Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel

Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steelrated 4.333 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7 inch Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel

 

Price: $16.95

Save $8.04 (32%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nw Guy
northern Michigan
Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
GREAT BLADES, GREAT PRICE, OK sheaths.
SO... I just returned from a 2 week camping trip to Alaska. The knife I took with me, my Bowie Bushman. I have been a long time fan of Cold Steel but the Bushman knives have always been my favorites. The first thing I do with them, (I have 4 of Bowie for different vehicles and uses and 2 of the original blade, one of which my wife stole for kitchen work.) is a little blade touch up. They come sharp but a little stone work and they get really scary sharp. Next thing is wrap the handle in about 20 feet of limp snare wire. Then, I wrap the grip in about 30 feet of para cord. I have big hands and it fills the grip and gives me "options" for making my life easier in the bush. With the knife prepped, I can easily make shelter, and maybe with luck catch some food. The blades are durable and will take a lot of work before they need to be touched up. I have been dragging Cold Steel Bushman knives all over the US and Canada for years. I gutted and dressed 3 caribou with the Bushman and never had to touch up the blade. AND heaven forbid, if you do lose it in the bush or have to use it beyond its capabilities (although I am not sure how you could do that under camping situations) the cost is not damaging to ones pocketbook. The ONLY complaint I have ever had is the sheath provided with it. But for the price not everything can be expected to be perfect. The Cordura sheath is floppy with no way to secure the knife and it is too long for the knife itself.(I have always been hoping they were going to build a Bushman that actually would fill out the sheath.) It does have a little pouch on it that can hold some extras. I usually throw a small compass and a fire starter mag/striker block in the pouch. The design does not allow for inverted carry from your pack straps. The injection molded sheath does lock the blade but it is not ambidextrous, and will not work with the grip build out that I do. But either sheath will work for carrying the knife around. Can't expect a $20 piece of leather on a $26 knife. I am going on 69 years old and have been through a LOT of knives and equipment in my life outdoors and I may have paid more for blades in the past but none of them will beat the value you get from a Bushman series from Cold Steel.
Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter
PA
May 11, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish
amazing survival knife
this Knife is my number 1 pick for a survival knife! The handle on this knife is 2-3 times heavier then most full tange knives, at first this gave me some disappointment; however, when I got to test it, it turned out to be EXTREMELY effective. This knife comes as close to a machete on ANY tree or sapling, up to 2". Only one swing is needed with the bushmen, to cut ANYTHING,(and most materials) up to 3/4". 2-3 well placed swings and anything bigger, up to like 2". It even cuts(not breaks) most of the way through a 1/2 pvc pipe. It comes extremely sharp, and holds it's original edge ,which shreds paper EXTREMELY well. When thrown into a piece of wood, depending on the condition of the wood, the Bowie Blade Bushman penetrates up to 2"+. And over all penetration, when the point is still fresh, is funaminal. The only two cons, I've found is that it's difficult to fit a spear handle to it, whith out getting stuck. And the matte finish blocks the steel from making contact with the flint,(which, if longer would also be awesome) I've tried scraping the finish of that part of the spine, and it didn't work. If your hiking, I'd carry another knife with you, for use with the fire steel. I love this knife so much, that I'm thinking about getting another one. and this is a good price too. I have 5+ Cold Steel products, and would recommend 3 of them. And the other 2 would be great for self-defense, just not what I need them for.
Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Derek R
Walcott Norfolk England
Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Cold steel bushman bowie
So what is it , is it a knife well of course , is it spear it can be, is it a chopper hmmm just, What it really is , is the cheapest most useful tool one can buy ( in my opinion) and made by cold steel, Also a great thrower I own 6 of these and I never set trail without one or two or three or ,well I think you get the jest and gess what I have another 3 arriving any day now so buy one or six you won't regret it take a look at cold steel video on utube if you haven't already, you are always going to get a failure now and then but remember these are built to a budget and you get your money's worth in the knife never mind the sheath
Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Raphael
Sunnyvale, CA
Jun 07, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great value and fun to customize
The hollow handle (great for spear-making) and low cost of this knife drew me to it. It arrived as sharp as I'd expect it to be -- sharp enough out of the box to be put directly to use. That said, I always like to see a knife reach its maximum potential, so I did two things: (1) Using my Tormek grinder, I ground a long section of the spine flat so that it could throw great sparks using the included firesteel. (2) Using a 5-inch sanding wheel and adhesive-backed 320-grit sandpaper I convexed the edge. Both steps were easy and greatly improved the knife. The best part is this: Even if you're new to such customizations, this knife's low cost makes such experimentation affordable. On the off chance you ruin the blade (very unlikely) you're not out a lot of money. For this kind of money, there are no "Cons."
Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tobias
Sweden
May 22, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
One of my new favourites
This knife came razor sharp out of the box! When drawn from the sheath it makes a lovely metallic sound. I absolutely love the back to basics design of this knife. It will chop and cut in an excellent way.I haven´t tried it as a thrower yet.The only con is the sheath. It does the job ok but doesn´t lock the knife very securely. Also, the belt clip is too simple. Now, with the great pricing I would recommend it to anybody who want a very good knife.
Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel
rated 5 stars out of 5
D Darling
Oklahoma
Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Value
Took this knife on a 3 day 2 nite canoe trip. Worked great processing campfire wood, and making banklines, and limblines. Not shabby at cutting up a watermelon either. Great Value. Good bang for the buck. I'm keepin this one!
Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tony C
Florida
Apr 15, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Versatile knife
Good quality and versatile knife for the money. Will be primarily used for camping and hiking.
Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gus
Hawthorne, Ca
Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
A smooth round handle is not ideal for a knife. But this knife provides a great way of buying a low cost, strong spear head without shipping a 2 to 4 foot handle. And it comes with a sheath which is great for transport. Too good.
Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel
rated 4 stars out of 5
Fern
Capital of Canada
Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Cold Steel Bowie Bushman Blade with Secure-Ex sheath and fire steel
I've always been pleased with my Bowie Bushman blade. I bought one a few years back with the nylon sheath and wasn't as pleased with the sheath back then, the knife keeps cutting the sheath putting it back in. Both blades are in service for the backpacking I do, and usually loan the second to my fellow backpacker. The sheath that comes with the new purchase, well, at least it's secure-ex, but I find it flimsy. It's not as solid I wish it could have been. I'll probably have to re-work it to my liking. Again, shipping was awesome as I had purchase the Cold Steel GI Tanto at the same time and shipping early.
Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel
rated 4 stars out of 5
Marc-Antony
Chicoutimi, Qc
Jul 05, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Finish, None
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
A nice light bushcraft knife
This knife is realy interesting because of the handle. It can be used to turn the knife into a spear for several bushcraft tasks or to store some charcloth. The problem is that the handle is round. I'm thinking about hammering it a little bit to give it a oval shape which would rotate less in the hand. It is also fairly light which is great for carry but a bit of a down side when it come to chopping. Otherwise it came really sharp right out of the box but its possible to get it ridiculously sharp with a few strokes on the ceramic rod/leather strip.
Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mel
Penticton, BC
Dec 10, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Ooops...
I ordered the Bowie Blade Bushman with a cordura sheath, along with another regular blade 7" Bushman with the Secure-Ex sheath. Upon opening the box, although the packaging indicated a Bowie, I found just another regular 7" Bushman with a cordura sheath. Well, at least the sheath part was right! The knife will be just fine, and is not worth the trouble of returning. The rating in no way reflects upon the quality of the Bowie Bushman, only on it's packaging.
Cold Steel 95BBUSK Bowie Blade Bushman 7" Blade, Secure-Ex Sheath, Fire Steel
rated 3 stars out of 5
Greg
ct.usa
Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Low cost tool
This is a light weight , sharp knife with large cutting area. Purchased to help me get thru thorn bushes.etc. Would not use it to pry side to side ,but lengthwise its strong.