Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handle

Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handlerated 4.417 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30 inch Overall, Hickory Handle

 

Price: $35.95

Save $24.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron M
Great Falls, Mt
May 05, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
Great axe!
Well made axe! Light weight and keeps a great edge. The head was a little loose, but that happens during shipping. An allen wrench made quick work of that problem.
Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephen S
Florida
Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great value for the price
I bought this because of it's historical significance. Being of Danish ancestry, I am very interested in the weapons and fighting techniques of the Scandinavian peoples. I was astounded how quickly The KnifeCenter got it to me, top notch service. The weight and balance is very good with this axe. It's surprising how something so rugged could be so lightweight. There were only two"cons," neither of which were deal breakers for me. The first being the edge...it was dull, as in bowling ball dull. Not to worry, after a few hours , I had it shaving sharp. The second was the female threads where the set screw is embedded are boogered up, not allowing me to remove the set screw, and therefore the head. Again, no worries, I can drill this out and rethread it. Overall, an excellent value.
Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Dayton md
Aug 05, 2015
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
awsome ax
The blade needed a little sharping but other then that awsome ax
Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bradley
Fairbanks AK
Mar 08, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Bschwaig
Out of the box very dull, but lets be honest I'm going to sharpen it my self. I know that 1055 steel is some of the toughest steels you can use for a knife, still I was not prepared for how tough it was to sharpen. I used an angle grinder with a 40 grit flap wheel and it took some time to get the profile I wanted. Very wear resistant, once you get an edge on this thing it will probably hold it for quite some time. From the picture the handle looks round it is actually an oval shape it has a light coating of some sort and is not sanded 100% smooth, kinda looks scraped. I found this to very nice in the hand. Also very light weight, I see no problem with using it as a camping/hiking ax.
Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carl
Kansas City
Apr 01, 2016
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Balance
Cons: None
Lemme axe you this...
Wood handle is dandy - hickory/straight grain. Headfit on the handle - ok, a little rough but will give it time to 'wear in' after a bit of use. Blade comes pretty sharp - be prepared to use a stone to 'de-bur' but otherwise, no complaints. Ergonomics are nice. I'm fairly stout and can handle it one handled pretty easily, but if you need to 'choke up' on the handle, do so (and re-start your weight lifting program. You know who you are) If a 30" handle is too long , one can always saw off 3 or 4" and improve the weight ratio - but try good old weight lifting first. Looks awesome, handles well. I'm prepared to repel boarders.
Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean V
Miklagard
Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Ideal weapon and tool
I think this axe is the ideal version of something you can use for everything. It is sized so that you can easily use it with one hand, but long enough to use two hands. The edge is an appropriate size to use as an effective tool but makes a devastating weapon. The beard allows you to hold it behind the head for fine work while protecting your fingers, and facilitates "buttstroke" type attacks. It is light enough to easily throw with one hand, but still packs a vicious amount of kinetic energy. The horn is just long enough to thrust and pierce with. It comes with an outstanding haft and the head is made from differentially heat treated high carbon steel, the way it ought to be. My only gripes are that it needed to be sharpened out of the box and that it doesnt include an edge cover. Otherwise it is simply perfect. If i had to take only one bladed implement with me, this is it. Couldnt have made it better myself, and knifecenter sells it at a steal. I bought myself and three others one
Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave
Harrisburg, PA
Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, None
Cons: Handle Material
Viking Hand Axe
Good chopper for trimming branches. Nice bearded axe. A little thin in the blade to split wood. Heavier than a tomahawk. Handle wasn't smooth-small splinters. Hit it with some sandpaper and it is now ok. Handle could have fit the head better.
Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
P. Edmundsson
The South
May 08, 2015
Pros: Head Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
Viking Hand Axe
Blade took forever to take an edge. The handle is cheap Asian wood. I replaced the handle with a 30" Cold Steel replacement Frontier Hawk handle, from my throwing hawks, and it is now a solid and formidable Viking Hand Axe.
Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nathan
canada
Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
liking it
Great axe. The head was very poorly fit as per usual with the cold steel line but that's nothing some sandpaper can't fix. It came sharp out of the box and feels great in the hand.
Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Greg Z.
indiana
May 20, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
nice axe for the price
pleased with the authentic style. just a little sharping and good to go!
Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jahda
Texas
May 03, 2015
Pros: Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Fun, and Functional
I ordered this from knife center to play with. First knife center customer service was awesome. I ordered 2nd day air and KC gave me a phone call just to ensure that I did not pick that on accident and incur extra fees. When I explained my personal issues regarding UPS they promptly and cheerfully changed the status of my order and made other arrangements for shipping. l received my package quickly. The item itself is good I was surprised at the weight. It is lighter than expected. The head is tough but I do not like the set screw and there is slight wobble even with the set screw. I personally like the idea of the 30 inch handle giving reach and two hand momentum yet the ability to choke up and use one handed however for a pole of this size i personally feel the handle should be reduced to about 25 inches. I just think the shaft is slightly to thin for a weapon of this type and this length. An over strike would definitely end in a broken handle.Mine came dull. There is a protective coating on the head which is a bugger to get off, however it works well and for 35 bucks I can sharpen my own blade. I have no issues with the piece other than the wobble with the set screw.I think this would be a great tool to fight the walking dead with.
Cold Steel 90WVBA Viking Hand Axe 30" Overall, Hickory Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ragnar
new jersey
May 28, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Weight, Balance
Cons: Handle Material, None
questionable haft
The axe I received has a less than stellar haft. There was a knot in one area and plenty of areas that looked like they could splinter off. I contacted knife center and they said I could return it for a replacement at my expense. . I contacted Cold Steel and they sent out a new haft for free, no shipping charges. So if you buy from the knife center and get a bad haft your not going to get much help. The axe itself is superb I wrapped the haft in paracord as it felt too thin for a secure grip. Sharp enough out of the not so sturdy box it came in. Could easily be made razor sharp.