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
3 out of 5
Sonofaranger
GA.
Feb 03, 2011
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
eh to soft of steel
This knife is good an all but I dont like the steel its to soft I cut limbs the size of my wrist in two hits only becuase of weight alright knife.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
3 out of 5
Christopher Joneschristopher Jonesjojo
Orcas, WaOrcas, WaOrcas, Wa
Jun 03, 2011
Pros: Weight, Materials
Cons: None
Good Field Knife
Its good and sturdy for field work and is thick enough but do not throw this knife... i can tell it will fall apart if so. The tip on my smashed down quite easily. Otherwise its great for self defense and other tasks. Could use some sharpening. (Great Weight to it)
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
3 out of 5
Double L
Down south
Nov 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
A decent,inexpensive fixed blade knife.
I'll be honest i was quite surprised when i read all the reviews here about the GI Tanto.I am in no way trashing the knife,or the brand,but in my opinion several fans have over exaggerated the GI Tanto's overall capabilities,and have made it out to be much better than it actually is.Make no mistake,the GI is a very stout,thick,carbon steel knife.But it has average ergonomics,and that's being polite,a handle that's too short for my liking,not to mention poor traction on the handle.The top part of the guard is useless,and tends to get in the way.I also dislike the distance between your hand and the actual cutting edge.A knife this large/heavy tends to be clumbsy anyways,and with your hand so far apart only makes it more unweildy when using the knife to cut with.I agree this knife is a beast,but pay close attention to the superlatives most say about it,99% only talk about how great the GI does two things,chopping trees and batoning wood.I dont build log homes,or use a knife to split firewood,so those two tasks dont appeal to me.I care much more about how a knife feels in the hand,it's balance,and also it's CUTTING abilities.And while the GI Tanto is an awesome "stabber",prybar,and wedge,it struggles at cutting due to it's geometry,and the fact that 1055 does not hold a good edge,it's known for being a tough steel,not it's edge holding.Overall,ignore the hype,the bottom line is the GI Tanto is a DECENT fixed blade knife at an inexpensive price.For $10 more the Schrade SCHF9 or the SCHF9N(ss model) is a far superior survival knife overall.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
2 out of 5
Ted I.
Cumming, GA
Aug 11, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Finish, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Blade Material, Materials
The steel is very soft and I would not recommend this as a reliable knife. It folded and bent when used on cutting young sweet gum trees. You can't do the things that ColdSteel does to their knives in their videos. Yes, it is heavy and 3/16" thick but that does not make it a heavy-duty knife.
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
1 out of 5
Josh
portland area, Oregon
May 18, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
This is a bad knife. Let me explain why by starting from the least upsetting problems to the most problematic. The handle is crap the screws start coming out imediatley (after one throw). I took them off and wrapped the handle in paracord. Next the chisel ground blade on the one I got folded over and made the blade ineffective. This could be fixed by taking it to a stone. The LARGEST PROBLEM I had with this knife is that it BROKE IN HALF after throwing. Even though it's advertised as a throwing knife by cold steel and the literature say it will stand up to anything "you can dish out." DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
Cold Steel 80PGTK GI Tanto Fixed 7" Carbon Steel Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath
1 out of 5
Ricardo S S
Braine L'alleud, Ae
Dec 08, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
Cheap & poor quality
I used it as a throwing knife. The tip just bent from the first day, so I threw the knife...to the waste bin where it belongs.