Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall

Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overallrated 4.000 stars out of 5 (21 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
1
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22 inch Overall

 

Price: $29.95

Save $20.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim K
Windsor, Ct
Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great tomahawk for throwing. Most accurate one I own now. TJK
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
John T.
Spring, Tx
Jul 27, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Spike Hawk!
I was looking for a tomahawk that would be a good base product for modifications and I sure found it with the Cold Steel model. The blade head was well made and I didn't see any obvious flaws. The hickory shaft was definitely a nice piece of wood, and I'm looking forward getting started on my project. My only complaint...it would have been nice if it had been a little sharper, but overall I'm very happy with it.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scotty
TN
Jun 21, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: None
Almost perfect
With almost an inch more cutting edge then the Trail Hawk, you can actually get some meaningful chopping results in a light package. I put it on a 19" Trail Hawk handle to make it a little more compact. I had been waiting for something like this for a while. I made the spike a little more obtuse to use as a pick for digging to complement my Cold Steel Shovel. Specs listed are wrong. Here are the right ones: Overall Length is 22" Hawk Length: 9" Primary Edge: 3 1/8" Weight: 24oz
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack
Norwalk, CT
Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Head Material
Excellent tomahawk for the $$$
I bought this tomahawk knowing i was going to have to tinker around a bit with it, as i do with everything i own. From the factory the head came loose on the handle, after pounding the head down, cutting and installing wedges into the hanfle the problem was fixed. After a little sharpening this hawk was ready for the trail and it is EXCELLENT for the price. If you dont mind setting the head and sharpening yourself, go for it. Best $30 ive spent in a while.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
CT
Jun 20, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great service
I bought this hawk as a project. I have a few custom hawks made by 2hawks, but had always wanted to finish one myself. Besides the plan Jane finish this is a great hawk, great tempermeant to the metal which holds a good edge. I especially appreciate the great service that came with purchasing from knife center. Thanks alot....
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nelson
MA
May 30, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Can't go wrong for the price.
I bought the spike hawk with the intention of modding it so I could have a good looking hawk at an affordable price. The way it comes from the factory is fairly rough but with a little time and patience you can make them look and perform beautiful.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Philadelphia
Mar 10, 2011
Pros: Weight
Cons: None
Unexpected Woodlot Tool!
This is a really great woodlot tool. When I bought this, I figured I would just keep it as a cool addition to the wall display. Then, I realized that the spike might work as wood handling “pickaroon” or “hookaroon.” I tried it, and the spike is superb for handling firewood. You can spike a log and pick it up and carry it without bending over. You can even split smaller firewood pieces with the tomahawk end. It is also a great tool to load split wood as you can easily spike firewood splits, put them on the wood pile and then push the handle towards the wood to release it, usually with one hand! Far from being just a collectors item or a weapon, this can be a hard working firewood tool!
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Elteemike
Denver, CO
Jan 31, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Cold Steel Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk
I rate things according to how well they fulfill their purpose in relation to their cost. Cold Steel makes a consistently solid product providing excellent quality at a decent price. This tomahawk has a great design, in my opinion more suited to use as a weapon than a chopper. That's what I was looking for, so I'm pleased with it. Weight is right, and balance is just below the head where I like it to be. Handle is solid hardwood. I like that it came as raw wood, to be lightly sanded and stained. Looks great! Finish on the head is some kind of durable black paint. Held up well to abuse, but I removed it for a more taditional look. Head is not shaving sharp, but "ax" or hatchet-sharp as a tomahawk should be. Edge bevel is consistent and right. Spike has a nice curve to it with a fairly sharp false edge underside. Good hardness, but not so hard I can't maintain the edge with a bit of file work. Like everything else I've bought by Cold Steel, I like everything about this tomahawk and would recommend it to others.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jake
tacoma
Sep 05, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great tomahawk, great customer service from Knife Center.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Al Lee
Canyon Lake, Tx.
Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
Better than expected
Was well pleased with the haft material. That wood is as hard as ivory. The metal hawk is of good steel. Would have liked to have had a better finish on the steel to get rid of all the forging marks. Ideally that tomahawk would be best sold with no paint on the head and no set screw drilled in. Let the customer assemble the two items together and paint or finish as he pleases.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dagunz
Cartersville Ga
Aug 03, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Awesome Hawk
I take mine out in the national forest. Excellent for throwing at logs and stumps. Well balanced and flies clean. Good for light ax work. Principle use would be as a weapon. It's a little too light for extended chopping and trimming, and the spike makes it a little awkward for woodwork. However, as a weapon it's wonderful. The bolt holding the head to the handle, through the side, is a good idea, but the wood it's embedded in tends to work loose.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gunshin
Cambridge, MD
Jul 18, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Weight, Balance
Cons: Construction, None
Excellent for the price
This is a great tomahawk for the price. The head material and shape is great. The handle was a little rougher than I expected and had a very light protective coating if any. I solved this by staining the handle and adding a coat of polyurethane. It looks beautiful now. It throws pretty well and balance is good. The pike end is pretty fun to throw and is an easy notch maker. The only problem I really have is the position of the head. After throwing it a few times the head loosened a bit but stayed in place to to the screw. I solved this by tapping the head towards the top and re-tightening the allen screw. A quick simple fix. In conclusion, you absolutely can not beat the price for the quality. You may want to pick something else up for a pure throwing tomahawk. However, this is an excellent bushcraft tool that competes with my 18" HI kukri, especcialy when chopping.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe
Southern Utah
Jul 20, 2011
Pros: Construction, Head Material, None
Cons: Balance
Well Made & Good Value
Another high quality product from cold steel. The Tomahawk head is well thought out and designed. This model is devoted to combat for the most part. The head has a good hooking and trapping area as well as a nicely radiused bit for cutting and slashing. The spike is a lethal penatrator right out of the box. The handle is nice and long, which I like because it can be shortened to suite your needs. Would have gone 5 stars but the blade wasn't really even wood chopping sharp out of the box.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
The Colonel
SE US
Dec 24, 2012
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Finally a Hawk I don't have to.worry about the handle on
This is probably the 4th hawk I've purchased to carry as part of my combat kit. Many have mentioned the set screw issue, I've pulled mine and tied a Turk's Head below the head to keep it in place. Backed the weaving with a little Sikaflex boat goo. Holds great. I tap the head down once in a while to make sure it is always fully engaged just like I do with my Rifleman's hawk. I've owned and carried the SOG, The Cold Steel rifleman, a custom and an Ontario Spax. As a weapon this one is tops. As a tool, the rifleman is the winner. The handle will break but you can replace it easily in the field and you've got to work at it to break one. I carry a spare I shaped from Ash just in case.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dr.John
Queens, Ny
Jul 31, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Had to have one since watching The Deadliest Warrior.
It is long for a good reach and more balanced for Escrima moves when I choke up on the handle, which needed a good two sandings and a coat of mineral oil. It's fine now and a basically well done product. It is by American Tomahawk and I don't know what the connection with Cold Steel is.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bb
TX
Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Weight, Balance, None
Cons: Construction
Decent Quality
The wood grain on the handle is vertical like it's suppose to be. Though, I've also purchased a pipe hawk and the wood grain is horizontal, a recipe for disaster. There's defiantly some quality control issue. It's the luck of the draw.Tomahawk is a friction fit tool. It's it s silly to have a set screw. The screw is easily removable, but after removal, I'm left with a hole on the head of the hawk, and a hole on the handle. The shape and design is almost perfect however. Sharpness out of the box left a lot to be desired, but nothing with a little sharpening can't fix. Fit and finish is not superb, the head of the hawk wiggles a little, but with a little sand paper job, it won't be and issue. It's balanced and feels comfortable to handle.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tactical Shanking
Waldorf, Md
May 25, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Balance, None
Dull edge, but ok over all
I would've rated this thing higher, but the edge on mine wasn't even really an utility edge. I took care of it in no time. Another problem is that the long handle makes it a bit slow, but all in all its worth the money Knife Center is asking for.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 3 stars out of 5
P
Midwest
Dec 06, 2013
Pros: Weight, Balance
Cons: None
Decent
Fit and finish is ok at best. Disassembled and fitted the head to the handle with a file. Handle was a bit warped, set screw is worthless - best remove and throw away.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 2 stars out of 5
Corey
phoenix
Sep 08, 2010
Pros: Weight, Balance, None
Cons: Construction
made in taiwan = poor quality
Used this product to chop wood while camping blade is already loose after just one use.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 2 stars out of 5
Ralph P
Cartersville GA
Jul 20, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Handle Material, Balance
Cons: Weight, Construction, None
Cold Steel Spike Hawk
This is my second spike hawk. It's a replacement for one I lost. The design concept is good; Cold Steel's execution is poor. The hawk is well balanced, the head design is great, it takes and holds an edge. The machine screw through the head that secures it to the handle is too small and quickly works loose. The securing design does not hold up under routine chopping, and quickly fails under the stresses of being thrown. I have to reengineer the design by drilling the handle to accept a furniture fitting, which will in turn accept a larger screw. This works well, but will also eventually work loose. Installing a conventional wedge in the stock handle doesn't work, either. The handle comes with a pale, waxy finish that slips through the hand. I sand mine off and apply linseed oil. I also strip off the gloss black paint on the head and leave it natural. Once reworked, I enjoy using and carrying the hawk.
Cold Steel 90SH Spike Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 1 stars out of 5
R. Nolan
Atlanta
Mar 31, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
Drop Forged?
This hawk is supposed to be drop forged. I did not like the painted finish and stripped of the painted surface to expose the bare steel. What I found was that the hawk's steel surface looks like that typically found on items that are cast, not forged. Other tell tale signs in the steel reinforce that diagnosis.