Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheathrated 4.373 stars out of 5 (67 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
40
4 star
19
3 star
4
2 star
1
1 star
3
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19 inch Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $39.95

Save $28.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Crazy Horse
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 11, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
serious value
I'm a huge Cold Steel fan, and this managed to exceed my already high expectations. Big, sharp, and more or less indestructible, all at a price no one can believe. I agree w/ the other reviewers that the sheath is a little bit over-engineered and needs some kind ofattachment point for a belt or pack, but the weapon itself is a spectacular value.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam O.
Putnam Valley, NY
Oct 01, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
The Best on the Market!!
You must buy this Tommy!!!! Absolutely insane quality for a 10th of the price of some far inferior hatchets. This thing sings the body fantastic and it will protect you like no other non-firing self-protection can. Swing it around,feel the weight and power of this hammer of Thor! Buy it friend, you will never have another bargain like this!!!
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tnreb
Palmyra, TN
Aug 09, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Construction, Head Material
Cons: Weight, None
Awesome
It is heavier than most battle axes of the type. You could use it to chop wood. However, as a battle axe it is superb.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Baltimore, MD.
Apr 03, 2011
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Construction, Head Material
Cons: Weight, None
EFFECTIVE!
Despite its weight, it is very well-balanced and maneuverable. It is comfortable in the hand for gardening and light chopping chores.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael B
TN.
Dec 26, 2012
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Awesome
This axe is awesome. Only one downside ive seen-it needs better gripping on the handle. But thats an easy fix !
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dylan G
Lake Worth, Fl
Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
awesome
when i first bout this i was so excited to use it so i grabbed a bunch of gallon water bottles and started chopping i accidently hit the concrete deck in my backyard and put a cut in the concrete about a centimeter deep maybe a little less than that but no damage to the blade of the the weapon its very sturdy and strong and pretty much indestructable and if i could give it more stars i would!
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Kentucky
Nov 23, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Top notch weapon and tool
I've trained in tomahawk fighting and this one does the job. Tape the handle using tennis racket tape, paracord loop through the hole at the bottom of the handle. The sheath can be attached for carrying and still effective for rapid deployment with a paracord jerk string, and loops through the holes in the sheath. If the handle breaks, the tomahawk head is designed in such a way that making one in the field is no problem...use your brain guys that's whats God gave it to you for. I bought one of these for 6 other guys for Xmass gifts, after seeing how mine is set up they all agree that this is one of the best you can get rivaling and surpassing those $300 + hawks.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Dude
eastbay in california
Nov 03, 2010
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Balance
Cons: None
Cold Steel Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19
Awesome tomahawk, great price, and great customer service
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
san francisco,ca.
Oct 15, 2010
Pros: Weight, Construction, Balance
Cons: None
Fine Tomahawk, balanced for close work.
Since I didn't have a combatant available, I used it on evergreen bush in the backyard,it made quick work of it. I used it non-sharpened out of the box.I can imagine what it would do sharpened. Well made and sturdy,can't wait to learn how to throw it. I find the handle a wee bit long,I can modify it.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
San Francisco
Nov 05, 2010
Pros: Weight, Construction
Cons: None
Cold Steel Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall with Sh
Best weight for a tomahawk I am so glad I got it
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kris
FL
Mar 06, 2017
Pros: Weight, Construction, Head Material
Cons: None
First tomahawk i
This was my first tomahawk that I've bought. I research what my criteria through a wide range of products. There are Many great selections to choose from, but cold steel has an affordable selection and yet very good quality. This tomahawk is amazing, it hits the target with devastating force (so much I need to repair my targets) Rugged and durable tool. For the price and quality, it's a good deal. I will buy another to match.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Buzz
Oklahoma
Jun 28, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Glad I got one.
I love this thing. I've seen people say you can't process wood with one of these. I don't know what they were doing, but my processes wood as well as a small bladed axe could be expected. I got mine with an extra handle because of some of the things I've read in reviews. Can't imagine that I'll need it, but good to have around just in case. It's got a nice heft to it. Grab it up by the finger grooves and it does a dern good imitation of a knife. You can even use the spike for drilling hole, if you're into that sort of thing. I like everything about it. Sure there are better hawks out there, but if you're anything like me you just don't have an extra four to six hundred bucks lying around then this is a great alternative. Besides, I'm positive that those expensive hawks out there aren't even fifty dollars better, much less hundreds. I would recommend getting one, they're great! And besides, they're cheap!
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter
N.Y.
Sep 08, 2010
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Awesome axe, and great service from Knife Center.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ian Nichols
Il
Apr 08, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Ohh my!
I use this hawk for throwing at targets and small game and I can't stop myself from throwing it. I come home from school and throw until nightime! Beautiful to throw(very easy I'm only 13 years old)
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry
Arkansas
Aug 09, 2010
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
very good tomahawk
It seems to be very solidly built. The only thing i will change is the grip on the handle. It needs to be rougher and more difficult to come out of your hand if you are using it in a serious manner.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg L.
Frederick md
Sep 02, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
camp tool
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sgt Mac
3rd Inf Div
Aug 24, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Amazing Value
This tomahawk is hands down the best product for the money available. One of the guys in my platoon has another brand that cost him over $300, and I actually like this one better. It can be used for light breaching duties,ie prying doors, window rake, etc. The finger grooves up under the head are a nice touch for choking up if you wanted to use the blade like a knife, or in a confined space where you couldn't swing and had to punch with it. That said, this isn't the tomahawk to buy if you need a tool for camping. It's primarily a weapon. The spike is perfect for hitting someone in the head with, but if you need to hammer in some tent stakes, not so good. The blade has a nice, sharp, rolled edge, and cuts thru wood easily. The handle is made of a tough plastic/fiberglass material, and should last forever unless you set out to break it on purpose. I agree with the other reviews about it being a little slippery, but it's still better than smooth wood as far as grip goes. With gloves it isn't an issue, or just put some grip tape on it. The sheath is only for safely transporting it, there is no way to carry it on you, and it's kind of a pain to put on and off. I would definitely buy an aftermarket sheath if I could find one that I could attach to molle gear. All told, this is about the best hand to hand weapon out there, especially for the money. It also has plenty of utility if you need to chop or smash things.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Drtom
alton, nh
Apr 22, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great Tool, Nasty Weapon
Good balance, multiple utility with blade, pike, then a hammering surface on the side. Takes a sharp edge as good as any knife I have owned. Works really well when razor-sharp. Prefer this handle to the wood one.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Cape Coral, Florida
Sep 21, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Excellent Value
Stout, sturdy and a great price. How can you go wrong?
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kj
Middle East
Oct 11, 2010
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Combat ready
Everyhing is great except the grip could be better. If you were in the Mud, the blood and the beer you might not be able to hang on. I intend to do some inpovements.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bac
Mississippi
Apr 23, 2013
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Balance
Cons: None
Best so Far
We throw tomahawks of all kinds with scouts. This thing can take a beating. The handles will eventually break, as will any handle. However, we almost had these handles completely cut in two pieces before they break. We even stuck one handle on to the point of the other tomahawk (in the target) and it did not break. We had to re-screw the handle back on (it broke the screws loose before the handle broke). Also well balanced and long enough for throwing at long range.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kurt H.
Largo, Fl
Nov 29, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Cool Tomahawk, Cooler Sheath
I own 4 combat tomahawks and this one is by far my favorite. Some people like to throw tomahawks. Well that's fine. Then buy a throwing tomahawk, (I have 2). This is a "combat" tomahawk, not a throwing one. The only negative thing that anyone seems to say about this weapon is in relation to the handle durability. If you use this for it's intended purpose,(combat, not throwing), it will more than meet that challenge. Very sharp and ready for action. I like the little bit of added handle length. It gives greater leverage and power to each swing. Someone must have stayed up nights to come up with this very intuitive ergonomic design for the sheath. It is an added asset that allows this tomahawk to be a total package that every self defense minded person should have in his or her collection. Cold Steel comes through once again.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Josh J
Alaska
Dec 06, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Balance, Construction, Head Material
Cons: None
Ultimate hatchet!
I have one of these on my four wheeler at all times! The strong great edge holding cutting head is excellent for hard wood or even rope and cordage. The spike is an odd tool you will find plenty of uses for. My only gripe is this high carbon tool will rust pretty aggressively gotta keep an eye on it with heavy use. Very handy, sturdy and both takes and holds a great edge. I don't care for the sheath it is all flash but hey keeps me from getting cut mission success! FYI use caution this can cut and smash through almost anything be careful!
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Slugger
rn
Nov 11, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Tomehawk
Always wanted to see what a combat tomahawk that could have been used in a combat situation was like, unfortunately it may spend much of its' life behind glass
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wyatt M
Santa Ynez, Ca
Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
best tomahawk available
everyone who didn't give this thing a five stars is wrong. the steel on this thing is tough and the handle is indestructible. The finish stays on surprisingly long but like every finish will eventually have little parts come off. Ive had it for 7 years and it has outlasted every other tomahawk i own and is still way better. this thing throws like a beast, chops like a beast, and the spike is just amazing. the polypropylene will last a lifetime unlike wood and i have thrown this thing as hard as i could and hit the handle dead on and the worse thing that happened was a small gash on the handle(very small). i read every single review before i bought this thing and i have no idea how this tomahawk could ever be below five stars. You don't need to have any doubt about buying this thing because IT WILL NOT LET YOU DOWN!!!!!
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mpco
Southern New England
Aug 26, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Exactly What I Wanted
Cold Steel's Trench Hawk is exactly what "I" have been looking for in a utilitarian tomahawk. A great balance between a tomahawk and camp axe. Solid weight, sharp one piece head and spike, and robust synthetic handle. I can only compare it to my FUSION(R) synthetic "on Steroids".
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
G.W.B.
De
Aug 07, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
Would like to add
Knife center has been wonderful to deal with ...very considerate, prompt , well packed good communication...I love that they carry cold steel products with reasonable pricing. I will tell all my friends about you.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Skiracer
toms river
Mar 10, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Best Tomahawk I've ever seen or held
I was immediately impressed with the feel of the tomahawk in my hand. Definitely long enough handle to swing either in offense/defense or work modes. Very sharp ax end and pointed end is devastatingly offensive. And very well built. A great tool/weapon and I am thinking about buying a second one I like it so much. And the price was almost unbelievably inexpensive.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Babykiller
CA
Aug 20, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Construction
only problem with it is the handle could give grip issues... that can be easily fixed however by using a dremle or just wearing a glove.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sl
salt lake city, UT
Dec 22, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
best combat tomahawk you can buy!
I got this tomahawk a couple of days ago and it is amazing! I watched many reviews on you tube and i had to have one. The 1055 carbon steel drop forged head is razor sharp right out of the box. The head is thick to not thin and weak like some tomahawks. The handle is polypropylene not wood which is great, it won't warp or crack from water damage plus even if the handle brakes they make replacement handles you can order for around 7 bucks. Sheath is awesome as well its the best sheath for a tomahawk on the market, its hard plastic with slots for lashing to gear and deployment is very quick just use a para cord lanyard. I think anyone who needs a combat tomahawk should get this one.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John S.
Washington, Pa.
Apr 08, 2011
Pros: Weight, Construction, Head Material
Cons: None
Great Value
Very sturdy construction.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sharky
Texarkana, Texas
Feb 02, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
A superior hawk!
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carl
Oahu
Apr 11, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Trench Hawk
Jaw dropping...
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodsman Turley
the woods of west VirginiaTurl
Feb 14, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
made for combat
One mean hawk mine came sharp but the spike was dull my grinder and sanding pad 60 grit fixed that
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Walter
Philippines
May 21, 2011
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Great Tool
I had my Brother-in-Law order one of these for me. I use it mainly for cutting branches from trees. Solidly built. That's expected from a cold steel product. Great balance and pretty wicked looking too! Only problem is the handle. There's just not much grip there especially when you get your hands wet. What I did was slipped an inner tube on the handle. It worked great!
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve J
San Antonio, TX
Sep 25, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Cold Steel Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 22" Overall with Sh
Just what I was looking for. Very sharp out of the box. The guards work perfectly.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
G. Money
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 26, 2010
Pros: Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Nice Addition to a BOB or BOK (Bug Out Bag/Kit)
Serves utilitarian purposes as well as hand weapon needs. I expect if brought into the open, an opponent may find it more intimidating than if you expose a knife. Sheath does not provide belt loops. I checked tightness of bolts and decided to do the following: 1. Clean all threaded surfaces w/alcohol 2. Applied blue threadlocker to bolts & reassembled. 3. Tightened snugly hand tight. Axe blade came sharp, so nothing further needed there. Not anything I'd use for shaving, so super sharp isn't required as long as it's sharp enough to cut when needed. Also, found no need to sharpen spike end anymore than as it came. I think I would have preferred full length tang and polypropylene scales, rather than abbreviated tang w/split handle mount. Time will tell if I'm right. I expect cost is primary consideration for this construction method.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
G.W.B.
Delaware
Aug 07, 2014
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Great
Wanted a good duel use tool weapon...I bought two, I use them to exercise with in place of indian clubs...got to close to the concrete drive way, took two pieces of the drive out but didn't affect the blades at all. Did not through them yet, but if they stick or not would not matter in my opinion, would cause immediately damage. Now a little on my reason for choosing this product ... The curved blade unlike a traditional tomahawk much more efficient at slicing...length perfect for what I needed but the handle can be reshaped or resized...perfect grip for close work... My other choice was the walther battle ax, I did a lot of research on tomahawks and though I liked the walther better it was said by many that the metal was a poor quality....just started buying cold steel products love them
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Will
virginia
Nov 05, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
great inexpensive hawk
For 40 dollar hawk could not be better love the unique sheath . Just needs some sharpening and its ready to go. Full tang would be nice but again this is a feature only found on much more expensive hawks
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Repoman
29 Palms CA
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Balance, None
Cold Steel Trench Hawk
All around a good tool I bought it for other reasons but still nice to have for the cutting force of cables windows and vegetation I also use the side of the head as a hammer to pound stakes and other things.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Neiblheim
Houston tx
Mar 04, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance
Cons: None
Excellent quality
First off i found the " sheath" to be mere protection for storage and useless otherwise. But a nonetheless top quality blade is the real key to this product not to mention an unbeatable price. This thing is easily on par with many tomahawks costing hundreds of dollars. This should last me a lifetime. I do worry about the handle breaking but so far its held up super.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ng
Nepa
Nov 04, 2015
Pros: Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Nice
Lets get this straight. This is not balanced to be a throwing hawk ( for all the reviewers that give it one star because it dosent throw well and they break handles) it is not meant to be a woods or bushcraft style tomahawk. It CAN do these things to an extent but there are better choices for throwing and woods chores. It is designed for warfare. Bottom line. Forced protection. I have yet to murder someone with it but im sure it would do just fine. I know you can drive the spike through a 2x4 with little effort. And idk why some poeples came dull but mine came shaving sharp. Very good for its designed purpose.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Romad54
Boise, Id
Aug 06, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Balance, None
Tomahawk happy!
I can use this hunting and camping, but mostly for fun! The weight and blade angle are great! The only thing about this purchase is the sheath doesnt have any loop to attach to a belt or pack.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scopolone
Leslie, Michigan
Sep 08, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Weight, Balance
Cons: Construction, None
Cold Steel Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk
This is a nice tool for camping..Very useful. It's also a nice war-club...(grin). I think that the handle material should have a little bit better grip...However, that's not a problem to fix. Also, the tang should be much longer into the handle. Other than that....GREAT BUY.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Al312
lavena ponte tresa, Italy
Sep 11, 2010
Pros: Balance, None
Cons: Construction
CQB Combat
Tested in training in close combat in an enclosed environment, fast and precise. Versatile and lightweight.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kool Knives
Las Cruces, NM
Aug 23, 2010
Pros: Weight, Construction, Handle Material
Cons: None
Solid, well-made hawk.
This is a very well made hawk & an excellent value for the money. The only thing is that there is no belt sheath provided. Cold Steel provides a nice blade cover with this hawk but there is way to carry it other than in your hand. I gave it 4 stars because of this. The hawk itself is 5 stars!
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sean
Mississippi
Apr 18, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Swriously bad A&$!
Good craftsmanship, although it isn't made in the good ol USA. Love the fact the handle is easily replaced and fairly inexpensive to do so. Only bad thing, the sheath is more of a protective case then a sheath. No belt loops or anyway to hang the hawk on anything.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave
Plano, Texas
Sep 20, 2010
Pros: Construction, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material
Nice
Although not extensively field tested, I like this tool very much. Well made and multi-functional. Affordable. Two negatives: a bit heavy for a swinging weapon, IMHO. The handle could get slippery so I taped mine and also added a leather loop to the hole at Tomahawk end.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Campbell
Austin
Oct 07, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Construction, Balance
Cons: Weight, None
Cold Steel Trench Hawk
24 ounces is heavier than I thought, will have to get used to wielding it. Seems more like a one handed battle axe than my preconceived notion of a tomahawk, in other words, it's more of an instrument of power than speed and quickness. Still has a good feel to it. Wrapped the handle with parachute cord for a better grip. Great product for the price!
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wally
Chesapeake VA
Sep 08, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Construction, Head Material
Cons: Weight, Balance, None
well built
This unit is strong and well built. It's cold steel after all. If i had any complaints it would be that it is very heavy and I feel to slow for close combat. It would be fine as a camp ax.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Quidproquo
Aurora, Oregon
Sep 22, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Cold Steel Trench Hawk Forged Tomahawk 19"
This is part of my 'emergency kit' in my car. The 'hawk appears to be very well made. The scabbard protects the head but is not made for quick access. If that is necessary, I will have to have another scabbard made.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Omegadr
San Antonio TX
Jan 14, 2012
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Awesome Design, But won't bet life on Plastic handle
Been looking for a "Man-Sized" Hawk, with a decent length handle (I prefer a longer handle, for more grip options). This one is it. The Steel parts are typical outstanding quality CS is known for. I would disagree with other reviewers, I don't think the plastic handle and prefer one in tool grade fiberglass. I wish CS would offer better quality handles for all their products.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dr. John
Queens, NY
Aug 26, 2010
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Very Good!
I use this primarily as a weapon and do my stick/knife fighting drills with it. I actually like the Cold Steel Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" better for martial arts. This is great though and I like the finger grips near the business end in case you have to choke up for close fighting. The more I practice with it the more ways I find to use it or not use it! All it needs is a way of carrying it on your belt, although the sheath is excellent.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Zoo9guy
Castle Rock, CO
Jul 08, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Holy Smokes! this thing is huge!
The sheath is functional, but it can't be used to hang the hawk, more a protector. I'm a big guy and I almost feel like this is a two handed axe! No object this is being swung at stands a chance, the blade is real sharp and .25" thick. I have a Condor tomahawk and it is a toy compared to this. One serious weapon, the handle seems close to indestructible. Get one if you have the urge to be a Viking conqueror.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
J. Pendrey
WASHINGTON, GA
May 30, 2012
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
SUPERIOR PRODUCT FOR SELF DEFENSE
SHARP BLADE, AGGRESSIVE POINT ON TRENCH SIDE, BUT NO SIDE EDGES, INGENIOUS SHEATH COVER, BUT LACKS EASY WAY TO CARRY. I'VE YET TO TEST STRENGTH OF HANDLE BUT BASED ON PRIOR REVIEWS, AGGRESSIVE USE IS PRONE TO CRACKING HANDLE SO I WOULD LIKE THE OPTION OF BUYING A REPLACEMENT HANDLE AT ORIGINAL TIME OF PURCHASE. A BROKEN HANDLE WOULD RENDER PRODUCT USELESS NORMALLY AT IN-OPPORTUNE TIMES!
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
T
Europe
Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Construction, Head Material
Cons: Weight, None
nice
Overall weight is a little much for cutting surface of blade, handle is a little slippy. Heavy bolts and tough head design are a plus.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Citizen
of the world
Mar 05, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material, Balance
so i bought this hawk...
i am thrilled to own a cold steel trench hawk. it's the meanest, baddest, 'hawk i'v seen to date. awesome power! but...it's not perfect. i'ld have to agree with a number of reviewers here that the handle needs fixing. with a name like trench hawk, i wonder if it would hold up should it be hacked or chopped by an unfriendly bladed party in a combat situation? it's a tad heavy for combative use. great for pounding though. it's certainly not light weighted enough to be applied in a lively manner. i guess one could shorten the handle length to customize for one's preferred individual handle length. but the head would still be just as heavy and off balanced for combative purposes. i'm hoping for a trench hawk 2.0 to address and fix these issues of handle strength and weight of the axe head. but for now, it's as good as it gets. recommended for everything but serious combative use though.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Idaho Eric
ID
Aug 09, 2010
Pros: Construction, Head Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
Better than I expected
This has a great sheath and a nice head. I recommend this product
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
William P.
Appleton, Wi
Jan 02, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Balance, Construction, Head Material
Cons: None
Does the job...
This is the first COLD STEEL product that I have purchased that was dull when I received it. However, with about an hour of work, I was able to get closer to the sharpness that I wanted. I expect to have a keen edge on it after a bit more work. I just received the tomahawk about two weeks ago and have not had a chance to use it yet. I expect that it will supplement my protection needs well. The quality and craftsmanship were excellent except for the edge. Once again, the Knife Center provided excellent service and a super price. This is the only company I will deal with in the future for my blades! Thank you!
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Lester H
Harold Hill, England
Feb 29, 2012
Pros: Weight, Balance, None
Cons: Handle Material
Good compromise
I am on my 2nd Trench Hawk, a friend has perminantly "borrowed" my first one. Trench Hawk is fine if you can only carry a limited amount of gear. You still really need an entrenching tool, camp axe and medium size knife. Good value at £45 in UK. A good tool to have on stand by. Tape the handle or ware gloves as per the other posts.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
T C
Massachusetts
Mar 18, 2010
Pros:
Cons:
Good Looking Tool
Looks like a Nice tool to add to My collection, However I am concerned about the grip, or what looks like a lack of, the poly sheath, & it's made in Taiwan! But it is a Cold Steel Product so we'll see!
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
9Fingers
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 27, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight, Balance
Used item, poorer quality, or careless shipping?
Let me preface my review by saying that I have been a fan of both Cold Steel and Knife Center over the years. With that, I have to say I'm less than pleased with my Trench Hawk purchase. It arrived without factory packaging loosely banging around in the shipping box, pounding the smaller items in my order. The coating on both sides of the head was rubbed down to dime-sized bare-metal spots in a couple of places, and these were located under the sheath. Given the type of steel, I question why such a cheap coating was applied...reminiscent of the Chinese hatchets found in Big Lots. The edge lacked the usual razor sharpness of Cold Steel products as well. I made this purchase based on this tomahawk's design, but the materials and workmanship are not up to the standards I've come to expect from Cold Steel since purchasing my first tanto in 1986. Compared to my razor-sharp, stainless SOG Fusion tomahawk, this Trench Hawk is less wieldy, slower to deploy, heavier to carry, more likely to rust in proximity to the body, and less sharp out of the box (factory axe edge). The sheath is a novel design, but requires too much fiddling to attach to a strap/belt/pack and to unsheath the tomahawk. On a positive note, with its longer handle and heavier head, and some additional sharpening and anti-rust coating, this makes a fine addition to my son's car trunk camping/survival kit, as the design lends itself better to rescue work and camp chores with self-defense a secondary consideration (read: cheaper to give away as a new hand-me-down than to return to KnifeCenter).
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ranger Vinnie
Ft. Wayn, IN
Jan 26, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Weight, Balance
Cons: Construction, Handle Material, None
Broken Handle??
I have a tree stump in my backyard that functions as a great Tomahawk taget and I throw a few times a week when the Indiana weather permits. After about a month of throwing off and on, the handle had a clean break right at the bottom of the tomahawk head. I need to send it back. Not excited to see that kind of performance out of a Cold Steel product.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
The Dr
madison,OH
Mar 14, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
not happy
Saved up spare change for a couple months to get this got all excited and worked up got it in the mail and it took hair off my arm ran out side to my throwing log(seasoned buck chunk maple log) I threw it as hard as I could and it didn't break but it wouldn't stick either and a couple weeks of file work and I hate to say it grinder work still wont stick on a throw or if I swing it in my hand for that matter and im no amateur to grinding filing ans whetstone work overall its got fantastic potential but for now I threw it in a corner and got my cold steel throwing knife out maybe ill find a way to take the edge angle down
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Randall
Tulsa, OK
Jan 23, 2012
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Construction, Handle Material
buy a lot of handles
I have thrown knives and axes for years. I bought two of theses and both handles broke in less than thirty non power throws. One broke leaving the blade in the dead tree used for a target.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Zach S.
Tucson, Az
Jan 23, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material
handle weak
This handle is not worthy of the cold steel name...snapped on fourth throw with medium power.
Cold Steel 90PTH Trench Hawk Drop Forged Combat Tomahawk 19" Overall, Black, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Carey S.
Ohio
Mar 30, 2012
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Handle Material
Trench Hawk
I own one. Poor design. Useless for anything but attack. Spike is longer than the blade. I won't buy another.