Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall

Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overallrated 3.962 stars out of 5 (26 reviews)
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
8
3 star
4
2 star
1
1 star
2
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22 inch Overall

 

Price: $32.95

Save $22.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craig
Texas
Jul 16, 2013
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
CS Pipe Hawk
When I received the Cold Steel Pipe Hawk I was prepared for some modifications. I had a dremmel and paint stripper on hand. Underneath all black paint on the 'hawk head is a beautiful drop forged tomahawk! While the body of it might be a little rough, the edge is bright and shiny and the 'bowl' is well proportioned and beautifully formed. There is one warning and that is once you remove the head from that first handle have a spare on hand as the screw hole in the hawk head will tear a groove down the side of the entire handle. Other than that there is no issue then15 minutes with the dremmel and the interior is nice and smooth. The hawk came reasonably sharp and functional but time with a good Arkansas stone and she sharpens right up just fine. The head takes a light bluing very well indeed too. I do not regret my purchase of the hawk in the least it is a light functional tool that will work well both for 'survival' type tasks as well as defense should, Heaven forfend, it ever come to that. I highly recommend this as a purchase. Knife center shipped it out to me at my request and it was to me on my doorstep well within a weeks time. My ONLY complaint is with cold steel themselves. I also ordered a 30 inch replacement handle and as far as I know it is still on back order and will be until Gabriel blows his horn. If you are looking for a good 'hawk, order this one it has a nice keen edge and the bowl on the back functions well as a hammer poll also. I did find a vendor online that makes leather carriers that attach to MOLLE belts so it can go on just about any gear I own. You won't regret this one, I promise. Knife center ships out fast and the 'hawk is great. No buyers remorse.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Easy E
Potomac, MD
Sep 28, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
best camp axe
It's picture doesn't even do it justice, you can't really appreciate it until you hold it! 19" long and over a pound. Steel is differentially heat treated so the front holds a great edge while the "pipe" aka the hammer is tempered rock hard to really drive tent stakes with one or two swings. Makes quick work of chopping anything made of wood, plus KC has the best price anywhere I've seen. My buddy has the trail boss, but he was pissed he bought it once he saw my pipe hawk!
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Smitty
Owen County
Sep 08, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Cold Steel Pipe Hawk
I haven't had very much time to evaluate this tomahawk in action, I have had time to marvel at the drop forged design and execution of this product. It looks like a modern drop forged with just enough roughness to set back in the timeline. I sharpened the Tomahawk edge with the new file and once again felt that wonderful feeling when a new file hard tool has engaged a softer tool face. And then got a second opinion from hammer face and just for a second they were differentially he treated. That's pretty much to ask from a $30 tool. I predict a long and beautiful arrangement.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
William L.
Elma, WA
Aug 13, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None
A useful Tomahawk?
First off, most don't think about a tomahawk, when going to the local hardware store, to pick up a hatchet...this is one of those rare items, which may change all that, if tried! The Cold Steel Pipe Hawk is drop forged, and comes with a 22" hickory handle. The beauty of a tool, such as this, is it is multi-capable! Weather you want a Tomahawk to throw, or a simple camp tool, this one is hard to beat! Mine came with a blade edge, that most would consider usable, but with a little time on a sharpening stone..it can be made razor sharp! The pipe end, is actually solid, and suffices rather nicely, when hammering in tent poles, or if you find the need to hammer a nail. With a little ingenuity, many, and I mean many, have modified these hawks, for show, for that "personal" touch, and for throwing in competition. This Hawk is also heavy enough, and tough enough for limb cutting, or splitting wood, such as one would in camp, or at the home...in short...a great piece of kit, for a modest price.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jake
tacoma
Sep 05, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Awesome tomahawk, great customer service from Knife Center.com
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pugs
highlands nj
Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Weight, Construction, Balance
Cons: None
Another great product from cold steel
This is a great utility tomahawk. Comes with a decent chopping edge on it. Well balanced, makes throwing it a breeze.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris343
Texas
Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great hawk
Most people buy this hawk to refinish and customize. The head is good quality steal and forged, not cast. The handle is quality American hickory. Ditch the set screw, refinish the handle and resharpen the blade and you've got a great tool for camping or authentic replica for reenacters.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trailer Platoon
Durham, NC
Sep 28, 2010
Pros: Balance, Head Material, Construction, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Head Material, Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Construction
Outstanding weapon and tool.
Excellent combat weapon tool can slice when edge is honed.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Superdudu
Florence; Italy
Feb 09, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
excellent
Cold steel in low prices objects is unbeatable! Excellent overall quality in a very little price!
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leblanc
NH
Jun 29, 2010
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
Great Tomahawk for throwing
I purchased two Tomahawks. I practice Target throwing. I like the balance end the weight. I have some others axes but I would have to say I like these the best.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken C.
Missoula,MT
Mar 20, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
I am impressed
This will go into my camping/hunting kit. I was very impressed with the axe's quality and construction. I would definitely recommend this item to my friends.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Paul
Lexington, South Carolina
Oct 10, 2012
Pros: Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
great hatchet
With a little sharpening and some sanding/staining of the wood handle, this hatchet is perfect for my uses. It will be permanently attached to my hiking bag for light campground chores. And, with the dark stain I put on the handle, the wood will last longer and looks better too. All in all, can't beat it for the price.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jon
Maryland
Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Good hawk. Great price!
Best tomahawk so far. Very functional my only compliant was that it arrived assembled. Normally thats a plus but whoever put it together shoved the head on in a way that it shaved and narked up the haft pretty bad. Still knife center has the best price around, fast shipping and good customer service. Some sand paper and elbow greases and its all fixed.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Zac
Canada
Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
Great but needs work
These are great hawks. The heads are made excellent, and the shafts are strong hickory. But these are more of projects, because out of the box they could use a lot of work. The set screws will beat up your handle, and most people are not fond of the color scheme. Remove the paint, sand the shaft, get a nice friction fit and you have an excellent tool that will last a lifetime if you use it correctly.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Crash
Newark Ohio, USA
Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Head Material
Cons: None
Quality Control
After reading all the reviews before purchasing, I can say the reviews are fair. The good and bad were describe very well. The Hawk I received is a good place to start, refinishing, and some changes needed for use. I do think this Hawk is great for what I purchased it for, camping utility tool. A Good head that keeps a sharp edge. 22 in. Handle is made of hickory, fair grade, with grain running vertical. So buy this Hawk for camping and light utility work, like hammering, splitting, and splitting. Also a great kindling tool! Just be ready to do a little work on it, which most Folks that buy Hawks are very willing to do. The set screw is not as big of a problem as I had read. It can actually allow the Head to pivot on the handle, and a Hawk will pivot slightly when struck, so it may be a great thing! I'll decide after some hard use, and in need of a new Handle. With some good hard whacks, it didn't move any at all. GOOD HAWK, GOOD HEAD.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Troy L
Indiana
Aug 09, 2011
Pros: Balance, Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Construction
Cold steel tomahawk
Love throwing the tomawawk. Balance and weight is great. The con with the tomahawk is the set screw that cold steel puts in, it tears up the handle and if you miss your throw the head can and will come lose and tear up the handle. I picked up the Cold Steel Trench Hawk not long ago and love it even more
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
M.
Pennsylvania
Apr 28, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
I'm rating my Pipe Hawk at 4 stars due to two relatively minor complaints. 1. It arrived with a burr running the entire length of the edge. 2. Another burr (around the set screw hole, inside the eye) caused a nasty gouge on my haft the first time I removed the head. A few minutes of work with a diamond rod took care of 1, and the same amount of time with sandpaper (and a Dremel sanding drum for inside the eye) handled 2. Not a terribly big deal, but it kept me from giving the 'hawk 5 stars. It's done great in testing for its intended use around camp. Light firewood processing, and driving stakes. Great product for a great price.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nathan
canada
Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Like it
Some fitting issues on the handle, but nothing that isn't fixed with some sandpaper. Great balance and solid built. Can't wait to start the mods.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bad Day
North Florida
Jun 12, 2020
Pros: None
Cons: None
My Pack 'Hawk
Same as before, stripped the finish off the head and cold-blued it. Cut the handle down to 17" (1inch per every ounce the head weighs, 17oz.) and sanded the finish off and re-stained it. Took a file to but an edge on it. Then a stone. Then a strop. Now you can shave with it. This is now a part of my Get Home/24 Hour/EDC/Truck pack.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mario
New York, ny
Mar 27, 2011
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
I love my Pipe Hawk, but i wish quality control was better.
I love my pipe hawk, but unfortunately the blade is uneven, not the grind, but the blade itself is distorted. I also removed the paint and noticed that the heat treat temper line is way off so that means the edge is softer then a regular pipe hawk from Cs should be. I don't know why knifecenter even sent me this, its pretty much like paying full price and getting a factory second.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 3 stars out of 5
Harley
Australia
Apr 26, 2011
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
Reasonable quality for the price
I bought two and one had a faulty grub nut out - cross-threaded and driven in too far. The blade edge was not as sharp as it should have been. The handle is good quality. Weighting is reasonable. Hammer works fine but could be another half inch in diameter to make it more useful. The black finish was severely scuffed out of the box. The quality control process for this product could obviously be improved. I'm sure warranty would have taken care of the grub nut but I'm an international customer and it isn't worth sending back so I fixed it myself - which was not easy.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 3 stars out of 5
John
portland. or
Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Weight, Balance, None
Cons: Handle Material
nice hawk, but was stamped american tomahawk co and made in taiwan
poor fit to handle, but nice overall.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bb
TX
Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Balance, Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Construction
As Expected
The pipe hawk I received has horizontal wood grain on the handle, it's a made to break. I've also own a pipe hawk, and it's grain is vertical which is what it's suppose to be. (Quality control issue) The fit and finish is not bad, nothing that can't be fixed with a little work. Blade out of the box can't cut paper, but with a bit of sharpening, it can be fixed as well. Tomahawk is a Friction Fit tool. Hated the set screw that Cold Steel placed on the side, it's easily removable but totally unnecessary. Handles well in hand, a little front heavy, but nothing to be of concern. Might be a benefit when using it as a hammer or chopping wood.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 2 stars out of 5
Tom L.
Europe
Jan 26, 2012
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material
Decent tomahawk but very poor quality handle
Decent tomahawk but only barely worth $30 and NOT ready for any serious use as is. The head is reasonably well made though the looks are let down by the thick black paint. The head is secured with a screw on one side, which is unnecessary and in fact counterproductive (will split the handle if the screw is tightened too much). My tomahawk arrived with no real edge at all. The primary bevel was there but the grind was uneven, off to one side. The handle however is very cheap and worse than useless. Mine was actually split in the middle - there was a deep crack running through the entire thickness of the wood. Very dangerous and required immediate replacement. Clearly, the wood had not been seasoned correctly. Due to shrinking the head did not sit tight either, there was quite a lot of play. In any case, the handle is too long - instead of 22" it should be about 3-4" shorter for proper balance.
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 1 stars out of 5
Cedric
montreal
Dec 01, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Weight, Construction, Handle Material
Cheap for the price
Handle slipery , too shinny. Very badly balanced , handle too long and thin for the weight and center of gravity of the metal head. Allen key screw for the metal head cheap and mostly impossible to adjust, Poor metal quality, chips and rust very fast. Hard to sharpen that should be a 20$ product, not impressed . for decoration only , real outdoor and hunter users will not be satisfied by this product
Cold Steel 90PHH Pipe Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 1 stars out of 5
Cedric
montreal , quebec
May 28, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Construction, Handle Material, Balance
screw troubleshooting
I received the product few months ago and I was not impressed and desapointed by few issues. If you re a hunter or outdoor real type of guy this product wont suit you. First of all the handle is varnished ???!!! meanning that it doesnt stick to your hand and when it is slightly humid outside or raining forget about any grip or stability of the Tomahawk, it is unbalanced too. the diameter of the handle is too small for medium sized hands, the blade is not shrpened thin enought, meanning that it takes ages to sharpen it and difficult to cut properly. Finaly the allan key placed in the head of the blade to hold the handle to it is useless , and brakes after few hits on a tree. I have many other Cold steel product and never had trouble before, but this tomahawk is NOT made for tought situations.