Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 88SCFA Aluminum Head Sword Cane, 37.625" Overall, Carbon Fiber Shaft

Cold Steel 88SCFA Aluminum Head Sword Cane, 37.625" Overall, Carbon Fiber Shaftrated 4.400 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Cold Steel 88SCFA Aluminum Head Sword Cane, 37.625 inch Overall, Carbon Fiber Shaft

 

Price: $119.95

Save $80.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 88SCFA Aluminum Head Sword Cane, 37.625" Overall, Carbon Fiber Shaft
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Dunnellon, FL
Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Materials, Usable, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Mightily impressed!
This is a sleek stylish slim walking stick that feels good in the hand. I bought it out of curiosity as I purchased the heavy duty sword cane. I felt that I had to have a cutting edge to suit my style. This sleek little poker has changed my mind. With a four-sided square "blade" that tapers to a wicked point, this tool will certainly protect me if I need it. The carbon fiber shaft is beautiful and it joins the sword with a brass-to-steel-looking machined metal fit (no O-rings). Very impressed. Gun oil type of preservative did not smell bad like I've read in some of the reviews - typical oil smell and I'm glad it was there. I may well buy another.
Cold Steel 88SCFA Aluminum Head Sword Cane, 37.625" Overall, Carbon Fiber Shaft
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mickel
Washington state
Dec 16, 2018
Pros: Materials, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Overall Quality, Usable
Cons: None
A Great looking, functional cane
Hi, I read the other feedback on this carbon fiber cane with the aluminum handle. Now I am wanting to add my two cents. I purchased the same Cold Steel Cane 5 years ago and I did all the very same things the other person that left feedback did, like I shortened mine to fit my height, added a stainless washer & a new rubber foot. I take it everywhere I go as I am disabled. It is a strong, functional, sharp looking cane. The polished carbon fiber, the polished to a mirror surface ball handle (handle is solid aluminum). The head swivels and I like that. The ball handle & long thin blade stay put. I have never had the handle & blade come out of the carbon fiber tube. You can use the cane head in a forward thrust motion (using to hands on the carbon fiber tube) and it becomes a non-lethal impact defense weapon. I would never hold the carbon tube and swing it like a bat! This is a well made item! I have tried polishing the blade, and it's so hard I don't get any black on my polish rag. There was a mall shooting a few miles from here. The shooters gun did not fire at first. The people sat there for 30 seconds while he figured out how to fix it. Then he started shooting. I will not be a victim. If ONE PERSON would of had this cane, and taken action, those 6 people would still be with us. That incident REALLY pushed me to purchased this cane. Just in case as a last resort! Good luck to you. By.
Cold Steel 88SCFA Aluminum Head Sword Cane, 37.625" Overall, Carbon Fiber Shaft
rated 5 stars out of 5
Collector
US
Dec 29, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Finish
Cons: None
Classy cane with hidden poker
This is a well made very classy cane that hides a deadly sharp poker. It is not a slicing sword, but one very mean poking sword. Cosmetically this cane is wonderful. At first it was difficult to pull the sword from the carbon fiber cane, but after the first pull, everything loosened up a bit. Very fine product that I am thrilled to have in my collection.
Cold Steel 88SCFA Aluminum Head Sword Cane, 37.625" Overall, Carbon Fiber Shaft
rated 5 stars out of 5
Uncle Fred
Mean Street
Jun 08, 2015
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Very Nice Cane - Very Nice Tool
I am very happy with my purchase. It is well made and quite sturdy. It makes for a great walking / balance aid and an excellent defensive weapon for striking, slashing and piercing. I did shorten it by about 1" to fit properly as a cane and I replaced the plastic tip which was slippery on tile/smooth surfaces with a black rubber cane tip for a sure grip. I cut the shaft with a fine toothed hack saw blade after wrapping it with masking tape where the cut was made to prevent any splintering (probably wouldn't have been a problem but it doesn't hurt to be careful). I then dressed the cut with a flat single cut mill file to smooth it out and very slightly bevel the end of the shaft. I inserted a metal washer inside the rubber tip to prevent damage to the end of the shaft when the rubber tip wears out, and I applied clear silicon caulking to the inside of the rubber tip to "glue" it on. As I said above, I an quite happy with my cane and even more so now, with its modifications. I do think some kind of a quarter twist spring-loaded (to prevent accidental deployment) latch/locking mechanism would be a good factory modification so that the large end could be used as a striker without sending the "sword" flying.
Cold Steel 88SCFA Aluminum Head Sword Cane, 37.625" Overall, Carbon Fiber Shaft
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim B
Gulf Shores
Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Excellent!
Cold Steel 88SCFA Aluminum Head Sword Cane, 37.625" Overall, Carbon Fiber Shaft
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bubba
Missouri not ferguson
Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Surprise
Don't never want to use the surprise but damn sure got it if I need it!
Cold Steel 88SCFA Aluminum Head Sword Cane, 37.625" Overall, Carbon Fiber Shaft
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paladin
In the dirt.
Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Knife Center Is The Best
Great product. Super fast delivery. Just what I've come to expect from Knife Center over the years...
Cold Steel 88SCFA Aluminum Head Sword Cane, 37.625" Overall, Carbon Fiber Shaft
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michael J
Goose Creek, SC
May 20, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Leaves the cheap, fragile other brands behind!
I have used one of these for years, and still alternate between it, my other Cold Steel sword cane and Ka-Bar's fighting cane. The heavy gauge head is great for a solid strike, the shaft is a great parry/block weapon, or for flat out striking with a swing or thrust. Yes, there is a rattle sometimes, but not so greatly noticeable that I have found, and I am 6', 280. I have read of others putting replacement rubber tips on theirs, I just haven't felt the need. I personally used a good flat diamond impregnated steel ''stone'' to make mine edgier. I have tested mine with a hard slash against cardboard and a thrust, and felt quite adequate, ha ha, with the resulting slices. I definitely do NOT see the sword breaking or bending out of shape. It is basically unbreakable under any hard use I see.
Cold Steel 88SCFA Aluminum Head Sword Cane, 37.625" Overall, Carbon Fiber Shaft
rated 4 stars out of 5
Doodah Man
Apr 06, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Nice Stick
This is a good looking walking stick. However, there is a very very slight rattle when using as a cane. No to bad though. This is a Poker not a Slicer. Hell of a Poker!
Cold Steel 88SCFA Aluminum Head Sword Cane, 37.625" Overall, Carbon Fiber Shaft
rated 1 stars out of 5
Michelle
Alaska
Apr 03, 2013
Pros: Durability, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish
Disappointing.
I received the product three weeks after ordering it. The sword rattles. The blade is not really a blade, it is not sharp at all. it has a semi sharp point, but it is not at all what I expected. This is also intended at a real walking stick for a disabled man, and the bottom is not a real rubber stopper that grips well. Positives; it is pretty heavy, not a super cheap feeling tool.